We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$309
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
BlueBay
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$319
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$278
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Be Live Collection Marien(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$196/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Blue JackTar(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$167
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Playabachata Resort(Puerto Plata)
US$103
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,949)
Filter reviews
5,949 results
Traveller rating
2,666
2,069
788
266
160
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,666
2,069
788
266
160
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean grilloctopusquiet poolcatalina buildingvintage clubbeata buildinga la carte restaurantsroyal packagecarlos santanamain poolentertainment teamswim up barocean worlddominican republicitalian restaurantparadise islandcable car
Filter
Updating list...
2,351 - 2,356 of 5,949 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Went for Spring Break last week - the hotel itself is beautiful! We had a few issues checking in at first, but upgraded to a Jr. Suite and we were fine. The only suggestion I have is about the food - make sure you book a reservation as soon as you check in, because it was difficult to reserve tables for the restaurants (they book fast). However, the buffet food wasn't bad - we ate there most of the time.

My personal favorite part of this resort is the Entertainment staff! The boys were awesome - especially Carlos Santana. He made my friend and I feel so welcome like we were home. All of the Entertainment staff kept us dancing each night, with different shows and events that kept us having fun and smiling. Between the dance shows, game shows, bingo night, live band and more, we were entertained each night we were there. They definitely made our trip the best it could be. Thank you Carlos!

Although I went for Spring Break, there were people of all ages around the Resort. I'd definitely stay here again. I miss the weather and the entertainment staff the most. We had a great time!

Room Tip: The Jr. Suite was very nice!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Virginia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Just returned from this resort. First time at an all inclusive. Small property. Has potential. Needs TLC. Check in was nice. Served a drink while we waited. Lobby pretty. First room we got, not ok. It was in the quiet section. Needed updating!. Two double beds. When you sat on the toilet you sat right underneath the toilet paper holder. Very hard to maneuver. First floor, view was a parking lot. Next room was in the area next to the beach. 2nd floor. King size bed. Somewhat updated. Bed was comfortable. Mold in bathroom and holes in shower ceiling. But otherwise clean. No wifi in any rooms. Rooms can get very noisy. Check you room before committing to it. No lock on lock box in room. Must pay for it. Everything is tiled. Very sketchy free wifi in lobby and a few other places. You got somewhat better wifi if you bought a pkg. no elevators. Make dinner reservations early in the week. We could not get into any of the restaurants that needed a reservation even when they had open tables. Food in buffet was good and bad. Service to get beverages at the buffet was a mixed bag. Bars were busy. Drinks good and bad. Jackie makes a mean Jackie's special at the quiet bar. Weather was warm and humid. Lovely beach. Not good for shelling. Vendors on beach can be a pain but are friendly. Definitely bargain. Be careful buying silver and amber from the beach vendors. Not many side trips worth doing. Do not lose your beach towel cards. $20 fee per card lost. Security will remove your stuff from lounges at the beach if you reserved them by placing your stuff there. Many of the pool lounges were reserved right away in the am. Some people reserved both beach and pool and rarely showed up to either so that is why your things would be removed. Beach vendors work the beach everyday and know the guards and know the tourists buying by name. If they know you they will help to get you a area with lounges at the beach. Joe is a good beach vendor. Speaks English well. Sells jewelry.

Room Tip: Check it out before committing. No elevators, noisy. No wifi in rooms. Rooms facing the ocean have less noise from the pool area. No lock on lock box in room. Must pay for a lock box.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lizbeth123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for your recent visit to Gran Ventana. Thank you also for posting your comments and feedback – these are very useful for us and for future guests. We would like you to know that we are about to launch a “Premium Package” for those travelers who do not want to pay extra for top shelf and other amenities. We hope you will look into this for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I want to thank Vilma C. Beard the Guest Service Manager/Wedding Coordinator for arranging a special surprise of petals and an amazing towel display for my girlfriend. It's little surprises like these that are priceless! Thank you so much!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeterC1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Just returned form a week with my wife and 16 year old son. I have travelled extensively and have never wrote a review on any resort but felt this experience had to be shared. I am from south western Ontario, Canada and have paid considerably more for one week all inclusive vacations that have also been very good. But... the value of the VH Gran Ventana Resort is unparalleled. The rooms are very clean and have all the amenities you need. The resort is also very clean and well laid out. The staff is friendly and always eager to make sure you are having a good time. There are bars located at every common area so you never have to go to far to find a drink. The pools are extraordinary - one for people looking to have fun featuring daily activities and one in a quiet area where you could relax and read a book. The nightly entertainment was typical of what you find at resorts in the Caribbean, which is generally loud and not my style. But, they had a good mix of comedy related themes and a magic show that we enjoyed. They brought in a rhythm and blues band from Wisconsin called "The Jimmy's", that played 2 of the nights during our stay. They were unbelievable! So much so that we bought 2 of their CD's. My wife, son and I literally danced the night away and the crowd (including the staff) loved every minute of their performance.

The food was 5 star! The buffet had all everything you could ask for and never too much so anything sat out for more than a few minutes.. A good selection of every meat dish, great salad bar, fruit and smoothie station, breads, desserts. and always fresh pasta. Plus, they are very conscience of their guests - mainly Canadians and Americans. The buffet always had a mix of comfort foods we all enjoy at home such as shepherds pie, southern fried chicken, stews, lasagna, hamburgs and hotdogs, etc. There were three ala carts and they were all amazing.

The beach was well kept and very clean. There were always enough lounge chairs and a bar only steps away. Puerto Plata is a bit on the windy side but when it`s 35 degrees in the middle of the day, it`s a welcome breeze.

The Playa Dorada Golf Course is a walk across the street from the front entrance of the resort and is world class. It`s a bit pricey but worth it if you like to golf! their is also a shopping plaza adjacent to the resort that had everything in the way of souvenirs and the vendors are not overly aggressive so you can browse without being berated.

There is absolutely nothing negative I can say about the VH Gran Vantana. We have stayed at the Iberostar in Pueti Plata and it was also very good but not I can honestly say this place is better, for less money. We would go back in a heartbeat! If you are from Canada and want good value for around a thousand dollars per person, you will never find a resort better than this! Five stars all the way!!!

Room Tip: Pool view rooms on the 3rd floor are great.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We spent 14 wonderful days. Loved the resort and the staff. We had rooms by the quiet pool
It was a family vacation 10 the of us 1st wk & 12 2nd wk.
The Bartenders working by the quiet pool are great and make the vacation. Jackie was a lot of fun and made the VH Gran Ventana Beach resort a great place to spend with friends and family
Ramirez came on at night he to made the bar @ Ventana Beach a great place
I found that most of the staff went out of thier way to make the stay great
Loved the holiday and looking forward to returning for another vacation for more fun and relaxation.
Would like to see the gym equipment updated & more weights

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Norm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews