We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good...and BAD!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
thunder bay
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good...and BAD!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Thank God for the great weather, lovely beach, good food, and friendly staff...they almost made up for the dated, run down accommodations.

We had requested two adjoining rooms with two beds each. When we checked in we had two rooms with one bed each....down the hall from each other. Finally ended up two doors down from each other but one room only had one bed. The rooms with one bed were incredibly small even though we paid for an upgrade (still not sure what we got for that!) Probably the smallest hotel room I've ever had. Our "garden view" overlooked the parking lot and we were treated to car alarms and motorcycles. Our bathtub didn't drain properly and the water was up past your ankles every shower. Our bathroom light fixture was a single bare light bulb over the tub. The in-room safe had to be repaired to be usable. The patio doors didn't lock. The bottom sheets did not cover the mattress/pad so I had to get an additional sheet each night so that my feet were not resting directly on the mattress/pad (which was stained, by the way) Pillows were incredibly lumpy. Yep, just one thing after another.

The most inconvenient thing of all however was the fact that you are only permitted one key per room at a a time. Perhaps doesn't sound like a big deal, but if one person was on an excursion and one at the beach (etc) you'd have to go find your 'room mate' to get the key or else wait in line every time you needed an extra key - and the extra one was only good for one time use. Even if someone wanted to go head up to the room to go to sleep early you would have to wake them up to let you in because you couldn't use a second key. Like I said, doesn't sound like a big deal but it was, we had to wait in line I don't know how many times to get a key. When I said that it was very inconvenient they said "yes, many people tell us that". Well then?!

This hotel is perhaps a 3* and really in need of some upgrading.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sharon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,036
    1,005
    593
    298
    238
See reviews for
783
971
135
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

I was at this resort with my wife for one week from Dec 24 until Dec 31 ,
we found the resort and the rooms very clean. The staff was very pleasant and the food was better than expected.
We arrived on christmas eve and were greeted with a lovely dinner.
The beach and the hotel accommodated large amount of guests but yet, was never crowded.

What we loved the most was the staff at the reception who were very nice and welcoming, in particular; MARIA TEJADA. She was always smiling and greeting us as if it was the first time we have met. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone who would like to have a relaxing vacation.

-D&T

Room Tip: i dont know about all rooms but building 2 was great..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daniel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

All day long on the beach people are trying to sell u stuff. Go the the Buffett and they try to sell u lobster dinners. Then try to sell u timeshare/apartments.

We had asked for two adjoining rooms, instead we got a room on the fourth floor for my 70 year old father. Our room was missing patio chairs and only took four hours and three phone calls to get them.

The buffet had only a few selections everyday with the exception with NYE when they brought on more staff and had more choice of food.

Upon checking out my friends were given keys to someone else's room to change and shower needless to say both parties were unpleased.

Wifi was expensive but fast enough to FaceTime.

When we tipped and asked for two bottles of water we were given no bottles of water in room. Needless to say we decided to not tip anyone on the resort after that.

Room Tip: Ocean view room means tree views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Forza416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We spend the Christmas week and had a wonderful time with our 2 kids. All the staff were great and the food was wonderful. We really enjoyed the entertainment shows and the Imagination Team (i.e. Sexy Face, Donkey, Manny, Scooby and company). The beach is right there, so it was fantastic to have breakfast/lunch just in front of it. Beach was clean and very warm.It felt very safe to leave the kids walk around by themselves. We would definitively go back in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AnaMariaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromso, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

This is the place to be!

Everybody should eat at hibiscus restaurant here.
Please stay hello to Marleny Ramos and Rafael Perez as they are the best and most service-minded persons i ever met.
Just have to love them

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trine_k302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

It is a wonderful hotel in the he could have a good time and I really liked its atmosphere, has a nice beach, a nice desk, really, is one of the best hotels I have visited. What I liked most was the customer service, especially the eulalias, that guy at the restaurant, the best of the best!.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Jesuscastro15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Felipe de Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

The hotel is an excellent place to be with family, has an amazing atmosphere, very good view to the beach, good restaurants, a nice desk, it really is a paradise in a hotel, the best I could see was the employees were very helpful, but the best for me was eulalias is the best, so I say it's a paradise, really Grand Paradise.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.2 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#4 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,323 reviews
1.1 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,806 reviews
9.1 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#13 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Paradise Playa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

Property: Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Address: Complejo Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata 332, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Paradise Playa Dorada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 425
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Paradise Playa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Hotel Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Resort Casino
Paradise Beach Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Casino
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing