We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”

Hotel La Casona Dorada & Restaurant
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Casona Dorada & Restaurant
Ranked #59 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Hato Mayor del Rey, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This small hotel is in a good location: gazcue neighborhood and in the independence street, easy to find.

Pool is small, rooms are ok.

My complaint is about food. They serve you they self in small portion. I asked the waiter to give a little bit more, just smile and nothing else.

Wifi connection is great: 6mb download and 2mb upload.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorge2941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    11
    16
    0
    10
See reviews for
1
8
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

The rooms are in very bad conditions, dirty, with mold, no mini-bar, and they smell bad of course. The swimming pool is very small and not so clean kept. No elevators. The hotel is very old and not well conserved. Service is terrible in general. They only have soap in bathrooms, no shampoo or conditioner. TV is ok. Air Condition is ok. Phone is ok. Wifi is so so. Forget about room service. Nothing is true according for what they sell for in fliers and websites.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandrodelacuesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santo Domingo hotels

St Martin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

If you are on a budget, this is a safe, economical hotel. But be aware it is a 20 minute walk from the Colonial center, partly through questionable streets that aren't safe at night. There are always taxis near by so you don't need to take the risk.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YodaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

The rooms are ok but there are doors leading to other rooms and there is often noise late. The breakfast staff is not friendly and they don't come to you to take your order. The food is average and expensive. The pool is sometimes quite dirty. Many low class clients stay at this hotel and party in the pool area with the music at top volume (think of rappers with tank tops and big golden chains in the pool). Then the pool remains extremely dirty for a long time.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
1,023 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

I stay with with my husband to be, the room were clean, quiet and AC work perfectly. The pool was dirty since hotel was remodel but overall hotel was great. Friend had a wedding there and staff did a excellent job preparing the place. Staff was were great and hotel has valet parket which come very handy...

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank lalocadr19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

My sister and I stayed at the Hotel, the staff was friendly and we had round the clock security and the kitchen catered to our every need. The room need to be more modern. however I will recommend this Hotel to any one looking for an inexpensive place to stay. My major complaint is there need to be more english speaking staff at the hotel we had problems understanding and communicating but that did not discourage us. Also there is restaurants, Casinos and Food stores with in walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snash_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2010

I enjoyed every minute of my stay at La Casona Dorada. The room could have been a liiiiittle bit bigger but it was comfy and clean. The a/c, tv, remote and phone worked perfectly. The bathroom was clean and I definitely appreciated the hot water - no complaints there. I had dinner in their restaurant, the food was delicious. Later on I sat at the bar with my laptop - yes, I had internet connection! - and enjoyed a few glasses of wine and great music (my requests). The staff at the restaurant and the bar were VERY friendly and attentive. I then told the bartender I wanted to sit by the pool. He walked me down to the pool area, brought my drink along and placed it on the table for me - now THAT'S what I call customer service!! It was sooo relaxing sitting by the pool. I unfortunately only stayed for one night but I will definitely stay there again on my next trip to Santo Domingo. I loved it!! It's also situated in a prime location in the city. The Malecon, casinos, restaurants are steps away. Thumbs up to La Casona Dorada.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ing717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Plaza De La Cultura
Hostal Riazor
Hostal Riazor
#31 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Plaza De La Cultura
Carey House Hotel
Carey House Hotel
#58 of 79 in Santo Domingo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Hotel Napolitano
#30 of 79 in Santo Domingo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gazcue
Green House Aparta Hotel
Green House Aparta Hotel
#39 of 79 in Santo Domingo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Royal Palace Hotel
#71 of 79 in Santo Domingo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Maison Gautreaux
#66 of 79 in Santo Domingo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Casona Dorada & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Casona Dorada & Restaurant

Property: Hotel La Casona Dorada & Restaurant
Address: Av. Independencia No 255 | Esq. Osvaldo Báez, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Gazcue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Casona Dorada & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Casona Dorada & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Casona Dorada And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing