We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE! (bait and switch) DO NOT stay here.”
Review of Hotel Portes 9

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Portes 9
Ranked #27 of 80 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I picked this place on TripAdvisor because it was the only hotel specifically listed as entirely non-smoking. And it looked cute.
Made a reservation six weeks in advance. Confirmed by phone call. In Spanish. Confirmed again by email, just prior to departure.
Arrived and after greeting us, the guy said "let me take you next door." Since the hotel consists of two former houses, I thought he was taking us to another wing. But we had to follow him around the corner -- TO ANOTHER HOTEL.
The desk clerk there was obviously not expecting us; the hotel was dark and empty, rooms were small, it smelled of cigarettes, and was ugly. It wouldn't do.
Then he took us next door (to Casa del Sol), where we were shown a beat-up room all frayed around the edges with stained woodwork, right on street level, outside of which screaming kids played football. No.
Then after all that, the guy said, "Well, we have ONE room. But it's small. We can change you to another tomorrow night." He walked us past many other rooms, but none, he said, were available except this...
It was small, not very clean, and smelled damp and moldy. But it was Sunday night, we were very tired, and it wasn't the time to go traipsing around in the dark asking for another hotel. It was a place to lay the head for one night, so we agreed.
We went out for dinner, but everything was closed. We found a grocery store open late, bought cereal, and ate it in the hotel lobby.
While we ate, a troupe of 9 or 10 half-dead French arrived, with a ton of luggage. They were shown immediately to those rooms that had allegedly not been available. It was transparent, at that point, that our twice-confirmed reservation had been bumped in favor of this larger group.
The room looked like a do-it-yourself-project gone bad. The bathroom wasn't at all clean, with hairs and mold and broken equipment. Furnished with not-very-clean towels.
But the worst part was the condition of the kitchen, which we had been allowed to enter to get a bowl and spoon for our cereal dinner. It looked like a kitchen from "Animal House" with a sink full of filthy water soaking dishes, and a refrigerator full of rotten food including dessicated fish parts and uncovered raw meats. The room rate included breakfast, but believe me we ate elsewhere the next morning, and checked out as soon as another place to stay was secured!
DO NOT stay here.
I highly recommend Boutique Hotel Palacio, instead.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ryan61562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosaSDQ, Propietario at Hotel Portes 9, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at Hotel Portes 9. We appreciate all feedback from our guests.
In this case we have no idea what "bait and switch" means. We honor all of our reservations and have not / and will not change any aspect of a reservation.
Please get in touch with us to explain what went wrong as we have no idea. If we made a mistake we'll be more than happy to credit you for the rate you paid.
Kind regards,
Hotel Portes 9

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Super nice staff. We arrived very early one morning and our room was not ready, so they fed us breakfast and secured our luggage for us while we went and site seeing. When we came back, they gave us the great room on the 3rd floor that had a great view.

Now the hotel can be a pain to find if you're driving in yourself. It's at the end of a dead end road with lots of one way streets that take you to it. However, our car was safe parked on the street and was not bothered.

Good internet connection in our room and the breakfast was good and fresh. Super nice staff that will do anything to make your stay better and to give you great advice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachfiinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Perfect set-up and location , everything in walking distance , very friendly and helpful staff ,
Very clean rooms and well decorated 10 out of 10 love it.
Very close to historical attractions , very save at all times , way better experience then traditional all inclusive resorts

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pisz1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was a great hotel located just two blocks from the first cathedral in the Americas. It was quiet, and the rooms were very clean and have a quaint, colonial feel. The air conditioning was awesome! I really enjoyed the free breakfast and the people working there are very friendly. I will definitely go back!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank capaulson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This hostel is righ in the historical distric with walking distance to mayor turist sights. The rooms were cleaned everyday. The administration was responsive to any concerns we had. They actually were professional at solving an incident and gave us an extra night for free. The sourroundings were quiet and plesant. Free water bottles and constant refills. Professional service.

Room Tip: Big beds and classy decorations
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Portes 9 was the highlight of my experience in Santo Domingo. The location is perfect right off El Malecon that runs along the ocean. Some of the other reviewers said it better than I can, so I'll reiterate hondo8's observations of charm, personality, and the lovely Victorian styling with Caribbean flare. I was lucky and had the chance to peak into a few rooms before I chose
room #6 with ocean view. It was quite large with a very comfortable king size bed including a small sitting room with a couch. Very bright and airy with the ocean breeze flowing through. There was some noise from outside, but in Santo Domingo it's almost impossible to avoid it. That city is LOUD! Sven and Rosa are the live-in owners and have put together a great experience for travelers, along with their friendly, conscientious staff who keep the hotel sparkling clean and guard it's safety. The included breakfast is world class as far as I'm concerned and I want to thank the owners for their generosity on that regard. The only inconvenience was having to go down to the lobby to connect to wifi. I guess that's not true for all the rooms, and since the lobby has such a comfortable charming feel, it's one of those first world problems we tend to carry with us. Thank you Sven, Rosa, Victor, and Norca for making my stay so pleasant. I'm looking forward to seeing you again next time I'm in Santo Domingo.

Room Tip: Like most boutique hotels in Santo Domingo, not all the rooms are created equally, so it's benef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank snachman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Located in the Zona Colonial within easy walking distance of almost all the major historic sites, El Malecón, Calle Conde, China Town, Mercado Modelo, etc. Portes 9 looks over a tiny city park where you might find locals engaged in a spirited game of Dominoe's, enjoying a meal and a beer, or simply taking a break. Super easy access to anything that the Zona Colonial and El Malecón have to offer. We spent days and evenings exploring the complicated history of the area, enjoy various meals in the multitude of local eating establishments, wandering the streets, or even joining locals for a terrible B-rated horror movie and beer in a nearby comida, or dancing an evening away to some traditional Dominican Son music at a local bar. The comfortable, clean rooms were always a pleasure to return to after a day out exploring. Sven & Rosa were easy going, good hosts and spoke a number of languages between them. Norga (hope I spelled that right) conjured up a superb breakfast every morning that is as good as I have had traveling anywhere. Try the Chinola juice.... it is sublime!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErikRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Casa Naemie
#20 of 80 in Santo Domingo
207 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hotel Conde de Penalba
Hotel Conde de Penalba
#24 of 80 in Santo Domingo
177 reviews
Hotel Villa Colonial
#14 of 80 in Santo Domingo
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zona Colonial
Antiguo Hotel Europa
Antiguo Hotel Europa
#31 of 80 in Santo Domingo
271 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
#23 of 80 in Santo Domingo
360 reviews
Zona Colonial
El Beaterio Casa Museo
El Beaterio Casa Museo
#15 of 80 in Santo Domingo
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Portes 9? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portes 9

Address: Calle Arzobispo Portes 9 | between Isabel La Católica y calle Las Damas, Santo Domingo 10210, Dominican Republic (Formerly Coco Boutique Hotel)
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santo Domingo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range: £42 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Portes 9 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting little old town colonial style villa with only 4 rooms. Best location to explore the colonial zone of Santo Domingo. In front of the building is a little park which leads to the streets of 'Las Damas' and 'Isabel la Catolica', both of them leading to the most famous sites of 'Zona Colonial' like 'El Conde' (500 meters) and 'Plaza España' (800 meters) away. Everything in walking distance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Portes 9 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coco Boutique
Coco Boutique Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing