We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
Ranked #9 of 78 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Everything was good but the food at the breakfast buffet could be better. There is not much to see on the balconies. The beds and rooms were very clean. Taxis are expensive. Do not order anything from your room or take anything from the hotel bar because there are a lot taxes and other changes you may not know about until you check out.

But overall, it was a good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AlKJ24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear AIKJ24,

Thank you for taking your time to comment about our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you received a great service. Our engagement is to provide a quality service with dedication and courtesy.

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon in your next visit to Santo Domingo.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    278
    83
    27
    15
See reviews for
130
185
74
427
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Good location, right across from the ocean, but the windows were so dirty I couldn't even get a decent picture from my room. The carpet in my room had a sticky feeling to it, but appeared to be clean. After a long day of touring and dinner, I was ready to take a dip in the pool to wind down, only to find that it closed at 8:30. However, the showers were very nice and had lots of pressure. Staff was kind and always smiled.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Tammy C,

First of all thank you for your comments. We regret the situation that happened with the room and your window.

We wish to allow us another opportunity to welcome you and serve you better.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Great Hotel,Great Location,Wonderful people.Excellent service...Everybody there is very nice.
Thanks to María and all the Restaurant personnel,superb.....The view is FantasticMy room,overlooking The Caribbean Sea.Lo recomiendo altamente.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isidro I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Isidro I,

Thanks for your comments and we're glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We have one of the best ocean view of the Caribbean and is one of the best attractions that we have for our guests.

We hope to have you back in a new opportunity.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Hotel was suposed to pick me up at the airport: It didn't happen.
Although room is big and has view to the sea, hotel looks old and smells bad (humidity).
Room charges vary us$20 day to day. They dont have an standard price for room so you don't know what to expect.
I will not recommend to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jaime G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Jaime G,

First of all thank you for your comments. We regret the situation that happened with the room.

Maybe you do not stay in a room remodeled and this caused your a negative impression.

We apologize for the situation. We wish to allow us another opportunity to welcome you and serve you better.


Sincerely,



Venus Balbuena
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I have stayed many times at this great Hotel. A little less than a year ago the Hotel management passed to the Crowne Plaza brand. It seems to have been a good move. I am presently in room #807 overlooking the Caribbean Sea. I watched a beautiful Sunrise from my balcony while enjoying a freshly brewed coffee from the in-room coffee maker. The Breakfast Buffet doesn't lack a thing. You can choose a window seat that overlooks the Ocean. Last night before retiring, we turned the lights to the room off and was treated to a beautiful sight. A full moon was reflecting on the Ocean breakers. It was a mind boggling view. This will continue to be our Hotel when in Santo Domingo.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the last digits of 7 or 8 for the best views. (For example, 807, 808, 607, 608, e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Jerry B,

Thanks for your comments and we're glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We have one of the best ocean view of the Caribbean and is one of the best attractions that we have for our guests.

We welcome your feedback about the service and inform you that after rebrand the Crowne Plaza hotel has been completely renovated.

We hope to have you back in a new opportunity.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I was not at all satisfied with this hotel. where do i start.... when i arrived no valet parking... then i had to park in the self parking which is underground, the elevator would not come down and then I had to carry my bags up two flights of stairs.... at check in there was only 1 person ahead of me and 2 people at the reception, i had to wait 20 minutes to get my room, very, very slow and painful check in process. the room was tiny, very tiny...i don't know how they made the rooms look so big in the picture, but its small... check out process was just as bad another 20 minutes with 1 person ahead of me in line... again had to go down two flights of stairs to get to my car... i was happy to leave... service was so-so, at the restaurant it was better than the front desk. the price i paid was not worth the quality and service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reynaldo r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Reynaldo r,

We appreciate your comments and we confess that we are very sorry for the situation that it describes and you lived in the hotel, it's unbilivable that you have spent so many situations in one stay.

The General Manager and Front Desk are thoroughly investigating this situation, no guest should have experiences like this, because the Hotel has invested in the renovation of all areas including the bedrooms, to finally leave an unhappy customer.

We reiterate our colaboration and hope to welcome you in a new opportunity.

Sincerely,



Venus Balbuena
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port-au-Prince, Haiti
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The services are great people should stay there during their trip. I think if I have to go to santo Domingo again I will stay there again cause the services were very satisfactory. When ever I have some friends going there I will suggest them to stay at Crowne plaza.

Room Tip: Clean and Very nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Joseph B,

Thank you for taking your time to comment about our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you received a great service. Our engagement is to provide a quality service with dedication and courtesy.

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon in your next visit to Santo Domingo .

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
3.0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Santo Domingo Jaragua Hotel & Casino
1.0 mi away
Catalonia Santo Domingo
Catalonia Santo Domingo
#8 of 78 in Santo Domingo
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Santo Domingo
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Santo Domingo
Holiday Inn Santo Domingo
#7 of 78 in Santo Domingo
622 reviews
2.5 mi away
El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo

Property: Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
Address: Avenida George Washington 218, Santo Domingo 02890, Dominican Republic (Formerly Hotel V Centenario InterContinental)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Casino Hotel in Santo Domingo
#5 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#6 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo puts you in reach of the New World's fascinating history and the city s modern culture and nightlife. You can walk to the Colonial Zone, the Cultural Centre and the business district, and the main shopping areas are also close by. A 35-minute drive will take you to the Caribbean s best beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Santo Domingo
Santo Domingo Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing