We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Santo Domingo
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Kaktovik, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“May 2014”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Always stay a Marriott hotels and never disappointed. The hotel is in a safe area, just one half block from the USA Embassy. The room was large, well lit and clean with all the amenities expected from the Marriott Chain. Enjoyed my stay and would go back. The front desk is supper efficient and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank broome2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardStoDgo, General Manager at Courtyard Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Broome2408:

It is good to know that our service was friendly and that our front desk associates made your stay special and a memorable one. Thank you for your loyalty to Marriott Hotels, I hope you take advantage of all the wonderful benefits of the Marriott Rewards program. If your future travels bring you back to Santo Domingo, I am certain the Courtyard Marriott Santo Domingo will be your first choice.

G. Olvera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    154
    26
    5
    3
See reviews for
82
47
42
285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I spent a weekend in Santo Domingo and found this hotel to be a great choice. The staff was excellent, the front desk staff make the check in and check out process easy and fast. There was always a cab out front, no need to call for one. The room was well furnished and clean. I especially liked the small market next to the front desk open 24/7 with snacks, water, beer and wine at a reasonable price for a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris5454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardStoDgo, General Manager at Courtyard Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Chris5454:

I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the facilities and customer service experience were what you deserve. I was delighted to read that the front desk team is efficient and made your check in and check out process simple. I hope that during your visit, you were able to see the Ciudad Colonial and surrounding areas where you could find museums, shops, restaurants, etc. Thank you again for your comments and for your business.

G. Olvera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I wish there was a way to break down the rating with .5, if so this would really be a 4.5 vs. 4. The hotel was very modern with updated amenities. The staff was friendly at check-in and somewhat attentive. I had an issue locking the sliding door to the outside balcony and the maintenance personnel arrived within 5-minutes of my call. The facilities were modern with updated amenities. The gym facilities was by far above average; it included state of the art thread-mills and elliptical machines, free weights (50lb max dumb bells), one weight bench, large mirrors on two walls, and a cable crossover machine with attachments. I also enjoyed a morning swim in the pool-it was small but adequate and well placed to avoid the morning and evening sun. The rooms were modern in appearance which included a nice firm king size bed, desk, chair, small fridge, and coffee machine. Not a major complaint, but the coffee provided was not of the best quality (flavor wise). A microwave would have been nice, but I guess you can’t have it all. A safe was provided which is required to secure jewelry and passports. WIFI was provided without additional charges. The hotel was a 20 minute drive from the Santo Domingo Airport and close to the downtown area. On site security was provided 24-7 with a closed off entrance to the parking lot. Overall great stay and really not your typical courtyard Marriott you would find in the states.

Room Tip: Not sure a good view is possible, the hotel is tucked away off a busy street with road access or par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wopat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardStoDgo, General Manager at Courtyard Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Wopat5:

I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the facilities and service experience was what you expected and deserve. It is good to know that the gym facilities were of your liking, we recently renovated this area and we tried to make it as complete and modern as a stand-alone fitness center. I appreciate your time in sharing with us your experience and look forward to have you stay with us in the future, I am sure the Courtyard Santo Domingo will be your hotel of choice when you come back to Santo Domingo.

G. Olvera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Just finished my stay here from 6/11-17. I usually do not write online reviews but the service here was excellent. This was my first trip to Dominican Republic and the front desk greatly accommodated us. They answered all of our questions-even the silly ones promptly and politely. They went above and beyond our their positions and help arrange our many activities. Excellent hotel especially for the value!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcoke88_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardStoDgo, General Manager at Courtyard Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Jasmin C:

I am glad to know that you decided to write an online review, I am sure your stay was a memorable one and the level of service you received was superb. I hope the week that you spent in Santo Domingo was a productive one and you were able to see all the wonderful things the city has to offer. I hope you come back to the Courtyard Santo Domingo sometime in the near future, I can assure you the level of service you will receive will be once again excellent.

G. Olvera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel is not very big but the rooms were very comfortable and the food in the hotel was very good. The staff in the reception area is very nicer and really know how to take care of you. The location of the hotel is near city center.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardStoDgo, General Manager at Courtyard Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Carlos T:

I am glad to know that the quality of our rooms and the friendly service that you received was what you expect and deserve. In regards to your food likings, I hope that you were able to dine with us and to take advantage of our themed nights on Tuesday and Wednesday, both nights are very popular amongst our guest and a very good choice for dining.

G. Olvera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is a "far above average" hotel in this chain - not the standard "cookie-cutter" Courtyard! I did not find it "dark" as another reviewer stated; rather, it is rich in wood trim and other unique decor features. The extremely attentive and friendly personnel make this place truly special. Behind the front desk, Celso, Raysa, David, and Melina were outstanding in helping me with the little things to facilitate getting comfortable quickly in new surroundings. The breakfast buffet is exceptional - fresh and a great variety! Roselin, Fernelis, and Inoel were most attentive in the restaurant. (Minor complaint / suggestion: get some quality decaf coffee to brew when a guest requests it, and eliminate the hand-carried jar of "instant"!) The room was clean, the bed comfortable. The air conditioner in the room was adequate, but it may have left the room uncomfortably warm during hotter months. The exercise room is clean and well supplied with equipment. The pool is small but adequate, in a nice private setting. Overall: excellent!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ffffjjjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardStoDgo, General Manager at Courtyard Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
ffffjjjj:

It is good to know that our service was friendly and that our associates made your stay special and a memorable one. We have a lot of good associates in the hotel, thank you for taking the time to recognize and to remember their names, I will make sure they are recognized so that they can continue to excel in their jobs. I have already addressed your coffee suggestion and on your next visit to our hotel our decaffeinated coffee will be as good as our regular coffee. If your future travels bring you back to Santo Domingo, I am confident the Courtyard Marriott Santo Domingo will be your hotel of choice.

G. Olvera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is a safe comfortable and clean Courtyard located is a busy part of SD. Traffic in/out of the parking lot can be crazy. The staff were friendly and welcoming, most room rates include BREakfast. The hotel is clean and well maintained but a little dated and dark. The wall a/c unit had a hard time keeping up with the intense heat and high humidity and barely made the room bearable. Most frequent travelers accustomed to high end Marriott properties (or an average US CY) may be a bit underwhelmed - good thing is a new JW property will be online in the next month or so.

Room Tip: A room away from calle Maximo Gomez or on the back of the bldg may offer a quieter stay, especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LifetimePlatinum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardStoDgo, General Manager at Courtyard Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
LifetimePlatinum:

One of the few downsides of Santo Domingo is the bad traffic all over the city, I wish driving around Santo Domingo could be easier. I was glad to read that you found our staff friendly and welcoming, it is something that I feel very proud of. Thank you for being a loyal member to Marriott and the Marriott Rewards Program, we will definitely take your experience into consideration as we make improvements to our property.

G. Olvera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#9 of 78 in Santo Domingo
929 reviews
2.0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Santo Domingo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Renaissance Santo Domingo Jaragua Hotel & Casino
0.7 mi away
Catalonia Santo Domingo
Catalonia Santo Domingo
#7 of 78 in Santo Domingo
413 reviews
1.7 mi away
Boutique Hotel Palacio
Boutique Hotel Palacio
#15 of 78 in Santo Domingo
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Santo Domingo

Property: Courtyard Santo Domingo
Address: 50A Maximo Gomez Avenue, Santo Domingo 10405, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Gazcue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
#1 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Santo Domingo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic hotel is located in the heart of the city's cultural district and offers comfortable accommodations and complete services for business and leisure travelers alike. Among the most preferred Santo Domingo hotels, the Courtyard is within walking distance to the National Theater and Palacio Bellas Artes Theater. Our Courtyard hotel offers easy access to Santo Domingo's Colonial zone attractions, the main business district and government facilities. Guests can be assured of a relaxing and productive stay with our amazing Marriott bedding and free high-speed Internet access. Enjoy the convenience of our on-site Centro Restaurant and The Market Convenience store, or relax and unwind at our outdoor swimming pool and fitness center. We also offer two meeting rooms with flexible space for events and business meetings in Santo Domingo. Visit the Courtyard Santo Domingo hotel today and discover what refreshing service really means. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Santo Domingo Hotel Santo Domingo
Santo Domingo Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing