We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect For A Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Maison Gautreaux

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maison Gautreaux
Ranked #66 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect For A Weekend”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I spent a long weekend in Santo Domingo taking a holiday from working in Port-au-Prince. This hotel was great due its proximity to the waterfront, without being in a very noisy part of it. The hotel is also located relatively centrally in Santo Domingo, so you can walk a reasonable distance in any direction and find something interesting.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel maintains the original "family home" feel of the buildings original purpose, and the jacuzzi on the roof is a saving grace from the Santo Domingo heat and sun. Granted, I don't think the jacuzzi was on or even plugged in, but that didn't stop me from using it every night.

Overall, good value for they money, friendly place to stay, quiet but not so far away from interesting activities.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caleb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanGautreaux, Owner at Maison Gautreaux, responded to this review, 22 May 2015
Thank you for your comments, we look foward to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    17
    7
    4
    7
See reviews for
3
15
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cottonwood Heights, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed three nights here to start our DR trip (Dec 6 - 22). The staff helped us get settled in the country by providing phone cards for sale, directions to nearby restaraunts and shopping, etc. The desk clerk, Jorge, was very polite and patient working with our basic spanish skills.

Breakfast in bed every morning was a nice touch and the value ($35/night) is pretty good for being in a reasonably safe neighborhood close to the Colonial Zone. I would happily stay again, it's a good home base to either check out Santo Domingo or relax and use wi-fi to plot out the rest of your trip.

Also, it's on the ocean block ;)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank provotrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanGautreaux, Owner at Maison Gautreaux, responded to this review, 22 May 2015
Thank you for your comments, we look foward to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

If you are used to the Ritz then this hotel is not for you. However, if you like a good deal then you can't go wrong. The hotel offers A/C rooms with in room safes, hot water, and clean rooms. The usual rate is between US$40 and US$50 per night. For the location it is a very good deal. Only a short cab ride away from El Conde and the Colonial Zone. A block off the Malecon. A nice breakfast in the morning.

If all you really want is a clean room, in a safe place, for a night, then this is the place for you. Oh, and there is no pool or fitness room. There is a Jacuzzi on the third floor, but it only has cold water.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UsaTravelman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanGautreaux, Owner at Maison Gautreaux, responded to this review, 22 May 2015
Thank you for your comments, we look foward to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
166 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This place is a dump - however it provides value for money as it is cheap and well located (right next to the sea and the "promenade")

Santo Domingo is underdeveloped: anywhere else in the world the beachfront (well, no beach - rocky shore) would be full of restaurants, bars and hotels - however here there are hotels, spaced widely apart, and some cafes, again spread widely apart. So while not exactly a "prime" location, this place is at least next to the waterfront.

Room types vary here. I saw one room (on the same floor as the hot tub) which was quite nice, with big windows. My room was on the ground floor - very old, badly maintained (sink hanging off wall, shower taps loose, single power socket about to come out of the wall) and dirty. The room did have an in-room safe, though.

Breakfast was juice, coffee, a toasted sandwich (processed cheese and ham), and a little bit of fruit.

In summary - if you want to be steps away from the waterfront cheaply, stay here. Otherwise, there are better options.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dand9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanGautreaux, Owner at Maison Gautreaux, responded to this review, 22 May 2015
Thank you for your comments, we now have safe box in every room and we habe fixed all the rooms in the ground level.
We hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santo Domingo hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed here for two nights in May 2012. The building is lovely, with an upstairs outside patio where we sat in the evening and smoked cigars. The rooms are quite basic but clean and very good value for Santo Domingo. The highlight was the food: the free breakfast was a ham and cheese panini and a huge pile of fresh fruit, plus what might have been the best cup of coffee I've ever had; the coffee was free throughout the day too. The staff were friendly, although they didn't have much English. It was a 20 minute walk or so into the colonial town, which felt very safe. Walking further out to get dinner one evening started to feel a bit sketchy. H

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanGautreaux, Owner at Maison Gautreaux, responded to this review, 22 May 2015
Thank you for your comments, we look foward to see you again, now we have english speaking staff to serve our visitors better
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
169 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I stayed in this hotel total 10days ( This is the closest hotel from my working place,so I had no choice). at the first day I stayed in a romm with very very small window which I can not open and no sunshine at all.So I left to other hotel near by. That was a night mare, so I came back to this hotel. and ask for a room with sunshine. I tried some rooms and finally I got really good room!

Break fast was good. Panini/hot sandwitch with cheeze and ham, and juice and coffee. assorted fruits , and yogurt(not every morning with yogurt,,but)

So I suggest you not to reserve a room and just come to this hotel and decide depending on what room you get. This is the best way to use this hotel. They have many rooms and no much guests so no worry if they had no room( it would not happen.).
Location is not good for everyone , (for me it as grate,,but for tourists who want to go to Zona Colonial ,20~25minutes walk. Around this hotel nothing but casinos,,,there are 4 casinos in a short distance. so for a casino players this is a good hotel!
Also those who want to stay in Santo Domingo for longer than 1week, this hotel gives you a better price. To negociate this also no make reservation,just come!

Room Tip: Just no make reservation.and come and have a look at rooms. If you have reservation, they will push...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maguder D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanGautreaux, Owner at Maison Gautreaux, responded to this review, 22 May 2015
thank you for your commnets, we look foward to visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK/Spain/New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I was a bit disappointed when I arrived as the hotel did not look as nice as the pictures on the website, and I expected more for the price. My room in particular was very dark and dingy. I had a problem when the electronic lock on my door broke and I couldn't get into my room for half a day, but the staff were nice about it and moved me to a bigger room on the top floor as compensation for the inconvenience - the upper floor room was much nicer! I didn't get wifi in either of the rooms and had to sit in the lobby to work.

Despite a sign outside that said "bar and restaurant", the man behind the desk looked confused when I asked where the restaurant was, and said they only served breakfast. I then noticed a very old sign saying the restaurant was under renovation... apparently that has been the case for a while!

The hotel is pretty basic, not as flash as it looks on the website, but the staff were very nice and helpful, particularly the guy who worked the evenings and nights.

The hotel's location is good, a stone's throw from the waterfront (though you can't see the ocean from the jacuzzi, as they claim on their website!) and about a 15 minute walk from the colonial area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are very dark, upper floor rooms get more light. Also check for fans, hair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orphanpiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanGautreaux, Owner at Maison Gautreaux, responded to this review, 22 May 2015
Thank you for your comments, we habe fix the wi fi signal and now you can connect in all floors with the same connection, and strong signal, also we have change all locks for new electronic locks that open with a codified card so we can have registration of who enter the rooms and when.
we look foward to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Plaza De La Cultura
Carey House Hotel
Carey House Hotel
#58 of 79 in Santo Domingo
11 reviews
Hotel Duque De Wellington
#69 of 79 in Santo Domingo
44 reviews
Gazcue
Green House Aparta Hotel
Green House Aparta Hotel
#40 of 79 in Santo Domingo
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zona Colonial
Hotel Portes 9
Hotel Portes 9
#25 of 79 in Santo Domingo
188 reviews
Acuarium Resort Hotel
#38 of 79 in Santo Domingo
120 reviews
Royal Palace Hotel
#70 of 79 in Santo Domingo
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Gautreaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Gautreaux

Property: Maison Gautreaux
Address: Gascue C/ Osvaldo Baez - Felix Mariano Luberes 8, Santo Domingo 10207, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison Gautreaux 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maison Gautreaux is the house of a highly respected and well known family of Santo Domingo, was converted into an hotel in 1994 by the Gautreaux Family, the hotel has a very nice decoration and you can breath a familiar atmosphere when you are in our acomodations. You will feel like you are in you own home when you spend your days with us. We will feel very happy to have you here. We will be waiting for all of you!!! The Maison Gautreaux Your Home in Santo Domingo!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maison Gautreaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Gautreaux Santo Domingo
Maison Gautreaux Hotel Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing