We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FAMILY VACATION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Puerto Plata
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“GREAT FAMILY VACATION”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This was possibly one of the better family get away we have had. The kids were always busy if not at the kids club, on the beach, by the pool, playing volleyball and other activities. My wife and I had many opportunities to relax and enjoy the amenities of the resort. Their spa was nice and their therapist excellent.

The rooms were maintained and nice and the only draw back was that the buildings do not have elevators so if you have difficulty climbing more than one floor, I would ask for a room on the ground floor.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fillas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear guest,
In the name of Mr. Pedro Morales, hotel Manager, we thank you for choosing Iberostar Costa Dorada for your family vacations and for posting a review about your experience on Tripadvisor.
We are very happy to read that you and your entire family had a memorable holiday at our premises due to our varied entertainment options for all ages, our beautiful and clean grounds and the friendliness of our staff members. In Iberostar one of our guiding principles is to provide the best service to our guests.
We are looking forward to welcome you back and remain at your disposition for any assistance you may need before your return.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,217
    1,902
    648
    200
    99
See reviews for
2,324
2,756
157
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,259)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Staying here at the moment, just started our second week. Just read a few bad reviews , not sure what people really expect from a hotel that's quite busy . The staff are nice and helpful and do say hello and make you feel welcome and don't keep you waiting at the bar if you don't tip , not saying a odd tip or two doesn't go amiss in the right place but its in no way expected !.
Food is very good and varied, people say it gets boring and repetitive but that's not true, yes they have some same foods every day like eggs and salad but the main dishes change day to day. Don't know how many of you when at home eat the same type of food at least once or twice a fortnight I know I do. As far as the rooms go they are cleaned daily and very well wether you tip or not, drinks are spot on and all the good stuff like jim beam and single malt whiskey and even champagne is there for the asking. Would say if you smoke go to the local supermarket as the cigars and cigs are about half the price of the shop in the hotel, but that's the price you pay for being lazy and not getting your own. As far as the locals at the weekend go, I did find them a bit excitable , but they are on holiday too and it's just a different culture to the British (let's Queue for everything) just do as in Rome is my moto and don't queue and get stuck in. My only slight complaint is the wifi , it's not free and quite expensive and seeing as this is a iberostar premier hotel I think it should be free , specially as there is no 4G or even 3G, well didn't really expect 4G as its still a developing country, oh and the room safe should be free too in my opinion. Just a few touches that I have had in cheaper hotels, in saying that the weather apart from the downpour yesterday has been great so plenty of high factor creams and plenty of water and deet 50% for the nightime , seen a few people with bites from the mosquitos and other bugs. Well done iberostar costa dorado your doing a good job.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Meddlesomeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you for choosing Iberostar Costa Dorada Hotel as the destination for your vacations and also for taking the time to post some comments about your stay among us.
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Pedro Morales; we would like to express our satisfaction to read your motivating words referring the beauty and cleanness of premises, the variety of our gastronomy and the excellent service from our staff members. In Iberostar those are part of our guiding principles to ensure a memorable stay to our beloved guests.
We wish you a memorable experience during the rest of your holiday, we will be waiting for your next visit and please do not hesitate to contact us before your next visit.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The hotel itself is very clean and tries very hard to keep up with the demand of savvy traveler. However starting with very dated architecture as well as issues with sewer and poor basic attempt at room design, and very old beat-up ideas for the evening show, this hotel is definitely not the best vacation I have seen. If you are looking to eat and lay by the pool, this may be an OK place. If you are used to the serious "all inclusive" vacation, pack a lot of money because you will have to do something outside. The location is bearable, and the beach property has everything necessary. However, due to the everyday winds, the sand must be moved back by a bulldozer, which does its incredibly loud and intrusive job during the best time of the day for those who work on their tans and enjoy the real beach wave sounds instead of a pool area.
Staff is very courteous, but the events were planned without any regard to other guests' inconvenience. Wedding with very loud authentic music in the most central location of the hotel instead of a more private and prettier setting. Multiple calls from guests asking to just lower the music a little bit fell on deaf ears even though the wedding party itself has disappeared because of poor ventilation in the area where the even took place.
The "all included" water sports however, topped my list of issues. When you take out a catamaran, you sign not just your life away with the standard "we are not responsible for you" sort of language, but also have to agree to pay for any damage that may be caused to the equipment while in your use. You will be liable for up to $7000 US if you are drowning and need to leave the equipment floating to be picked up by the staff. However, if the only help you need is to flip the catamaran over when it is turned by the wind and somewhat inexperienced navigator, that will cost you $49 for the "rescue", whether you actually needed the rescue or not. The contract is drawn by an amateur, and apparently is it worth disputing loudly over. Good to know - nice staff nonetheless, but definitely don't plan on the "all inclusive - we are here to provide free services for you" kinda deal.
Other than that - nothing to do at all. If you are active and young the only things you will see are beach volleyball once a day, some stretch activity with 2-5 participants, and maybe a couple of others. Cannot actually snorkel either, as the lifeguard will not let you out more than 30 feet. The tiny area for swimming is defined by the string of buoys, and the last thing you will be able to do is swim freely.
Beach-line is quiet dirty as soon as you pass the 100-200 foot hotel beach front property line. I also have never seen so many locals allowed on the private beach to sell goods and services. I don't mind an occasional seller passing by, but this was constantly ever present people who were there from 7am until dusk. People around were incredibly poor and all I can say about outside of the resort is dirty.
The rooms were clean, but very very basic. Terrible mattress, constant issue with flushing toilets (every bathroom public and at least 2 guest rooms that we and friends were in. Smell of sewer woke them up daily, and the water pressure in the shower as well as constant change in water temperature from hot to cold was a real discomfort.
For ratings this hotel has what they call a "minibar". It consists of 2 bottles of water, 2 cans of some questionable beer, one bottle of diet coke and one bottle of regular coke. Make your own decision on that. Drinks are otherwise available in the bar, so the only reason for this "convenience" is the added stars.
Outlets are the same electrical wattage, but don't let this fool you, as you still need an adapter, which hotel shop happily sells. The outlet's holes are sunken, and many of the US plugs cannot be used.
The shop's prices are out of this world, but that is nothing surprising. Since you cannot get outside on your own (not really), you have to work with what you've got. $5 for pack of 10 tampons, $10 for sunscreen, $30 for flimsy flip flops $6 for deodorant etc etc.
Food was OK - nothing amazing with a couple of exceptions, but these guys really do not know how to cook fish. We got tuna, salmon and local fish called Dorada, which were absolutely "killed" to perfection. Never had such chewy calamari, and such overcooked fish (except for sandbass). Same happened to "lamb chops" (which were actually cheap steaks from the shoulder area - not what you think of lamb chops), as well as the beef steaks on more than one try/day. I understand that cooking for buffet style is quiet different than line cooking at restaurant for individual orders. However, this was not top of the line quality wise for sure. I definitely did not go hungry, but more healthy options such as soups and less hot dogs, stuff resembling pizzas and other fried junk foods would definitely be advisable.
Shows used some very old ideas, some old and some new music, but altogether this is not the quality I am used to. This almost reminded of something from the 80-90's, which was a lot of fun at the time, but needs updating with new ideas at least.
The hotel does not provide its own transportation to and from the airport even though they are about 15-20 minutes from the airport. They use local service contracted through Expedia. Because there are so many different people involved your trip to and from the airport will be long and not as cheap as you think. Each person pays $16 per trip. Taxi costs $50 roundtrip and $35 each way. Do your math depending on how many people in your party. Out of 4 of us, the bus left without 2 because the workers had them on the list for a pick up from a wrong hotel. It is not worth the aggravation or the money.
All in all, I would give this vacation a 3 star primarily because of cleanliness and friendly staff.

Room Tip: pay more to face the beach, and go to the room before accepting. Stay away from the pool or the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelGenie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear guest,
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Pedro Morales, we thank you for choosing Iberostar Costa Dorada for your vacations and also for taking the time to post a review about your stay.
We are very sorry to read that our international exquisite cuisine, our wide options for daily and nightly entertainment and our value for money could not fulfill all your expectation nor ensured you a pleasant holiday. In Iberostar we are committed to ensure a memorable stay.
On the other hand, we extend our apologies for all inconveniences that prevent you to enjoy your holidays (especially with the sand issue and the water pressure). We would like to clarify though that it is not a true depiction of our standards and the sand works were carried by the beach volleyball and soccer courts which represent a minimal section of our huge beach, those works were largely advertised and were exceptional as those courts were unleveled.
In case you decide to visit us again; please feel free to contact us.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Me & my boyfriend has just come back from here & we loved it!!! I strongly recommend this hotel.. Nice friendly staff who all speak fluent English! The food is gorgeous especially the restaurants which you have reserve but it wasn't a problem tbh! Rooms were always made spotless & fresh towels in everyday:) all the locals seem friendly enough aswell... Only thing I didn't like was the locals mivering us when we was relaxing on the beach but besides that this hotel is perfect! It's got everything you need to kids clubs, entertainment and even night club at night so it's for most age groups! Loved it, will be come back again anyway x

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Candice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear guest,
In the name of Hotel Manager, Mr. Pedro Morales, we thank you for taking time to write a review about your experience at the Iberostar Costa Dorada and for choosing our hotel for your vacations.
It is a pleasure for the whole team to read that the service provided by our friendly team, our varied gastronomy and the beauty and cleanness of our premises ensured you and your boyfriend such a memorable experience as we aim in Iberostar Hotels and Resorts.
We are looking forward to welcome you again. Please feel free to contact us to help you enjoy your next stay with us.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

Travelled here middle of may last year and loved it.
The hotel and the grounds are spotless and our room was lovely. We got a bowl of fruit and a bottle of champagne when we arrived and a special dinner as well.
I got a icky tummy on day 3 of the holiday but it went in about 2 days. The Brazilian restaurant was best out of the al carte restaurants.
The staff are so helpful and friendly. Would like to return to this hotel some time in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat_pryde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor traveler’s community and for choosing Iberostar Costa Dorada for your vacations.
On behalf of Mr. Pedro Morales, hotel Manager, we would like to express you our satisfaction to acknowledge that your holidays among us last year in May was unforgettable due to the excellent service of our staff and our exquisite gastronomy. In Iberostar we are committed to ensure a memorable stay to our beloved guests.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again. Please feel free to contact us before your arrival.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This is a very nice all inclusive hotel. Enjoyed everything about it, except for the surrondings.
The hotel had fun Entertainment, great animation team and wonderful Food.
The only downsight is it's surrondings. To me, it was somewhat awkward to stay in these beautiful surrondings while there were so much poverty outside the hotel gates. This is hardly the hotels fault though. But it kind of made a downer on the Whole experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karetekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor about your experience among us and for choosing Iberostar Costa Dorada for your holidays.
In the name of Mr. Pedro Morales, Hotel Manager, we appreciate your positive valuation about our premises, our exquisite cuisine and the excellent service of our friendly staff especially from our entertainers. The friendliness of our team is the key of the success of Iberostar Hotels and Resorts.
We will be happy to welcome you back again. Feel free to contact us before your visit,
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My husband and I were in your resort and had a good time because we are not picky!!!
Let me start with the good:
Front desk 120% FANTASTIC
Food very tasty and lots of variety
Very clean, rooms done on time and properly
Beautiful beach and pool
Fantastic grounds, amazing sitting area specially around the lobby bar.
Now in my opinion things you need to improve or change:
Your staff does not ever say Good morning, How are you, Thank you or even a smile especially at the buffet and the lobby bar.I should not have to wait 30 minutes for a drink or have to get up to get my own.
Another negative is the weekend guests!!!
They have no manners, when in the restaurants they use the serving spoons to taste the food. In the pool you have posted signs asking guests to shower before going in, and they go in with Tshirts or like I saw myself in there underwear, if you want those guests they should book a vacation like we do.
I have been in Dominican many times ( Punta Cana, Samana and La Romana) and so far your resort was the worst, in my opinion you don't deserve 5 stars.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank cjSmoochie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Dear guest,
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Dejan Grubanov, we thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay at our hotel and for choosing Iberostar Costa Dorada for your holiday.
On the one hand, we appreciate your positive valuation about the beauty and cleanness of our grounds, the variety of our exquisite cuisine and the excellent service provided by our Front Desk staff. In Iberostar one of our guiding principles is to upkeep our grounds.
On the other hand, we extend our apologies for all and any inconveniences related to the friendliness of our staff at the bars and restaurants. We have shared your feedback with the corresponding departments so they can evaluate their performance and deliver the level of service expected by our beloved guests.
We are looking forward to welcome you once again and show you the way we make feel our valuable costumers as “Stars” during their holidays. Please feel free to contact us to help you enjoy your next stay with us.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
1.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
1.2 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,402 reviews
1.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 39 in Puerto Plata
3,624 reviews
8.3 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
#11 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,214 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Costa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Costa Dorada

Property: Iberostar Costa Dorada
Address: Carretera Luperon km 2.5 | Marapica, Costa Dorada, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Costa Dorada 4*
Number of rooms: 516
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada hotel is located in front of the large golden sand beach of Costa Dorada, 10 minutes from the city of Puerto Plata in the Dominican Republic's north coast. This wonderful 5-star All Inclusive resort is a wonderful haven for aquatic sports lovers. Renovated in 2011, the IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada hotel has 498 Double Rooms and 18 spacious Junior Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Costa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Costa Dorado
Iberostar Puerto Plata
Iberostar Costa Dorada Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata
Iberostar Costa Dorada Puerto Plata
Iberostar Hotel Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada Hotel
Costa Dorado
Puerto Plata Iberostar
Iberostar Hotel Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing