We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Treated Poorly!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Treated Poorly!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Let me make it known that i am not out to moan and/or ruin this hotels reputation...

I stayed here in May 2014, the hotel is ok and the staff are well trained..lets say they make the effort!
I'm not gonna bother comment on the food and drink as no matter where you go in the world 'All Inclusive' generally means that the food and drink will not be GREAT but BAREABLE if you're lucky.

However i was treated extremely unfairly when i was told i must leave the hotel due to an argument the person i was travelling with had with another guest. The details of the argument arent important but please understand that it was hardly one-sided, yet only we were the ones who were asked to leave. (Maybe because we're black and the other guests were spanish?)

Not only did Gran Ventana kick us out on the street but they also called ahead to most of the neighbouring hotels and insisted they should not let us stay, as a result of this we were stranded for several hours and had to find a hotel a long way away from our resort and the airport.

I will 100% be making an official complaint hoping to receive a refund for my lost days and compensation to cover extra hotel and travel costs.

What a shame because this hotel is not bad at all...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DannyMeade12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We feel the need to defend ourselves for other TripAdvisor readers, as we are publicly being accused of something horrible. There was more than one incident with this gentleman and after the first he apologized and put in writing that there would not be further disturbances. Very shortly after there was in fact another. We were concerned about the safety of not only our guests, but guests of the neighboring hotels as well. We will not permit anyone to threaten or bother our treasured guests in any way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,327
    1,834
    682
    243
    142
See reviews for
1,434
1,976
76
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,060)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Best vocation so far , food great , service excellent , beach perfect .. If u want to book waterfalls , atv or any other tour , make sure u go and find the guy Neury , he stays in beach in front of resort , the guy was awesome .. Even If u miss ur trip he will reschuled rite away .. And he have the best deals around !!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bteeeeeeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

My girlfriend and I were very picky about the choice of destination and Gran Ventana had the best reviews on Tripadvisor so we decided to go there and ... WOW! We were looking forward for a nice little and relaxing getaway for away from work and all the stress and that's exactly what we got thx to all the lovely staff and all the people around that made this holidays unbelievable.
Service was excellent, waiters were very careful about us and always had a huge smile when coming to the tables.
Food was great, had a lot of choices, I felt for their smoked salmon sauce (one of the best i had), A La Carte restaurant were romantic and food was very enjoyable.
What about the locos entertainers? They made our trip, the activities were fun, the night shows were great! Their smile, their motivation, and their good humor made all the difference and we feel very privilege to have experienced all of that and to have met all those wonderful people that work really hard. Shout out to the "Michael Jackson guy", your show was incredible!
I almost forgot our room maid Alcadia. She did an awesome job our room was always spotless, and to see how those people work and how happy they look all the time makes you realize our lucky we are back here.
We are already planning to come back in january.
Ignore the bad comments it was a great vacation and a great hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

The food was good but not excellent. The places to eat it though were beautiful. The people who served it were that friendly and accomodating that it elevated everything. All staff that we met and became aquainted with from "Oscar The Bossr" to the desk staff, the room maintenace staff, the restaurant and bar staff and especially the entertainment folk made the trip a great experience.. A beautiful beach, fun activities happening regularly (and very informally which suited my Canadian tastes) No worries about wandering about the area as evrybody was friendly. For my first time at this sort of vacation, I well enjoyed it. Denese and Victor of the entertainment team particularly I would like to single out as people who enhanced my experience. All the best to you and thanks,

Room Tip: We had a junior suite. It was nice but not spacious. I did not see what a regular room looked like b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulVMcE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meaford, ON
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had a great family vacation at the Gran Ventana. The staff were all very friendly and our rooms were very clean. The beds were very hard but found our backs were much better because of this. There were always people working around the resort to keep the grounds top notch. We had 8 people in our group and no problems with our rooms, we had 3 rooms together on the 3rd floor. There are stairs to climb but we had no issues with this and felt it was good exercise. The food was very good and a good assortment of food as we could always find something good to eat. The Beach Grill had the best chicken wings! The only improvement that I would suggest would be better lighting in the bathroom or at least a makeup mirror with a light. Also it would be nice if the vendors were not so bothersome on the beach but really all in all we had a wonderful vacation. We even booked an excursion through Elvis on the beach and it was excellent we had a great time at the 7 waterfalls and it was good for all of us ranging in age from 9-42!

Room Tip: If you like action book near the pool and the 3rd floor was excellent although if you have trouble w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Deciding we'd have a Caribbean holiday this year instead of Europe or America, after much searching we came across the Gran Ventana Beach Resort in the Dominican Republic which appeared to offer what we were looking for.
A little apprehensive as from a few of the photos the outside of the accommodation looked a little like Butlins - we needn't have been concerned as the rooms were excellent.
The hotel and grounds were as clean as any hotel I've stayed in (having stayed in quality hotels across the globe) so a big thumbs up for that Gran Ventana, showing others how it should and can be done.
The staff, regardless as to the role they had were as accommodating as could be and seemed to truly enjoy what they did so another big well done to Gran Ventanna.
Special mention on the entertainment team goes to Barbie, Blondie and Carlos Santana, all are a credit to the Gran Ventana Beach Resort and all clearly love their jobs.
The food choice was excellent in the main buffet (especially on the Wednesday) and the Italian, Beach and Octopus restaurants offered more than we expected, all provided a great choice and excellent service.
We found some of the entertainment shows excellent and some not so (accepting one can never please everyone) and being dancers we took every opportunity of dancing when the chance arose.
For us it would have been perfect if there had been another area where softer music was played so one could escape the main entertainment area when the mood suited, that said, for our stay not having this didn't spoil our holiday.

On a few days during our stay the beach (which is super clean and sandy) had a strong cross wind blowing, a little too strong though it was no problem going to the main pool area where there was no wind at all, all in all this hotel is located at a great location.

Small points:
1) there is an small area beside the pool to the left of the pool bar (pool side, photo attached) where there is a raised floor and I smashed my toes on this (thought I'd broken my toes though luckily for me not), something I am certain I am not the only person to have ever done that, this was mentioned to a member of staff who advised it'd be looked at (I'd be surprised if it has as he was rushing about doing other things).
2) It would also have been nice if at least a couple of the table tennis bats were in good condition for those that would like a proper game rather than a knockabout.
3) We thought it a little disappointing that one had to hire tennis rackets, for us this should be included in the hotel price.
4) On the main entertainment area, there are clear signs stating that this is a No Smoking area, this was more often than not ignored and certainly from what we observed never enforced, we personally had to change our seating several times to get away from those smoking.

These are small points thought points I hope others (including the Gran Ventana Beach Resort) will appreciate when reading this honest review.

Room Tip: Simple, if you want a quiet room ask for a room not facing the main pool/entertainment area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dale D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Went with my friends and it was wonderful! Food, drinks, and service was very good. The entire entertainment team was always friendly, special thanks to Carlos Santana, Blondey, Supertino 69, Barbie, Coca-Cola, and the guy who was always on the microphone (sorry I forget the name). They made a regular beach vacation fun and entertaining. Only downside was the beach vendors but if you went at early morning or later in the day there weren't too many. If you go off the resort, obviously be careful. Other than that, I would love to go back sometime in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#6 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,684 reviews
1.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,295 reviews
0.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

Property: VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Address: Playa Dorada | PO Box 22, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Ventana Beach Hotel
Gran Ventana Dominican Republic
Gran Ventana Puerto Plata
Gran Ventana Beach Resort Puerto Plata
Hotel Gran Ventana Beach
Grand Ventana Beach Resort
Gran Ventana Hotel Dominican Republic
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing