We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for students, families and couples”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2010

I spent seven days at gran ventana from feb 14-21. it was lovely! entertainment staff were halarious, the hotel couldn't be cleaner, and the atmosphere was cheery and easy going all around. no complaints about the food, rooms, or beach - everything was out standing!! since it was during reading week there were a lot of students (including myself) ... great party resort!! bar closes at twelve but rum and beer are served at a small counter along with sandwiches until 2am. coco bongo,which is a short walk away, was an awesome bar filled with great entertainment (spiderman)... I also reccommend this place for families with small children...generally this resort was very easily a 4 star, and the best time I have had at a resort!!!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meaghanlovesspidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,436 - 3,442 of 5,617 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2010

We stayed at the VH Gran Ventana from Feb 14-18/2010. It was a wonderful experience. This was our first time in Puerto Plata and our first visit to this resort and I can truly say that we enjoyed ourselves immensley. No complaints about the food/drinks/service or a la carte restuarants. Quiet pool was also nice and relaxing. Entertainment was good as well. Only downside was our room faced the pool so we had a lot of night time noise from the two bars and entertainment music, but overall,,,an absolutely GREAT time and we would do it ALL OVER AGAIN but we would stay a bit longer.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bramgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

We just got back from Gran Ventana.My wife and I just got married there.Everything went perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew197526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

we went twice in 08. the beach is huge, flat ,and natural .shared with other hotels but very clean and safe.food is fabulous drinks plentifull .directly on the beach you can walk 4 miles in each direction on the beach beautifull 6/7 am. i find freedom here loads of beds and natural shade of the mango trees the beach bar and resturant so very accessable on the beach.you get the sellers they try it on in the beginning but soon get to know you ,we take a few sweets and they stop and have chat toffees and werthers seem to be favs.the rooms are airy and clean the staff are like the sun shine .this place doesent pretend to be anything but achieves everything for us . love it lovit loveit .on your second stay you welcomed even more and invited to a managers cocktail party ,nicccceee if you like that type of gathering .rest and enjoy

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dogsdodar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

We stayed there during New Year 2010, employees were amazing, the place is on the beach. We stay in an ocean front room, very nice view but furniture in the room took most of space in the room, a bit crowded.

It's all inclusive while we were there, we had amazing time there, food was average, we love dining in different restaurants. We did a couple outdoor activities: dune buggies and zip linning. They were really fun, we were covered with mud on the dune buggy tour while driving through village.

We enjoyed shows at night, staff's performance. They were great!.

Weather was cold and windy for one day out of 5 days. The beach was nice and long, we took a long walk for a couple miles. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ezgoing101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

Five of us went to VH Gran Ventana and spent a truly great week there. In simple terms: Excellent service, Amazing food variety and quantity, Absolutely clean rooms and everywhere you look. Safe.

- What else is great: Beach is right there, pool is extra large and convenient, no insects in the room or restaurants, plenty of water pressure up to the top floor, very friendly and helpful staff. Tips are welcomed but not required- however they are well deserved. There is a very good nearby mall for all small stuff you need: some clothing, variety stores, souvenirs, banking, tours. Near the mall there are couple of clubs/bars, tennis and golf (extra).

- What's not the greatest: Way outdated TV and remote to an extend we did not really use it. The shower heads are the water saving type and barely do the job. Got to use the tub.
- pictures:
http://imagecloset.com/tiny/916100 ,..1 ,..2, ..3 and also ..8, ..9, ..10, ..11

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

Just returned home from our first holiday in 16 years and I am sooooo happy we choose the Gran Ventana. The staff, food, atmosphere and the whole resort was wonderful. The staff is constantly cleaning and doing their best to make your stay as perfect as they can. Always smiling and happy. My only complaint is that the pillows on our beds where hard but that is such a minor complaint. This resort is great for families and those wanting a romantic get away.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MilyOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#4 of 40 in Puerto Plata
1,191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
1.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
4,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
1.2 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#8 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

Address: Playa Dorada | PO Box 22, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: £86 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Dorada, a gated oceanfront community on the northern coast of the Dominican Republic, is home to Gran Ventana Beach Resort, one of the country’s friendliest, most welcoming hotels. Located directly on the beach, our Puerto Plata beach resort boasts three pools, a kids club and an airy, cool and fresh lobby. We also offer a superb, all-inclusive value for families, couples and group vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Ventana Beach Hotel
Gran Ventana Dominican Republic
Gran Ventana Puerto Plata
Gran Ventana Beach Resort Puerto Plata
Hotel Gran Ventana Beach
Grand Ventana Beach Resort
Gran Ventana Hotel Dominican Republic
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing