We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
winthrop, maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place for the price!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

To begin.... this resort is perfectly located approximately 15 minutes drive from the airport. Upon arrival we were met with a cool towel (how refreshing) and a fresh drink. Check in was a breeze. We were a group of 6 and had made some room requests which were mostly fulfilled, those that werent were promptly fixed the following morning.
The rooms- we had a superior king suite in the Catalina building. Room was nice, clean and ocean front. We found the beds to be quite comfortable and have nothing negative to say in that sense. Our room was ocean front with a decent view, though partially obstructed which was actually nice for privacy.
The grounds- This hotel is BEAUTIFULLY situated in Playa Dorada. The grounds are clean and constantly maintained. We found the location to perfect. Within walking distance to Puerto Plata Plaza, Coco Bongo (HOW FUN) etc.
The Pool- SO MUCH FUNNNNN! Spent many a days next to this large, refreshing pool. Pool bar was alot of fun and the service was great as well, especially after a few dollars tip. We found the pool to be well maintained and clean.
The Food- The buffet was plentiful and always something to eat. Towards the end of our 7 days it did become a bit repititive but we were never hungry. The ala cartes are definately worth reserving, but do so immediately as they fill up quickly. We LOVED the italian one the best. As far as illness goes, two people in our group got a very mild case of stomach cramps etc but could have been from all the banana mama's we consumed. Nothing serious.
The Beach- GORGEOUS! Not the most impressive blue water I've ever seen but definatly pretty. The waters were mostly calm and inviting, though a couple of days the red flags were up. You can walk distance in either direction and the surrounding mountain views were spectacular. Lots of snorkeling right off shore too...I would suggest bringing your own snorkel gear however.
Issues- I really dont have much negative to share, and that which I do is NOT a reflection of the resort itself, but I do feel is worth a mention. First off, day 1 of our vacation we meandered down to the beach at 6:45 to get our chairs and hopefully a palapa. The reviews you read about people saving chairs ARE TRUE! We could not find ONE chair. We spoke with a gentleman working the beach (he is employed by the resort) and asked about people saving. We were told that wasnt allowed and we could move the items left. Which we did. The people had 6 chairs with 4 flipflops saving them. We hung at the beach for nearly an hour before they appeared. The french woman (who did speak english) was exceptionally rude, shooing us out of chairs and telling us "this is my place". She and her daughter then proceeded to bribe the workers to "tell them to leave, and I will pay you" which the workers refused to do. We ended up exchanging words with this woman and eventually gave in. She was rude and continued to be rude to us for the duration of our trip....THIS CHAIR SAVING CRAP SHOULD NOT BE ALLOWED! Again, cannot really fault the resort, but they really need to make changes in this area.
Finally, on our next to last day we spent the day poolside. By 4pm the pool was packed with people of all ages. We spotted an American couple (yes Im from the US too) across the pool. The woman had moved her bottoms over to the side and her male companion proceeded to engage in sexual acts....at the POOL! Not kidding, never seen anything like this before. We notified staff who did not see them, we ended up asking them to leave the pool area as we could see what they were doing...they proceeded to FLIP us OFF... Weird events.
None the less..... AMAZING trip, AMAZING beach and would definatly recommend this resort to people who enjoy low key, relaxing vacation.
Excursions---LOVE LOVE LOVE PARADISE ISLAND. Also did the waterfall excursion.... dont book at the resort, make the short walk to the plaza and save yourself a significant amount of $$

Room Tip: If you are looking for quieter location, chose the beata building. Otherwise the Saona and Catalina...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jackie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,398
    1,894
    716
    249
    145
See reviews for
1,478
2,063
78
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were lucky enough to get this trip as a wedding gift and for the price, we were not expecting what we got!! They treated us so well and were always there to top off our drinks or help us out. Special thanks to Santiago!!! & Chanci!! You two were so amazing and really made our trip amazing. We have never traveled out of the country before and you guys made it feel like home the first hour. Our VIP agent Nguyen was also extremely helpful! Coca cola! What an amazing place and experience.

I plan on coming here every year, if not twice a year.

The room was nice and very pretty. Also the maids were so sweet and polite. May have not been a 5 star room but I wasn't there for the room.....

The shows were awesome and my husband win the arm wrestling competition which he is still boasting about! I loved dancing with the entertainment crew as well. They really know how to show you a good time and have fun.

Love the gran ventana. Best place ever!!!

The honeymooners
~Tony & Kim
SEATTLE

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangeville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We had a great time here, it was just what we needed!!! The staff was great, resort clean , room was very clean and the food was good !!! We came too get unplugged from live and thats what we did!!!! Relaxed on the beach daily, which was well mantained !!!!

Room Tip: we were in the beata building which was quiter!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Thank you to all the staff at the VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort ..Puerto Plata... From the time I walked inside this beautiful hotel my awesome vacation started with my daughter and 3 grandchildren. The staff at the front desk greeted us with all smiles and the lady ( I am not good with names ) who was on the front desk did everything to make us feel so welcomed also she was very informative, the cold towels given to us to cool off was heaven and we were all served with a cold drink as we checked in. We had adjoining rooms on the first floor in the Saona building in the back near the beach and we loved our room and our maid was wonderful, and at night it was very quiet and peaceful ... The buffet was always good and again excellent service by all the staff. We did the 3 a la cart dinners our favourite was Italian, it was my granddaughter's 11th birthday and they came to her with a birthday cake singing Happy Birthday it made her birthday so extra special. We went to Ocean World that day with the kids and they truly loved it, the dolphins and the birds were the favourite for us all. I have read about people using their towels to save lounge chairs, and that did happen a lot, what we found worse was the ones who hogged all the umbrellas.. Seriously They did not need one for each person they were with while little ones had no shade, some just had the umbrella closed and would not give them up as they said they were going to use them after sunning themselves, this was not the fault of the hotel as there was a sign up for guests not to hold chairs, maybe they need to put up bigger signs.. Wednesday night was excellent, we all got to meet the owner, management of all departments and all the staff who worked on the resort, we found that to be so personable and everything was set up for a beautiful evening of dinner and drinks. This resort is very clean, the staff work very hard and are so friendly, I have nothing bad to say and will go back to this resort again for sure... Last year I went to Cuba, my experience there was not near as good at the resort I stayed at in Cuba, Puerto Plata has so much more I have to see so will return and Gran Ventana is where I will stay, so from Marian, Dallas , Kaleigh , Colton And myself Marilyn Bissett Thank You so much to all the management and staff at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort for your smiles, the service we received and making our vacation a happy relaxing one .

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank marilyn9_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Thomas, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We are seasoned travellers to the Caribbean. Have done AI for over ten years. This is definitely not a 41/2 stars property. A 3 stars at best.

Here are the pros:
• Very helpful and friendly staff.
• Well maintained grounds and beach area.
• Clean rooms.
Here are the cons:
• Food offerings were limited and subpar in all the restaurants. Same ingredient prepared with different sauce was offered as a new dish. Most meat and seafood dishes were over cooked.
• The cheap foam pillows in the room were the worst we have ever encountered. Even the replacements that were given were hopeless.
• The comforter was way too heavy to use even with the both air conditioner and the fan on. There was no other cover one could use. We were either sweating or freezing. Hard to get a good rest that way.
• The property is old and a coat of paint just would not do the job in some area.

This hotel has the right ingredients to be a very good one. Just needed some attention to the small details.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Goingmyway967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your recent visit to Gran Ventana and for your kind words about the staff and the hotel. We are sorry to hear not everything at the resort was to your liking. Please know that we do not market ourselves as a 4.5 or 5 star resort, but instead aim to provide exceptional quality holiday at an exceptional value which our regular, returning guests do appreciate and enjoy. We pride ourselves to offer a large variety of national and international cuisine of very high standards and we certainly regret that it was not to your liking. Thank you also for posting your comments and feedback – these are very useful for us to help maintain the level of excellence that is known at VH Hotels & Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

For the money, the Gran Ventana is very nice. The staff is friendly and helpful, the beach is clean and their is a nice variety of food choices. The internet connection is sketchy, sometimes you can get on and most times you can't. We found EARLY in the morning worked best. They could use a few more umbrellas around the pool for shade and the beach chairs by the ocean could be more comfortable - most are sagging in the middle. For anyone looking for good waves to body surf, this is not the place. There is a reef just off shore, good for snorkeling but bad for waves!

Room Tip: If quiet is key, stay in the Beata otherwise, the Catalina is fine as long as the room is away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Just came back from vh gran [ mar. 22/28] and theres nothing neg . to say about this place it is Excelente. The rooms are dated but very clean , the maids work so hard to keep them that way.The resort is small and has that comfy feeling. The food , once again was very good , the buffet was very good and as with any buffet got a little repeative during the week. We done all the la carts[ book as soon as you get there because the bookings go early] and they were great. The staff at vh gran are so happy and helpful, they make you feel at home. The beach is the best in the area, with snorkelling right off the shore. The vendors are always around but a simple no thanks and they move on. The drinks were good and plentiful , maybe a little on the low end but after a few who cares. We had trouble finding enough washrooms but they were there , just called water closets, only found some 2 days before we left .There is a problem with people putting towels on the beach and pool chairs at 6 am but don't know what the resort could do about that? This place is not great but very very good , even the manager goes around and says hi. If you cannot find food to eat and good drinks here , theres something wrong with you, great wook vh gran

Room Tip: we were overlookin the pool and it was fine , a little noise if that would bother you , us it didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robsym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#4 of 39 in Puerto Plata
532 reviews
0.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 39 in Puerto Plata
3,624 reviews
1.2 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 39 in Puerto Plata
7,066 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

Property: VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Address: Playa Dorada | PO Box 22, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Ventana Beach Hotel
Gran Ventana Dominican Republic
Gran Ventana Puerto Plata
Gran Ventana Beach Resort Puerto Plata
Hotel Gran Ventana Beach
Grand Ventana Beach Resort
Gran Ventana Hotel Dominican Republic
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing