We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awesome holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“awesome holiday”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

just got back from this resort had a very good time. It was a wonderful stay for my husband and i .check in was very fast , luggage was taken to our room for us,very nice room.we stayed in a oceanview suite and it was very nice,building 16 right by ocean ,,very quiet in this building as all the party is up front where the restaurants are and pool. we only got in pool once as we like to be at beach and swim in ocean,,beach was very nice,food was good and staff are friendly.this is a wonderful resort with happy ,friendly staff,,the rooms are very clean,,always see people cleaning halls, the garden was tended to very nicely and bars had great service.I would recommend this resort to all if you like nice clean rooms, beautiful beach, good friendly service and good food.There are venders on the beach but a polite no thank you works and they leave you alone,,people trying to sell vacation club but same thing a polite no thank you and they leave you alone.Theres a disco but didnt go there either as we were there to have a quiet week to relax with each other and that we did.Dont believe the bad reviews about this resoet cause it is a good place to go,,,just book ,,go and enjoy,,you wont be sorry,,so have a good time and relax.I would like to say thank you to management and staff of the grand paradise playa dorada resort for making our vacation a great one,,,im sure we will be back.

Room Tip: rooms on back of resort like building 15 or 16 right on ocean,,steps from beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cecilia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,036
    1,002
    592
    297
    237
See reviews for
781
969
135
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We just returned from the paradise our son daughter in law and their 3 boys ages 3 7 and 9 from check in until we left it was great. We have been there several times before. All of the staff were great the food was good. We were treated very well. It was very clean I can't say enough good about all of the staff. As for some of the previous bad reviews I think some people are never happy unless complaining. They should go to their local holiday inn they might get along better there. The peddlers on the beach are trying to make a living but a simple no thanks and they left us alone. The kids had a great time the kids club was good. There is a games room for the older ones. I would highly recommend this resort for anyone of any age we never saw nor heard of anyone being sick from the food the animation team was good. We were all treated very well. It was great. Thanks

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank deb_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We were bumped to this hotel and loved it. The staff was friendly and attentive and the food and drinks were good. The access to the beach was wonderful and plenty of pool space. The resturants beach views were awesome. Very nice clean rooms with wonderful beachfront views. Beautiful beaches and settings.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank islandgirl666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I really wanted to take the time to let other travellers know that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Grand Paradise, Puerto Plata. This was our first trip ever so dont really have anything to compare this too but we had a fantastic time and hope to return next year. We didnt care about Wifi because we went there to escape the pressures and schedules of our busy lives and this was the perfect place to do that!! The beach was absolutely gorgeous and we had sunny, warm days with a nice breeze from the ocean. You can walk for miles along the beach and visit a flea market that is only a 10 minute walk. The food was good and you could enjoy it on an open patio overlooking the water. The service was amazing and everybody treated us great. There is a casino and a gift shop on site but you can also walk to a nearby shopping center if you need to purchase anything. We only did one excursion because we just wanted to relax on the beach but swimming with the dolphins at Ocean World was definately a thrill for us. The resort is older but the rooms are spotless and the grounds are impeccable....certainly would return in a heartbeat!!!

Room Tip: We would advise the ocean view rooms, but if you are looking for quiet and relaxation, ask for rooms...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carbondale, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We had a great vacation. It was our third time at this resort and looking forward to next year. The entertainment was great. Joel (bon jovi) was great running the show and the resort is lucky to have him. The cleaning people were on top of everything and the bar staff were always smiling. the waiters and waitress were fast the people at front desk need to be retrained. Alma should not be working front desk or even around people in general. Looking forward to next year.

Jack & Tonia Wilczewski
Carbondale Pa

Room Tip: ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jack W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Just came back from this resort 3 days ago. Service was horrible, by the time you get a drink the meal is already finished. Had to wait for beverages everywhere. Sometimes you are seated and wait there without a drink for 15-20 minutes. Restaurant service was very slow. Entertainment for the better word of it "Sucked". Local singers would waste your night away. Good Things: Rooms were great for us. We didn't feel like we were pushed to give "Tips". Resort and Beach area looked nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Plata hotels

Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Myself and 3 friends (all between 28-34) stayed at this resort from Feb 21-Feb 28. We couldn't have asked for more beautiful weather!! Only rained for about 5 mins our first day and after that it was nothing but pure sunshine. The beaches are beautiful and there's just enough coral and reefs off the shore to do snorkelling if you wanted to. I didn't meet any staff that I didn't like, everyone was soo friendly and welcoming. Housekeeping girls were amazing, bartenders were awesome, even though they're worked like dogs, front desk staff was nice, entertainers were hilarious. I'm not a picky eater so I found the buffet food really good, especially breakfast! Coffee not so much. We went on the Catamaran excursion and it was fantastic!! Highly recommended!!!

Dislikes:
Keep in mind you do get what you pay for. We had to visit the front desk for a replacement door key a number of times because it wouldn't work. The beds don't come with heavier blankets, only sheets and a very thin blanket, so you need to keep the air very low or you will freeze. One of the a la carte dinners made me sick (Edens). The resort doesn't cater to young adults to much, more family types with children. Though the entertainers were very friendly they need a better selection. The same music and play was put on for the kids first which got annoying and the rest of the entertainment was boring. After the second night we decided to do our own thing. Make sure to bring extra money to buy bottled water and snacks in the gift shop, it adds up after a few days. For it being a very hot environment and not being able to drink the tap water you would think they would make sure your water is stocked up in your mini fridge but they only replaced it once.

This was my first vacation so I don't really have anything to compare it to. I would go back to Puerto Plata again but probably not this resort. Hope this helps!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.2 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
5,317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
1.1 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
6,801 reviews
9.1 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#13 of 41 in Puerto Plata
5,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Paradise Playa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

Property: Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Address: Complejo Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata 332, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Paradise Playa Dorada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 425
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Paradise Playa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Hotel Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Resort Casino
Paradise Beach Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Casino
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing