We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Blue JackTar(Puerto Plata)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,450)
Filter reviews
1,450 results
Traveller rating
282
414
274
177
303
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
414
274
177
303
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanimation teamfried chickenhorseback ridingpineapplea lot of funping pongbeach volleyballa great vacationcleaned dailynightly showsbad reviewscanadablastdancingpesosfranciscohola
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
587 - 592 of 1,450 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Went on the 13th june for 2 wks, lovely resort & excellent beach,,few problems with room thoughout holiday, i.e.leaking bathroom ceiling,no water at certain times plus air conditioning on the blink..otherwise nice double room,, good points= excellent entertertainment staff- hotel grounds well maintained// bad points== on 2nd week .was invaded by 300 columbian school graduates who took over the resort and caused mayhem,,,1st day there they drank/smoked and was sick in pool, they even brought there own dj for entertainment which could be heard about half-a-mile away / beach & disco parties were going on till 6 am with beach & furniture being wrecked every night==== Hotel management did not sort problem out / british holidaymakers were shunted to other bar in complex which was not even set up and prepared,,,,, Was told there was about 50 british people there and all filled in complaints forms to the thomas cook rep,,,, My opinion was that thomas cook should have infomed us of the school graduates holiday for that week and was informed it was there 1st time that thomas cook had used hotel......////// john essex england ( couple aged 46-52

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnsandra11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

as soon as we arrived we were all greeted with the animation team cheering dancinig and welcoming us as we each entered the hotel - a nice touch i thought and not too cringeworthy. taken to our room 1131. big, spacious, immaculate. balcony important to us, balcony view of palm trees but was again spacious.
the beach was to die for, absolutely bounty ad (well nearly). big problem there just isnt eneough parasols. please pretty please get more parasols as I couldnt handle the 3 degree burns from the sun. a great guy at the beach who kept the beach immaculate and was always sweeping, raking and tidying up, he just never stopped and always had a friendly word for you.
snacks down at the beach, but mostly we went back to the hotel for lunch.
I believe the drinks where watered down from time to time, but waiter at the beach bar would go around asking if you wanted a drink, which was welcome. the sea was beautiful clear and warm. there were also some kayaking and snorkling among other things free at the beach.
The staff were all friendly, greeting you always. the people are lovely.
The hotel boasts 4 a la carte restaurants italian, mexican, carribean and bq beach grill. italian the lesser of them. considering it is a 3 star the buffet restaurant was quite good. with a good selection only sort of moan would be the birds who from time to time would help themselves before being chased, ugh but all the same i was happy with the buffet. a big heads up to the egg man who made delicious ommelletes always happy and cheerful and had being working there for 12 years.
rooms cleans daily and sheets and towels changed.
the animation team were on the go constantly at the beach, pool and in the evening their entertainment non stop and I didnt always partake as normally an observer but I still appreciate their friendliness and upbeat attitude and energy. me and my husband got this for £600 each for 2 weeks great bargain. so at this price can I have it again please and I will be back. I loved it.
doing any excursions shop around as some agents offer 2 excursions for 100 dollars and this would have cost $300 with thomas cook.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

We tried to go to this hotel with an open mind, even with all of the negative reviews we read. We arrived at the hotel and we got the best welcome from the reps that i have ever seen (and this is my 10th time in the domincan!) they danced thier club dances and greeted us all! and even though its was chucking it downwhen we got there, it was amazing! when we checked in and arrived to our room in block 11 we found that the balcony door would not lock, and there was a big leaky patch on our ceiling. we couldnt do anything there and then so we decided we would go and talk to the rep in the morning. We had our welcome meeting the next morning and told our rep and she said she would send someone down. which she did. when we arrived back to our room that afternoon the balcony door was fixed and the ceiling looked like it had been 'fiddled with' never the less it rained that night and continued to leak and the balcony door broke again. complained again and they decided to move us to block 19. completely new renovated room. absolutely beautiful! could not fault it. the pool area was beautiful, always clean and lots of space! only down side to it, is that there is no shade around it what so ever, and when youve been in the sun all day, by 3 your starting to feel it and could do with a bit of shade! Beach is the ideal place to go for that! Lovely and shady at the back and beautfully clean! Now the food... Ok so its not 5* dining, but you wont go hungry! always something there wether its chips or a cheese toastie, the only thing is it gets very busy at the weekends as all the locals come down for weekends away, and you do end up waiting in line for food, and usually theres not an awful lot left by the time you get to it! Advise to book the A la Cartes. which are absolutely beautful! the best nights we ate by far! Italian, Carribean Grill, and the Mexican were all visited more than once! The animation team were out of this world. constantly there to please you! there was always something going on in the day wether it was by the pool or at the beach, the activities ranged from Spanish lessons in the morning to crazy beach games in the afternoon. These guys work so hard and even do all the night entertainment aswell, they dont have seperate dancers for the shows in the evening, the animation team that you get during the day are the ones that do it all over again in the evening too! They are great at what they do, they made our holiday what it was!
Scooby Doo, Papparazzi, Wandy, Claudia, Kathy, Everlyn, Cappuccino, Junior, Sexy Man, Sexii boy, CocoLoco, Pickachu... YOUR AMAZING!
me and my friend are both 21 and met a lot of people our age, if your looking for a fun hotel, to meet lots of lovely people, to do as you please, be as involved as you want or not, this is the place for you. not even 5 mins walk from the plaza. ( which we did spend most night at, at the local club coco Bongo) i will definately be returing at some point in the next 3 years :)

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JodzNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

hotel was absolutly amazin, very clean and staff were soo friednly!
entertainment staff wer fantastic always something to do if you wished for all ages.
food was good always something for you to eat. al a carte res. wer amazin too!! one of the best holidays i've been on.
advice: take lots of spending money if you plan to go out to clubs (coco bongo's fab place)
go on the catamaran trip and aviod the market and cable cart trip!!

overall give this hotel and staff 10 out of ten!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erynmccabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

I have recently stayed at this hotel after an unfortunate situation with the hotel we originally booked closing down for the summer. This hotel was amazing, the location was fantastic with the night life being right on your door step as well as the plaza for shopping, the rooms were spacious and clean. The beach was a few hundred yards from our rooms. The hotel staff were all very pleasant (although a couple of the bar staff needed a lesson on how to smile!!) and then there were the animation team, junior, cappuchino, claudia, evelyn, scooby doo, joan, coco loco, d.j. (franklin) and the others who well and truely completed the holiday for us. They were always happy and ready to do anything for you, they keept you entertained and were always full of energy!!
The only downfall was the food was repeated a lot but it was always eadable.

All I can say is I can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roxanne87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews