We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
Ranked #24 of 78 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable and Convenient”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Enjoyed the locale and the hotel personnel at this hotel. The breakfast was ample and also got to meet other people from other parts of the world while eating breakfast. The cleaning staff was also very accomodating with the room cleanliness

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RHL2413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    129
    89
    25
    22
See reviews for
46
117
45
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

I have actual stayed at the Hodelpa many times, as well as a sister hotel of the same name in Santiago. It had been a few years since I last stayed there, but I needed dependable lodging in an emergency (canceled flight).

The Hodelpa Caribe is located in the heart of the Colonial Zone, the oldest, most historic part of Santo Domingo. Set among the 15th and 16th century remnants of the ancient city, the Hodelpa places you squarely within walking distance of the city's most fascinating sights, UNESCO world heritage sites, and great dining. The hotel is situated at the top of a long pedestrian street (called The Conde) anchored by the Primada Catedral nearest the hotel and the Parque de la Independencia on the other end. And in between, a cacophony of merchants hawking their souvenirs, as well as the more serious retail stores and little eateries. Not to be missed, however, are the glimpses of local life that one can see, whether families and children playing in the park next to the cathedral, or men playing chess or dominoes at a table in the middle of the Conde.

The Hodelpa appears to have been recently renovated. The rooms are of adequate size and very clean. The beds are comfortable and the air conditioning (essential) does a great job ... Can't say that about every hotel in the Dominican Republic. If there are any drawbacks, it would be that the bathrooms are very small (the shower is miniscule) and the breakfast, which can be purchased as a part of the room price, does not have a great deal of variety.

All in all, I recommend this hotel for its relative comfort and excellent location to the ancient sights.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Staff was friendly and breakfast nice. It is easy to explore zona colonial from here. Internet worked pretty well. The only disadvantage was slow laundry service. For instance, a laundry bag was not picked when the room was cleaned and I had to wait until next day. This happened a couple of times but I was satisfied with the laundry result.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ematv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managua
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I stayed here overnight in February- see earlier review for details. I was back there again recently and delighted to find out that they fixed the internet. It worked perfectly both in the lobby and in my room. Thanks, guys!

Room Tip: Again- great location. Rooms are small but adequate. Buffet breakfast was find but limited in variet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExPatinNica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel 6 nights 2 weeks ago. It's quite good hotel with very good locacion, near Plaza de Espana and Plaza Colon. Everything is at your fingertips. The breakfasts were good enough. Wifi is available in the rooms and free. On the roof is terrace. For us this hotel was better than Hotel Antiguo Europa(calle Arzobispo Merino now is under reconstruction). We would like to come back to Hotel Hodelpa.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zurusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited the Hodelpa after coming back from Punta Cana. We also stayed at Villa Colonial for one night before going to Punta Cana and I really wish we would have stayed there again. First of all the rooms at Hodelpa are small and they are worn down. The room, towels and sheets really do not look very clean (or maybe they are just very old). The showers and restroom is tiny and it is very loud at early hours in the morning. On the positive side it is at a great location; just steps away from the Conde. They also have convenient parking, wifi, and good service. In the future I would definitely go back to Villa Colonial instead of Hodelpa!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LauraDlaRosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteleshodelpa, Ecommerce Manager at Hodelpa Caribe Colonial, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Mrs.LauraDLaRosa
Thank you for choosing Hodelpa Caribe Colonial on your quest to discover the Colonial City of Santo Domingo. We genuinely apologize for the towel and sheet appearance. We´ve proceeded to change our linen inventory for new ones with better quality. We put our trust in you, to grant us the opportunity to give you a different experience and achieve your satisfaction. Thank you for your kind feedback, with it, you help us be better every day.

KindRegards,
Mariel Polanco
Ecommerce Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiansted, St. Croix
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Staff at the Hodelpa Caribe Colonial really make it a great place to stay. The front desk staff and Resteraunt staff made me feel welcome. My room was a bit smaller than what am used to but it was clean the water was hot and my towels clean. Wifi worked better in some spots than others.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Link U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
#12 of 78 in Santo Domingo
803 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hotel Conde de Penalba
Hotel Conde de Penalba
#22 of 78 in Santo Domingo
170 reviews
Zona Colonial
Antiguo Hotel Europa
Antiguo Hotel Europa
#32 of 78 in Santo Domingo
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zona Colonial
El Beaterio Casa Museo
El Beaterio Casa Museo
#16 of 78 in Santo Domingo
271 reviews
Boutique Hotel Palacio
#14 of 78 in Santo Domingo
691 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hotel Portes 9
Hotel Portes 9
#23 of 78 in Santo Domingo
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hodelpa Caribe Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodelpa Caribe Colonial

Property: Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
Address: Isabel La Catolica No 159 | Ciudad Colonial, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hodelpa Caribe Colonial 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hodelpa Caribe Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial Hotel Santo Domingo
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing