We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!! Great honeymoon....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We just got home from the Iberostar on April 8th. We spent a week there. We are so impressed that we are planning to go back with our kids next year. First of all any negative reviews on this resort are absolutely ridiculous.The food was great and the rooms and whole resort was spotless. The staff are extremely friendly, and we never ever had any issues. I want to express how great the entertainment staff are. We loved Popeye,Babyface,and Pepsi-Cola! They made our stay extra special. I want to also thank Elvin at the pool bar..he was amazing! They are half the reason for us returning next year. The shows everynight were fantastic too. They work so very hard and we loved each and every show! One of the best things is the fact that it is so close to the airport. A short drive to and from was great. The resort is laid out so you never feel crowded or overwhelmed. There is always a table or chair available wherever you go. It is a great place for couples or families. There is somthing for everyone!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Costa Dorada for your honeymoon and for taking time to post a review about your experience among us. In the name of Mr. Pedro Morales, hotel Manager, we congratulate you for this especial step in your lives and wish you well.
We appreciate your positive valuation about our varied gastronomy, the excellent service provided by our staff members (especially by Elvin, Kerling; Pepsi and Babyface) and the beauty of our hotel grounds. Those are part of our guiding principles in Iberostar Hotel and Resorts to ensure memorable experiences to our “Stars” on vacation.
We are looking forward to welcome you back and celebrate together your first wedding anniversary. Please feel free to contact us before your arrival.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,186 - 3,192 of 7,351 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2013

Stayed here with hubbie and two teenage sons for two weeks over easter. General opinion of the hotel was very good. Rooms were spacious with basic furniture but everything you need. Toiletries were included, soap shampoo and body lotion, but you need to bring your own hair conditioner. Also, my hair straigteners wouldn't work on their voltage; they got warm but not hot. Grounds were immaculate, but we felt they could have paid a bit more attention to cleaning the sun loungers and pool area down, as sometimes there were sticky drinks on the floor from the day before. Pool was large and never too crowded, lovely warm water. The activities were very varied, with aquarobics, archery, shooting, volleyball to name a few so the kids won't get bored. Nice tennis courts too.The buffet restaurant, as with all Iberostar hotels had a wide range of food, with a carvery, grilled fish and meat, soups, pizza and pasta station, and various fish, meat and vegetable dishes. It might not all be of an English 4or 5* quality, but it was tasty and you will never go hungry. They regularly do Paella or BBQ on the beach as well. Mexican was very good as was the International a la carte but the Brazilian left a bit to be desired. It's a concept restaurant where they bring round skewers of different meats for you to try, which is nice, but your potatoes and veg go stone cold whilst you are waiting for your next bite. It would be better if they did it on a platter in the middle of your table and gave you all your meats at once. We also had poor service in their one night, but good the other. Drinks were of a high quality with many brands available such as jim beam, baileys etc. Beach was cleaned daily and supervised. Overall a good trip. Special thanks to Cesarin and Amarillis in the buffet who gave us an excellent service every day.

Room Tip: Block 5 and 6 are well away from evening entertainment and were very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yvette741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Dear guest,
First at all we thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor about your experience at the Iberostar Costa Dorada. In the name of Mr. Pedro Morales, the Hotel Manager, we also thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
We are satisfied to acknowledge your positive valuation about the variety of our gastronomy, the cleanness and beauty of our premises, the friendliness of our staff members and the wide range of daily and nightly activities proposed by our Star Friends team. In Iberostar those are part of our guiding principles so we can ensure a memorable experience to our beloved guests. We have congratulated Cesarin and Amarilis whose service made you feel as a “Star”.
We will be happy to welcome you back again. Please feel free to contact us for further assistances.
With kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Got back from a 4 night stay with my friend. Check in was super quick and smooth and our room was ready early, even though it was SPRING BREAK! Been to Rose Hall Suites, Jamaica, Grand in Punta Cana and Grand Bavaro in Punta Cana. No comparison that these are way better than Costa Dorada. I did thoroughly enjoy it, it just wasn't as well kept as the others are. Staff was great, service good as well. Went to Mexican (AMAZING!) and Brazilian (pretty good) restaurant "luckily". I say luckily because the girl who made the reservations was absolutely OBNOXIOUS. BUFFET- place is packed 1 guy doing omlettes when there is another station - Why? NEVER any fruit left. OK it's a buffet, people are HOGS and take more than they will eat. Still most fruit was NEVER replenished and this bothers me. there were just a few little things that were continuously bothering us that didn't happen to me at other Iberostars and I wouldn't go back to this one. Granted it's so nice and location is great, just wasn't my favorite resort. Didn't like that we had a ground floor room. Most of our lights didn't work. Just little things.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LandJNYUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Dear guest,
We thank you for your loyalty towards Iberostar Hotels and Resorts when choosing to enjoy your holidays. In the name of Hotel Manager, Mr. Pedro Morales, we thank you also for sharing your experience at Iberostar Costa Dorada with the Tripadvisor community.
We appreciate your positive valuation about the beauty of our premises, the service provided by our staff, the options of activities for daily and nightly entertainment and our exquisite gastronomy. In Iberostar, as you well know, we aim to ensure memorable holidays.
Allow us to clarify that although Iberostar Costa Dorada and Iberostar Rose Hall Suites and Grand Rose Hall are part of Iberostar Hotels and Resorts but they are different in our hotel categories and in terms of value for money. The first one belongs to Iberostar “Premium” Brand, the second one belongs to Iberostar “Premium Gold” Brand and the last one is part of our “Grand Hotel Collection”. Services and amenities included in three of them are completely different as the range of prices being the most affordable Iberostar Costa Dorada. We encourage our beloved costumer to check our official website, travel agency catalogues or contact us before visiting and choosing any Iberostar Hotels to clarify doubts concerning our services, premises, facilities and amenities. In our official website all amenities and services are largely explained as well as the Categories: Premium, Premium Gold and The Grand Collection.
On the other hand, we have shared your suggestions regarding the reposition of dishes in our buffet with our Executive Chef who always welcome opportunities to evaluate his department performance.
We will be happy to welcome you back again in any of our more than 100 hundred destinations worldwide. Please feel free to contact us to help you in your next visit.
Yours Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We just returned from a trip to the Iberostar Costa Dorada in Puerto Plata! All I can say is "wow!". Would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a relaxing and comfortable vacation. The food is excellent quality and quantity, drinks were great, staff were accomodating and friendly! We upgraded to an ocean front room, and enjoyed waking up each morning to the ocean and the sun!
The price point was awesome for this trip.

Both my husband and I would recommend this resort! We are planning to return next year!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
Thank KTAM454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Dear guest,
On behalf of Mr. Pedro Morales, we thank you for posting a review about your experience and for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
We want to express you how satisfied we are to acknowledge that our goal was accomplished during your visit to our hotel. In Iberostar we aim to ensure unforgettable experiences to our valuable costumers.
We are waiting for your next visit and remain at your disposition for any further assistance prior your next visit.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We went to Dominican in April 13th 2012 and the hotel staff and food was amazing, their was always plenty of activities during the day time and entertainment at night. The rooms were cleaned everyday and the pool area and beach was also clean 24/7. The weather unfortunatly had a long long periods of rain for the 10/14 days we were there, if it was not for the hotel this would have easily been worsed holiday ever

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zep_Di
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you for choosing Iberostar Costa Dorada for your holidays and for posting a review on Tripadvisor about your experience.
On behalf of the hotel Manager, Mr. Pedro Morales, we would like to express you how glad we are to acknowledge that your holidays were memorable, or in your own words “amazing”; just as we aim in Iberostar Hotels and Resorts.
We are looking forward to welcome you back and remain at your entire disposition for further assistance.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We went there with a group of 8. One of the couples with children had to ask for a change of room to get the communicating rooms they asked for, but the change was made so not a big thing. We asked for a room upgrade to a junior suite, we had to wait to the next afternoon to have it... Ok the room they put us in for the first night was "temporary" Alexander at the front desk even looked to see that it was just for 1 night before giving me the keys for room 7015 ( behind the towel hut and all). Next day, room 5118, wow. The only thing that could make it better would be a walk-in shower instead of the tub-shower setup. But then the price of the suite would go over 2500$ for the week ( for 2)... I barely paid that with the airplane tickets and room upgrade so...
The buffet make the à la carte not so worth it. The restaurants were good but why go throught the reservation process then schedule your day to get there in time when you can eat sushi, shrimps, lobster tail, crab, mexican, etc directly at the buffet.
The animation staff are incredible always smiling from 8 am to 11h30 pm, great shows at night, great activities during the day.

The bar staff was great too, not pressing for tips, they would know what you were drinking in less than 2 days.

Eddie was everywhere, I don't know what is actual job is but if he is not the manager, he should be. one moment, helping at the bar, cleaning the tables, greeting guest, then handling security, resolving problem. With his ear piece connected to a walkietalkie at his belt, we nicknamed him the bodyguard...

The only problem we had was with a tour Monkey jungle and ZipLine, amazing tour but they were overbooked that day and the half a day experience was stalled into a 9 hour tour with more then 3 hour of waiting in the shop/bar. We were too pissed off to buy the 5$ usd hotdogs or 6$ usd beers... But that is the excursion, not the hotel. If you do book that great tour make sure that it is not overbooked, 2 bus at the same time is to much, don't let them mix the 2 bus or you will have to wait the extra 3 hours...

In conclusion, great hotel at an amazing price. It's not a 4000+$/ week hotel, but it's way better then the other hotel under 3000$.

I would not hesitate to go back there again

Room Tip: Oceanview second floor because third floor are in the palm leaves... Not room 7015...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sportsunandfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Dear Guest,
In the name of Mr. Pedro Morales, Hotel Manager, we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Costa Dorada for your vacations and for writing a comment on Tripadvisor about your experience.
It is a pleasure for the whole team to acknowledge that you and your entire group had an excellent experience in our hotel premises due to our value for money. We appreciate your motivating lines referring the excellent service of our friendly staff, the cleanness and beauty of our hotel, the variety of our gastronomy and the daily and nightly activities proposed by the Star Friends. All those aspects are part of our guiding principles in Iberostar to ensure memorable holidays to our valuable costumers.
We are looking forward to welcome you back. Please feel free to contact us before your arrival,
With kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Went there a few weeks ago. I flew into MDPP and the charges were minimal for a private pilot. 100LL was about $7-8 with a $10 fee. Cost to and from the resort was 35 US. The kids loved the activities and it was clean. The food is nothing to brag about, standard fare. The rooms were a little damp and it took a bit to clear out the humidity.

If you require Wi-Fi, do not use building 4. There is no viable Wi-Fi there. Get in another building. I did not like the fact we had to pay for Wi-FI and it only allows 1 device at a time.

We only did the dune buggy tour and it was okay. Very dusty and dirty. You also go through some very poor neighborhoods on the dune buggy tour sponsored by the resort.

Room Tip: If you require Wi-Fi, do not use building 4. There is no viable Wi-Fi there. Get in another building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajudgeinmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Dear Guest,
On behalf of the hotel Manager, Mr. Pedro Morales, we want to thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay with us and for choosing our hotel for your family vacations.
We are very happy to read you but especially your children enjoyed from a memorable holiday as we aim in Iberostar Hotels and Resorts.
We would like to clarify that our wi-fi service works in all building except on the main buffet. We extend our apologies for all and any inconveniences related to the breakdown on the service on the building 4 while you were on our premises.
We look forward to welcome you again in the future; please feel free to contact us to help you enjoy your next stay with us.
Yours Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Plata
1.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
1.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
0.1 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,521 reviews
35.6 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
151.8 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Costa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Costa Dorada

Address: Carretera Luperon km 2.5 | Marapica, Costa Dorada, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: £105 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Costa Dorada 4*
Number of rooms: 516
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada hotel is located in front of the large golden sand beach of Costa Dorada, 10 minutes from the city of Puerto Plata in the Dominican Republic's north coast. This wonderful 5-star All Inclusive resort is a wonderful haven for aquatic sports lovers. Renovated in 2011, the IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada hotel has 498 Double Rooms and 18 spacious Junior Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Costa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Costa Dorado
Iberostar Puerto Plata
Iberostar Costa Dorada Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata
Iberostar Costa Dorada Puerto Plata
Iberostar Hotel Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada Hotel
Costa Dorado
Puerto Plata Iberostar
Iberostar Hotel Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing