We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the worst !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo
Ranked #32 of 76 Hotels in Santo Domingo
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“the worst !!”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This was my 4th trip to Dominican Republic and I had purchased a package deal (airfare and hotel). In my previous trips I had stayed at the same hotel ,but this time they had no rooms available ,so I had to take this Hotel and in this trip I was going to get married so I needed the room for 3 days before heading for Punta Cana for my honeymoon , I know that you have to register if 2 people are going to be staying in the room but what pissed me off was the fact that they wanted to charge me $ 20.00 for my fiancé to come up to the room and all I was going to do was drop off my luggage and change clothes ,I had my stepdaughters in the car outside(5 and 12) and they wanted to come up ,needless to say I told them that this was an absurd rule that my fiancé was NOT staying in the room and It doesn't say anything in their website about paying $ 20 for someone to come up to the room , other hotels you just sign the guest in under your own responsibility , this was a bad start for a wedding trip and my fiancé was trying to calm me down .I arrived on a Thursday and The room I was given faced the front of the hotel , needless to say the first night I could not sleep because there was a Rooster next door making noise all night and on Friday It was the bar across the street from the hotel till 2 am and then the rooster again, so I asked them to give me another room. I will not go through this experience again so I had excluded this Hotel from my list and I swore I will let my friends Know not to come here , if you are smart you will too .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rabitusin03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H2974, General Manager at Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Rabitusin03,

Thank you for your comment and sincere congratulations for your wedding!

I am sorry that your experience was not up to your expectations. I understand that the rule for visitors was not to your liking but indeed, there are strict rules to control the flow and ensure security to all our Guests. Sorry for the inconvenience.
We will take in consideration your comments about the noise generated by the several actors in the street and do our best to reduce it.

Best regards,

Pierre Bignalet
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    150
    150
    54
    43
See reviews for
65
122
100
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I did say at mercure commercial santo domingo, I like it, but I expected to be serve breakfast. they didn't serve me breakfast I was very disappointed. I hope next time I will have my breakfast. why they said I am not allowing to breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jean Berman J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H2974, Director General at Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Mr Jean Berman Joseph,

Thank you for your comment regarding the hotel.
I respond to you today to explain to you how the hotel is "sold". Indeed, there are several channels on internet or agencies. On some of those websites, the hotel is sold without breakfast and this is why yours was not included ; if you still have your reservation, you can check and see that it was not.
Now, of course, we can serve breakfast! The cost, when it is not included, is 10 USD and we also give the option to have it at 8 USD when the Guest buys it at check in for the whole stay.
Sorry if this has not been explained to you clearly and do no doubt to contact me for your next stay to make the reservation directly including your breakfast.

Best regards,

Pierre Bignalet
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cantonment, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We had a group of 16 people with us.They did give us a group discount. It was clean in the lobby and in the rooms, but old and drab in the hallways, but worth the price we paid. The breakfast at their restaurant was good. Ten US dollars for a nice buffet breakfast with lots of choices.I would use them again if I needed, but not the choice I would choose for a family vacation stay.The partying went on for half the night out on the street.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VSmolik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I did not choose this hotel. I was attending a business meeting and the organizers of the meeting picked the hotel. That said, it is in a wonderful location to see the old city of Santo Domingo. Everything in the old city is in easy walking distance and the buildings and museums are delightful. The hotel itself is very comfortable and satisfactory - not spectacular but a good value, especially when you consider the wonderful location.

The room was small but comfortable. As other reviewers have noted, there is a very weird high step up to the shower. There was a grab-bar, but even so, I nearly fell one morning getting out of the shower. Be very careful. The only other problem is that there was only one plug available for charging electronics and other devices. I had to unplug the lamp to use it. I recommend bringing an extension cord or a multi-socket plug if you have lots of devices to charge. There was no clock in the room so bring an alarm clock if you will need to use one. Wifi is free but it did not work well in my room, so I had to sit in the lobby to get online. Not a big problem, but a bit inconvenient.

Because of the meeting that I was attending, I had three breakfasts, two lunches and one dinner in the restaurant. Again, all were satisfactory but nothing was spectacular, except the mashed potatoes, which were wonderful.

All in all, a good hotel and one that I would stay in again if I am ever in Santo Domingo.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotty7351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Review by James Lungi
Hotel Mercure in the colonial district of Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic

I was able to stay here for under $60 American dollars per night.

This is a great deal as it is located in a great downtown Santo Domingo location in the colonial Zone where a lot of the action is.

This hotel is also very close to the ocean and many great places to eat.

When you park your car outside, there is always a local that will help you out of your car and watch your car for you. You should give this man a small donation nothing to crazy.

The bellmen are very helpful. They came and go the bags from the trunk for us and we did not wait a long time to get our bags back as we were leaving.

The showers are nice, the bed was comfortable, and the view of the city and the ocean in the background was great.

Remember that if you have two people in your room you must book that way because they will charge you extra if you book for 1 person and show up with 2 people. Also, they make each person staying in your room register with the front desk.

Information about the surrounding area:
There is slim to no traffic enforcement

Everyone runs red lights
people sell fruit, sunglasses, viagra, cashews, and other trinkets in the middle of busy streets.

Buses that are completely full will stop and pick up an entire soccer team and make them fit

It is normal to see 4 people on one scooter or motorcycle.

I saw 3 guys on one mortorcycle and 2 on another and they were balancing a huge mirror between the two bikes traveling through rush hour traffic. It was crazy, somwthing right out if a movie.

When i go to the malls i see no white or other non latin people.

The "Blu Mall" which is the high end mall has Louis v, hublot, cartier, zara, bvlgari, puma, gnc, crocs, etc.

They have taco bell, papa johns, krispy kreme, tgi fridays, burger king, mcdonalds, sbarro, cinnabon so you can always get your unhealthy american GMO fix if you want it.

You can buy bananas, plantains, pineapple, guava, avacado, mango, cashews, and many other great fruits and veggies on almost every corner. The best part about these fruits and nuts is that you know it is freshly grown none of it is genetically modified!

You can drink liquor or beer anywhere u want. the police do not care about drinking or having bottles in the street.

Most corner stores have beer on tap and liquor on tap, along with loud music to get the party started!

Banks are everywhere and they all give good exchange rates. make sure u bring your passport w u or they wont help u

Venezuela street has a great string of bars with livr music and djs. you will hear mostly bachata, merenegue, and salsa. but every club still plays some good american hip hop and they frrquently mix in the heavy house songs such as calvin harris and guetta.

There is a new type of music that is taking over the youth of Dominican Republic called Dembow. Dembow has flavors of reggaetton and hip hop as spanish speaking rappers ride the beat with rapid fire lyrics that are very sexual and urban.
When you see people dance to Dembow you would think they are having sex with clothes on. It is always a great show and great energy.

Even though Dembow is on the rise, the main music of the people of Dominican Republic is Bachata. If you go to a club do not worry if you can not dance bachata, the girls will grab you and teach you.

Foods to try:
dominican pizza
cuban sandwiches
anarjillo fruit smoothie
a plate of fruit cut up fresh and served on a plate to go from a stand on any corner
cuban pastries
dominican sancocho

Check out a grocery store. They are at least twice as large as American supermarkets.

The Dominican people:

people seem to be a little happier on average than Americans even though they have a little or even a lot less.

Life is much simpler here if you want it to be.

The essentials are super inexpensive if you shop where the locals shop.

Look me up for my other reviews and add me on social media.

Room Tip: some rooms do not get wifi service so check right when you get your room if you know you will need i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jameslungi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millburn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The hotel offers adequate amenities for the price and has a good location within the zona coloniale. The rooms are decent and clean. The restaurant is also decent. But my quiet stay at the hotel was interrupted when I was told i could not bring a guest to my room, even though i I paid for a room for two people. I would have to pay an extra $20 to have a guest go to my room even if it was for a few minutes. Considering I already paid for a room for two people, i felt I was being ripped off. Can just imagine a hotel in the US would do something like that to a guest?

So if your intention is to bring a guest in your room, be prepared to pay $20 more per day....even though you ma have already paid full fare.

Sorry Mercure, I will take my business elsewhere from now on.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Derrickj66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H2974, Director General at Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Derrickj66,

Thank you for taking the time of commenting our hotel and I am glad that the standards were of your liking.
I understand the inconvenience you went through and this is important to remind the hotel policy.

Indeed, when a room is double, 2 persons need to be registered. Of course when the room is booked double, those two registered persons are included. If you desire not to register anybody for the stay, then, this is a visit and indeed, each visit has a cost of 20USD, it is right.

This policy is actually applied by most of the hotels in Santo Domingo and by all belonging to an international chain.

Once again, I am sorry for the inconvenience and deeply regret I could not explain it to you while you were in the hotel.

I will stay at your disposal if you need to reach me.

Best regards,

Pierre Bignalet
h2974-gm@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Zona Colonial
Hotel Conde de Penalba
Hotel Conde de Penalba
#22 of 76 in Santo Domingo
167 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
#24 of 76 in Santo Domingo
341 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hotel Portes 9
Hotel Portes 9
#23 of 76 in Santo Domingo
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
#14 of 76 in Santo Domingo
777 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hotel Dona Elvira
Hotel Dona Elvira
#48 of 76 in Santo Domingo
151 reviews
Zona Colonial
El Beaterio Casa Museo
El Beaterio Casa Museo
#16 of 76 in Santo Domingo
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo

Property: Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo
Address: C/ Hostos | Ciudad Colonial, Santo Domingo 10211, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 76 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
96 rooms, 2 for disabled guests. Located in the heart of the colonial area of Santo Domingo, the hotel building was completely refurbished in 2000 and is an ideal base to visit all the historical monuments in the old town centre. 30 km from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo Hotel Santo Domingo
Mercure Santo Domingo
Accor Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing