We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in a not very luxurious city.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
Ranked #8 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Luxury in a not very luxurious city.”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Santa Domingo is a very busy unsophisticated town. We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights and it was a perfect relief from the surroundings.We upgraded to the club level( not sure what it was called) well worth the money. Really good breakfast and evening drinks with excellent service. Fabulous pool area with good bar service, especially Gorge. Reception was great also with staff speaking good English and really helpful. If you have to go to Santa Domingo this is definitely the place to stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Formerbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Formerbrit,

Thank you for your review to our Hotel. We appreciate your comments and we feel very pleased to fill your expectations knowing that you enjoyed your stay at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo.

Our staff always make it better so our guests always be happy.

We hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    263
    79
    26
    11
See reviews for
115
176
67
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

most: home, quality of service, friendliness, hearty breakfast, clean, warm and sober decor, easy parking
close of the colonial district, pleasure malecon, many restaurants and casinos nearby casino in the hotel-

Room Tip: floor with the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank patrick d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGS, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Patrick D,

Thank you very much for your review to our Hotel. We appreciate your sincere comment and we'll love to see you again in a near future enyoing Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo. Our team always do their best to pleased our guests as they deserve.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Df
Level Contributor
84 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stayed 4 nights in this hotel and I was really pleased due to the extraordinary attention of all the people who works here.
However, the last night spend in this hotel I found two cockroaches in the bathroom of my room. It was very disgusting.
Also, food is not what you can expect of a Crowne Plaza.
A lot to improve in the cleanliness of the hotel, but a perfect 10 in their service and attention.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGS, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Angel H,

Thank you very much for your review to our Hotel. We are so sorry for the not common incident experienced during your stay. We are working on this so it won't happen again.

We hope to welcoming you again to enjoy the pleaseant stay as you deserve!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Let me start with the front desk to the restaurant, to housekeeping, to all the employees, they are by far the friendliest most accommodating people I have encountered. This was my first time in Dominican Republic and they sure made me want to come back!

Room Tip: Definitely get the club level rooms they are definitely worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lissette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Lissette O,

Thank you so much for your review of our Hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. It gives us great satisfaction to know that you had such a wonderful experience with our Staff at the best Crowne Plaza Hotel of the Caribbean.

We look forward to welcoming you on a future stay in Santo Domingo.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama Province, Panama
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Thanks to all the staff that made us feel at home. The hotel location is great and everyone engagement to customer service made the difference.
We will return....
Breakfast buffet is outstanding and room are very clean and fresh. Wifi works like a charm.
Thanks again for this great stay.
TE

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThierryGEck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear ThierryGEck,

Thank you so much for your review of our Hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. It gives us great satisfaction to know that you had such a wonderful experience at the best Crowne Plaza Hotel of the Caribbean.

We look forward to welcoming you on a future stay in Santo Domingo.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in the past when it was the Intercontinental. I can say my hotel stay was quite comfortable and the room was very nice . It's a nice place to stay and a overall good area but would warn if staying here with you will encounter a lot of street hustlers that will follow you all around selling various services. Not the hotels fault but just a FYI. Overall everything is a short taxi ride away and very convenient so would stay again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank lwestrada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear LWestrada,

Thank you so much for your review of our Hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. It gives us great satisfaction to know that you had such a wonderful experience at the best Crowne Plaza Hotel of the Caribbean.

We are happy that you like to renovations we did to the property. We look forward to welcoming you on a future stay in Santo Domingo.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is an excellent hotel. It lived up to my expectation of a 4 1/2 star hotel in the states. I would highly recommend it. The hotel was safe and clean with great views and a very welcoming environment for those who like the American quality of hotel.

Room Tip: If you are going to eat breakfast I would recommend paying for the option. The service is a little l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanda U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Wanda U,

Thank you so much for your review of our Hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. It gives us great satisfaction to know that you had such a wonderful experience at the best Crowne Plaza Hotel of the Caribbean.

Our Ocean view is spectacular and our engagement is to provide a quality service with dedication and courtesy.

We look forward to welcoming you on a future stay in Santo Domingo.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo
#12 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Catalonia Santo Domingo
#7 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
#13 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo

Property: Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
Address: Avenida George Washington 218, Santo Domingo 02890, Dominican Republic (Formerly Hotel V Centenario InterContinental)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Casino Hotel in Santo Domingo
#5 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#6 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo puts you in reach of the New World's fascinating history and the city s modern culture and nightlife. You can walk to the Colonial Zone, the Cultural Centre and the business district, and the main shopping areas are also close by. A 35-minute drive will take you to the Caribbean s best beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Santo Domingo
Santo Domingo Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing