We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Playabachata Resort(Puerto Plata)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Be Live Collection Marien(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$179/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue JackTar(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$340
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$319
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$310
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,959)
Filter reviews
5,959 results
Traveller rating
2,673
2,072
788
266
160
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,673
2,072
788
266
160
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean grilloctopusquiet poolcatalina buildingvintage clubbeata buildinga la carte restaurantsroyal packagecarlos santanamain poolentertainment teamswim up barocean worlddominican republicitalian restaurantparadise islandcable car
Filter
Updating list...
2,349 - 2,354 of 5,959 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2014

after 20 yrs of going to dom. republic we booked gran ventana and it was not as advertised. the resort is nice overall, but the service / management is terrible. the beach is nice, grounds are nice, resort on the small side. the food is always the same no variety at all. we booked several months in advance and requested rooms and did not get them. no coffee pots in rooms etc. just basic rooms. we always tip when we travel but at this resort we saved alot of money because weather you tipped or not the service was terrible. management didn't respond to any requests etc. and the help at times were rude. the only person to actually help or go out of there way for you was the maid, she was very accomadating. just 2 beers per day in mini bar and 2 sodas which is terrible. no coffee pots, irons etc. you have a hard time booking the alacarte restuarants also. I could go on and on but I'll just state stay away from this resort there are much better on the island (most)!!

Room Tip: all buildings only have one way in and out. you cannot get out the ends of buildings which is strange and kind of a fire hazard if you ask me.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 436joeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

We are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to Gran Ventana. We very surprised to hear that you had bad experiences with the staff. As you can tell from the majority of the other reviews, the staff are the stars of our resort. We are about to launch a “Premium Package” for those travelers who do want to pay extra for upgraded rooms and other top shelf amenities, while not raising prices for the guests who have come to know us as an excellent affordable vacation destination. Please be assured that guest satisfaction is our #1 priority.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed at the Gran Ventana a week ago and it was wonderful! We took the kids and in-laws. I would highly recommend this resort to families - not singles or young couples! If you are looking for a hotel with lots of loud partying and heavy drinking - this is not the place for you. Please do us all a favor and go somewhere else.

The hotel was clean and the staff were very polite. The food was good for the price, with lots of variety. Out of six people, two got sick- but briefly. Drinks were decent. The beach was clean, sand was soft. There was a bit of coral in the water close to shore so you could snorkel easily or just stand in the shallow water and see fish and sea urchins.

Only bummer is that people do reserve pool loungers and beach huts so you have to wake up early - 5:30AM or 6AM in order to reserve your spot each day. But the bonus is that you can stay for a little bit and see the sunrise on the beach.

The rooms are small but there is a balcony in each and kids got cable with some of their favorite shows - some in spanish. They give you a jug of distilled water each day, along with some bottled pop and local beer in the mini-fridge. The mattresses are a little soft and springy. They put giant decorative pillows on the bed but you can find the normal pillows in the closet.

There weren't many CONs - the biggest being some young couple came in late one night - raving drunk on our floor and started shouting, banging and fighting all the way to their room. With the tile floors in the hallway, their lame bickering echoed loudly into everyone's room. Thank goodness someone called security and they came up shortly and spoke with them. Hopefully they got kicked out because we never heard from them again. Like I said in the beginning of the post - this is not a place for you to get drunk and behave like an idiot. It's for older couples and families. Be respectful and go get drunk somewhere else.

For the snobs who complain about the food, don't forget this is a poor country and they make due with the resources that they have. For the amount of money that we paid - I believe we got a fair deal. The food was good. They had some great hot chocolate in the morning - along with a fruit smoothie bar. Just grab a small container of yogurt from the center island and bring it with you to the bar if you want to add it into your smoothie. Lunch had homemade burgers and hotdogs for the kids along with alot of other hot entrees. Dinner was always different and the soups were decent. I loved their buckwheat salad - which was a decent quinoa replacement. The restaurants were different from the buffet and worth booking when you arrive the first day.

If you want some excursions, there are lots but you'll have to pay for each one. We found some great ones in the Playa Dorada mall just down the street from the hotel but in the same gated resort area. We could even bargain and get a better deal than the ones offered in the hotel.

All in all - yes I would definitely come back and stay again. Maybe bring more people as it would be more fun. We met some guests who had brought the entire extended family of 20+. Great to relax in the sun and on the beach. Great value for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter room, not facing the pool area. They have events at night in front of the main pool which is quite loud. If you ask for one that is too quiet in the other complex on the other side of the parking lot you'll have to walk a little bit farther to get to the buffet each day- 3x a day... Also if you have mobility issues ask for a ground floor room.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neirakoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Got back last week from staying here with my 12 yr. old son for a week and have to say i was pretty impressed. It was one of the cleanest resorts I've stayed at. The food was great, even with a 12 yr. old kinda finicky boy.
I loved the smoothie bar at breakfast and they had the best chicken wings at the beach grill!!
The animation team was one of the best I've had also. I have been to the caribbean about 10 times and these guys knew how to have fun and get the crowd going. My son also really loved the pool tables. It was nice to have them so close to the pool so I could stay there and still be able to see him playing a game.
The maids kept the rooms always clean and the beds were pretty comfy.
My only downfall was the last day there, "Sweetie" sold my son a cd of the music that they played there all week only to get it home and find out it was blank. My son was crushed but it was a life lesson for us both.
Other than that, I would recommend this resort and I would probably go back myself.

Room Tip: we had a room on the 3rd floor facing the other resort and it was pretty quiet
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Excelente!! is a word you will hear often at the VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort. We just got home last night and I miss it already. We had never been to an all inclusive resort and only one other time in the Caribbean. We couldn't have asked for a better time.

From the moment we arrived at the airport and our VIP representative greeted us and helped us get on the right bus everything was great. We arrived at the resort and were treated to cold towels (I needed that) and offered a cool drink. While waiting in a short line for our check in. The front desk staff was friendly and informative. Next a very friendly Bellboy took our luggage and lead us to our room. The room was extremely clean and blessedly cool.

The room furniture is nothing special but it is clean and in good working order. We had a room toward the back of the Catalina Building 2241. There was only one VERY hard double bed but we had a partial view of the beach and the room was very quiet, we did not hear our neighbors or the activities at the main pool. We were still in the middle of all the activities and food with only a very short walk.

The pool was a great place to be and although we are nearing our 60's I never felt out of place or looking to move to the smaller sedate Quiet pool. The music and activities could be a little loud at times but they were so much fun to watch or participate in we didn't notice the volume after a few minutes. There seemed to always be something going on, water exercise, a volleyball game or interactive fun and games by the exuberant activity staff. Of course there were also so many people to meet and talk to either in or around the pool, or at the great pool bar. Yes it was better if you went down early to reserve your pool chairs if you have a strong preference, but if you are flexible you can always find someplace to sit near the pool.

The beach was clean and beautiful with large thatched umbrellas and lounges to sit on or under. There are vendors on the beach but if you ignore them keep walking or just said No thank you they would leave you alone. If you do decide you want to buy something be prepared to haggle they may quote $60 but if you counter with $15 you will usually be able to come to a fair price. There is lots of clean sand and beach to take long walks on if that is you desire. We spent most of our time by the pool but did enjoy some walks on the beach.

The food at the buffet was very good, fresh and plentiful. I am a picky eater and do not like too many sauces or hot seasonings but I always found more then enough choices. My husband likes sauces, variety and spicy food he also found he really enjoyed the local favorites that were offered. We ate all but 2 of our meals at the buffet and never got bored. If you go in the evening look for the hostess Nathaly. She is an amazing young lady who keeps on top of all that is happening and always has a smile and a friendly word. At other meals we did sometimes have trouble with drink wait times, of course you could always get your drink at the bar and bring it in with you. We did try the Octopus Restaurant we personally were not crazy about the food or the very upscale ambiance. We were not able to get a reservation at Sapore di Mare Ristorante(we waited too long to try to book, go as soon as possible) we heard it was good. We also went to the Ocean Grill where the ambiance was just right and the food was very good.

All of the staff were friendly and helpful, they always had a smile for the guest and would try to assist even when it was not their responsibility. They kept the rooms and the grounds clean and looking great, you could tell they were continuously working to improve or maintain the property.

We definitely plan on returning to this resort, we made many friends there and feel the value was excelente! If you are looking for a quiet place to veg by the pool or on the beach this may not be the place for you. If you are looking for 5 star facilities this may not be the place for you. If you are looking for cleanliness, fun, activities, good food, friendly people from 2-92 weighing 3 lbs or 300 lbs for a reasonable price this IS the place for you.

I don't think I have ever had a better vacation!!

Room Tip: We liked our room away from the noisy pool and entertainment area. We did have a partial view of the pool. It was room 2241 on the second floor of the Catalina building. If you want real quiet and don't mind the walk the Beata Building is best. If you want quiet and close to activity the beach side of Saona or Catalina Building is better.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindagerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I read quite many good reviews about this hotel but was disappointed as soon as we checked in.
Firstly the resort is quite small. Buffet food is not bad but it was packed with people and very chaotic. I would suggest the management to put a bigger spoon in the dish so that the spoons don't swim in the food after touched by many. They don't seem to have enough staff to clean up the table after customers leave. Wifi signal is weak. We will stay only for three nights and we are only able to get one reservation at 8:30pm the night before we leave. It is not so nice for short stays.

Pros: The room is bright,cool and with partial sea view. Ac works well. Food is not bad. Staff at checkin is efficient.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews