We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bored out of my mind !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2009

Came home from VH Gran Ventana on the 14th September 2009 ~The holiday was 'ok' although we did feel very 'trapped' - when you look at First Choice and Thomson web sites they suggest that it is in a central location but it is not.
There are a few rubbish shops with pushy staff, selling 'junk' or trips and that is it.
These are easy to find ~ just past the taxis offering guided tours etc !
(Not like Playa Del Carmen in Mexico ~ now that is a good location !!!!)
The staff at hotel were all very helpful and attentive, and they were always cleaning.
I would not rate it as 4* it was more like a 3* there is no coffee or tea making facillity in your room you have to get it from the trolley down stairs. It must be due a 'facelift' soon !
Some people complained of 'stuffy' rooms ~ ours was OK ~ clean tidy & in Catalina block (2nd Floor) ~ away from noise but with pool & limited sea views ~ Paradise !!
The buffet food was OK, sometimes really good (the freshly cooked items are best !) ~ the 3 A La Carte Restaurants were 'average' not 'special' ~ the house wine was ..........!
The entertainment in the evening was the worst ever, considering there is nothing else to do in the evening, yet again adding to the feeling of being trapped at the hotel. I would not recommend this hotel to any one other than families with children as it is very 'chav' and hi de hi like.
If you want a bit of class then don't go here as you will be deeply disappointed and bored silly.
We did meet some nice people there, & made our own entertainment & had a laugh !
The main pool was closed for repairs for 3 days (week 2) but the pool area was too hot with no breeze ~ the usual SUNBED BANDITS (SBB's) appeared @ 6:30 am ARMED with towels ~ SHAME ON YOU ALL ~ YOU KNOW WHO YOU ARE !!! ~95% BRITISH !! you are giving the Germans a good name on holiday !
At least the beach was clean & cooler !! (SBB's struck there as well) The beach sellers were ok ~ not as bad as we expected ~ but discount the first price by approx 70% ~ then you will be closer to correct prices !!

We did, however, witness a 'miracle' ~ a woman in her 40's wearing glasses travelling from Gatwick (31/8/09) arrived in a wheelchair & went home in a wheelchair with all the fuss that goes with it ( golf carts @ airport, priority check in etc) ~ the 'miracle' was that on day two of her 14 day holiday she was walking about in her 5" high heels, off to the beach, swimming, dancing etc with her lady 'friend' for 13 days !!!! no problems in the buffet either !! walking & carrying plates of food !! ~ the sudden 'relapse' occured on departure from the hotel ~ back into the wheelchair !! (We are convinced that if she has that much difficulty travelling she should be claiming some sort of benefits !!!!!! ~ I wonder ??? She deserves everything that comes her way !! )
Everyone at Gatwick on return were amazed at her 'relapse' ~ shame !!!!
Do we tell the Pope on his visit to UK next year or the Dept of Work & Pensions ~ what a dilema !!!!

Let me entertain you ~ Oggy Oggy Oggy ~ Oi Oi Oi ~ Takes me back to those moonlit nights sitting on plastic chairs by a closed swimming pool watching the entertainment ~ Thank heavens for VODKA !! ( See you all there next year !!!!!!!! Hi De HI )

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank globetrotter065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,525 - 3,531 of 5,620 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2009

Just returned from the Gran Ventana after a lovely 2 week holiday. Arrived after an altogether average Thomson flight and was impressed with the speedy check in. Rooms are large and the air conditioning beautifully arctic! Grand! We did notice that there were a few spots of mould here and there, but wasn't too bad and was simply down to the humid air hitting walls cooled by the aircon.

There was a great variety of food available in the main restaurant - was very excited to see a suckling pig one night as the "roast"! My partner is the fussiest bloke I have ever met when it comes to what he will eat and he was never short of dishes he fancied. We also both enjoyed the a la carte restaurants, particularly the Ocean Grill, drinking a little too much wine and rum'n'cola while eating dinner overlooking the beach.

Staff were wonderful, friendly and happy to help with any request. The maid left the room spotless each day, with a fresh flower tucked into our sheets - lovely.

The pool was being repaired while we were there, but we had advance warning from First Choice before we flew, so no complaints. A number of folk appeared to be avidly video-ing the process, hopefully not for submission to a future Watchdog "holidays from hell" programme. Pool was ready and refilled by the promised day! The only negative I can think of is that the furniture around the pool, particularly the tables, are a bit tatty and tired. However, I see no reason for whinging about something that trivial

Hotel grounds are spotless and beautifully designed - a lovely brief meander from the pool area brings you to the beach.

There are only a few umbrellason the beach, but plenty of sun loungers and plenty of shade to be found beneath the stuning trees that line the edge of the sand. There is a coral reef just offshore, which provides a bit of shelter when the waves are up and you get a lovely calm area to float around in next to the shore. Snorkeling was great - so many fish that you just don't realise are there. Not many folk made it to the beach while we were there, so was lovely and quiet. Added bonus is the short stroll to the beach bar for a drink or the grill for lunch.

Beach vendors are licensed and are thoroughly nice folk. If you are not interested in their wares, just smile, say no thanks and they move on. We booked our truck safari with Johnny and had a ball during our trip to the waterfalls and to meet Manuel the bull.

Had a great holiday. To sum up: hotel is great, food is great, beach and pool are great, staff are fantastic and the entertainment is rubbish (just not our cup of tea). Overall, this was the most laidback holiday we have had. Fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gintrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

First arrived, we moved rooms.. as they put us on the third floor, then we were opposite the small pool, and very noisy it night.. .. Then we had stuff go missing from our room.. security searched it totally, nothing was found, so have to claim on our insurance, as my sons p.s.p. games were around 300/400 ponds worth, also his birthday card was stolen from my flight bag in the room..
So we moved again to the smaller hotel, much quieter there, indeed, hence we got bad tummies and missed a few days of the sun , which was in the 90's if not more..
The staff very good indeed, though, however not a 4 star hotel, no way..
the victoria bay is much nicer if you want quiet, it is linked with the gran ventana.. worth staying there..

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yipeekiaaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

This was our 2nd time at Gran Ventana having been there 3 years previous. Our room was basic but very clean and the maid did a fantastic job cleaning it everyday. The entertainment guys do a good job keeping everyone happy and although some of the shows they put on at night are a bit rubbish you need to remember that these guys arent professionals they are just trying to do a job. Mini me in particular was very funny and we enjoyed his company most days. The food in all the restuarants was very very good. If we were going back to the dominican republic i would have no hesitation in staying again at the gran ventana.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank steviepaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

This was out second visit to the gran ventana in 4 years, and have to say it lived up to our expectations,
I had read some of the recent reviews, and was slightly apprehensive as we had enjoyed ourselves first time round and are really fussy, but once there found there was nothing to worry about.
People who like moan will always find something to winge about.
RECEPTION
Check in was slow, but that was because the receptionist liked to have a chat with everyone and welcome the guest to their country
we found as we were return guests we had been upgraded to a suite,and had a bowl of fruit and bottle of rum waiting for us, which was a nice surprise
our room was huge, cleaned throughly every day,
FOOD
The a la carte resturants were excellent, if you did not have a reservation, all you had to do was ask the head waiter if you could be fitted in, we were never refused, and there were six of us, and NO it did not need a bribe, just a smile and a polite please
The buffet food was fine, not exceptional, but very varied, always a grill available, but after 2 weeks you tend to get sick of everything, its the greedy people who put you off by putting enormous piles of food of every description on their plate, do they think its going to be taken away, or are they just too lazy to return for more if they take a smaller portion
ENTERTAINMENT
Not our cup of tea, but you cant please everyone, the entertainment straff are around from morning to late at night, join i if you want to, pleanty of places to sit and chill or have a chat if you dont, just watch the world go by, people can be so funny without realising it
all in all a wonderfull holiday, would we go back, Tomorrow
This is a hotel that you get out of it what you want

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dirtygertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

We had 2 weeks at this hotel and it was very much like a curate's egg! When we first arrived we realised that we had packed completely inappropriately; neither of us had tattoos nor nylon football shirts. Smart evening attire for some meant putting on a clean shirt. Once the shock was over and we'd been 'entertained' by the first night's Butlin-esque show, we realised what we could do to be 'Far from the Chavving Crowd'. Firstly, spend your day by the beach. There was a lovely breeze which increased during the day. The pool area was stifflingly hot without a breeze and there was a danger of the nylon melting! In the evening, we spent time at the quiet bar, which was just that and nowhere near Butlins. In the meantime, the food was fine and plentiful. The maids, contarary to some posts, are quite friendly, as are the waiting staff. I completely agree about the excursions; book them on the beach and pay a fraction of the cost for exactly the same trip. The rooms are very tired and in need a major refurbishment, but clean nonetheless.
I guess that I should have thought about this trip a little more when booking; it was height of the season and the pound/euro exchange rate meant that Benidorm is expensive this year. Am I a snob? I guess so, but that's fine by me!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank adamthenav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

The Gran Ventana is a fantastic hotel, great food and nice people. The hotel was clean and the rooms were nice. We went diving with Sea Pro divers, the rep sits by the pool. It is worth haggling on the prices as they came down for us by a third of the original.
They say don't use the beach sellers for trips, we used a local for a horse trip which was a quarter of the price and does the same tour. Just pay a small deposit!
Pretty good entertainment and the usual karaoke on a Monday night. Some really good dancers especially the Michael Jackson evening, well worth seeing. They have three a la carte restaurants all of which have great food and you can visit each once a week when you book. If you are looking for a place in the Dominican look no further, we will visit this hotel again SOON!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DaveTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#4 of 40 in Puerto Plata
1,193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
1.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
4,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
1.2 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#7 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

Address: Playa Dorada | PO Box 22, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: £88 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Dorada, a gated oceanfront community on the northern coast of the Dominican Republic, is home to Gran Ventana Beach Resort, one of the country’s friendliest, most welcoming hotels. Located directly on the beach, our Puerto Plata beach resort boasts three pools, a kids club and an airy, cool and fresh lobby. We also offer a superb, all-inclusive value for families, couples and group vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Ventana Beach Hotel
Gran Ventana Dominican Republic
Gran Ventana Puerto Plata
Gran Ventana Beach Resort Puerto Plata
Hotel Gran Ventana Beach
Grand Ventana Beach Resort
Gran Ventana Hotel Dominican Republic
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing