We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One-Of-A-Kind”
Review of Adam Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Adam Suites
Ranked #3 of 76 Santo Domingo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 February 2013

The best reference one can give to a hotel is the desire to return again and again. Adam Suites is that kind of place – a place where half of the guests are second, third and fourth time visitors. It is unique in so many ways: it’s great location in the heart of the colonial zone; very nice and inexpensive accommodations; convenience to plenty of places to eat, and only a couple of blocks from the Ocean. But the best and most unique part – which sets it aside and above and beyond all other options – is the intimate atmosphere of a small boutique hotel which provides a nice lounge, balcony, restaurant and roof top jacuzzi & terrace for guests to meet each other or entertain guests. Being a small hotel and with the owner on site, after a couple of visits, it feels more like family than a commercial operation. It is really a one-of-a-kind place, not only in the DR but in the Carribean. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael28804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamsuiteshotel, Owner at Adam Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Michael... your review gave me goose bumps in the best possible way! :-) You are so right when you say that we are unique in so many ways and the best small hotel in the country: we're in the right location, the staff, the services, the ambiance, the security, the feeling of belonging, the guests themselves and me on site constantly. We are a family indeed. Glad that you highly recommend us and hope to see u back soon! THANKS!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2013

I recently stayed 4 nights at the Beautiful Adam Suites hotel, and what a wonderful and relaxing experience it was! The hotel is a small intimate setting for gay men!! and I must saythe staff as well as the owner, welcomes you with open arms!! It is a place you must stay on your visit to the Beautiful Santo Domingo! I cant wait til my next visit. Gilbert is my Room ready!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimmie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamsuiteshotel, Owner at Adam Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Jimmie....I'm very happy that you liked the hotel and glad that you are planning to come back soon... Your input was very important because you are a hotelier like me and a person that knows that is not easy to manage a biz like ours and that is even more difficult to please guests from different nationalities and backgrounds. Once gain, come back soon, bring your friends alone and THANKS!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Well, Well Well, where should I start? My mom once told me that I was born “pre-pissed” and it’s almost impossible to please me no matter how hard you try. Thank God I don’t write bad reviews on tripadvisors or half of the hotels around the world would have run out of business. Anyway, where was I? Oh, I was sitting in my office in Moscow, going through hotels in SD when I bumped in the Adam Suites. Pictures and reviews were pretty much self-explanatory, so I booked tkts, sent a request for reservation and was on my way in no time. Before my departure the owner called me and made sure that I was arriving as scheduled. I was picked up at the airport (fair $40 one way), greeted at hotel by Gilbert (the owner) and escorted to my room.

I had room 5 ($59 +tax): large room and bed, LOCATION !!!, AC, safe box, immaculate bathroom, tv, all clean and nice, small balcony, never had problems with the hot water, no thrills but who cares? I was ready to party and explore local culture.

The hotels employees were very nice and professional. Fausto, a general manager, deserves a special BRAVO. I have also followed Gilbert’s recommendation regarding tour guide, places to eat, places to go, beaches etc.

The hotel is going through some renovation, but honestly I haven’t heard any annoying noises neither in the mornings nor during the day.

All over I had a great experience and would recommend this hotel to gay travellers. The whole ambience of the hotel reminded me “Tales of the City” . I didn’t feel I was in hotel at all, I felt I was at my friend’s house or something.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Moscow101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamsuiteshotel, Owner at Adam Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Serguey! What can I say... Thanks for such creative and sincere review. I appreciate the sense of humor implicit in your review. It was a creative one, for sure. and it was done in your very own Russian style with an added NYC flavor to it. I'm glad that we were able to please a guest that "... was born “pre-pissed” and it’s almost impossible to please me no matter how hard you try" :- You made me LOL when I read this statement that you made on your review! :-)

Once again, Thanks. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Not having visited Santo Domingo in over 30 years, I was invited to spend a week with friends at Adam Suites- What a wonderful place to relax, feel secure and be treated like royalty- The owner Gilbert greeted me when I arrived and made my stay a wonderful experience. His staff is superb and the location is super, Highly recommended -a hotel that is hard to find. Well worth the trip The balcony on the 2nd floor overlooking the street is the BEST!

Room Tip: suggest first floor-quiet and surene- no elevator to 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamsuiteshotel, Owner at Adam Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear guest... with much appreciation I read the nice review you wrote about the hotel. Thanks for the high marks and excellent evaluation you gave us. I was also looking forward to meet you since you were a pioneer as gay traveler to the city- almost 30 years ago!. As you said, we treat our guests like royalty and our goal is to make them feel as wonderful as possible. Come back soon and bring your friends alone. THANKS!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

It started off with a welcome arrival by the hotel's driver who squeezed 4 of us and all of our luggage into the hotel's car for the 20 minute trip back to the hotel and at a most reasonable cost. The owner and manager, Gilbert was on hand to greet us and get us all situated in our spacious rooms. His staff are absolutely the best I have encountered. They couldn't be any more helpful or friendly. And of course the top notch secuity confirmed they are dead serious of protrecting their guests. I'm sure previous reviews have all pointed out the fantastic location. This is a definite for a return trip.

Room Tip: I found the rooms on the 1st floor to be very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pete5666PR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamsuiteshotel, Owner at Adam Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear guest: Thanks for taking the time to write such wonderful and honest review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and that your are planning to return very soon too! I also would like to thank you for saying: "His staff are absolutely the best I have encountered. They couldn't be any more helpful or friendly"... And of course the top notch security confirmed they are dead serious of protecting their guests". Well, you said it better that me. We are serious about taking good care of our guests! Once again, THANKS! Come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Despite everything we had heard and had been told before visiting the DR, we learned all of the talk to be untrue. We stayed at the Adam Suites in the colonial district. Gilbert and his crew made us feel very welcomed and safe. The Hotel was very secure, with 24 hour front desk. The area surrounding the hotel was also very safe. We have nothing negative to say. I would highly recommend staying at the Adam Suites Hotel. PS. It's ok to bring your lap tops etc. Very safe and we cannot wait to go back. M & R

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamsuiteshotel, Owner at Adam Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

Dear Mike & b/f... Allow me to express my gratitude for your comment and great review... You made our day!

As you know, we constantly strive to be the best host in town and the best small hotel. Once again, THANKS and I hope to see u back soon... we also enjoyed having you guys here! Regards from the staff. See U guys back soon. Gilbert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

The security, hospitality and professionalism at Adam Suites Hotel was top notch. It made my stay feel more like I was at a little apartment of mine own in Santo Domingo than in the standard hotel. Being in a foreign city can make you feel isolated but this was not the case with this cute little hotel. Kudos especially to the staff and the owner Gilbert for being so dedicated and attentive.

Room Tip: Choose one of the larger room and ask for something with sunlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 487Wayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamsuiteshotel, Owner at Adam Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Dear Reviewer: With much pleasure I read your review and appreciate the high marks you gave us on security, hospitality and professionalism which you self described as "top notch". Future guests can easily understand & value your recommendation to stay with us because here guests can always feel like home. On a personal level, thanks for giving me "Kudos for being so dedicated and attentive". That is my goal and commitment to you and all my guests. Thanks again and hope to see you back soon. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Zona Colonial
Antiguo Hotel Europa
Antiguo Hotel Europa
#31 of 79 in Santo Domingo
253 reviews
Boutique Hotel Palacio
#14 of 79 in Santo Domingo
708 reviews
Maison Gautreaux
#64 of 79 in Santo Domingo
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zona Colonial
El Beaterio Casa Museo
El Beaterio Casa Museo
#16 of 79 in Santo Domingo
273 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hotel Conde de Penalba
Hotel Conde de Penalba
#22 of 79 in Santo Domingo
173 reviews
Hotel Villa Colonial
#15 of 79 in Santo Domingo
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adam Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adam Suites

Address: Calle Arzobispo Nouel # 308 | Zona Colonial, Santo Domingo 10210, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Santo Domingo
Price Range: £36 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adam Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to ADAM SUITES GUEST HOUSE in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic. Our boutique style hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the Colonial Zone and a block away from the famous pedestrian boulevard "El Conde" and close to very several historic Cathedrals, great restaurants and near all local bars. At Adam Suites your pleasant stay while in Santo Domingo is our number one goal and that is the reason why had we received for 3 consecutive years- 2013, 2014, 2015 the Tripadvisor's Certificate of Excellence as well as Booking Award of Excellence. Our hotel rooms are nice, clean and comfortable. Each is individually decorated and perfect for the smart traveler- a person who wants to stay in a nice cozy hotel without paying top price for it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Odigeo so you can book your Adam Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing