We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value in Ciudad Colonial”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Beaterio Casa Museo
Ranked #16 of 78 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Value in Ciudad Colonial”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We spent one night at El Beaterio on a recent trip to Santo Domingo. The hotel is in a lovely location. The rooms are simply but beautifully decorated. All rooms overlook a nicely landscaped courtyard. We were on the second floor as I read in previous reviews that those rooms tend to be quieter. The staff was very accommodating and breakfast was ample and served in a nice dining area. I usually stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando which is a luxury property. If El Beaterio had a swimming pool- I would make it my number one choice. What it is lacking in "luxury" it more than makes up for with its charm, friendly service and very good location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    81
    16
    1
    4
See reviews for
40
115
37
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed at this guest house for only one night and wish we would have had more. It started with our e-mail inquiry and went uphill from there. We were flying into Santo Domingo from the States and arriving late evening. We needed one night's stay before our transport picked us up for our journey to Samana. I wanted something with a bit more history than the "strip hotels" near the airport. After reading reviews I contacted El Beaterio. They were most helpful and arranged for a taxi (using the word loosely!), including negociating price, from the airport to El Beaterio, about a 45 minute trip. (Note: These people are maniac drivers. There is a method to their madness, but be prepared to keep your eyes closed the entire drive!). There was a most gracious host waiting for us at the hotel. After checking us in to our beautiful rooms (with air & plenty of hot water) he walked us to a local restaurant with excellent food and cold cerveza's. He helped us order our food (un piquito English spoken at the restaurant) then headed back to the hotel. There's an open terrace at the top of the hotel with a wonderful view of the square where we had a final cold beverage before retiring to sinking into our bed that I would love to ship home. The breakfast was good & plentiful and the hotel is situated nicely for walking around and gawking at some of the gorgeous old churches and buildings. There is a "tourist" strip not far from the hotel but buyer beware. Most of the items are overpriced and fake. Definately stay away from anyone trying to sell you "authentic" Cuban cigars unless you go to the actual cigar store. They are nothing but crushed banana leaves wrapped in banana leaves with a fake Cuban band. El Beaterio is a 500+ year old convent that much thought has been put into as far as converting it to a guest house. The history of it just wraps you up. The rooms are comfortable and beautiful (there are safes), the couryard is breathtaking, the staff bends over backwards to accomodate. I'd go back there in a heartbeat - but this time to stay longer.

Room Tip: All the rooms are comfy and beautiful. You are going to get some street noise just because of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We recently spent two nights at the Nicolas de Ovando and two nights at the El Beaterio. Both are excellent options for hotels in the Zona Colonial. Both are circa 1500s buildings and Unesco world heritage sites. Both are charming in their own ways. Our reviews of both hotels are below to help those comparison shopping:

El Beaterio:
-Charming public areas and rooms with well preserved historic features. Spotlessly clean. Large room for three of us in a Triple. Comfortable beds. Excellent shower. Air Conditioned. Free wifi. Beautiful, quiet courtyard. Included breakfast was basic.....but more than adequate. They were also happy to make wonderful omelettes upon request. A bit of outside construction noise in the morning; but nothing to worry about (assuming you are up by 09:00). Overall excellent, charming, basic hotel in a great location at an excellent price.

Hostal Nicolas de Ovando:
-Definitely a more upscale hotel.....with a price to match. Wonderful public areas.....swimming pool.....bar....courtyards..... Better location, backing on the Rio Ozama and close to Plaza Espana, the Alcazar and the Royal House museum. Rooms were very quiet and spacious with all the modern conveniences....comfortable beds, soaker tub, separate shower, mini fridge, wifi. However, the rooms do suffer from a lack of old new-world charm ......the kind of 4-5 star modern hotel room you could find anywhere. Nothing wrong with modern hotel rooms with all the bells and whistles. Just not the charm of the smaller, more basic guest rooms in the El Beaterio. The Breakfast was fabulous! Lots of hot and cold choices; fresh fruit, meats, cheeses, croissants....etc. etc. And the open-air seating area was beautiful and charming. The hotel Manager provided us with a personal welcome one morning at breakfast, along with a description of the history of the hotel. Nice touch! Overall, an excellent hotel and enjoyable stay. We were able to get a good price including free breakfast....by booking well in advance. However, the price was still quite a bit higher than the El Beaterio.

Overall, both hotels are excellent. The El Beaterio offers charm and solid value at a great price. Hostal Nicolas offers charm in public areas, modern guest rooms, swimming pool, excellent breakfasts.....but with a much higher price tag commensurate with a 4-5 star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albertasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Excellent location in the Zona Colonial, other reviews mention issues with towels and bed, must have been solved because I had more than enough towels and an excellent bed (boxspring with extra top) with a light duvet. Breakfast had more than enough options (fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal, bread, cake, eggs the way you want, coffee, tea, fresh juice. I stayed in room 1, and would love to do that at a next visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne-Marie1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Beaterio G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Beaterio Casa Museo, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Anne-Marie1966,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for posting this very kind review.

It was our pleasure to welcome you and we are very happy to read that we managed to reach your expectations in terms of location, breakfast and amenities.

We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Yours sincerely,

Maria Elvira Giannetti
El Beaterio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I won't spend too much time rehashing others' positive write-ups - as others have written, the things that stood out to me as being very good / great were 1) location, right in the middle of the zona colonial and near most of the sights to see, 2) atmosphere - more than most hotels I've stayed anywhere, El Beaterio really had a sense of place and of the history of its city, and 3) value - with a solid breakfast included and a very helpful and friendly staff, getting our room at USD100/night was a great deal.

One other note: if you have a car, you'll probably want to park it at a parking lot/facility around the corner on Calle Arzobispo Merino (El Beaterio is on Calle Duarte) at night - the staff said this was the best way to avoid any incidents overnight. Most everything you'll want to see will be in working distance, so you probably won't need it during the day anyhow. It's also right next to a bodega if you need random supplies.

Room Tip: Rooms are on two floors - we stayed on the first floor, but rooms on the second floor may be a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Beaterio G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Beaterio Casa Museo, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Robb F,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this very kind review describing your stay with us. I am particularly happy to read that you felt the caring service of our team and enjoyed our location, breakfast and atmosphere.

We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in our little guest house, please consider it your home in Santo Domingo.

Yours sincerely,

María Elvira Giannetti
El Beaterio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

As you can read many fantastic reviews about the location and the facilities, I want to focus on the very charming and helpful staff. Just before our journey we could arrange a driver for the transfer from airport by mail. Isidore was very fast in answering our mails and confirming our arrangements with a fixed price. And though our flight was one hour delayed our driver was waiting and well informed. We know 5* hotels in the Dominican Republic that do not even answer mails.
Most people we met in Santo Domingo do not speak any other language than spanish. Even most signs and restaurant cards are just written in the local language. So if you are not familiar with the spanish language, you do need someone to help you. And that's were the incredible gentle and helpful El Beaterio team comes into play as they will help you out with anything you need.

Our tip: We once took an official taxi from Agora mall to the hotel. The driver took 300 DOP but did not know the way. He had to ask several people and to use the offline map of my mobile. Take the driver of the hotel wherever you go. You can pay in USD, prices are affordable and he will catch you up on your way back. 5*+ for the service!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angelo_Berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Beaterio G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Beaterio Casa Museo, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Angelo_Berlin,

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing El Beaterio for your stay in Santo Domingo.

I am truly happy to read that your experience matched your expectations. I also thank you on behalf of our entire team for mentioning our 5* service on TripAdvisor. We work on a daily basis to provide a truly personalized and caring service to our guests, and the best reward for us is to see our efforts recognized.

We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back regularly in the future and to become your home when in Santo Domingo.

Yours sincerely,

María Elvira Giannetti
El Beaterio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Spent time at this hotel the staff were amazing the hotel too,cant wait to go back it is like a hidden jewel it was a brilliant stay in a beautiful setting it blew us away a big thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rorynick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Beaterio G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Beaterio Casa Museo, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Rorynick,

Please receive a warm greeting from our staff.

First of all, we would like to thank you for your excellent review and for sharing your experience with other travelers.

Our staff is always happy to hear our guests feedbacks and is truly a pleasure to learn that you had a pleasant and "brilliant stay in our hidden jewell".

We all look forward to welcoming you again in a near future to provide you a memorable experience.

Kind regards,

Maria Elvira Giannetti
El Beaterio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Boutique Hotel Palacio
#14 of 78 in Santo Domingo
691 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hotel Conde de Penalba
Hotel Conde de Penalba
#22 of 78 in Santo Domingo
170 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
#12 of 78 in Santo Domingo
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Colonial
#15 of 78 in Santo Domingo
229 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
#24 of 78 in Santo Domingo
346 reviews
Casa Naemie
#20 of 78 in Santo Domingo
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Beaterio Casa Museo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Beaterio Casa Museo

Property: El Beaterio Casa Museo
Address: Calle Duarte No. 8 | Zona Colonial, Santo Domingo 10210, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#5 Best Value Hotel in Santo Domingo
#7 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#10 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — El Beaterio Casa Museo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XVIth century old convent, El Beaterio witnesses the history of Santo Domingo for almost 500 years. Faithfully restored in keeping with the original charm and architecture of its period, this quaint and private hotel offers its guests a unique atmosphere of the inimitable Dominican art de vivre. Nested in the heart of the colonial city, El Beaterio offers eleven coquettish and sober rooms, laid out around a flowery colonial interior patio. Between its stone walls, it’s a peace oasis in the middle of a vibrant and enlivened city. Established in 1530 with the beatas given the task of collecting girls of all ages, Spanish and mixed race, lost on Earth». You’ll find out what a beaterio is, and you’ll learn about the religious figures responsible for its foundation in Santo Domingo. You’ll discover two residents of El Beaterio, Sor Leonor de Ovando and Dona Elvira de Mendoza, first poets of the New World. Since 1990 when UNESCO declared the Colonial City of Santo Domingo as “World Heritage Site”, El Beaterio is classified as “building of documental, historic and architectural value”. In 2016, El Beaterio is officially recognized as Dominican Republic’s first hotel-museum by the Ministry of Culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your El Beaterio Casa Museo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Beaterio Hotel Santo Domingo
El Beaterio Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing