We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome Vacation!”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Last summer was exceptional in this hotel. They offer an excellent service. The food is good, could be improved. Buffet always clean and varied. The entertainment staff is the best, this never boring here! The beach is beautiful and big, lots of beach and sun. The rooms are good according to the price. Really a very good option for vacationing. Additionally there are really great places to visit nearby. The city tour not to be missed, especially the cable car, a beautiful view! The next summer we'll be there :)

Room Tip: Building 19 highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    412
    274
    176
    301
See reviews for
407
401
78
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This is the most horrible place I have been the people that work here r so money hungry, the room was full of roaches the drinks sucked the food was even worse please don't go here it's not even a 1 star hotel it's projects turned in to a hotel, the first thing I did was go to the Internet cafe to look for another hotel , I took my loss and booked a room at the "RIU" and Im staying there the rest of my vaca the RIU is awesome that god Amex refunded my money holy crab celiusma is garbage

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lazny82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Plata hotels

Fort Washington, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The customer service at Celuisma is really what makes the hotel great! I spent a week there in August.

All of the hotel staff (from the reception to the waiters and even the cooks) are more than willing to cater to the guests. They are all very friendly and always seem happy. Also, in case your Spanish isn't up to par- it seems that everyone can speak a little English and probably French and Portuguese too!

The front desk staff were very helpful and gave me a lot of information about the area; housekeeping kept everything very clean; the restaurant/bar staff brought us anything we asked for and were great with making certain things the way we wanted them...

Yenise is one of the best!!!
Along with Ernesto, Jose, Guillermo, Orquidea, Denise and the list goes on and on...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LoveToTravelod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I have stayed here several times in the last few years. Always had a great time. Check is was excellent. Staff were friendly and helpfull, I was upgraded to a oceanview suite free of charge, wow! Room was clean and large, renovated and steps away from the ocean.

The special restaurants were alternating between 3 of them Italian, caribbean and Mexican, Service at all 3 were great.

House keeping and security were always around to help. The resort was not full as I was there for 3 weeks. Special thanks to the staff and management- Ferreira, Ramon, Karen and Ernesto and Orlando!

My only downside was the internet at the hotel was slow, but its a company called MASSA, so not celuisma's fault.

Cant wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blackagent007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco de Macoris, Dominican Rep
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

Recently I went to a Honeymoon. My best friend (also my best man) recomend me this Resort. So I book it. A short while after booking I decided to read the reviews that Tripadvisor had to say. They were dreary, most of them. I was going very scared that it was going to be horrible. They were wrong. The staff was great, the rooms are very good (no problems with the room) food was great, and it was a great value for money. Im not saying that the others reviews were lying, Im sayin that the quality has gotten better.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OJavierMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

My boyfriend and I went to DR this summer and stayed at the Lifestyle resort for 5 days, we missed our flight back to Cali and had to extend 5 more days. We ended up at Celuisma resort by the help of some people from the DR airport. The first thing we noticed was the staff, they were very helpful and very nice to us. The room was very clean, spacious, and modern. The one thing I did not like about the room was that it was a little dark but my boyfriend liked it that way so we did not change our room. The plus side of this resort is the beach. It is golden sand very smooth, clean, and the water is blue and clear, dont forget to take mosqeto proplent with you, I got mosqeto bits the last day on the trip. I can's say enough about the staff they are very friendly and nice, nightly entertainment was very nice as well, drinks are a little water down so if you want a strong drink get the long island ice tea they make it very strong and one drink will get you drunk. The buffet was avrage and if you are staying there long you will get tired of eating the same thing everyday so it is very important to make reservations for the restureants. The Carrabian one has a stake that is very good and tasty, I wouldent order the fish, it was very bland. At the Italian restureant the pasta with beef was good. The pool is nice and clean but the pool area looked kind of cheep because of the plastic tables and chairs they use. Overall Celuisma was an ok resort for a resonable price but if it is possibel to put up a little more money and stay at the lifestyle resort I would.

Room Tip: We were in building 13 which was close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsablessing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I've stayed at the Celuisma Playa Dorada last winter and had a great time.
I just came back from a second trip in Dominican and decided to stay at the same resort.
I was not disappointed.

Rooms:
The resort is under renovations. I was put in a renovated building. I'd asked for a 2nd or 3rd floor room and was given one on the first floor. Without complaining, they were more than happy to switch me to what I had asked for. The safe was an electronic one, but there was not batteries. One simple call to front desk and a guy was coming to fix it. Yes, it took almost 45 minutes, but it's Dominican time. You have to keep that in mind.

My room was big, clean and new. I had hot water every day except for one. I didn't mind. Flatscreen TV was nice when getting ready for supper or show.

Food:
Buffet is good. They change the theme every night. It ain't fine gourmet, but you don't go to a Dominican resort to eat like a king. Food was good, had variety and I didn't eat the same thing twice.

Animation:
They are the reason I went back. They are amazing. Even if the hotel didn't have that many guests, they are still up and going, making sure you are having a good time. The nightly shows are funny and different every night. Rabbet is the funniest (and more handsome) and one of the best dancers. Leo is the cutest, happiest and more funny girl there. She's great at teaching spanish classes in the morning and always makes you feel loved and she's very friendly. Richi, Minime and Jose are great too. But Rabbet and Leo are my favorites!! I hope that are still there when I go back next winter, otherwise I'd be very disappointed.

Don't be fooled by the nasty reviews. You get what you pay for. It's ain't a 5 stars resorts, but again, it's not advertised as one.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maria2822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#4 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#8 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Puerto Plata Village Resort
Puerto Plata Village Resort
#36 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blue JackTar
Blue JackTar
#7 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
1.0 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,512 reviews
0.4 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada

Property: Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada
Address: Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata 72000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada)
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada 3*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE HOTEL BEACH HOUSE PLAYA DORADA BEACH HOUSE PLAYA DORADA The Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada guarantees you a unique beach holiday in one of the most complete and welcoming All Inclusive hotels in Puerto Playa, Dominican Republic. Specialized in weddings and events on the beach, this hotel is the perfect setting for some unforgettable holidays. Located in the amazing Playa Dorada, 5 km away from Puerto Plata, this hotel for weddings in the Dominican Republic offers endless customized services and state-of-the-art facilities for events: spa, swimming pools, nearby golf, water sports, parties, restaurants... Discover one of the liveliest hotels in Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata: book a hotel at the best price, only here, on the official website of the Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Hotel Puerto Plata
Tropical Playa Dorada
Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Resort
Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing