We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and clean”
Review of Hostal La Colonia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal La Colonia
Ranked #35 of 80 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I booked again this hostal at end of September 2012, and I was really happy with their service.
The room was clean as usual, and I got lucky to get the same room attendant " MARCIA". She was off when I checked in, and she saw me on the street...I was really surprised when she called me by name (on the street), and to see how happy she was to see me again. The first thing she asked me, was " If I was staying with them?"... WOW, it made me feel very special, because I did not have any reservation with them( I just walked in to the hotel when I arrived to Santo Domingo).
Everything was positive about my stay there, they even were flexible to adjust prices (room rates).If you find the price is too high, I strongly recommend to speak to the supervisor of the front desk. She is really nice and may give better rate. Wilson the front desk agent was very helpful and friendly, always attentive and concerned about guests wants or needs. The wifi internet works well in the corridors and I got some problems to connect to the internet in some areas inside my room. The A/C, mini fridge and tv worked very well...I use to heat my food in the main floor ( they have microwaves).
As I mentioned before, the only negative side is the bathroom, too tiny...But it did not bother me anyways. I got a good deal per night, the hotel is clean, quiet and safe, the room was extremely clean, I could get fresh towels from the housekeeping or front desk, and I was around natural friendly employees. I compared rates of the other hotels in the same street (right in front of the hostal), and they charge way more and are not as clean as the hostal.

Room Tip: There are no elevators (main floor better for those in need), They have microwave and iron, just ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uncleddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

I stayed in the Hostal Colonia and my experience was really nice. The room attendants were very friendly, especially " Marcia". There were no problems to get clean or extra towels, they change frequently the linen (including duvet cover), the toilet paper in use is really good in quality (comparing to other hotels I stayed in many countries). The hotel is clean, lobby and corridors are very nice, and the rooms are ok. The problem is with the bathroom, it is very small and the shower is really tiny. I had a bad experience when I checked out, two night shift employees asked me to pay a crazy bill of 180 usd for me and 200 usd for my friend (another room)...There was no justification for that charge, because I paid my full stay on my arrival. I kept all receipts and it was ok, it was so clear that those employees were trying to get extra money from us...Next day my friends spoke to the manager, and she was really shocked and sorry for what happened. So make sure you keep your receipts, check the list they have at the front desk before your departure, especially if you have to leave the hotel very late at night or early in the morning...Because of that I was about to lose my plane (time consuming)...No manager on duty there, starts the employees festival (ahahaha)...Overall, everything was brilliant except the part of one of the employees did trying to get some extra money from us. Do not be afraid of the hotel, it is good, unless you hate small showers ( it is really too small).

Room Tip: Try to get low level room if you hate stairs...There is no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank uncleddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

If want to experience staying in a hotel room that resembles a cell on death row then I recommend this hotel to you. The walls are paper thin and I was kept awake first from a group on one side of me sigçnging and carrying on into the small hours and then, when they had finished, a partially deaf couple on the other side who could only hear their TV at full volume.

My reservation was forgotton )even though I phoned the night before and the staff surly and unhelpful.

There are much better places to stay for much the same money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeedsDylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

This hotel has a perfect location in the Colonial Santo Domingo. It is walking distance to most historical sites. The hotel is very clean, air condition, bathroom in the room and has hot water. The staff was wonderful and helped with any needs I had. The price was perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paredes71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2007

Hey this is a great bargain. First, it's right in the center of town -- the Colonial Zone. Second, it's directly across the street from a more expensive, major hotel, the Odelpa, so it's possible to take advantage of their services (i.e. daily breakfast buffet) without spending as much.
For only about $50 per night, I got a queen sized bed in a new, clean, well-run hotel. That included air conditioning, color cable television in english & spanish channels, and a private bathroom with shower. Also, there are terraces on each of the 5 floors of this small hotel, so that you can sit and watch the street life while catching a breeze above the hustle of the street below.
While I was not enamoured of Santo Domingo, I definitely would like to run into another deal like this somewhere in my travels.
I recommend it!

4  Thank ricirick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Garraf71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Cindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Maison Gautreaux
#64 of 80 in Santo Domingo
45 reviews
TAU Casa Conde
#24 of 80 in Santo Domingo
20 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
#25 of 80 in Santo Domingo
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gazcue
Hotel La Casona Dorada
Hotel La Casona Dorada
#68 of 80 in Santo Domingo
43 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hostal Parque
Hostal Parque
#46 of 80 in Santo Domingo
30 reviews
Zona Colonial
Antiguo Hotel Europa
Antiguo Hotel Europa
#31 of 80 in Santo Domingo
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Colonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Colonia

Address: Calle Isabel la Catolica No.110-A | Zona Colonial, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 80 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Price Range: £38 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal La Colonia 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hostal La Colonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Hostal Colonia Hotel Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing