We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Been a few years since i traveled there, but a vacation i will never forget. I'm not sure if it was because it was my first real vacation or it was as beautiful as i remember. The staff were so nice and so appreciative of all their tips and gifts we gave them. The resort was so clean and kept up, the food was really good, and the rooms were so nice. The night life and entertainment was some of the best i've saw in my travels. The only downside of the whole vacation was the beach wasn't the nicest i've ever seen, but the workers there tried so hard to keep the seaweed and debris off the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nefie9600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear guest,
In the name of Mr. Alberto Herrera, Hotel Manager, we want to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada for your holiday and for taking time to write a review about your experience.
In IBEROSTAR we aim to ensure a memorable holiday to our beloved guests. In order to achieve our goal we are committed to upkeep our premises, to offer an exquisite gastronomy and to provide the best service to our beloved guests. We are very pleased to acknowledge that we could accomplish our goal with you during your visit, especially with the variety of our night life and entertainment.
We are looking forward to welcome you back, please do not hesitate to contact us to assist you for your next visit.
With regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,894 - 2,900 of 7,611 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

Room very nice clean and spacious, maid service excellent.
Food always fresh and well presented with a big selection in the main buffet restaurant.
Service in buffet varied a little, many table servers were excellent and attentive, but a few were less interested and appeared to be tip orientated.
Service at the bars was always prompt and courteous - really enjoyed 'Angel' singing when he was manning the beach bar and pool bar.

Evening shows every night very energetic and colourful.
Pool large and zoned well for games, children, swimming etc.
Regular daytime events in and around the pool and on the beach.
Live merengue band every couple of days at the beach and BBQ etc.

Sunbeds around the pool have pads but there aren't enough for all the sunbeds and several greedy and ignorant people will hog them and double them. The towel policy is not enforced so often there are plenty of empty sunbeds reserved for hours with towels. Pool sunbeds are slated plastic and reasonably comfortable.
Beach sunbeds are nylon fabric and do not fold flat so can be limiting and uncomfortable, made worse as you are not permitted to use the pads on the beach.
The pool area does get very busy, the beach is much more peaceful and spacious, but the wind has a habit of picking up in the afternoon and sand blasting you.
Be warned, topless sunbathing is only permitted on the beach.

Some reviewers are saying this is only a 3-4* hotel.
We agree that 5* is a high rating but compared to some other counties we have been to this hotel is worth every one of its 5 stars. Remember, you're not in Europe, North Africa or Dubai, but a neighbour to poverty stricken Haiti.

Ocean World is very near, about 15 mins on the minibus.
If you go for the main event to have the 1 hr 'Royal' swim with dolphins it will work out expensive by the time you've bought the photos and video etc, but as a birthday treat it was well worth it and a truly amazing experience and it's easy to spend the whole day there as there are several shows and plenty to see and do - top tip, don't sit at the front of the shark show!

Weather during our 14 nights, we had 1 day of heavy rain all day, and 2 days when storms brewed up early afternoon. there was also a little rain some nights but that's why there's so much green stuff covering the island!
Otherwise the sun was warm and the sea was a pleasant cool temperature. During the evenings it remains at a comfortable temperature so no need to wrap up but make sure you've got insect repellent on. We didn't get a single bite but some guests did. The hotel is fumigated inside and out every week to keep the critters at bay. There is a malaria risk so make sure you protect yourself.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and if you don't like the one they allocate then the reception staff are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AshandTerrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear guest,
We thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada for your holidays and for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Alberto Herrera; we would like to express how glad we are to acknowledge that the beauty of our clean grounds, the variety of our gastronomy and the excellent service provided from our friendly staff ensured you an enjoyable experience in an IBEROSTAR hotel. We have communicated Angel that her service made you feel as a “Star” as we aim in our hotel chain.
We are looking forward to welcome you once again; please do not hesitate to contact us before your next vacation.
With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The Iberostar is located on playa dorado about 10-15 Minutes from all the other hotels but is next door to a very noisy party hotel. The rooms are comfortable and clean,complete with balconies and mini fridges with drinks but it takes multiple phone calls to get what you need. We had a broken toilet for over a day and a fridge that never cooled. The food is well prepared and there is literally something for everyone. The vast majority of visitors smoke and the only place that is smoke-free are the restaurants. The pool and beach are both well laid out but you can easily be overcome by cigarette and cigar smoke. It would be amazing if the hotel made non smoking sections for those of us who would prefer not to vacation in other people's second hand smoke. The quality of the alcohol they serve is surprisingly low for an island
that makes great rum. The wifi costs additional money and is totally inadequate for today's modern devices. We could only get it to work in the lobby at off hours when people weren't jamming it. Lastly the business center also requires you buy computer time and doesn't have any printers not computers with flash so checking in and/or getting boarding passes for a family wasn't possible. We had a great time and used the hotel as a base for lots of excursions. It was an easy safe place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gypsygirl802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear guest,
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Alberto Herrera, we want to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada for your holidays and for taking time to write a review about your experience.
On the one hand, we appreciate your positive valuation about our varied gastronomy and beauty of our hotel premises. In IBEROSTAR we want our guests to “enjoy being a Star”.
On the other hand, we regret to acknowledge that our excellent service and exquisite international drinks did not make you feel as “a Star” as we aim in IBEROSTAR Hotels and Resorts in all of our more than one hundreds hotels worldwide. Our Management team extends our apologies for any and all inconveniences that you might have encountered. We have taken good notes from your feedback and forwarded to the corresponding departmental heads to evaluate their performance and deliver the level of service expected by our valuable costumers.
We remain at your entire disposition in case you decide to give us the opportunity to show you our improvements.
With kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We just returned from our wonderful wedding at the Iberostar Costa Dorada. Rossina and all the staff were so helpful in making our day a success. She was very helpful, even in getting us some pins to hem Steve's pants for the wedding!
The weather was amazing and the photographs turned out awesome.
Thanks also go out to DeeDee from the animation team who was a great friend during our stay!
Angela and Steve

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angcurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear guest,
In the name of Mr. Alberto Herrera, Hotel Manager, and the whole team, we thank you for taking the time to post a review about your experience at the IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada for choosing our hotel premises to celebrate your wedding. Once again congratulations for this special step in your lives and we wish you well.
It is an honored to read that our wedding coordinator, Rossina, as well as our excellent services and friendliness of our staff especially Dee Dee, meet all your expectations regarding your wedding celebration and the general stay for you and your husband as we aim in IBEROSTAR Hotels and Resorts.
We will be honored to welcome you back and remain at your entire disposition for any assistance before your next visit.
With kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The Iberostar Costa Dorada was what my wife and I expected...nice hotel, good service and decent food and entertainment. It's not a 5* hotel but its a solid 3-4*. Relaxing atmosphere and good service is the main theme of this hotel. It was just what we wanted for a short getaway stay of 5 days.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
2  Thank Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear guest,
On behalf of Mr. Alberto Herrera, hotel Manager, we thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada once again as your holiday’s destination and for posting a review about your recent experience among us.
We are very pleased to acknowledge that our hotel met your expectations and ensured you another memorable holiday as we aim in IBEROSTAR. We appreciate your positive valuation about the excellent service of our staff.
We are waiting for your next visit and remain at your entire disposition for any assistance prior your arrival,
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A little disappointed with the Hotel. Whilst the property was clean and well maintained and ticked all the boxes for facilities of a 5 star, including great diving , water sports and a very good tennis coach, it lacked just that little extra that I would expect from a 5 star. Buffet Restaurant you were not escorted to your table and on our first night wondered around for quite a while before finding one. It was only when we found the waiter Robert who looked after us that it got better and we wouldn't sit anywhere else. There was supposed to be A La Carte Restaurants requiring men to wear long trousers. The food was not A La Carte standard and not waiter service throughout. Poor food and staff not attentive to your needs. People were turning up to the Restaurants in beach wear and not turned away. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful but it wasn't throughout which was disappointing.
The Entertainment team were great though it has to be said especially the resident band.

We chose a junior suite with a sea view which was a lovely room really big balcony. One of the most comfortable beds I have slept on abroad and one of the best rooms I have stayed in and really good shower.

In comparison last year we stayed in the south of the island at the Hotel La Romana in Bahibe. A 4 Star plus and it was heavenly in comparison. Full A La Carte restaurants beautiful food, fantastic steak House, attentive staff, fantastic throughout and we would go back to it at the drop of a hat but I wouldn't go back to the Iberostar Costa Dorada.

Room Tip: Junior suite facing the ocean are lovely rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear guest,
On behalf of Mr. Alberto Herrera, the hotel Manager, we thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada for your holidays and for taking time to post a review about your experience with us.
We want to express you how much we regret to acknowledge that your expectations regarding our gastronomy and services were not entirely fulfilled and that your visit to our premises was not memorable in a positive way as we aim in IBEROSTAR Hotels and Resorts. We thank you for your positive comments about the cleanness and beauty of our hotel premises. Our staff for housekeeping and gardeners has been congratulated for their work. It is through communications of this nature that we are given an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada. We will certainly take an objective approach to ascertain how best we can rectify the breakdown of our services. Once this is done, we will do our best not to have a reoccurrence of the situations mentioned.
We hope you give us the chance to show you how IBEROSTAR makes feel our valuable costumers as “Stars” on vacation. We remain at your entire disposition for further assistance.
With kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We just arrived home from an amazing week at the Iberostar!! The front desk was very pleasant and quick.
The resort is very well kept. The buffet was very well managed from the waiters to the cooks. Very impressed on how clean it was!! Had no issues eating at the buffet compared to other resorts in puerta plata.
We would definitely recommend this resort!! So looking forward to our stay at the Iberostar at Christmas!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sammyottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear guest,
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Alberto Herrera, we want to thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay at the IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada and for choosing our hotel to enjoy your holidays.
We are very pleased to acknowledge that your holidays among us were memorable due to the excellent service provided by our reception staff and the variety of our gastronomy. In IBEROSTAR we aim to ensure our guests to “enjoy being a Star” during vacations.
We will be happy to welcome you back for Christmas time; please do not hesitate to contact us to help you enjoy your next stay with us.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.9 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#4 of 40 in Puerto Plata
1,256 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#6 of 40 in Puerto Plata
550 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,668 reviews
1.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
0.1 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
4,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Costa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Costa Dorada

Address: Carretera Luperon km 2.5 | Marapica, Costa Dorada, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: £102 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Costa Dorada 4*
Number of rooms: 516
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada hotel is located in front of the large golden sand beach of Costa Dorada, 10 minutes from the city of Puerto Plata in the Dominican Republic's north coast. This wonderful 5-star All Inclusive resort is a wonderful haven for aquatic sports lovers. Renovated in 2011, the IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada hotel has 516 rooms 498 Double Rooms , 18 spacious Junior Suites ,4 handicap, 10 interconnecting, 27 superiors and 45 ocean view. The colonial-style complex and common areas are surrounded by huge tropical gardens. An attentive multilingual staff helps to make this a perfect vacation experience on the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Costa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Costa Dorado
Iberostar Puerto Plata
Iberostar Costa Dorada Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata
Iberostar Costa Dorada Puerto Plata
Iberostar Hotel Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada Hotel
Costa Dorado
Puerto Plata Iberostar
Iberostar Hotel Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing