We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Adam Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Adam Suites
Ranked #3 of 71 Santo Domingo B&B and Inns
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Adams Suites is a small boutique hotel in the heart of the colonial zone in Santo Domingo. The hotel is within walking distance to bars, clubs and major restaurants as well as the major historic sites in the zone. The staff is very friendly, and Gilbert the owner is an amazing host. In fact, the place did not feel like a hotel, but more of a home away from home. The service was great and it was nice to mingle with the local people and make new friends.This was my second time staying within two months and already I am thinking of my next trip to Santo Domingo and Adams Suites! For some one who hates stuffy hotel chains- this is the place to be especially if you crave a unique and fun experience.

SB.

Room Tip: During the power cuts the higher floor has less generator noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamsuiteshotel, Owner at Adam Suites, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Stephen...

I am so thankful to you and at the same time happy that you took the time to write this review because it offer readers an overview of what we are: Home away from home. Glad that you have stayed with us on two occasions already and planning your third! Once again, thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    32
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
16
73
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Angelo, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I first stayed at the Adam Suites Hotel at the recommnedation of a good friend and I have been extremely please with the quality of service at the Hotel. Gilbert, the owner, has been very helpful in numerous ways during my stays at the Hotel. The staff is also very accomodating and the place is kept clean and fresh. I appreciate the attention that they show guest and the good advise that they offer. I have stayed there several times and have already booked my next stay at the Hotel.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank sraines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamsuiteshotel, Owner at Adam Suites, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Hello Scott... On behalf of the staff and myself I would like to thank you for such nice review about our hotel and the services that we provide. We aim to be an even better place for the enjoyment of our guests and their visitor. See you back soon! Gilbert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Adam Suites is located in the historic part of the capital, ideally situated for the holiday traveller. The hotel is surrounded by the city’s bustling nightlife, in a area which vibrates with so much energy that visitors can feel the heart of Santo Domingo beating.
The property is among a number of colonial buildings which line the street and has been splendidly restored: the interior is decorated in an interesting fashion. Guest rooms are renovated with a particularly distinctive style.
Gilbert and his team provide a generous welcome. All were most helpful throughout what remains a highly memorable stay.

Room Tip: Book early for a full choice of rooms at weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ian_LDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamsuiteshotel, Owner at Adam Suites, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
With much pleasure I read your review about our hotel. I'm glad that you took the time back home in London to go online and write about your experience while at the hotel. Hope to see you back. THANKS on behalf of our staff :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My stay at Adams Suites was by far the best and most memorable stay in a hotel. I am even more grateful towards the fabulous treatment bestowed on me by Gilbert, the hotel owner and his dedicated staff, Amaury and Juan. Thanks to the 3 of you for making my trip to Santo Domingo a memorable one. Though, I have visited the Dominican Republic on 3 previous occasions, it was my first stay in the Capital, Santo Domingo. I loved everything about this city and the hotel, Adams Suites. From my initial reception at the hotel, to my farewell, the welcome and the hospitality of the staff were excellent! The design and decor of the hotel is simply fabulous and it gives you the feel of living in a big city for a fraction of the cost. I have absolutely no reservations about this hotel and it will always be my 'go-to' hotel for my trips to the Dominican Republic. I highly recommend it to anyone! Gilbert and his staff were very friendly and personal from the very moment that I arrived at the hotel. They were helpful with advice on getting around Santo Domingo as well as navigating the bursting city life. My room was meticulously cleaned, spacious and well maintained. I had a very comfortable bed with fluffy pillows and clean covers. The bathroom was also cleaned daily by Juan. The location of the hotel was my favorite as it was close to all the action in the Colonial zone in Santo Domingo. When I checked out of the hotel, the driver, Amaury, was right at the door waiting with open arms and I couldn’t have asked for a better driver. Overall, my stay at the Adams Suite was a fantastic experience and I can’t wait for my next trip to Santo Domingo. Once again, my special thanks and appreciation goes to Gilbert and his staff and I commend you all for a job well done. I can’t wait for my next trip to the Adams Suite Hotel in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic.
Anthony,
Arlington, VA, USA

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamsuiteshotel, Owner at Adam Suites, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Anthony... With much pleasure I read your wonderful review. Your words towards the staff and myself are very much appreciated. I am so glad that you enjoyed the trip because that is our goal- to make every guest stay a wonderful one. Please come back and bring your friends alone. Regards from the Juan and Amaury. Thanks again! Gilbert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I've stayed at this place in manys different occasion, has a great attention from the people who work (Gilbert & Fausto) there, the location and areas are safe for explore any time day/nite. The hotel is Friendly gay but people who like to stay at friendly place should go there. For the food and cruise areas are not a problem the hotel is one block away from Calle EL Conde, where you will find all need for expend the days around the areas!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Juliosm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamsuiteshotel, Owner at Adam Suites, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Hello Julio,

Thanks for giving us such a nice review and it is my hope that you come back soon. Keep in touch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Adams Suites is a great addition to Santo Domingo. Great location, great owner and staff, and at a very reasonable price. I really think that any gay traveller to Santo Domingo should plan on staying here. It isn't a Sheraton but it is clean, quaint, and friendly. Gilbert the owner has put a lot into sprucing up an older property and it shows. I will definitely stay at Adams Suites the next time I pass through Santo Domingo!

Room Tip: I had a room back from the street--very quiet. Excllent for sleeping after a long flight or a long n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank asdsrfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamsuiteshotel, Owner at Adam Suites, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear guest from California- Thanks for taking the time to go online and write such a wonderful review about our hotel. You are right, we took a 1940's Art Deco building, similar to the ones in South Beach, and remodeled it over a one year period. The final result, is a magnificent well preserved historical building in the heart of the colonial zone. I'm also appreciate the fact that you acknowledged the dedication of our staff, our services and my efforts. Once again, thanks and come back soon! Gilbert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barre, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I stayed at Adam Suites for about 5 nites in May, then went to the beach for a few days, and returned for my last night in DR. Gilbert arranged for Amauri to pick me up at the airport which was good. Arriving and having to navigate the airport and taxi mayhem is not an easy task. Upon arrival Fausto showed me to my room which was no. 5, the one with the balcony. Fausto showed me everything I needed to know and was extremely sweet and helpful throughout my stay. Room # 5 is more expensive than the others but worth it I thought. Very large, nice bed, dresser and private balcony overlooking street and disco Fogoo across the street. Also very helpful, sweet and kind was Juan, Fausto's on-site backup staff person. At night the front door is staffed by Edwin, who was kind enough to watch my rental car on the street and make sure it was safe. When I returned for one night, I stayed in room 10. It was smaller, and had only one electrical outlet in the room, which posed a challenge to recharge my laptop and Iphone. Also #10 has a fancy shower which I was unable to make work. #10 however was quieter than #5. All in all Adam Suites is a great base from which to explore Santo Domingo and even the whole DR. I would very much recommend it to any gay traveler to DR for at least part of your stay.

Room Tip: #5 is nice but a bit noisier than other options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamsuiteshotel, Owner at Adam Suites, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear Mark... thanks so much for your kind words toward the staff, myself and the hotel. It was a pleasure meeting and having you as guest at the hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and the services that we provide, especially the airport pick up service which is a very wise choice for any traveler arriving to a foreign country where English is not the spoken language. Once again, thanks, and I'm looking forward to have you back very soon! Regards, Gilbert & the team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Zona Colonial
Hotel Conde de Penalba
Hotel Conde de Penalba
#22 of 78 in Santo Domingo
170 reviews
Boutique Hotel Palacio
#14 of 78 in Santo Domingo
691 reviews
Zona Colonial
El Beaterio Casa Museo
El Beaterio Casa Museo
#16 of 78 in Santo Domingo
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casa Naemie
#20 of 78 in Santo Domingo
200 reviews
Zona Colonial
Antiguo Hotel Europa
Antiguo Hotel Europa
#32 of 78 in Santo Domingo
248 reviews
Billini Hotel
#19 of 78 in Santo Domingo
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adam Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adam Suites

Property: Adam Suites
Address: Calle Arzobispo Nouel # 308 | Zona Colonial, Santo Domingo 10210, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adam Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to ADAM SUITES GUEST HOUSE in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic. Our boutique style hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the Colonial Zone and a block away from the famous pedestrian boulevard "El Conde" and close to very several historic Cathedrals, great restaurants and near all local bars. At Adam Suites your pleasant stay while in Santo Domingo is our number one goal and that is the reason why had we received for 3 consecutive years- 2013, 2014, 2015 the Tripadvisor's Certificate of Excellence as well as Booking Award of Excellence. Our hotel rooms are nice, clean and comfortable. Each is individually decorated and perfect for the smart traveler- a person who wants to stay in a nice cozy hotel without paying top price for it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Adam Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing