We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great holiday, though too short”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Shelburne, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great holiday, though too short”
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We travelled by Air Transat out of Toronto. Because my wife is seriously overweight, she would not go unless I upgraded to Cabin Class. This cost an extra $221 Cdn apiece roundtrip. It included extra luggage capacity (88 lb. instead of 44), champagne on arrival at your seat, an open bar, blankets, ear phones and the like. It was much nicer than travelling in cattle class, but the jury is still out on whether or not it was worth the extra cost

Check in (close to midnight) was quite fast and pleasant. There was enough staff on hand to handle the bus load of us that arrived within a reasonable time. No complaints there, or on checkout a week later. The only quibble I had with reception is that they would not give us a second room key even when I went back the next morning as instructed on arrival.

I had been corresponding for some days before we left with one of the senior members on Debbies’s, and it turned out that he knew the manager, Osiris Cid, and e-mailed him on our behalf (thanks, Bob!), getting a reply saying that he would “look after your friends.” And he did! On arrival, we found that we had been upgraded to a beachfront, ground floor, suite, no. 9101, which was absolutely lovely. I cannot comment on what other rooms are like because I was not in any others, but ours was very pleasant, and tidied and cleaned daily. The aircon was a bit odd, in that it needed a card, like a room key except that it wouldn’t open the door, and if it was removed, the power went off in the room. The maid seemed to remove the card when she cleaned the room. No problem as we didn’t really use the aircon anyway. The only oddity was that when the card was removed, the temperature reset to 70 so you had to remember to resent it to 76 or you would freeze at night.

The main buffet was Hibiscus, which is directly on the beach. The views were great and the food was typical Dominican buffet style– something for everyone and lots of it. There was a grill which did omelettes at breakfast and meats at supper. There was always a line, so we never bothered with it as the rest of the buffet was great anyway. We ate breakfast there every day, some lunches and most dinners.

Eden’s is next door and has a smaller buffet at lunch and is an à la carte restaurant at dinner. We reserved for it once and had a nice meal. The soup was excellent and so was the entré, although my kabobs were a bit underdone for my taste– my own fault for not specifying. Service was friendly. We did not eat at the other à la carte.

There is a swim up bar in the pool, but it is shaded and closes early (4:00 I think) so we never tried it, but there is another, Extasis, by the pool which is open until 11:00. They had live music there most nights, which was quite good, and we spent most evenings there. At 11:00, we moved down to the main bar, Sinners, which is at the beach between Eden’s and Hibiscus. It was open until 1:00. Bar service in general was good. Sometimes there was a rush on the bar and patience was needed, but often there was no one else around an service was quick. The bartenders did well under all circumstances. Beer was Presidente on tap, and the rum was Barceló. I prefer Brugal, but nothing wrong with what they had. Some of the other liquors were Classic, which is a cheaper brand. Every day there was a drink special of the day. My wife tried them all and liked them all.

The beach is great, probably the nicest in Playa Dorada, and certainly with the best snorkelling. There is a reef/rock formation a hundred yards or so off shore in about six feet of water at high tide where there are scores of fish. I even saw a lionfish one day. I did a couple of dives with Sea Pro at Sosua one day, and the fish were about as nice at Grand Paradise without the cost and travel. A twenty minute walk along the beach to the west brings you to a couple of markets. The usual game of reserving loungers with towels begins each morning, and many are often empty except for the towel for hours, but we never had a problem getting one.

The pool is quite large, but shallow, not over four feet or so, and has a net strung over part of it. It is not meant for swimming lengths, but is a good spot to cool off in fresh water. It was not heated and not heavily chlorinated so quite pleasant on a hot day.

All in all, a great week, and I’d certainly go back there again, but for longer the next time.

I have put up some photos on Facebook. Even if you are not a member, this link is supposed to work:
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=31288&id=100000831464217&l=c4c269dcac

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,078
    1,027
    606
    303
    239
See reviews for
811
999
142
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

Stayed at this resort for 7 nights in February 2010. Was travelling with 3 children and 4 adults so we reserved a superior garden view room and a regular room. Both rooms were clean, and renovated recently. There was modern fresh decor of whites with blues and browns in it. Both rooms had flat screen TV's with many channels to choose from. The superior garden view room had two double beds, a balcony with 2 chairs and a table, a long dresser, closet, a small refrigerator, a sink with 2 burners built right into the counter. There was a cupboard above and below the sink/stove. There were no dishes here, I believe the stove was probably from before the hotel was renovated. Our room overlooked the tennis courts. The bathroom was quite small, you had to enter the bathroom completely and stand behind the door to close it, in order to use the toilet, however, everything was very clean and new inside so that is really a minor detail. I preferred the regular room to the superior garden view room. It had only 1 bed, so could accomodate only 2 people. It seemed larger than my superior garden view room. The bathroom was about twice the size, and and the overall bedroom was larger too. Between the end of the bed and the dresser in the superior room there was just enough room to walk by, whereas the regular room there was about double the space. Again, this are only minor details which do not really affect your stay, but I would opt for the room at a cheaper price than pay for the superior.
The resort had a fair size swimming pool, with many loungers around it. They were clean comfortable loungers and we never had a problem getting one. I did not think that this resort had enough umbrellas for the pool area. They were an issue to get as people would get up very early to reserve them, (I`m a fairly early riser 7am) and they would be gone already, simply because they are only about 10-15 of them. I did find the pool to be extremely cold, and did not go in the water because of this.
There is a small kids pool, which we did not use, but would be suitable for toddlers. There is also a jucuzzi, not heated, but my girls liked to go in there occasionally so we did use it.
The buffet restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. We did not have a problem finding a table ever, even with us being a fairly large group. Service was not the best, and sometimes we would have to hunt for cutlery, but the food was very good. There was tons to choose from and I am a bit of a picky eater when vacationing. My group thought that it was one of the best buffets we have been to and we have visited a few other 4-5 star resorts in the dominican. On a side note, the service aspect seemed to be more because they were understaffed not because the staff did not want to help.
There were two a la carte restaurants, the grill and the italian. The grill was outdoors in the daytime snack bar, and the italian was indoors and air conditioned. Food was okay in both restaurants, but I prefer the buffet restaurants. There is a snack bar by the beach for daytime snacking, or a quick lunch. It has a beautiful view and is quite relaxing. You are not permitted to bring anything out of the restaurants and this is strictly enforced.
There is a beach bar and a bar by the pool, as well as a swim up bar. The swim up bar was not open during our stay but that could have been because no one was in the pool. The bar right next to the pool was just fine though, and we were able to get our drinks fast and with no problem. The drinks were just okay, no blender drinks or good liquor.
The beach is spectacular, i was a bit worried after not enjoying the beach at the Bahia Principe San Juan, which is not too far away, but this is totally different. The water is beautiful blue, no problem getting a lounger, and is totally relaxing. I must mention that the entertainment team was great. Normally I do not get myself involved with the entertainment side of a vacation, but my 10 year old took a liking to a few of them, and they included her and her sister in many of the games. They were set up quite close to were we would `park ourselves everyday, so we did get to know them and they do work very hard to make everyone`s trip enjoyable. At night the pool bar would have a band, and they would get everyone up dancing, everyone seemed to enjoy themselves. Overall it was a great trip, and would return there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onemaybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

The Grand Paradise is a 3 star at best despite any claims otherwise.

When we arrived we were advised that the room that we had requested (and paid more for) was not available. The hotel tried to make ammends by upgrading us to a suite, but in doing so we ended up by the pool area instead of in the ocean view that we had requested. Being by the pool was absolutely horrid! The entertainment staff were incessantly blaring music and yelling into a microphone right outside of our window: this literally lasted from morning to night! It was annaoying and frustrating.

The room itself was great with all of the ammenities you might need. And the housekeeping staff were excellent, keeping the room clean and well-supplied.

The food left much to be desired. The variety was severely lacking and the quality was sub par. Breakfast was the same thing every day without fail: runny scrambled eggs, soggy french toast, a small selection of fruit and so on. The omelettes were good if you were willing to stand in line for 15 minutes to give your order to the one cook who was making for hundreds. Similarly lunch was repetative. Dinner had a slight variety and the quality was a bit improved, but again, I expected (and paid for) better.

One of this resort's saving graces is its proximity to a shopping center that has a few restaurants (Hemmingways, Pizza Hut, Roadway) where you can get a decent meal and watch a game on the big screen.

The beach was pretty great. It was kept clean and there was little difficulty getting a lounge chair. There were plenty of vendors willing to sell you anything and everything, but they were respectful when you declined.

As for the entertainment: there was plenty of it, for better or worse. The entertainment staff always had activities thorughout the day for those who wanted to participate. There was a small, depressing casino, and there were a few questionable evening shows.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

we arrived to GP last saturday night, the check-in took a while. We did not recieve the TV remote until the next day, as they had no more. (which was fine - we didn't go there to watch tv!) Our room was a 2-level apartment, oceanview. We asked for one bed and one room, got 2 connecting rooms and 2 beds, which was great, we used one bed for our suitcases! :) Our shower ALWAYS had warm-hot water, and we got new towels daily, our floors were swept and bed made, as requested. Our AC did not work until we put batteries in it. We always had water and juice in our fridge. We had no bugs in our room.
The breakfast, lunch, snack, and dinner buffet were all reasonably good - something for everyone. The service was not great - we had to hunt for cutlery, napkins and glasses if we came to dinner later than 8. As people come and go, the staff have to change all the tables, which took time - understandable! Some staff were VERY kind and some ignored us completely. The bar by the beach was fairly busy, we never had to wait longer than 5mins for drinks. Sometimes they would not give us more than 2 at a time and sometimes they would.
The beach vendors did come around quite often,but if you say no thank you - they leave. This was our first time in the DR, and we were surprised how expensive everything was (mostly souveniers and expeditions).
The a-la-carte dinners were nothing special - steak house was better than italian.
The beach was awesome - LEFT from the lunch snack bar was far better than the right side of the beach. We always managed to find a beach chair - no prob. We used our own towels, but most of the people on the beach used the resorts blue ones.
Night entertainment at the resortwas not great. We went out to local bars and lounges, and restaurants - no problems. Drinks are not too expensive outside of the resort.
We did the dolphin swim, jet skis, dirt four-wheeling in the rain forest, and went for a ride on the catamaran - all were amazing, the dolphin swim being the most expensive one.
The weather was GREAT - hot and sunny. We had only one afternoon of rain, spent it in the water :) It did get pretty chilly at night - bring a sweater.

Our check out went smooth. We were surprised at how cheap our bill was for calling canada.! :) Our flight was 3 hours delayed, so we got picked up from the resort 3 hours later than planned. We slept at the airport until boarding time.

Overall, great time because we made it great! The resort is not quite a 4 star but we definitely enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJMV86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

We stayed here 21 Dec to 4 Jan 11. Firstly the flight was a nightmare, after a long delay anyway we re-fueled in the Azores instead of Canada. We eventually arrived in the evening, very very tired. Check in was ok and we had help taking our bags to the room, there is no lift and we were on the 3rd floor. We initially had a big room, but as we paid for a sea view we requested to move in the morning.

The buffet food was very hit and miss, breakfast was probably the best, with eggs, pancakes and cereal. On the Christmas Eve gala dinner the turkey was raw. Beware if you eat in one of the other restaurants they open the menu for you at the page where you are charged for the food, bit of a con really. Cutlery was an issue, quite often there were no spoons. The drink service was awful, it was quite hard to get a glass of wine with your meal!

There are 2 main bars, Sinners was the worst, if you don't tip they just ignore you, very rude. Also it's 2 drinks only at a time, which is fine except the Canadians bought large jugs from the local shops and kept topping them up.

Beware the reps in bright yellow shirts, they try and sell you some sort of timeshare.

There was rarely hot water, quite often the mini bar was not re-filled. The rooms were kept clean and smelt of bleach afterwards.

The entertainment team were quite fun to watch, if not a little loud.

The beach was the best part of the holiday, the water was quite warm and the beach was kept clean and was safe for our son, there are people trying to sell you junk, but they will leave you alone.

Our first choice rep sold us a trip to Ocean World, it was ok, but was a bit bored by lunch time and didn't think it was suitable for a 3 year old. If you do go on a bus, there are mosquitos lurking around, we spotted a few.

There is a Plaza shopping centre within a few minutes walk which was quite nice. It also had a pizza hut, which never tasted so good after the crappy buffet food!

There were a large group of Canadians staying, they were rude, drunk and did spoil our time here, it was more like club 18-30 instead of a family hotel!

The staff did always make our 3 year old son William very welcome and always made a big fuss.

I wouldn't stay here again or probably visit the Dominican.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaFoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

My boyfriend and I went to Grand Paradise Playa Dorada from December 18-25. We've really only been to 1 other place so we didn't really know what to expect. Though, I did a lot of research we were still hoping all the bad reviews were wrong.
THEY WERE WRONG.
Honestly, everyone there was so nice and so helpful. What was so bad about the service? I have no idea. There was 1 family that complained because they had to wait for the bell boys to take their luggage to their rooms after check in... WELL, how many bell boys do you expect to be readily available when there's a mob of over 100 people trying to get to their rooms as fast as they can? Seriously, people complained about nothing. Other people on this site complained that the front desk was terrible. Asides from waiting a little bit, they were very helpful. No one was ever rude to us! Not once!
Let me break it down.

Room:
Our room was amazing! It wasn't any suite or presidential room but it was still a fairly nice room! 1 king sized bed with an OCEANVIEW! It was gorgeous, to wake up every morning and look out your balcony to see crystal blue water..amazing. Everything is very clean in our room, nicely renovated and up to date. Our maids came every single day to clean our room and make our beds. We asked for an extra blanket because the AC was THAT good and it was not a problem at all. Didn't have to wait long, it was almost instant. Washrooms were very clean, they changed our towels every day and they swept our balconys every day as well! The bed was very comfortable along with the pillows (unlike Cuba!). Overall, our room was great. No complaints whatsoever.

Pool/Bars:
Since it was an all inclusive resort, everyone is up at the bar waiting to get a drink! The cafe bar next to the pool was always packed but there's always alternate bars to go to! Our first night there, we made friends with one bartender by the beach and he took care of us ever since. Whether we were in the restaurant or just strolling by, he made sure we got what we wanted and fast! The pool was very nice and big. Unfortunately, we didn't go in the pool too much because the period that we went was a bit chilly. OBVIOUSLY, you can't go blaming to resort for the weather but you'd know as well as I do that SOME PEOPLE will blame everything on the resort. Regardless, whenever we did jump in the pool it was nice and clean! NO COMPLAINTS!

Restaurant:
There were 2 a la carte restaurants and 1 main buffet. The 2 a la cartes were alright. People say that DR food is a lot better than Cuba but it could go either way. The food was very much similar to Cuba but we didn't go into this expecting a Chef Ramsay experience. Once again, picky people would!
Michelangelo's was the italian restaurant. My boyfriend ordered the chicken whereas I ordered the fish. GET THE FISH. The set up was very nice, the waiters were very quick and nice as well. Overall, experience was great! The food was alright.
Eden's Grill was the other a la carte and it was very good! We got the beef skewers and the chicken. The chicken was delicious! If you're one that is picky about your beef, I'd say stick with the chicken. Both dishes were very flavourful and BIG portions!
Lastly is the buffet. I'd agree that the food gets repetitive but there would try and spice things up here and there. The breakfast was sooooo good! The "ham" was sooo yummy! The scrambled eggs were a bit runny so try and go to the grill to get them to do it for you. Lunch and dinner were fairly similar. The good wasn't spectacular but still edible! No complaints once again.
They like to celebrate christmas on the 24th so there was a big dinner gala. They jazzed up the place and the food was plentiful! It was VERY delicious that night!

Beach:
The beach was very clean! I would wake up in the mornings and see the workers coming by with a tractor raking up the seaweed. The water was very nice as well! Whenever the sun comes out, it was absolutely gorgeous and very relaxing. Do be careful of the people trying to sell excursions to you. I'd highly recommend you book with your travel providers. For example, we came with Nolitours. The beach vendors may be a little pushy BUT if any one every gets a chance to meet Angel (or Angelo), PLEASE TELL HIM HIS FRIENDS FROM TORONTO SAY HI!! He was the nicest vendor ever. He sells those lava stones or soft stone statues. He was very different from the rest. He would not sell you anything until you become his friend! He was honestly one of the nicest guys we've ever met. His views of life and his future goals were just heart warming. He dreams of getting a visa to come and work in Canada as we really hope the best for him. Remember guys, he calls himself Angel, the one that sells lava stone and soft stone statues and he likes to wear a black hat that says "CANADA". Moving on, be careful of the coconut guys! One time, the guy just cracked open a coconut and made our friend pay for it even though she didn't want it.

Service and hotel ..stuff?
Like I said before, the service was not bad! I don't understand what people complained about. There was a gift shop within the resort but it was rather pricey...try and take a 2 minute walk outside the resort and go to the plaza! Everything is SO much cheaper there! SO MUCH CHEAPER!!! There's also a casino in the resort and it really wasn't too bad. My boyfriend and I would just sit at the 3 card poker table or black jack. The waitress in there was very nice and would come up almost instantly to ask if you'd like a drink. There's always a show during the day and at night time. They were okay...I think Cuba's was a bit better..but that's just my opinion! Maybe because Cuba's entertainment staff consisted of a lot more people.
When my boyfriend would be walking around the resort, the staff there was so friendly. They'd actually ask how you're doing, where you're from, how you're like it...etc. Yes, they actually take the time to get to know you!
There was a pool table above the cafe bar/pool and a jitz table. It was pretty packed but not intimidating to the point where you wouldn't want to go.
My boyfriend and I never went to the club/disco. We actually heard that it wasn't very fun but everyone's description of fun may be different. You could go to the club at the plaza but don't forget that you'd have to pay for your own drinks then.
Sadly, we didn't notice the Pizza Hut in the plaza until the day we were leaving...so for those picky individuals who find the food in the resort disgusting, go to pizza hut!

Excursions:
IF YOU HAVE THE CHANCE, GO TO MONKEY JUNGLE (ziplining) AND OCEAN WORLD! We did the dolphin swim at ocean world and it was worth every penny! Along with monkey jungle, view and experience left us speechless. We heard "Paradise Island" was also breath taking so if you have the extra cash, we'd highly recommend to do excursions!!!

Overall, we were very pleased with the resort and everything they had to offer. From the staff to the beach, we found it simply delightful. Keep in mind that there really are people that like to complain about everything. We personally found this resort really pleasing. If you're looking for extravagance, go book a 5 star resort.

I've said my peace, I hope whoever is planning on going has a blast like we did!
(SUPER thumbs up)

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherstburg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

Can I just say anyone on this website who thinks this is a good hotel, must never have been at any other tropical resort before, I have stayed at 3*, 4*, 5*, and let me tell you never have ever had any experiences at any other hotel like I did at this one, I would have to say, this one beats out the Fun Royal, Fun Tropical for the worst one I have ever been to. Here are the only good things in my opinion at this hotel, the beach,and the nightly entertainment, thats it!
Well here goes my review... We go to check in and we payed for ocean view, and they tell us that there is no oceanview rooms that have 2 beds, none in the whole resort, so of course,I had to, accept a gardenview room, 75$ cheaper than what I payed for. It wasen't ready so we grabbed a bite to eat, went back and they gave me the room key, went to the room, well it was the oceanview with 1 bed, had to go back, and tell them I needed 2 beds, finally after doing this 3 times, got our room, not too bad, not too great, the beds were ok . Later, come to find out there is no remote for the tv, had to go to the office to get one, ok. Go to dinner, I'm thinking where is the silverwear, glasses, napkins? Well, what you have to do is go to other tables and grab them, because you will not ever have any silverwear if you don't! Everyday, we had to do this, and everyday, I had to go to the bathroom and grab papertowels so we could have a napkin! No one comes around to take drink orders, or anything, always had to steal a glass from another table and go to the water cooler (big orange coolers like the kind you had as a kid on the stands when you played baseball), and fill it. Coffee, well lets just say if you tip the cannister you can at least get the bottom of the barrel! Saturday night was the only day when the buffet was pretty good, first time ever at any resort, that I went to a resort and actually found myself hungry after I ate because there really wasen't much to eat, and their really was no service in the dining room at all, I came prepared to tip, as I always do, but no one ever helped me or took my drink order. We had hot water, twice, didn't matter what time of the day. Our toilet basically sounded like it was screaming at you when you flushed it, and the air would make a loud pop sound evertime it turned on! lol, OMG! They never put wet floor signs when they washed the floors in the halls and stairs. Anyway, when it came time to check out, they said that I had to bring the remote control back, and I said ok, (strange rule, by the way), but I said why didn't anyone tell me this? She said "we did". I'm pretty sure I would remember something, strange like that! Another thing I have to say is those guys that sell the timeshares or whatever, in the yellow shirts, it would be nice if they would't spit constantly in the sand, it's kind of gross to see them doing that, all the time!! Anyway that is my story, and I can tell you it was a different experience that ihave ever had at any resort, this place better shape up, or it will be one of those other resorts in the playa dorada complex that closes down, who would have thought, that would think Fun Royal, would be better than this place? Very dissapointed, with Grand Paradise, and I'm pretty sure after 4 times to Puerto Plata, I'm done with it too. The best resort that I went to in Puerto Plata, is still the Riu Merengue, even though the beach isen't good there, they treat you right, and it is rated a 4*, like Grand Paradise, what a joke! If you go to Grand Paradise, and you actually like it, then you have never been to a real resort, sorry just my opinion!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shilee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Plata hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#4 of 40 in Puerto Plata
1,058 reviews
0.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
1.1 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#6 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#1 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Paradise Playa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

Property: Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Address: Complejo Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata 332, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Paradise Playa Dorada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 425
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Paradise Playa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Hotel Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Resort Casino
Paradise Beach Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Casino
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing