We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Nearby Hotels
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$150
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Be Live Collection Marien(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Blue JackTar(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$303
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
PlayaBachata Resort(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$97
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (7,832)
Filter reviews
7,832 results
Traveller rating
4,672
2,084
735
220
121
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,672
2,084
735
220
121
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar friendsthe lion kingpepsi colaorchid gardenlobby barpaellamain buffetbrazilian restaurantjustin bieberentertainment teamdominican republiclobstera la carte restaurantsemailed the hotelkids clubtwo weeksparadise island
Filter
Updating list...
3,081 - 3,086 of 7,832 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The Iberostar is located on playa dorado about 10-15 Minutes from all the other hotels but is next door to a very noisy party hotel. The rooms are comfortable and clean,complete with balconies and mini fridges with drinks but it takes multiple phone calls to get what you need. We had a broken toilet for over a day and a fridge that never cooled. The food is well prepared and there is literally something for everyone. The vast majority of visitors smoke and the only place that is smoke-free are the restaurants. The pool and beach are both well laid out but you can easily be overcome by cigarette and cigar smoke. It would be amazing if the hotel made non smoking sections for those of us who would prefer not to vacation in other people's second hand smoke. The quality of the alcohol they serve is surprisingly low for an island
that makes great rum. The wifi costs additional money and is totally inadequate for today's modern devices. We could only get it to work in the lobby at off hours when people weren't jamming it. Lastly the business center also requires you buy computer time and doesn't have any printers not computers with flash so checking in and/or getting boarding passes for a family wasn't possible. We had a great time and used the hotel as a base for lots of excursions. It was an easy safe place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gypsygirl802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear guest,
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Alberto Herrera, we want to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada for your holidays and for taking time to write a review about your experience.
On the one hand, we appreciate your positive valuation about our varied gastronomy and beauty of our hotel premises. In IBEROSTAR we want our guests to “enjoy being a Star”.
On the other hand, we regret to acknowledge that our excellent service and exquisite international drinks did not make you feel as “a Star” as we aim in IBEROSTAR Hotels and Resorts in all of our more than one hundreds hotels worldwide. Our Management team extends our apologies for any and all inconveniences that you might have encountered. We have taken good notes from your feedback and forwarded to the corresponding departmental heads to evaluate their performance and deliver the level of service expected by our valuable costumers.
We remain at your entire disposition in case you decide to give us the opportunity to show you our improvements.
With kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We just returned from our wonderful wedding at the Iberostar Costa Dorada. Rossina and all the staff were so helpful in making our day a success. She was very helpful, even in getting us some pins to hem Steve's pants for the wedding!
The weather was amazing and the photographs turned out awesome.
Thanks also go out to DeeDee from the animation team who was a great friend during our stay!
Angela and Steve

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angcurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear guest,
In the name of Mr. Alberto Herrera, Hotel Manager, and the whole team, we thank you for taking the time to post a review about your experience at the IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada for choosing our hotel premises to celebrate your wedding. Once again congratulations for this special step in your lives and we wish you well.
It is an honored to read that our wedding coordinator, Rossina, as well as our excellent services and friendliness of our staff especially Dee Dee, meet all your expectations regarding your wedding celebration and the general stay for you and your husband as we aim in IBEROSTAR Hotels and Resorts.
We will be honored to welcome you back and remain at your entire disposition for any assistance before your next visit.
With kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The Iberostar Costa Dorada was what my wife and I expected...nice hotel, good service and decent food and entertainment. It's not a 5* hotel but its a solid 3-4*. Relaxing atmosphere and good service is the main theme of this hotel. It was just what we wanted for a short getaway stay of 5 days.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
2  Thank Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear guest,
On behalf of Mr. Alberto Herrera, hotel Manager, we thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada once again as your holiday’s destination and for posting a review about your recent experience among us.
We are very pleased to acknowledge that our hotel met your expectations and ensured you another memorable holiday as we aim in IBEROSTAR. We appreciate your positive valuation about the excellent service of our staff.
We are waiting for your next visit and remain at your entire disposition for any assistance prior your arrival,
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A little disappointed with the Hotel. Whilst the property was clean and well maintained and ticked all the boxes for facilities of a 5 star, including great diving , water sports and a very good tennis coach, it lacked just that little extra that I would expect from a 5 star. Buffet Restaurant you were not escorted to your table and on our first night wondered around for quite a while before finding one. It was only when we found the waiter Robert who looked after us that it got better and we wouldn't sit anywhere else. There was supposed to be A La Carte Restaurants requiring men to wear long trousers. The food was not A La Carte standard and not waiter service throughout. Poor food and staff not attentive to your needs. People were turning up to the Restaurants in beach wear and not turned away. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful but it wasn't throughout which was disappointing.
The Entertainment team were great though it has to be said especially the resident band.

We chose a junior suite with a sea view which was a lovely room really big balcony. One of the most comfortable beds I have slept on abroad and one of the best rooms I have stayed in and really good shower.

In comparison last year we stayed in the south of the island at the Hotel La Romana in Bahibe. A 4 Star plus and it was heavenly in comparison. Full A La Carte restaurants beautiful food, fantastic steak House, attentive staff, fantastic throughout and we would go back to it at the drop of a hat but I wouldn't go back to the Iberostar Costa Dorada.

Room Tip: Junior suite facing the ocean are lovely rooms
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear guest,
On behalf of Mr. Alberto Herrera, the hotel Manager, we thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada for your holidays and for taking time to post a review about your experience with us.
We want to express you how much we regret to acknowledge that your expectations regarding our gastronomy and services were not entirely fulfilled and that your visit to our premises was not memorable in a positive way as we aim in IBEROSTAR Hotels and Resorts. We thank you for your positive comments about the cleanness and beauty of our hotel premises. Our staff for housekeeping and gardeners has been congratulated for their work. It is through communications of this nature that we are given an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada. We will certainly take an objective approach to ascertain how best we can rectify the breakdown of our services. Once this is done, we will do our best not to have a reoccurrence of the situations mentioned.
We hope you give us the chance to show you how IBEROSTAR makes feel our valuable costumers as “Stars” on vacation. We remain at your entire disposition for further assistance.
With kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We just arrived home from an amazing week at the Iberostar!! The front desk was very pleasant and quick.
The resort is very well kept. The buffet was very well managed from the waiters to the cooks. Very impressed on how clean it was!! Had no issues eating at the buffet compared to other resorts in puerta plata.
We would definitely recommend this resort!! So looking forward to our stay at the Iberostar at Christmas!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sammyottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear guest,
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Alberto Herrera, we want to thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay at the IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada and for choosing our hotel to enjoy your holidays.
We are very pleased to acknowledge that your holidays among us were memorable due to the excellent service provided by our reception staff and the variety of our gastronomy. In IBEROSTAR we aim to ensure our guests to “enjoy being a Star” during vacations.
We will be happy to welcome you back for Christmas time; please do not hesitate to contact us to help you enjoy your next stay with us.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews