We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Puerto Plata and not my last.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Reviewed 28 April 2013

My friend & I stayed at the Grand Paradise Playa Dorada for 2 weeks (April 10-24) and we enjoyed our stay very much. We flew CanJet (via Nolitours) and got to eat a meal on our way there & back. Bonus !!! The price was right too so another bonus !!!
Upon arrival, I looked for the bar while my friend checked us in but NO luck as it is not connected to the lobby. The check in was quite fast and Damarys & José Joseph are very nice. We were given an ocean view room but the next morning I asked to be moved (they never see that...lol) as I am a smoker and my deck was right beside the sidewalk so thought it would be best to be moved elsewhere. Diomedes was kind enough to help us move to room 1321 by the pool and ALL was good. Our washroom was quite big, the bed was comfy. We did not get any beers in our fridge as apparently we can buy some at the plaza nearby. We were ok with that as we had plenty of mix (Coke & Sprite). We adored our maid Nelsida. We KNEW when she was off. She does her work well and is a very loving lady. We woke up to no water one morning but I couldn't tell you how long it lasted as we left the room for fun play at the ocean. There were NO bugs or should I say very few. We did put bounce sheets all over the room JIC (just in case). Regarding the noise via my building, for me it was not a problem as I am an early riser (quiet in the a.m around pool as men move each & every chair and clean area) and entertainments stops at around 11 or so. We enjoyed most shows. We laughed quite a bit while watching them (guests participation). We went to the disco at night. Some nights were quiet & some nights were a lot of fun. Service at the bar was excellent there. Went to Coco Bongo a couple of times and again the same thing. We did get to see Spiderman and even though it wasn't a "long" show it was GOOD.
We always found something to eat and I was surprised at how good the food was. We did run away twice to the Hispaniola Resto Bar (owned by François from Québec) to eat a club with fries and tried the poutine too with a nice cold Presidente beer. A 10 minute walk to the left of the resort. We tried the resorts 2 A la Carte. Eden is the steak house, it's the same place as the after disco snack and lunch resto so the atmosphere was not as nice as the Michaelangelo (Italian resto). Service was excellent at the Italian resto and we enjoyed our meals very much.
All bars had great service. It was the first time ever that I saw that. Barely any waiting. Bravo to you all. Ask José Pilar to mix a drink for you. He does a genre of little show and it's quite fun to watch.
Now the OCEAN. LOVED every minute spent there. The water is just beautiful. If you enjoy walking, you're in for a treat as there is a long stretch on both sides of the resort. Enjoy !!
You do have vendors coming to you and most are pretty good when you don't want to buy anything. However, if you do want to buy, that's where a good friend comes in to do the negotiating for you as it can be energy sucking. I did buy a couple of bracelets by #69 and he puts the names on them that you wish. Very nice souvenir.
This is not a five star resort but the AMBIANCE sure is. We met some great great people and loved every minute spent with them all.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marielise39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,086 - 1,092 of 3,280 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2013

Staff are nice, nothing to complain about their hospitality. Buildings are kindda old. Entertainment activities are fun. Food were not available some times like when the main restaurant is closed at 10 pm, you have to wait for the snack bar to be open at 12:00. Almost the same food everyday. The gym is located a bit far from Grand Paradise, and equipment are old. Internet usage charge is a big scam, it says free 1 hours (make sure you don't put your room number in if you want to use 1 time only), better stay away from the internet. My friend got charged almost 100 dollars for using the internet. money exchange is annoying, they run out of peso with in a few hours.. and they don't give you the small bills. If you are a generous person on tipping, you need to get a lot of $1.00 US dollar bills. And I recommend you to bring US $ to spend in Dominican, instead of exchanging your currency to Dominican Peso.

Someone stole my Camera at the club which is located inside Grand Paradise Playa Dorada.
If you are the one who got my camera, please give me back the memory card .. I lost it in the week of April 20 - April 27.

Beside the camera issue. everything was awesome

Room Tip: better bring your eye shades
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaiChii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Had a wondeful vacation at the grand paradise. What you got for the value was great. The food was ok its a buffet so by day 4 you can take it or leave it . The animation staff make it so much fun. They work so hard and always smiling and trying to make your stay unforgetable. Especially Happy Boy. I see how he got his name. He is always laughing and greeting you. Will be back

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

it was really nice to visit dominican republic and really amazing country but the hotel was incredible the animation team and all the stuff was happy nice and great also helpfull
in the technician stuff it was a great guy call GUILLERMO DIAZ is really nice guy for me one of the best ones in there all the time we need him he was there and always with that beautiful smile hahaha xxxxxxx i tell every one if wanna have a nice hollyday go to grand paradise puerto plata rd love to all stuff

Room Tip: "Las habitaciones en la cara sur son más tranquilas"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

my family were very happy when you take them long and grand paradise conosimos gosamos many good and hardworking as guillermo diaz offered a good service we like to eat at michel angelo the food is good I really liked the pool and the beach very buelta but soon we'll be more days this duraremos bes

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jairo Itsz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

When i was in Grand Paradise, all was amazing, the food is amazing, the service too, the service is awesome, like i said but i need to say a thing, Jesus Castro is brilliant with the service, he has a good preparation for the job. he qualify to be a good employee.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Staff were excellent, I would like to repeat again.
have an amazing service, rooms are super fabulous ...
maintenance personnel guillermo diaz, that of the entire resort are fully prepared to satisfy customers or so that they can feel even more comfortable it is their own homes ..

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Romel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#4 of 40 in Puerto Plata
1,129 reviews
0.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
1.1 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,552 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#1 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Paradise Playa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

Address: Complejo Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata 332, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: £71 - £426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Paradise Playa Dorada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 425
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Paradise Playa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Hotel Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Resort Casino
Paradise Beach Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Casino
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing