We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super-friendly and high ambitions with a merengue back-drop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed over Christmas and New Years and had a great time. The staff are super-friendly and Entertainment and food ambitions are high. New Years dinner offered a heao of fresh sea food and "extra Everything". The beach is lovely and the pool area very large. Rooms are good but without the extra luxury of the absolute top hotels. Very Clean though. Good gym and tennis Courts help to keep in shape after the free drinks :-). In all, I highly recommend the Iberostar Costa Dorada for a very relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
2  Thank AsaLanden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear guests,
In the name of Mr. Alberto Herrera, Hotel Manager, we thank you for having chosen Iberostar Costa Dorada to celebrate with us Christmas and New Years Eve and for posting a review about your experience.
We want to express how glad we are to read your positive lines referring our performance in terms of gastronomy and service that along to our premises ensured you a relaxing holiday during such as especial period of the year. In Iberostar we aim to provide the best service to our beloved guests.
We are already looking forward to welcome you back; please feel free to contact us before your next visit.
With regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,302)
There are newer reviews for Iberostar Costa Dorada
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,845 - 2,851 of 7,302 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

I was very pleased with the hotel and glad I paid slightly more to stay here than the Rui hotels in the Tompson and First Choice list, which we saw briefly when on an excursion.
As we stayed over Christmas and New Year the hotel was beautifully decorated throughout with miles of white fairy lights and Caribbean style christmas tree in the lobby, it was stunning.
Hotel kept very clean in public areas and in the rooms.
Food excellent with salads, huge plates of exotic fruit and lovely fish, I even managed to eat fairly healthy, my son really appreciated the DIY wippy ice cream machine and pop corn for an afternoon snack. There was great effort with the food on Christmas Eve and New Years Eve.
Entertainment team work endlessly, I don't know if they are rotated on and off the team but I would think it impossible to maintain that enthusiasm and those hours for longer than a few weeks at a time, Hulu Hulu who did step classes, and the towel guy who did the Spanish lessons were great.
My son really liked Maria in kids club. He also really liked the evening shows.
We did a couple of excursions which made a nice break from the routine, Outback adventure which was a popular and easy day out seeing the country back from the coast and a bit about rural life and the agriculture with a great boogy boarding session on a beach with great but very safe waves. We also did a paradise island trip which was also good but quite a long day to be out on the sea and sand.
So overall a great trip, I don't know how it compares to other Caribbean Islands and holidays as they are mostly more than I want to pay for a Christmas holiday, but we need a resort with plenty to do, nice beaches and a great staff and entertainments team and this was provided in buckets and on all counts.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sue086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Guest,
First at all we would like to thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor about your experience at Iberostar Costa Dorada. In the name of Mr. Alberto Herrera, hotel Manager, we also thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
We are very pleased to read that your expectations about what you need for a holidays: value for money, wide entertainment options, beautiful beach and friendly staff were met and ensured you a memorable Christmas holidays as we aim in Iberostar.
We will be happy to welcome you back again. Please feel free to contact us before your return.
With kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is an excellent resort. Great food, great staff, comfortable rooms - not a complaint. New Years Eve Party and fireworks were amazing. The Mexican and Brazilian restaurants were fantastic (didn't have a chance to try the other one). Lots of activities in and out of the resort. Will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TBMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear guest,
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Alberto Herrera, we thank you for taking time to write a review about your experience at Iberostar Costa Dorada and for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
We want to express you how glad we are to read your positive valuation about the activities we proposed on New Year’s Eve. In Iberostar we are committed to ensure our guests unforgettable experiences.
We look forward to welcoming you once again. Please feel free to contact us to help you enjoy your next stay with us.
Yours Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We were at Iberostar Costa Dorada once again from 15-29 December (have been going since 2001) and it is still our "home away from home" (la familia Rusyn) when we vacation to the Dominican Republic.... It was nice to see Sarita in main dining room is still there (he has been with hotel since it opened in 1999) and we got to see him most nights. Our maid Esperanza was excellent and kept our room spotless and the mini bar filled with water bottles. We stayed in our favourite block 5, ocean front junior suite, steps to the Dive Centre, as my son is a certified diver and also went on 8 dives with the excellent Dive Team. As usual, the food was good and plentiful, the drinks were excellent and made according to our tastes, excellent coffees, and a really great Christmas Eve Gala. The live Nativity Scene is something else to behold and we have enjoyed seeing it again and taking pictures, along with the "Angel" who stands on the roof overseeing the manger.... The Star Friends are always top notch as well as everyone we dealt with from the time we checked in to the time we checked out. Until next time.... wishing everyone at Iberostar Costa Dorada a very Happy and Healthy New Year!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Guest,
On behalf of Mr. Alberto Herrera, Hotel Manager, we thank you for your loyalty towards Iberostar Hotels and Resorts as your holiday’s destination and also for taking the time to post a review about your recent experience at Iberostar Costa Dorada.
Our entire staff (especially Sarita and Esperanza) will be motivated to acknowledge that every time you stay in our hotel, you feel yourself as in your “home away home” due to our friendliness. We appreciate your positive lines about our Gala dinners on December 24thand 31st. as you well know after multiple visits to our hotels in the Caribbean, in Iberostar we are committed to provide the best service to our valuable costumers.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again; please feel free to contact us before your next vacations among us.
With regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here for a week in 2008 and 2012 We have booked again for August 2014. The rooms may be a bit dated but they were spotless. The buffets were beautifully presented and the food delicious. My 10 year old twins couldnt believe that they literally had popcorn and ice cream on tap! The staff at the Iberostar were great and nothing was too much trouble. You do get bothered though if you take a walk outside the complex onto the beach. The locals spot the wristband you have to wear and hassle you to buy their wares. You just have to be firm and polite. You can barter to a great price if you do decide to buy.The staff work very hard and probably for very little so although all food and drink is included, a small $ tip is greatly appreciated when you order a drink and when you have finished a meal. If you are looking for a five star customer service and Hotel experience then the Iberostar Costa Dorada is the place to go!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear guest,
We thank for writing a comment on Tripadvisor about your experience at Iberostar Costa Dorada and for choosing our hotel twice for your family holidays.
On behalf of Mr. Alberto Herrera, hotel Manager, we would like to express you our happiness when reading your motivating lines about our gastronomy and excellent service which has ensured you and your children two unforgettable holidays as we aim in Iberostar.
We will be happy to welcome you back and remain at your disposition for assistance before your next visit on august.
Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We were lucky on the weather. The location of this resort is great! If you have not been to the DR understand the road signs and street markings are reference only. Driving here is fun, take the insurance option. Food was very good and there was plenty all the time. Rooms were clean staff was great. There are more things to do there than most will have time for. Would recommend! Oh yes the alcohol was close to top shelf.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carl Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear guest,
First at all, we would like to thank you for having chosen Iberostar Costa Dorada for your vacation and for taking time to write a review about your stay among us on Tripadvisor.
In the name of the hotel Manager, Mr. Alberto Herrera, we want to express how pleased we are to read that our wide entertainment options and international cuisine made your holidays pleasant and relaxing. In Iberostar our cuisine has been the key of our success with more than one hundred hotels worldwide.
We are looking forward to welcome you back. Please feel free to contact us again before your next visit.
With regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel was very good. The pool is very lively, the rooms are a bit dated but comfortable, nice beach, great food. There was only one big show, but it was a great production, great costumes. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would consider going back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
2  Thank ricksilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear guests,
We want to thank you for having chosen Iberostar Costa Dorada for your vacations and on behalf of Mr. Alberto Herrera, hotel Manager; we also thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor.
In Iberostar we aim to provide the best service to our beloved guests so they can “enjoy being a Star” during their visit to our premises. We are very pleased to acknowledge that our team could achieve our goal during your stay.
We are looking forward to welcome you back and 1remain at your disposition for any request and assistance you may need.
With regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Plata
1.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
1.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
0.1 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,500 reviews
35.6 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
164.6 mi away
Sunscape Bavaro Beach Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Costa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Costa Dorada

Address: Carretera Luperon km 2.5 | Marapica, Costa Dorada, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: £103 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Costa Dorada 4*
Number of rooms: 516
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada hotel is located in front of the large golden sand beach of Costa Dorada, 10 minutes from the city of Puerto Plata in the Dominican Republic's north coast. This wonderful 5-star All Inclusive resort is a wonderful haven for aquatic sports lovers. Renovated in 2011, the IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada hotel has 498 Double Rooms and 18 spacious Junior Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Costa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Costa Dorado
Iberostar Puerto Plata
Iberostar Costa Dorada Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata
Iberostar Costa Dorada Puerto Plata
Iberostar Hotel Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada Hotel
Costa Dorado
Puerto Plata Iberostar
Iberostar Hotel Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing