We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Maison Gautreaux(Santo Domingo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Alcaldeza(Santo Domingo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Residence(Santo Domingo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Hotel Napolitano(Santo Domingo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jaguar Apart Studios(Santo Domingo)
View Hotel
Hotel Camp Davis Ranch(Santo Domingo)
View Hotel
Reviews (1,051)
Filter reviews
1,051 results
Traveller rating
603
304
95
29
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
603
304
95
29
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnabu restaurantocean viewbusiness hotelroom servicethe club loungebusiness tripcaribbean seaan upgradepool areaexcellent servicedominican republicboca chicabreakfast buffetexcellent hotelexecutive floorhotel is locatedcolonial zone
Filter
Updating list...
515 - 520 of 1,051 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Nothing different or spectacular from other Crowne Plaza hotels.
Hotel is seemingly under renovation so there are some minor glitches you have to sort out but it should be okay.
Buffet breakfast is good but coffee should be more routine, consistently it seemed we had to be asking for coffee throughtout our week of work here.
The staff is overall courteous but smiling more would certainly help a lot.
The location is ideal - skip the gym and walk daily along the malecon!
Loved their small library and the overall layout of the lobby is good- want to hang around there after thise long workdays!

Room Tip: Not sure there is anyone that has a major difference?
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmanza74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your comments and we really appreciate the fact that you care to help us improve. We are sorry to hear you had a less than pleasant stay with us. At this time we are remodeling all areas of the hotel and the structure of the rooms is been completely renewed.

Dear Mmanza74,

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service and our Ocean front accomodation fullpilled your expectations, given the fact it is one of our major attractions.

We will be sure to pass your kind words to our Staff, about your commets and service. IWe are vey pleasent that you have enjoyed our City and the Malecon.

We hope you see you soon in your next visit.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The hotel is conveniently located at a 15 minute walk from the old part of the city/calle El Conde which is a good place to go look for food or a drink, walk around and see some major atractions like the Colon house and Catedral Primada, also there's a plaza right down the street where you can enjoy local fast food, karaoke and cheap drinks and food. The hotel also has free wifi internet service in most of the common areas and rooms. However, that's pretty much all I can say is good at this hotel.
Rude front desk staff, expensive taxis, old/dirty rooms, not a wide selection of food at their restaurants, casino attracts a lot of non desirable people into the hotel facilities. I'm pretty sure that my credit card was also cloned here when they took it away to pay at the pool bar. Never I would have expected this may happen inside the hotel, but shame on me... When I complained about the incident, they tried to make it look they cared by sending me a "police report" they received about a gang that was caught and accused of credit card fraud, the supossedly police report was an article from the local newspaper website...
I stayed there 4 or 5 times to never go back. I'm now staying further away from el Malecón, you can't walk most places, but you'll certainly find cheaper cabs.

Room Tip: Prefer rooms with ocean view, however they may charge you extra
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer_ck1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

Dear Jennifer_ck1980,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your comments and we really appreciate the fact that you care to help us improve. We are sorry to hear you had a less than pleasant stay with us. At this time we are remodeling all areas of the hotel and the structure of the rooms is been completely renewed.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service and our Ocean front accomodation fullpilled your expectations, given the fact it is one of our major attractions.

We will be sure to pass your kind words to Front Desk Staff, about your commets and service.

We guarantee that if it decides to return to our hotel, you will have a first quality product.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

First time there. Will never go back. I am Hilton WorldWide, but was full and had to stay there. Arrived late from work and had club level floor confirmed with double beds, as my oldest was traveling with me and was told had king bed only, they will give me a roll-away bed, to 6'4 boy! They didnt had any roos available! Even with a confirmed two bed Club level reservation. Room was dirty. Only nice thing was the club level area, was quiet, breakfast was good. Pool was closed for remodeling. The noise was pretty bad, even on on the 12th floor. My opinion, will never come back and will not recommend to anyone on business there.

Room Tip: Not much i can said, get high floor!!!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Dear Jcastillo99,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your comments and we really appreciate the fact that you care to help us improve. We are sorry to hear you had a less than pleasant stay with us. At this time we are remodeling all areas of the hotel and the structure of the rooms is been completely renewed.

All the works of remodeling we are doing are areas become more modern and comfortable for our clients, we once again regret their situation and apologize.

We guarantee that if it decides to return to our hotel, you will have a first quality product.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

My stay at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo has been absolutely wonderful. Outstanding attention, employees completely focused in customer service as in all the IHG properties, and the best location in the city just a few meters away from the Colonial Area, in front of the sea, at the Santo Domingo Malecon. Breakfast is great, the restaurant have a superb ocean view, and the service is excellent. The hotel have also an underground car park that really makes you feel safety about your car, and free internet connection.

My most sincerely congratulation to the GM and his assistant. They are doing a fabulous job at this property.

I highly recommend to book in this hotel, remember, the best surprise is no surprise; and for sure you will receive what you expect when you book in this outstanding brand, Crowne Plaza

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CmansoA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Dear CmansoA,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your comments and we really appreciate the fact that you care to help us improve.

Its our commitment bringing an excelent service. Your comments makes us reaffirm "Great Hotels Guests Love" promise. We so glad tha you enjoy the City, Restaurant, Colonial Zone and the ambience and our Ocean front accomodation fullpilled your expectations, given the fact it is one of our major attractions.

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon in your next visit to Santo Domingo.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews