We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beach Resort, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Beach Resort, great location”
Reviewed 15 February 2010

We stayed there during New Year 2010, employees were amazing, the place is on the beach. We stay in an ocean front room, very nice view but furniture in the room took most of space in the room, a bit crowded.

It's all inclusive while we were there, we had amazing time there, food was average, we love dining in different restaurants. We did a couple outdoor activities: dune buggies and zip linning. They were really fun, we were covered with mud on the dune buggy tour while driving through village.

We enjoyed shows at night, staff's performance. They were great!.

Weather was cold and windy for one day out of 5 days. The beach was nice and long, we took a long walk for a couple miles. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ezgoing101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,423
    1,914
    731
    254
    151
See reviews for
1,506
2,094
82
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

Five of us went to VH Gran Ventana and spent a truly great week there. In simple terms: Excellent service, Amazing food variety and quantity, Absolutely clean rooms and everywhere you look. Safe.

- What else is great: Beach is right there, pool is extra large and convenient, no insects in the room or restaurants, plenty of water pressure up to the top floor, very friendly and helpful staff. Tips are welcomed but not required- however they are well deserved. There is a very good nearby mall for all small stuff you need: some clothing, variety stores, souvenirs, banking, tours. Near the mall there are couple of clubs/bars, tennis and golf (extra).

- What's not the greatest: Way outdated TV and remote to an extend we did not really use it. The shower heads are the water saving type and barely do the job. Got to use the tub.
- pictures:
http://imagecloset.com/tiny/916100 ,..1 ,..2, ..3 and also ..8, ..9, ..10, ..11

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2010

Just returned home from our first holiday in 16 years and I am sooooo happy we choose the Gran Ventana. The staff, food, atmosphere and the whole resort was wonderful. The staff is constantly cleaning and doing their best to make your stay as perfect as they can. Always smiling and happy. My only complaint is that the pillows on our beds where hard but that is such a minor complaint. This resort is great for families and those wanting a romantic get away.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MilyOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2010

We were there from Feb. 4-11 with our 3.5 year old. The check in and out only took minutes and the luggage was at our room within 10 minutes. Everything seemed clean. Our room was located in the Catalina building on the first floor and we could see both the pool and ocean from our balcony.
The mini bar was restocked daily and we always had clean towels including face cloths.
We are picky eaters and there were more than enough choices to eat, including all kinds of meats, pizza, sushi night, a cheese buffet one night, and chocolate night. Breakfast includes made-to-order eggs/omelettes and fruit smoothies.
Our rep from Signature vacations (Guy) sure seemed to work hard to please. We didn't need much because we were happy to do absolutely nothing.
The only negative would be that the floors are very slippery when wet.
Our tv color was not good and the temp control on the a/c didn't work but both were more than adequate.
The wifi is only accessible in the lobby and was unreliable - approx $6US/hour.
The last couple of days there was a large american who was playing loud music at the pool.
Our daughter wouldn't play at the Kids' Club, but the other kids all seemed to really enjoy it.
The beach is beautiful. The palapas are all saved early in the morning by people that don't show up until later, but that's the same everywhere, it seems.
We always felt safe and the staff are super friendly but never pushy.
We all enjoyed it and would go back.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niagara
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2010

Just came back from Gran Ventana. Feb 4 - 11
I must say it is one of the most clean resort I have been to. They are for ever cleaning bathrooms, floors and the grounds. Not a stitch of garbage anywhere.
The food was amazing. Great choice for every one. The drinks were ok,
not fantastic.
The beach was beautiful. Plenty of chairs for everyone and you didn't have to get up early to save a chair. Yes there are peddlers there. I didn't mind them, but if you say no they go away. They do have a great sense of humour and some are very nice to chat with. You learn about them , their family and their culture; so not all bad.
Around the pool there are plenty of chairs also, and they also have plenty of chairs in their sitting areas. So never a problem to find a seat.
The rooms are nothing spectacular, but are very clean. We were by the ocean so noise never bothered us.
Check in was non eventful and checkout just as easy.
Maybe the only big negative was that the coffee was never hot, but hey.
So all in all, I would recommend this resort and would go back. Met people who were back for the second time and they were treated like royalty.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lolajann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2010

we went for a four day weekend, the resort was amazing, we had no issues, rooms are clean, this is my third time to dominican, a differnt resort everytime, the food at the gran vantana was the best of my three trips, tons of choices, didn't have anything that didn't taste wonderful, the staff at the resort are wonderful, most speak some english and are very eager to help with anything, i will go back to this resort next year for sure.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moparbabe2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2010

We spent 2 glorious weeks at the Gran Ventana. Jan19-Feb 2, 2010 with another couple. We had 2 weeks of sun.This was our second trip to Gran Ventana and I am sure there is going to be a 3rd.
The staff were excellent, Eric, Rancy and Manuel at the front desk, who were there if we had any questions. Eric keep smiling. Pictures are on the way to you, so you will know who this review is from.
Adolpho, supervisor of the food and beverage, has done a wonderful job with the food variety. It is awesome.
Chaplin and Sexyface of the entertainment staff kept us laughing most of the time.
Everywhere you went someone was cleaning something.This resort has the best beach in the Playa Doroado Complex. Lots of people were snorkling.
Our WestJet rep was great in our request. Luis will know what it is.
We can't wait to see you all next year.See you all soon.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burford_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#4 of 40 in Puerto Plata
1,054 reviews
0.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
1.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
1.2 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#1 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#7 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

Property: VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Address: Playa Dorada | PO Box 22, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Ventana Beach Hotel
Gran Ventana Dominican Republic
Gran Ventana Puerto Plata
Gran Ventana Beach Resort Puerto Plata
Hotel Gran Ventana Beach
Grand Ventana Beach Resort
Gran Ventana Hotel Dominican Republic
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing