We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expectations Fulfilled”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
Ranked #8 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Santo Domingo
2 reviews
“Expectations Fulfilled”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

It has been a great experience. Great meeting rooms, comfortable bedrooms. Great service (every where). Every thing is very clean, food were always excellent!. Internet access is consistent and great location!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Karina M,

Thank you for taking your time to comment about our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you received a great service.

Our engagement is to provide a quality service with dedication and courtesy.

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon in your next visit to Santo Domingo.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    257
    77
    26
    10
See reviews for
111
171
64
389
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Booked Exec. Floor as Platinum IHG for five nights, mixed business/weekend pleasure. Arrived late night, receptionist allotted room, but advised that Exec Lounge is under construction and not available. That was not the worst, he tried to upsell the Exec Fl benefits to me at a daily upcharge of USD 50! Did I hear right? Isn't that some sort of extortion? Received a small bottle of water as appreciation of being Plat member. For these reasons alone, I will not return and alert herewith review readers.
Staff, mostly very friendly, location, next to nothing safely walkable, really.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank F S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear FS,

We appreciate that you taken the time to write your review. We want to express our apologies for the complicated situation that arose during your stay. When the hotel runs a high occupancy availability of room type is very delicate and we understand that is what is presented to you at the time of arrival.

Our staff always takes into account the requirements of our IHG Rewards and part of the brand standards, is the water bottle, like a attentios for you.

We would like to have more details about your stay, so you can write to the mail indicated in the signature. We hope you allow us to meet you at the next opportunity.

Sincerely,


Venus Balbuena
Public Relations Manager
venus.balbuena @ ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heredia, Costa Rica
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

The best about Crowne Plaza is its staff. Very kind and willing to serve at any time. The Internet worked very well. Every thing is very clean.There are two issues, however, that lowered my expectations. Though lunch and dinner were always excellent, breakfast was not so good for my taste. It does not have any flavour. In addition, I had a problem that I do not know whether the hotel is responsible or UNIBE, the college I taught for three days. UNIBE was supposed to my pay my stay for four nights but now I have to pay for Saturday. I realize that this can be quite likely UNIBE's responsibility but I do not know whether it could also be the hotel´s responsibility. So far I am upset about this. Nevertheless, I like this hotel.

Room Tip: I do not know about other bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan_1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Juan_1959,

Thanks for taking the time to write your comments. We're glad you received a quality service with professional and friendly attitude.

We regret what happened with your company, however you will always be welcome. Foward to welcoming you in a new opportunity.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We booked 10 days in a "5 Star " hotel. Looked forward to going home after 4 days, such a disappointment.

It could be that my expectations were higher than this hotel could deliver but advertising and charging as a 5 star hotel would make me look forward to something better than the $ 30.00 a night hotel around the corner. It wasn't.

Upon arrival we were greeted in Spanish at the front desk. Communication was very difficult. The English language is not needed to work at this hotel. On the fifth day there I spoke to one person who had studied in Wisconsin for two years and he knew how to put a sentence together. How refreshing. Got really tired of using sign language all the time with staff.

Restaurant and other staff have no knowledge of English. I expected that a 5 star hotel would insist on staff that interacts with customers would know English or else management is only looking to have Spanish speaking clients .Seems a very limited market.

The Haitian shoe shine boy outside could carry on a conversation in English but no one in the hotel could say more than a word or two in English. That is a sad commentary of Crowne Plaza management.

We have travelled to a number of destinations where English was not the first language but folks in the hospitality industry could communicate in English. It makes for a more pleasant stay if, as a tourist, you have a question or concern and are able to communicate that to staff.

Six of the days we stayed there hot towels were delivered late afternoon while the room was cleaned in the morning. As if they had to take my towels and wash them and then bring them back. Of course calling housekeeping in the afternoon was useless - no one understood what I was saying.

We stayed on the 4th floor. Décor and furniture was outdated. Massive stains on the floor. Our friends were on other floors that had been modernized and their room rate was the same as ours. Seemed a bit unfair. I tried getting moved or get a reduction in my room rate - of course no one understood my request - couldn't speak English.

Breakfast buffet had a good selection and Wilson , the cook , was very friendly but with enough hand signals I eventually got an omelette. Wait staff there were like robots. They filled your coffee and cleaned up the dirty dishes. No smiles no conversation.

If you want to stay in this area then book the hotel around the corner from the Crowne Plaza. Rooms are equivalent, management speaks English, $ 3.00 breakfast at a Deli next door and the room rate is 1/5 less expensive that the Crowne.

If you are paying $ 30.00 a night a traveller has lower expectations.

Crowne Plaza is a disappointment.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeymoSaabbee552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear KeymoSaabbee552,

We appreciate that you have taken time to write your comments . First of all we apologize for your disappointment, our Hotel we are 5 star and we are surprised that he could not communicate in English , because most of our staff speaks this language and if the Front Desk could not help , had to find a a representative to assist you .

Our rooms are renovated , it is quite possible that because of high occupancy will be assigned a room that is still in the process of remodeling and which has been so sorry . In reference to your request for towels, Housekeeping Department is responsible for this, perhaps it has been a coincidence will also attend a person who did not know English . Our staff receives training in English language and we know that is an important part of our service.

Thanks again for your comments and we apologize for any inconvenience. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to welcome you .

Sincerely,

Venus Balbuena
Public Relations Manager
venus.balbuena @ ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I think had the wifi been good (I was on the 10th floor and it was flaky at best), I would've given this place 5 stars. But the hospitality was great. The food was excellent and everything was immaculate. I love these people!

Room Tip: I don't know if all the floors had bad wifi, but the 10th floor was terrible. The wifi everywher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarquitoPerez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear MarquitoPerez,

Thank you for taking your time to comment about our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you received a great service.

Our engagement is to provide a quality service with dedication and courtesy. We apologize for the internet inconvenient.

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon in your next visit to Santo Domingo.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We booked this hotel through expedia.com. We really didn't do much research about it, we just trusted the pictures that shows in expedia.com. When we checked in we found out that this hotel doesn't have beach access. Since we are staying for 10 days, we ask the front desk if we can cancel some of the days so that we can transfer to a different hotel that has a beach access, at first they said no problem just call expedia.com since you book it through them, after several long phone calls to expedia.com (then expedia has to call them and be the mediator between us) it turns out that the "hotel management" is only giving us the last 2 days of our stay to cancel and we still have to pay half of the room rate on each day. Needless to say we ended up staying in here the whole 10 days.

The rooms and the breakfast are decent but the lobby is always crowded and loud. There is always something going on a party, convention etc and its not big enough that you can get away with the crowd. The poolside area is good until I tried to get in the jacuzzi, it is not heated. Its a big disappointment.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dannie65_95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Dannie65_95,

We appreciate your comments and we regret for the inconvenience you had with access to the beach, because our hotel no has direct access to the front, it is the view of the Caribbean Sea.

The nearest beaches from the hotel are Boca Chica and Juan Dolio, approximately 25 minutes, we understand your disappointment, but our Front Desk Staff must to tell you which is the nearest beach.

The Lobby is the main entrance of the hotel and regularly we have events and conventions developed in our 13 Banquet rooms, so that at certain times of the day we have exit and entry of people in this area.

Forward to welcoming you in a new opportunity.

Sincerely,



Venus Balbuena
Public Relations Manager
venus.balbuena @ ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Outdated depressing dark rooms, no benefits for IHG members, expensive massage-advertised as $66 but comes to $85 with fees before tips. Overall a disappointment would not return definitely not the quality of normal crowne plazas. Not impressed

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Americanincognito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Americanincognito,

We appreciate your comments and regret that you have had an unpleasant experience at the Spa, it is important to know more detail regarding what tells your membership, was not recognized on arrival as IHG Rewards or offered benefits?.

Feel free to write in for details of this situation. We would like to provide us the opportunity to serve you in a new opportunity.

Sincerely,

Venus Balbuena
Public Relations Manager
venus.balbuena @ ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo
#15 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Catalonia Santo Domingo
#7 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
#12 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo

Property: Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
Address: Avenida George Washington 218, Santo Domingo 02890, Dominican Republic (Formerly Hotel V Centenario InterContinental)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Casino Hotel in Santo Domingo
#5 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#6 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo puts you in reach of the New World's fascinating history and the city s modern culture and nightlife. You can walk to the Colonial Zone, the Cultural Centre and the business district, and the main shopping areas are also close by. A 35-minute drive will take you to the Caribbean s best beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Santo Domingo
Santo Domingo Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing