We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“some Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
Ranked #8 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Marion, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“some Disappointment”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The Crowne Plaza is ok the pool has been redone and is good.
The security people are not well trained 2 times on way to the elevator the cut me off and ask if the could help me and where was I going.
This is my 10th stay at the properity, 8 as InterContinental and 2 as Crowne Plaza.
I was very disappointed in my up NO upgrate as a Platinum Ambassador member, the perts for this was 2 apples and a small bottle of water.
J.A. Rosenbaum

Room Tip: NO, just chance the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear J.A. Rosembaum,

We appreciate your comments and regret that it has passed an unpleasant experience at the hotel, we would like to have more details of the situation, so we let our email. For us its membership is very important and we try to offer benefits.

Hopefully allow us another opportunity to welcome you and ensure a different experience.

Sincerely,



Venus Balbuena
Public Relations Manager
venus.balbuena@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    263
    79
    26
    11
See reviews for
115
175
67
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mougins, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I travel all over the world and stay in many wonderful hotels, and I tend to be very demanding. The room was comfortable & clean; it is the staff at this hotel who made my stay. They were very service-oriented, proactive and always smiling. They took great care of me in the restaurant, finding the right balance between ensuring I didn't feel lonely & being intrusive. My iPhone was missing when I checked out. I searched my room, the safe, under the bed...nowhere to be found. I made a claim at the front desk and, despite their assurances they would do everything possible to find it, I had no hope. I was headed for the other side of the island and leaving the country in one week. Imagine my shock when, a few days later, I received a call from the hotel chief of security saying he had my iPhone...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear J L,

Thank you for taking your time to comment about our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you received a great service. Our engagement is to provide a quality service with dedication and courtesy.

We are so happy that you got your I Phone, small details make the difference, for this reason our staff is always hospitable and friendly attitude with our customers.

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon in your next visit to Santo Domingo.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed there last week for 4 nights.
The bed was terribly uncomfortable (horrible mattress) and the staff needs much better training. In many case left hand did not know what the right hand was doing - very disorganized. Also, the hotel was not too clean. This place is 3 stars at best.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vittelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Vittelman,

We appreciate your comments and regret that it has passed an unpleasant experience at the hotel, we would like to have more details of the situation, so we let our email.

It is our commitment to offer a quality service and our staff is constantly learning, so we are surprised that you tell us the attitude.

Hopefully allow us another opportunity to welcome you and ensure a different experience.

Sincerely,



Venus Balbuena
Public Relations Manager
venus.balbuena@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maiden, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I have been staying at this hotel for 3 to 4 business trips per year for over 5 years. They have been updating the hotel over the last year. The room I stayed in the trip had new furniture and looked great. The restaurant has also been re-done. I can say that the food has greatly improved. The plates were fresh and some of the best I had ever had (try the grilled Grouper outstanding). The breakfast buffet was good, and the chef will make you any thing you want. I was impressed with all the improvements.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the ocean. It is great to get up in the morning and look out the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Randy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Randy P,

Thanks for your comments, we are pleased to know you spent a pleasant stay in which has been enjoying the renovations that have been made ​​to the hotel.

All renovations were made to ensure a better experience for guests and clients.

We hope to welcome you to a new opportunity.

Best regards,.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I made a reservation for christmas diner, excellent service, excellent people! the dishes were delicious. The entrance, main dish and the dessert, were expectacular, we loved them. The selection of wine was good according to the christmas diner. We will be back next christmas diner! Thank You!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annya_Caba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Annya_Caba,

Thanks for your comments, it is a great that you enjoy your Christmas dinner. For this occasion we developed a special menu for the season, we also dedication in every detail.

Thanks for choosing us and look forward to welcoming in the next time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Everything was good but the food at the breakfast buffet could be better. There is not much to see on the balconies. The beds and rooms were very clean. Taxis are expensive. Do not order anything from your room or take anything from the hotel bar because there are a lot taxes and other changes you may not know about until you check out.

But overall, it was a good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AlKJ24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear AIKJ24,

Thank you for taking your time to comment about our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you received a great service. Our engagement is to provide a quality service with dedication and courtesy.

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon in your next visit to Santo Domingo.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
193 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Good location, right across from the ocean, but the windows were so dirty I couldn't even get a decent picture from my room. The carpet in my room had a sticky feeling to it, but appeared to be clean. After a long day of touring and dinner, I was ready to take a dip in the pool to wind down, only to find that it closed at 8:30. However, the showers were very nice and had lots of pressure. Staff was kind and always smiled.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Tammy C,

First of all thank you for your comments. We regret the situation that happened with the room and your window.

We wish to allow us another opportunity to welcome you and serve you better.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo
#13 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Catalonia Santo Domingo
#7 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
#12 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo

Property: Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
Address: Avenida George Washington 218, Santo Domingo 02890, Dominican Republic (Formerly Hotel V Centenario InterContinental)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Casino Hotel in Santo Domingo
#5 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#6 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo puts you in reach of the New World's fascinating history and the city s modern culture and nightlife. You can walk to the Colonial Zone, the Cultural Centre and the business district, and the main shopping areas are also close by. A 35-minute drive will take you to the Caribbean s best beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Santo Domingo
Santo Domingo Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing