We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo
Ranked #39 of 80 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I did not choose this hotel. I was attending a business meeting and the organizers of the meeting picked the hotel. That said, it is in a wonderful location to see the old city of Santo Domingo. Everything in the old city is in easy walking distance and the buildings and museums are delightful. The hotel itself is very comfortable and satisfactory - not spectacular but a good value, especially when you consider the wonderful location.

The room was small but comfortable. As other reviewers have noted, there is a very weird high step up to the shower. There was a grab-bar, but even so, I nearly fell one morning getting out of the shower. Be very careful. The only other problem is that there was only one plug available for charging electronics and other devices. I had to unplug the lamp to use it. I recommend bringing an extension cord or a multi-socket plug if you have lots of devices to charge. There was no clock in the room so bring an alarm clock if you will need to use one. Wifi is free but it did not work well in my room, so I had to sit in the lobby to get online. Not a big problem, but a bit inconvenient.

Because of the meeting that I was attending, I had three breakfasts, two lunches and one dinner in the restaurant. Again, all were satisfactory but nothing was spectacular, except the mashed potatoes, which were wonderful.

All in all, a good hotel and one that I would stay in again if I am ever in Santo Domingo.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotty7351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

Review by James Lungi
Hotel Mercure in the colonial district of Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic

I was able to stay here for under $60 American dollars per night.

This is a great deal as it is located in a great downtown Santo Domingo location in the colonial Zone where a lot of the action is.

This hotel is also very close to the ocean and many great places to eat.

When you park your car outside, there is always a local that will help you out of your car and watch your car for you. You should give this man a small donation nothing to crazy.

The bellmen are very helpful. They came and go the bags from the trunk for us and we did not wait a long time to get our bags back as we were leaving.

The showers are nice, the bed was comfortable, and the view of the city and the ocean in the background was great.

Remember that if you have two people in your room you must book that way because they will charge you extra if you book for 1 person and show up with 2 people. Also, they make each person staying in your room register with the front desk.

Information about the surrounding area:
There is slim to no traffic enforcement

Everyone runs red lights
people sell fruit, sunglasses, viagra, cashews, and other trinkets in the middle of busy streets.

Buses that are completely full will stop and pick up an entire soccer team and make them fit

It is normal to see 4 people on one scooter or motorcycle.

I saw 3 guys on one mortorcycle and 2 on another and they were balancing a huge mirror between the two bikes traveling through rush hour traffic. It was crazy, somwthing right out if a movie.

When i go to the malls i see no white or other non latin people.

The "Blu Mall" which is the high end mall has Louis v, hublot, cartier, zara, bvlgari, puma, gnc, crocs, etc.

They have taco bell, papa johns, krispy kreme, tgi fridays, burger king, mcdonalds, sbarro, cinnabon so you can always get your unhealthy american GMO fix if you want it.

You can buy bananas, plantains, pineapple, guava, avacado, mango, cashews, and many other great fruits and veggies on almost every corner. The best part about these fruits and nuts is that you know it is freshly grown none of it is genetically modified!

You can drink liquor or beer anywhere u want. the police do not care about drinking or having bottles in the street.

Most corner stores have beer on tap and liquor on tap, along with loud music to get the party started!

Banks are everywhere and they all give good exchange rates. make sure u bring your passport w u or they wont help u

Venezuela street has a great string of bars with livr music and djs. you will hear mostly bachata, merenegue, and salsa. but every club still plays some good american hip hop and they frrquently mix in the heavy house songs such as calvin harris and guetta.

There is a new type of music that is taking over the youth of Dominican Republic called Dembow. Dembow has flavors of reggaetton and hip hop as spanish speaking rappers ride the beat with rapid fire lyrics that are very sexual and urban.
When you see people dance to Dembow you would think they are having sex with clothes on. It is always a great show and great energy.

Even though Dembow is on the rise, the main music of the people of Dominican Republic is Bachata. If you go to a club do not worry if you can not dance bachata, the girls will grab you and teach you.

Foods to try:
dominican pizza
cuban sandwiches
anarjillo fruit smoothie
a plate of fruit cut up fresh and served on a plate to go from a stand on any corner
cuban pastries
dominican sancocho

Check out a grocery store. They are at least twice as large as American supermarkets.

The Dominican people:

people seem to be a little happier on average than Americans even though they have a little or even a lot less.

Life is much simpler here if you want it to be.

The essentials are super inexpensive if you shop where the locals shop.

Look me up for my other reviews and add me on social media.

Room Tip: some rooms do not get wifi service so check right when you get your room if you know you will need i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jameslungi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The hotel offers adequate amenities for the price and has a good location within the zona coloniale. The rooms are decent and clean. The restaurant is also decent. But my quiet stay at the hotel was interrupted when I was told i could not bring a guest to my room, even though i I paid for a room for two people. I would have to pay an extra $20 to have a guest go to my room even if it was for a few minutes. Considering I already paid for a room for two people, i felt I was being ripped off. Can just imagine a hotel in the US would do something like that to a guest?

So if your intention is to bring a guest in your room, be prepared to pay $20 more per day....even though you ma have already paid full fare.

Sorry Mercure, I will take my business elsewhere from now on.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Derrickj66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H2974, Director General at Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear Derrickj66,

Thank you for taking the time of commenting our hotel and I am glad that the standards were of your liking.
I understand the inconvenience you went through and this is important to remind the hotel policy.

Indeed, when a room is double, 2 persons need to be registered. Of course when the room is booked double, those two registered persons are included. If you desire not to register anybody for the stay, then, this is a visit and indeed, each visit has a cost of 20USD, it is right.

This policy is actually applied by most of the hotels in Santo Domingo and by all belonging to an international chain.

Once again, I am sorry for the inconvenience and deeply regret I could not explain it to you while you were in the hotel.

I will stay at your disposal if you need to reach me.

Best regards,

Pierre Bignalet
h2974-gm@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We visited Santo Domingo and stayed at the hotel in the Ciudad Colonial. The neighborhood has a great vibe, with clubs and restaurants nearby. The hotel was clean and safe and the room was exceptional for the price. We would most definitely go back.

Room Tip: Little street noise makes it a great night to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertAlanMayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We looked at three rooms on two floors before leaving and checking into a nearby hotel.
This hotel has a serious mold problem. Every room smells like mold, bleach, and perfume. We decided paying for another room was better than subjecting ourselves to the known health hazards of sleeping in mold-infested rooms.
The staff can't do anything beyond showing you other rooms filled with the same mold problem.
The hotel is a health hazard. Avoid at all cost. Paying more for a room elsewhere will save you money in medical costs down the line.

This hotel ought to take this problem more seriously. Bleach will not solve this problem. THey need industrial treatment. It's wrong to continue renting out rooms that are literally dangerous to their patrons' health.

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NYny466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H2974, Director General at Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Dear Nyny466,

Thank you for taking the time to make a comment about our hotel.

We admit that there is at this period humidity problem in a part of the hotel. Now, it is only humidity and not mold. We just had a health administration inspection, this institution is very careful with those kind of problems, and all analisis and reports indicate that like many properties in the Caribbean, the problem is humidity at this period of the year.
There is no health issue here! You can be sure about it.
I recognize that some persons cannot stand the smell and we found a solution coming from oversea soon, which can make you understand that we take your comment very seriously.

We are sorry for the inconvenience, hoping to meet you during your next stay in Santo Domingo.

Best regards,

Pierre Bignalet
Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

I booked one room lastminute because I got no other choice and was to late on evening, so I decided to book a worlwide famous outstanding brand: Mercure. Our first surprise was that on check-in they asked me for a deposit for the minibar. Maybe I was checking out without settling my bill. I went back to my reservation and I show to the receptionist (was late, around 10:00PM), that on my booking it didn´t say absolutely anything regarding a deposit, even more, was writed “deposit no required” (booking.com), therefore I refused to pay this amount of 1.500 DOP=38$USD=30€. The receptionist told me that they have this inconvenience everyday and he was very sorry but if we wanted to check.in we must pay. I ask him to wake up the GM or almost let me speak to him,…..imposible. Next morning as soon as I wake up I went to speak to the GM, and after a 15 minutes discussion, he accepted that I was right, the information on the reservation was wrong, but he was very sorry but it was a corporate decision so there was nothing to do. He added to this last sentence as well, that he was very bussy and he could not expend any more time with me. What kind of customer service is this one?...and we are not speaking about a receptionist or a housekeeper, we are speaking about the leader, the General Manager. I think Accor should take care of this issue.

Regarding the hotel I can only say that Mercure Comercial is not at all a Mercure. I know very well this company and I stayed in many of their hotels. This is an IBIS. Small rooms, old building, old bathrooms, poor maintenance, poor breakfast. Once again, i´m not saying is bad hotel, i´m just saying that please don´t expect a proper 4 stars Mercure. Definetly I will not go back and I will never recommend this property. If you want to stay in something similar to Mercure I highly recommend Intercontinental Santo Domingo, Nicolas de Ovando, Holiday Inn…etc

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CmansoA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H2974, Director General at Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear Sir,

Indeed I remember our meeting. The first thing, is that I am sorry that you took my departure this way. I had an important meeting, it is true and I unfortunately could not dedicate you more time. It is not that I did not want to, but sometimes, as you will understand, we have emergencies.

Nevertheless, I could explain to you about the deposit policy and I have no problem in dedicated this moment to explain again as it is important to make clear this common process ; usual in the USA but not in Europe. For instance, a familiar stayed in Miami in another hotel chain few days ago and they asked for the very same process with a garantee of 60 USD. As for Dominican Republic, ALL hotels have the same policy.

The policy is clearly stated on all the website, it is important to notify it. Despite, I truly believe that explaining, things become more acceptable. The deposit is not charged on your credit card, this is only an authorization. If the deposit is made in cash, it is fully refunded at the end of the stay if there is no consumption. This deposit is to garantee payment in case of charges in the hotel outlets. It is unfortunate to have to apply this policy, I agree with you but it is necessary and one again, most of the hotel are doing it.

It is usually not a problem to Guests from the USA, they never complain because they are used to. Indeed, European Guests might be chocked initially and it is our task to explain it well. I hope I did it better this time and I stay at your disposal if you have any doubt.

Best regards,

Pierre Bignalet
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel. We found the location to be really good as it is located in the Colonial Zone and close to everything. However, the service in the hotel (Reception and restaurant) was very slow, and most of the staff avoided eye contact with the guests.
The room we stayed in was very basic, a bit run down but was clean, spacious and with built in wardrobe. Not a memorable hotel, but we would definitely stay there again due to the great location and reasonable price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2100cph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
#24 of 80 in Santo Domingo
354 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hotel Conde de Penalba
Hotel Conde de Penalba
#22 of 80 in Santo Domingo
173 reviews
Zona Colonial
Antiguo Hotel Europa
Antiguo Hotel Europa
#31 of 80 in Santo Domingo
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Boutique Hotel Palacio
#15 of 80 in Santo Domingo
708 reviews
Casa Naemie
#20 of 80 in Santo Domingo
204 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hostal Parque
Hostal Parque
#46 of 80 in Santo Domingo
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo

Address: C/ Hostos | Ciudad Colonial, Santo Domingo 10211, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 80 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Price Range: £61 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
96 rooms, 2 for disabled guests. Located in the heart of the colonial area of Santo Domingo, the hotel building was completely refurbished in 2000 and is an ideal base to visit all the historical monuments in the old town centre. 30 km from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo Hotel Santo Domingo
Mercure Santo Domingo
Accor Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing