We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still angry after all these years”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Casona Dorada
Ranked #66 of 76 Hotels in Santo Domingo
San Juan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Still angry after all these years”
Reviewed 22 April 2007

We booked in twice, because we left for the RD-Haiti frontier and returned to Santo Domingo a day later. Both times we had to haggle the room price. The first stay was OK. The second was nightmairish. We arrived close to midnight and, after the price haggle were given a dirty, noisy, unprepared room that even had signs of a fight (overturned lamp). We complained to no avail and, adding insult to injury, room service refused to put on clean bedsheets, giving them to us to do their job. We did not leave because we were too exhausted after all-day travel to go to another hotel. Before leaving for good the next day I requested to see the manager-again to no avail, and lodged both written and verbal complaints. As you may imagine, I got no answer. Looking for other lodging options in this site I ran into this opportunity to "let the world" know about our experience at La Casona.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed July 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank viajerocaribeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    12
    16
    0
    10
See reviews for
1
8
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san juan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2006

the service was terrible, also one employee charge us $20 over. they don't know courtesy. they moved me 3 time from the room because no water in one, two a/c doesn't work and a lot of roaches. really for me is a low price motel

  • Liked — none
  • Disliked — none
  • Tips/Secrets — none
  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank el-comandante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santo Domingo hotels

Providence, RI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2006

Stayed here in October '05 and the room was nice. Clean, hot water, jacuzzi tub, fridge. Good security for parking and b'fast included. Stayed in August 2006 in the new wing they were adding in October when I was there before. Room was awesome. Queen bed, all fresh tiles, tv, cold air, nice shower with hot water, really nice. And was only $55 for the night.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank macanudojohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 August 2004

I've stayed there 3 times,very homey... there is a small pool and disco. very cozy rooms and very clean bathrooms, good towel service. nothing very fancy, but the staff is very nice and helpful. no internet service .

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 March 2004

feb '04 stayed here during the carribean world series for 6 days. paid 45.00 per night had breakfast everyday @ the hotel. nothing here was fancy but the staff was great ac worked hot water never had a problem parking, good security nice little bar, good breakfast, small pool, quiet, nice looking hotel w/older furnishings. only regret was the lack of a room safe.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Plaza De La Cultura
Hostal Riazor
Hostal Riazor
#31 of 76 in Santo Domingo
38 reviews
Hotel Napolitano
#29 of 76 in Santo Domingo
192 reviews
Hotel Real Bella Vista
#44 of 76 in Santo Domingo
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zona Colonial
Hotel Conde de Penalba
Hotel Conde de Penalba
#22 of 76 in Santo Domingo
167 reviews
Maison Gautreaux
#63 of 76 in Santo Domingo
45 reviews
Royal Palace Hotel
#70 of 76 in Santo Domingo
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Casona Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Casona Dorada

Property: Hotel La Casona Dorada
Address: Av. Independencia No 255 | Esq. Osvaldo Báez, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Gazcue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 76 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Casona Dorada 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Casona Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Casona Dorada And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing