We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“what a honeymoon”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We choose this hotel for our honeymoon and im so pleased we did.... After a long flight and some silly forms to fill out at the airport, we were greeted by our lovely friendly holiday rep,"junior",friendly, funny, abit mad and spoke very good english. On the trip to our hotel he was very clear on facts, and the history of the island.

Once at the hotel we were greeted with a nice fruity drink and very friendly staff, our suitcase were taken to our room for us, the bellboys are strong as hell as mine weighted a ton..(lots of flipflops...ha,ha). The room was beautiful, clean and a well shocked fridge, clean towels and a lovely bottle of rum and fruit basket. We had a sea view room and even with the palm trees outside it was beauitful. The pool was very clean and tested about 3 times a day, and all the staff were wonderful.....they all work very long hours, and are always happy to help.

The food was out of this world, not once did my husband and i feel disappointed with the choice...(lets just say we both put on a bit of weight...ha,ha) . The 3 restarants were great, and the choices were very pleasing.

All the bars were shocked up well, and it was lovely to be able to sit in the pool and have a drink, pool games ran daily, but that was never a problem as if you didnt want to take part you didnt feel like you had to. We did a few trips, ocean world was wonderful, and the buggying is a must in the jungle...but be warned...you WILL GET VERY MUDDY AND DIRTY!!!!!!!.The flea market was an eyeopener and was only a short walk along the beach, and the beach has beautiful sands, and very pretty. We meet some wonderful people and we both didnt want to go home....looking into going back again, one of the best holidays i have every had........Thanks to the wonderful staff, people...and lovely food...x

Room Tip: If you choose a beachview then when the entaintment is going on in the evenings you will not hear it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank KirstyFaulknersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,382
    1,890
    712
    249
    144
See reviews for
1,475
2,050
77
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We visited this hotel at beginning of December 2011. Excellent staff who could not do enough for you. Al a carte restaurants are excellent but found the buffet to be not so good and lacked presentation. Entertainment at this time of year was poor but the actual entertainment staff were excellent and tried their best (well done Joseph for the aqua aerobics). Everyone should try the latino dance every day at 3.00 pm by the swimming pool!! Weather at this time of year was still very hot but we did have one or two days of rain apart from that most of the rain was at night. The one down on our holiday was the group of about 25 canadians who were there for a wedding. Very noisy and rowdy, and who also caused some damage in the hotel. Would not hestitate to book to go back as long as there were no wedding parties from Canada!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We arrived at the resort hours before check in time, but we were opening the door to our room in less than 20 minutes. It was clean, quiet and cool inside. We sat down on our balcony and looked through the palm trees at the beautiful ocean and said, "Ahhh...."

We like to get away in December, and we've stayed at bigger, grander properties, but we actually enjoyed this one more because of its simplicity. First, the beach is fantastic. Next, the service is great .. and quick. And the food is good; the reservation restaurants are *excellent.* The bars are nice, too. ;-)

The clientele is older, and while there is entertainment, it's heard only in the evening. So it is a very peaceful and relaxing place to stay. Children are rarely seen or heard.

Great place to wind down.

Room Tip: Second floor is best so that you have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lyrce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

The hotel is older but is kept up very well. The pool is quite nice.
We visited from November 22 - 29. Unfortunately, we hit some very rainy weather for over 1/2 the stay. But, we still managed to enjoy ourselves.
The buffet food selection was fantastic. The a la cartes were also nice. No complaints - except I was very sick one night. Not sure if I caught a bug or it was some random food poisoning. I was okay completely in a couple of days so I don't think it was a bug.
The drinks are okay. I'm more of a wine drinker but I had heard before I went that the wine wasn't great. And it wasn't, but still managed to have a few. The beer at the bars is Presidente, which is fantastic!
The rooms are nice. The beds are pretty horrible. Very hard and the pillows are lumpy. But, it was nice to be able to relax and watch some TV on those rainy days. Lots of english programming with some movie channels. We stayed in the Saona block and was ocean facing in room 1232. We couldn't see the ocean for the trees but it was very nice on the patio on the second floor.
The resort didn't seem to be even half-full. Which was great for service. I can't complain at all about the service. Very friendly and accomodating.
The beach was very beautiful and you could walk a nice ways. However, the vendors did get annoying after a short time. Even when you were polite to them, some (not all) were a little aggresive and they did not respect that you might be wanting to have a little shut eye on the beach. Similarly, the mall outside the hotel gates - very aggressive. We had planned to buy some souvenirs but gave up.
The airport was quite nice. There's a great duty free just past security that had some great prices on rum and other items. There are 2 more small shops in the waiting area after security as well. And there is a smoking area, a non-smoking bar and a small place to get burgers/fries/etcetera.
All in all, very nice. Great value too! Under $1000 per person all-inclusive from St. John's, NL (through Toronto).

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if this is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SarahbackinNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel since the last time we were in Peurta Plata was 35 years ago. We were there from Nov 29 through Dec 6. Fortunately the weather was mostly sunny during our time there. This hotel provided all our needs including a great beach, quiet room away from the pool area, and everything within easy walking distance unlike some resorts where you have to walk long distances to get anywhere.

Strengths

Beach
Pool
Rooms
Pleasant and helpful staff
Octopus Restaurant

Weaknesses

Follow-up on maintenance request
Entertainment (very amateur)
Food (meat particularly tough in the evening although there is a good selection of other choices)

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool area are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jamesd087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

my husband and I went here on our own, our room faced the hedge to the right of the property behind the pool, the main pool was lively and we enjoyed the swim up pool bar and then after breakfast we went to the hotel next door part of the complex and the quite pool.The staff were brilliant I cannot remember her name but she was a character. The food was very good geared to the Americans but we enjoyed it and the a la carte restaraunts were a night out and we celebrated our anivarsary at one of them. We went on the monster truck trip and also took out the bikes from the hotel. One night we went to the local casino and felt safe walking back on our ow. The only downside was that you could not go out of the main gates on the hotels complex this is most of the domican as it is not as safe as the streets back home the people are poorer.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DawTyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Putnam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I just returned this morning from my wedding at this resort. We were gone from Dec.3 until Dec.11.

The Wedding - We sent over 30 emails to the coordinator and she would regularly read them and not respond. Then upon our arrival meeting with her she had a blank sheet and we had to start from scratch and fight every step of the way. They wantedto switch us to the lobby instead of the beach, they nickle and dime for all the decorations, they DO NOT include a reception instead they offer some seperate tables at an ala carte unless you fight for a spot. They set our wedding up at the gazebo accidentally and then moved it but we recieved 10+ less chairs then we paid for. The beach wedding spot is awesome unless it rained the previous day in which case it will stink.. we were lucky. Overall a huge hassle.
Tip - Say no to the Wedding photos and haggle the next day as they will still come. we ended up paying 100$ for the CD and 5 prints.

The stay - Our group was around 50 people and an assortment of ages. We were constantly harrassed for complaints about our group but they never had a name, room number or anything to go by and they never confronted the people they said were the problem. Instead because we were the "Leaders" it was up to us. One complaint was a male knocking too loud on his door to have his girlfriend let him in yet screaming 4 year olds waundering halls looking for drunk parents that left them were ok? We had an incident were a person fell into a glass sliding door and although the blinds were closed sercurity claimed to see rough housing? they started by demanding 500+$ then 420 then 380 then 300 then "Whatever you and your group can come up with" and finally 250$ or "we will call the police at 5pm and not allow the group to leave the resort/country until it's paid. We paid and 4 days later it was still broken with flith inside and you could now see mold growing everywhere.

Will the Thomas Cook rep is aweful. He fought for the hotel when we were beign blackmailed and threatend as a group of 50! If they threaten us imagine a small family! clearly they dont care as we promised to submit our reviews and tell everyone we know.

Marasol was condisending and is the one who actually threatend to keep us in the country and call police or to kick us out of the resort. I asked for a list of what complaints were made and they rolled their eyes (including the thomas cook rep) and said they dont know and they they would file a complaint against us to someone in ontario???

All and all this was sad as the food was great and the wait staff amazing and the resort looked nice.. minus some bed bugs... and old breaking down pieces ... one friends TV started to smoke and was arcing in the back of the TV... it was replaced and 2 days later the new one started doing the same... Power even went out for 4 hours on our last day and again for 15 minutes that night.

Be warned any cash never hits the register and they will threaten you for there resorts problems. If you have any questions PM me because I'm tired or writing and want to move on to better things now!!!

AVOID THE WHOLE PLAYA DORDAS COMPLEX !!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank JLinton84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
1.2 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,517 reviews
0.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
0.2 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#8 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

Property: VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Address: Playa Dorada | PO Box 22, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Ventana Beach Hotel
Gran Ventana Dominican Republic
Gran Ventana Puerto Plata
Gran Ventana Beach Resort Puerto Plata
Hotel Gran Ventana Beach
Grand Ventana Beach Resort
Gran Ventana Hotel Dominican Republic
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing