We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Barrie
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“fantastic!!”
Reviewed 3 December 2010

This was ourthird trip to Gran Ventana. It is not the fanciest hotel, BUT, there is something about this place that just feels right. It is so, so, clean, the food is so, so, good and the staff is so, so excellent. The drinks are so, so, not Presidente beer, fo figure!!!. But, I love the place anyway. We have always managed to meet the best people at this resort (you know who you are). Thanks to a wonderful staff, who upgraded us to a suite with bottle of rum and fruit platter (nice touch). We had a great vacation (cried on the way home -boo-hoo). we will probbly go back. This was our 18th time to the Dominican and as I said, there is just something about this resort that keeps bringing people back.....thanks to all of you at Gran Ventana!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank janekmwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,413
    1,906
    723
    251
    148
See reviews for
1,495
2,081
80
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2010

We are a couple in our 30’s and have been to the DR 4 times, always staying at all-inclusives. This was our 1st time in Puerto Plata. We went for just 3 days Fri-Sun. The resort is gorgeous and well maintained. A very nice beach with ample palapas for shade but very tiny waves. Both pools were also very nice and clean. All-inclusive food is never 4 star but the food was for the most part tasty and well cooked and we always found something at the buffet that was yummy. Neither of us had any stomach issues. After reading the reviews I had only one concern which was the overcrowding on the weekends when the locals came to stay. This was not the case for us. We did notice a few more local people on Sat and Sun but nothing like the horror stories some people wrote about here. If anything it was nice as the locals were better dressed and better looking the Brits and Germans who were not easy on the eyes (beer bellies and speedos). Please bring tip money if you’re planning on an all-inclusive vacation $5-$10 a day is nothing to us but everything to the staff. Lastly the entertainment was pretty lame except Sat night when a local band played which was fab.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prof9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2010

I just came back from VH Gran Ventana I was there from nov 19-26.... The staff is great, the food if great always a different selection, did not get sick once, the rooms were clean, clean pool, beach, always had beach towels, nightly entertainment staff was amazing....I honestly would go back again and again

Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MissBB26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2010

We have stayed at this resort 6 times and absolutely love it. Excellent resort and location in Puerto Plata.

Food: Excellent food. The buffet is laid out with the best setup we have seen yet with several aisles of food that you can access from both sides so there are no line ups. The fastest omelette maker is there on the sidelines cooking your omelette custom to your liking within minutes while you wait. A la cartes are exceptional as well, very good service and dining locations.

Location: Gran Ventana is gated community located in the Playa Dorada Complex which consists of 13 resorts, 2 casinos, several discos, a shopping mall which has a theatre, Pizza Hut and great pricing on all the things you need. A full drug store with cold medicine, lip balm etc and liquor stores where you can buy Clamato if you are a Canadian Caesar lover and you crave the drink of back home. Some locals do come there to shop or go to the movies so you get to experience a bit of the culture without leaving the complex. However, a road trip to Puerto Plata to see the Boulevard or Malecon in Spanish will give you a real Dominican cultural experience with beach hut bars along the way and restaurants.

Spa: Also in the Playa Dorada Complex is the Casa Colonial Resort which we have heard that Madonna and some other famous people have stayed. It is not an all inclusive but you can certainly drop by there for a Spa treatment to die for. I highly recommend you treat yourself to this experience. You will get a chance to see this beautiful resort and be treated like royalty.

Golf: Robert Trent Golf course located within walking distance is a lot of fun. Even if you don't know how to golf you will have a blast. You must hire a caddy and they are very helpful in giving guidance along the way and they will even run and get you a nice cold Presidente beer from the Orange Market as you pass by. You can also get to the Orange Market by taking a nice stroll about half hour along the beach. Stop and have a cold drink and do some shopping while you’re there. It is quite the experience. And don't forget to bring your bartering skills. Start with the price cut in half and go from there.

Tours: A must see Tour is the Outback Safari tour where you travel through the countryside in a open off road 4X4 truck, you visit a typical Dominican home to see how they really live outside the resort, also a visit to the alligator farm and a river cruise plus lunch and entertainment. Then to complete the tour you go boogie boarding in the waves, all the while drinking as much as you like. Don't forget to ask for Rudy - he is the best guide.

Paradise Island is excellent for snorkelling and quite a unique experience.

Catamaran tour is great as well and has good snorkelling,

Well there is so much more I could tell you so if anyone has any questions just contact me I will be happy to help you out. We always visit and review the resorts we stay at as if we were our clients so that we get first hand, non biased information to share with them.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ohlatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2010

My spouse and I had never been on a vacation to the DR and now wonder why we waited so long to go! This resort has very friendly staff on hand to assist you with any trouble you may have, no matter how big or small. We have no complaints; the room was kept tidy, beverages restocked every day, and the resort was very clean. In fact, the staff were always cleaning. The animation team is a group of young people that are very exceptional. They are all so friendly, and they can dance!! The food was great..but don't go looking for anything spicy, you won't find it here. The 3 a la cartes are very nice, take the time to book, it is well worth it. Now..about the beach. Be careful because once you get there, you may not want to leave!! All in all...take the time to talk to the domician locals. Don't be afraid to wander off your resort, we went expoloring a couple of times and felt safe. I highly recommend this resort, and we are planning our next trip!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bluesnoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krib101
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

Since I chose my vacation spot based on TripAdvisor reviews, I have to reciprocate with a review of my own!

We travelled to Gran Ventana 11 Nov-14 Nov. The hotel sent a taxi for us to meet us at the hotel for a cost of $35 USD and I would highly recommend this option. We were greeted with a welcome cocktail and checked into our room within 5 minutes of arrival. The grounds and room were spotless and cheerily appointed. However, the room did have a very musty smell to it when you walked in. Maid service was quick and efficient.

The food was great. There were tons of options at the buffet, which I think was best for breakfast (esp the omlettes) and lunch. For dinner, we went to the restaurants to switch things up. You can eat at each a la carte 1X per week. We tried Octopus first, which was good, but the italian restaurant was absolutely fantastic. The only bad thing was wine @ dinner was absolutely disgusting (and I am not picky- Ill drink 2 Buck Chuck from Trader Joes any day!). You could buy a bottle but who wants to do that?

The resort has an extensive drink menu at all the bars. We tried almost all, so good! Very, very sweet though. Beer was good.

Pool was very clean, but didnt really swim much as it was overcast and a little cold. The resort was not very busy, so there were tons of chairs. Same was true on the beach, not crowded at all. I got a massage on the beach for $25 USD for half an hour that was fantastic. The tour operators and vendors are really annoying, but you just have to be firm. Disappointed there was no jacuzzi on the property.

The entertainment is not good, but they certainly try.

This place is not a tropical paradaise but rather a lovely, small resort with impeccably clean grounds, decent food and friendly and accomodating staff.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank krib101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blainville, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2010

Nice hotel, not very big but clean. Very friendly staff.
Food good in general at the buffet beside the red wine. Always found plenty every meal.
Very nice beach and clear turquoise water.
I defenatly recommend this place.
J.C.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jctcaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#4 of 39 in Puerto Plata
534 reviews
0.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
1.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 39 in Puerto Plata
3,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
1.2 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 39 in Puerto Plata
7,179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#7 of 39 in Puerto Plata
3,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

Property: VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Address: Playa Dorada | PO Box 22, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Ventana Beach Hotel
Gran Ventana Dominican Republic
Gran Ventana Puerto Plata
Gran Ventana Beach Resort Puerto Plata
Hotel Gran Ventana Beach
Grand Ventana Beach Resort
Gran Ventana Hotel Dominican Republic
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing