We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Nearby Hotels
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$158
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Be Live Collection Marien(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$160
Be Live Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$303
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Blue JackTar(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Viva Wyndham V Heavens(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,609)
Filter reviews
3,608 results
Traveller rating
1,283
1,119
642
318
246
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,283
1,119
642
318
246
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplaya doradabeach vendorsentertainment staffsnack bardominican republica la carteorange marketnightly entertainmenttennis courtslobsterresort staffrecommend this resortpicky eaterno graciassmall resorthave a good timegreat trip
Filter
Updating list...
1,350 - 1,355 of 3,608 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We have just returned from the Grand Paradise, Playa Dorada. Not our first time to the Dominican, we have stayed in Punta Cana numerous times, La Romana once and Puerto Plata at least 6 times.

First impressions can mean alot - and our first impression of the lobby was not great. It's old and tired, no place to sit other then 2 couches. We have been spoiled with resorts with sitting areas and a bar to enjoy an after dinner drink.
Which leads me to another point there are no premium liquors at this resort at all. Luckily we had purchased at duty free some Baileys and Grand Marnier. Absolut vodka and Johnny Walker Scotch are available at a cost.

We were only given one key card, which proved to be difficult when one person wanted to do something seperate, or you had to wake them up to open your door. A one time use card could be issued.

The fridge was stocked with only Sprite, Coke and Water. Not a big deal but we enjoy a bottle of beer in our room after a day of draft beer. The Fridge worked much better once we were able to leave the door to the cupboard open - it was too hot in there to run properly.

Dulca was an awesome maid - she was always smiling and when she went on a 2 day vacation home, she was missed. Our room was not nearly as clean. The rooms and beds are comfortable, no complaints there. Hot water was an issue for the first few days, but they seemed to get it worked out after 3 or 4 days. Hot water after 7 am it seemed. Dont forget a wash cloth, they are in short supply.

The one hour of free internet was great, but you had to use the whole hour as soon as you signed on, you couldn't sign out and use the balance at a later time, which seemed to be confusing alot of people at check out when they were finalizing the bill. But in the resorts defense if you paid attention in the travel reps presentation you would know that. 2 or 3 - 15 minute sessions would be better.

Food - Edens Grill was very enjoyable, but if you have a salt issue then ask for the tenderloin without sauce - tenderloin and kabobs were excellent. Great veggies and we heard good comments about the chicken. And the soups were also greating great reviews.
The Italian restaurant had good food, but we waited 2 hours for our main course. With 2 Teenage boys, that was tough and don't forget your long pants for the a-la cartes.
The buffet was not huge, but always had a good selection.
Dinner - The carrots, green beans and veggies were all excellent. Always had white rice, and a selection of other sides available. There was always something tasty from the grill.
Breakfast - we only had yogurt one morning - we ended up going to a grocery store in Puerto Plata to buy a few containers. Its a staple when I am away for the probiotics. No bacon either, but the omlet station was always busy. And the little bananas were awesome.
Lunch - Only had french fries available a couple of days. The chicken peices and fresh made pizza in the grill were good.
Salad selection was not great and the cold meats were so-so. Hot Dogs were kind of mushy.

We ended up walking down to the vendors market and grabbing a beer, club sandwhich and poutine one afternoon for a change - it's owned by a French Canadian man. Well worth the $11 for lunch with a beer.

Over all the resort is well laid out - not overly big, but if you have any health issues ask for the bottem floor, there are 3 and 4 floors of stairs no elevators.
The animation team - Manny and Happy Boy did their best to keep people moving and were always smiling and saying hello.

I would give this a 3 to 3.5 star, not the 4 to 4.5 star rating we have seen. Comfortable, but no big frills.

Room Tip: We had room 1035 overlooking the pool. Beautiful and sunny in the morning to enjoy a coffee from the restaurant, (no coffee makers in the room) The music from the shows went until 11 and then stopped. The worst part was the people fighting in the halls from 1 to 5 AM.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HeaterB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Dear HeaterB,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

We're discouraged to learn that your recent experience with us fell short of your expectations. Our basic principles are to provide the best service and to offer the best quality of products and we regret when we cannot get that goal. On the other hand w e want to clarify some points you mentioned. The Hotel policies only allow one key per room, the information is provided to all guests in their meeting with their representatives and also in the lobby you will find this information, this allows the hotel to save energy while guests are not in the room. Please know that whenever the clients want to access to their room the hotel provide the option to use a key for one use, which after being used must be returned to the reception. In all of our brochure we explain that we offer national drinks and in the room you receive every day sprite, coke and water.

We thank you for recognize the good that our hotel has and also for making us aware of your comments. We will congratulate Dulce Maria for her great job

We hope to give us the opportunity to provide the quality you deserve at a future visit.

Yours Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

It was our first time visiting the Dominican Republic and we loved every single moment. We stayed at the Playa Dorada between April 18-25th and it was 31 degrees every day - absolutely gorgeous. I have to say that we felt like we were with a second family on the resort. The staff exceeded my expectations. Everyone was so gracious and friendly and kind and always with smiles on their faces. Our room was very pretty - close to the pool and the buffet and the beach. The music and entertainment was a lot of fun - Kudos to Donkey, Manny, Happy Boy and "Baby" - (she was my hubbys favorite). We went to the "White Party" on the beach - so much fun - it was like a dance bar on the beach - had a blast. The buffet was great - although we would have liked a bit more variety. Wasn't overwhelmed with the Casino or the Disco. Think it could be made much cooler :0 The grounds were kept very nice, the beach was clean, but the wifi was terrible. Overall, our trip was magical and unforgettable. Thank you for giving us the time of our lives. A&K

Room Tip: If your looking for a larger room, choose suite - its worth the extra money. :)
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akm2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Dear AKm2013,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you've enjoyed your vacations at GPD. We are thankful for your kind comments regarding your stay in our property. It is pleasant to know that we were able to provide you with a great stay and also that you had an enjoyable time with the company of our entertainment staff.

We are thankful for writing your experience and for choosing our resort for your vacations.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We recently travelled to the Dominican and had the pleasure of staying at Grand Paradise. I was in a group of 11 and we had a great trip. We found everyone to be very friendly and helpful. When we had a few problems Francis on the front desk was very helpful and did everything he could to help us out.
Our rooms were always clean and the fridge had water and pop replaced daily. The food was good and it was always hot and plentiful! The dining room staff were very friendly and were very fast to seat everyone. There were a few evenings that service was slow or non existent but most nights they were refilling glasses constantly.
Entertainment staff and the resort were awesome, they were constantly trying to engage everyone regardless of age. Special shout out to Donkey, Manny and Happy Man. The evening entertainment was good although at times I felt inappropriate for children.
This will definitely not be our last trip to the DR. We would not hesitate going back to this same resort.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Dear Carolyn J,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

We are truly thankful for your comments regarding your stay in our property. It is pleasant to know that you had a delightful stay with us and also that you had an enjoyable time with the company of our staff, we will be more than glad to share your comments with them.

We look forward your next vacations at GPD.

Best regards


Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

The hotel staff simply couldn't do enough for us... the food, the waiters and the bar staff everything was just perfect.
Staff was always smiling, we asked to speak with a supervisor or a manager so we could let them know how good the service was and spoke with Mr Roberto Ramos who was extremely professional and friendly.

Mr Ramos was very approachable and easy going, he asked the staff to treat us as kings. lol

If you want to eat good food and be treated like a king or queen Grand Paradise is the place and if you want to make sure of this just ask for Mr Roberto Ramos when you get there :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlas703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Dear Carlas703,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

We are thankful for your sharing your comments regarding your stay in our property. It is pleasant to know that you have had a delightful stay and that you have enjoyed with our friendly staff.

We look forward your next vacations at GPD.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I have been to PP a few times and have stayed at the Iberostar...and in an Apt in the gated community of Costambar ..i decided since i was only here for a week to stay at a resort and thought a change would be good...i liked the resort better then the Iberostar overall though i would say the food was better there...I have a feww friends in PP and used the resort more or less for a base to lanch my activities..i did spend some time on the resort and found the beach bar pleasant..the resort in kinda confusing to get around at first but after a few days it wrks out...i met some great poeple and closed the beach bar a few times..we were able to get drinks until 1am and food til about 230am..it was holy week and they closed earlier then normal..the resort is in the Playa Dorada complex and there is a mall..disco nearby..and Pizza Hut if you tired of the food on the resort..you can get a cab at front of resort but i would walk 50m to the mall and get one there half the price..usually i walk to the main road of the complex and get a motoconcho..which is motorcycle taxi..very very cheap and always haggle for a price before taking off..this is good if you dont mind getting on the back of a beat up motorcycle and weaving thru traffic w no helmet lol...it cost about $17 - 25 for a normal taxi into PP but the motoconcho can get you there for $1 - 2..!.......if you get a chance go up the Telefico..Cable car up the mountain...$10 ...Overall i give the Resort about a 7 out of 10

Room Tip: pick a suite...they are worth the extra $$
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeafCommander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

Dear LeafCommander,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

We want to express our gratitude for choosing our resort for your vacation. It's great to know that we were able to provide you a excellent stay.

Thank you for your kind comments.

We all look to welcome back in the nearest future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews