We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostal San Francisco De Asis
Nearby Hotels
US$208
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Billini Hotel(Santo Domingo)
US$222
US$148
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$229
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Aladino(Santo Domingo)
US$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Antiguo Hotel Europa(Santo Domingo)
US$90
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$95
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Beaterio Casa Museo(Santo Domingo)
US$110
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Dona Elvira(Santo Domingo)
US$127
US$102
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casas del XVI(Santo Domingo)
US$576
US$518
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
11
14
2
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
14
2
4
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed here one night on a recent trip to Santo Domingo. Normally we stay in the Zona Colonial but found this place online and wanted to give it a try. The hotel is very new with a modern design. Bed was a pillow top and very comfortable, flatscreen t.v., plenty of hot water. One of the best bakeries in Santo Domingo is a block away. A very good sushi place is a short 10 minute walk up the street. The U.S. Consulate/Embassy is not very far as well, just a short taxi ride. The rooms are smaller but for $50 bucks you can't expect a penthouse! Look at the competition, most are older and more money. All things considered a very affordable hotel with a great location in Gazcue and it's new!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clint J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

“Hostal San Francisco de Asis” is a relatively new small hotel in Santo Domingo. I came upon it by pure coincidence while searching online for an inexpensive place to stay during a short trip to the capital city. We just needed a clean place to sleep as we were not going to be spending much time inside. The location of the hotel is excellent. It is located in Gazcue, a historic neighborhood about 5 minutes drive from the Old Colonial City. The hotel is located two blocks away from “El Malecon” and a block away from restaurants, banks and other businesses. Restaurant “El Conuco”, a great restaurant for typical Dominican fare is only two blocks away. And “Sonata Resposteria”, a Dominican Bakery offering delicious pastries, empanadas and croquettes, is around the corner.
I am giving a low score to the hotel because I was not given the room I had reserved previously online. I made reservations two weeks in advance, for a bigger room on the second floor for three of us; instead, we were placed on a cramped tiny back room on the first floor with a view of the alleyway facing a tall concrete wall. We barely had any space to move, but as I mentioned before we were there only for sleeping, so I did not let this ruined our vacation. What’s worse was that they lied to us, telling us that the room would be available the following day, but that never happened. The excuse given was that the room we had reserved was being “fixed” which I found it odd as this is a new hotel.
Our own room had some problems as well; the shower head holder was broken, making it very difficult to take shower. There were three of us in the tiny room and we expected three bath towels, but only two were given. I had to ask for an additional towel each day of our stay.
Our room door could not lock from the inside. I called someone about it, and the guy came with a screwdriver, but was unable to fix it. Considering this is such a newer hotel, I am very concerned as to how quickly it is deteriorating. I also wondered how it may look a year from now; so if you are planning in staying here do it now while it is still somewhat operational.
PROS: Because the hotel is so new, it still looks very clean, almost like a room pulled out of an IKEA catalogue. The price is ideal if traveling on a budget. There are a few parking spaces available in front of the hotel. The rooms although basic, include A/C, a safe, and a flat screen TV with cable channels.
CONS: Internet, although included in the price, is only available in the lobby, and even there it crashed constantly. There is no breakfast included, but there are many locations surrounding the hotel where you can go for a quick bite, including a small cafeteria right next door to the lobby. There are no elevators; something to consider if you are traveling with heavy bags. The water strength of the shower is very weak and it took forever for hot water to come out. There are about six parking spaces located in front of the hotel, so if they are fully booked that might be an issue, unless there is an alternate location they can use for parking that I don’t know about. During our stay I always found an available space though.
Overall “Hostal San Francisco de Asis” served its purpose which was providing a clean inexpensive bed where to crash after a long day of sightseeing in the city. I feel they could be much better if they tried a little harder, and especially if they DO NOT LIE to their customers.
Would I stay here again? …I don’t think so. First impressions are very important, and they failed ours. I am not so sure they will be able to maintain this hotel looking as nice as it does now, with so many issues going on after only six months in business.
Would I recommend this hotel to a friend? …I only recommend places where I have had positive experiences, and this is not the case here.
“Hostal San Francisco de Asis” get your act together! I feel you have great potential for being a great establishment. Do not lie to your customers, and ALWAYS give the customer what they purchased. I am truly rooting for you to do well, but it is up to you to deliver. Good luck!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jast64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: todas son buenas habitaciones, pero lo ideal es pagar en efectivo así obtienes un 10% de descuento si tu estadía es de 2 noches en adelante
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews