We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just like home”
Review of Vesuvio Malecon

Vesuvio Malecon
Ranked #69 of 622 Restaurants in Santo Domingo
Price range: US$30 - US$60
Cuisines: Italian, International
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
new jersey
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“just like home”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

After eating in some shanties in Boca Chica, this was a real treat. It was like having dinner with friends. Attentive staff and a great menu. Everything came out perfect.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lobels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    43
    18
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Syosset,n.y.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Upscale Italian restaurant in Santo Domingo”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Just enjoyed a great dinner with my buddy Dave from New York. Great antipasta and the steak we shared was cooked to perfection. Prices were fair but do not bring the locals because they would not appreciate the menu.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnolia, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Consistantly good food and good service”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

These guys have been here on the Malecon for a long time and maintain a solid reputation for great italian food. I had the Pasta Frutta di Mare and it was excellent. The only complaint that I might voice was the the portion sizes of the starters were a little small, but very tasty.
I have been there a few times and have seldom seen it more than half full.
I think this is an issue with the lack of popularity of the Malecon area for dining than the restaurant which is very good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Terrific seafood, terrific service”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Just a short walk from the Santo Domingo Hilton, this restaurant is gem. The Lion Fish counts as one of the best seafood entrees I've ever had and the dessert tray is not to be missed. The service was great and I was was greeted by the maitre'd on a return visit like an old friend. The prices are about what you'd expect in a nice restaurant in the USA. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing Fish by the Ocean”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We enjoyed a beautiful meal in the outdoor section of Vesuvio Malecon. Funny enough the restaurant was recommended by a stranger in Atlanta and turned out to be everything she promised. The service was amazing. Both the Red Snapper and Lion Fish were excellent. Beautiful presentation and delicious. Dessert was outstanding. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JPGirard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vesuvio Malecon also viewed

Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
 
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
 

Been to Vesuvio Malecon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing