We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great value for the price”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We recently spent a week at the Iberostar Costa Dorada and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We stayed at a Sandals in St. Lucia last year for our honeymoon and decided to celebrate our first anniversary with another trip. I had to remind myself not to compare the two, considering Sandals probably has the upper hand in the all-inclusive vacation thing over many others.

The staff was relatively friendly but not all were fluent in English, so we only really engaged a few in conversation. We changed rooms upon arrival so we could have an ocean view and were happy with the size of the room and bathroom. The king-size bed was not the most comfortable and reminded me of a bed from a cheap motel. The maid service was excellent in terms of keeping the room very clean, but as we got closer to our departure date I had to ask for bath towels and our last day and a half we ran out of tissues, nearly ran out of toilet paper and beer stocked in our small fridge went from four to one by the last day. The resort is very clean and the staff works hard to keep it that way.

There are three "specialty" restaurants were you have to make reservations for dinner with Guest Services between 9am and noon, along with a buffet where reservations are not required. In all honesty, I found the buffet to the best choice by far. The specialty restaurants weren't all that special, in my opinion, and the food was just okay. The buffet offered a variety each day, including fried rice and sushi, which were delicious. It was also excellent for breakfast and lunch. The service at the specialty restaurants was spotty and the not all the wait staff was overly friendly. I found the service at the buffet much better and friendlier.

We went to the spa for a massage, body wrap and facial. They try to get you to up your service and spend more when you book your spa treatments. The woman at the desk was very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately during a foot massage I had a little pain at the top of the my foot and when we left the spa I told my husband my foot hurt. I had to take my time walking and when I stepped out of the water at the beach I felt something shift in my foot. Needless to say, I came home with a fractured bone in my foot and am now in an aircast. I'm not saying not to get spa treatments, just maybe avoid a foot massage. I did return to the spa for a wash and blow dry later in the week and was thrilled with the job the stylist did.

The beach was very clean and was the preferred place to hang out because there were too many kids at the pool and much less at the beach. There are no adult-only areas at the resort (which was disappointing) and kids were even at the beach bar, which was annoying.

The evening entertainment was very good and we enjoyed spending time at the lobby bar and even ventured into the nightclub one night (it opens at 11pm) and that was also fun.

The resort is beautiful with a very large pool, well-kept property and a gorgeous lobby. If you are looking to do excursions visit Elvis in the lobby, as he was extremely helpful and planned a great all-day excursion to Paradise Island for our anniversary. Despite a couple things I know we would definitely return to the Costa Dorada...all in all it was money well spent and we had an amazing time!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cg567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear guest,
We thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Hotels and Resorts for your holidays and for posting your experience at IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada on Tripadvisor.
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Alberto Herrera; we would like to express how glad we are to acknowledge that our value for money and the excellent service provided by our staff in all areas of our premises has ensured you another memorable experience in an IBEROSTAR hotel. In Iberostar we aim to ensure a memorable holiday to our beloved guests. We are sorry to hear that you left our premises with an opposite idea in mind. For your negative comments we will certainly take an objective approach to ascertain how best we can rectify these according to our IBEROSTAR Standards. We hope that you have a very well recovery.
We are looking forward to welcome you once again; please do not hesitate to contact us before your next vacation.
With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,343
    1,931
    658
    206
    106
See reviews for
2,437
2,790
159
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,281)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Minas, Nova Scotia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This resort has gorgeous grounds, didn't mind the seaweed and reefs on the beach as you could walk around them, but also me and my partner like to snorkel so it was great for seeing fish! The buffet was spectacular, food was excellent, staff was great, always tended to your needs. The Brazilian was my favorite A la carte, skewers were excellent, but service was nothing compared to the buffet, which was a surprise. The Mexican was good, but you could have the same food at the buffet on Mexican night. The international was the worst a la carte, there was mainly only seafood selections and the service was terrible. The bar tender there and an older gentlemen waiter were very kind, but our younger waiter never responded when we spoke to him, including when we said thank you, numerous times, mainly trying to get him to at least be pleasant. We ended up leaving before desert because we were so upset with the service, and the food and heading to the buffet. The pool is beautiful, beach is as well. The little market up the beach is great, didn't feel like we were hassled too much. The staff working in guest services were excellent, which surprised us because the staff working at the front desk were rude and didn't seem to care about the guests and there needs. LOGAN at the front desk was amazing, and turned around our experience with the other two females, rosemarie and the younger one- who was extraordinarily rude. It was sad, because these persons are your first experience at the hotel and they are not the people who should be in these positions. As I said before however, Logan at the front desk was amazing, so anytime we ever needed anything we just asked him. The rooms were decent, I'm not expecting San Francisco five star, and I've stayed at many resorts and I can't complain about the room. It was clean and comfortable, no insects and fridge was always stocked. Who spends a lot of time in their room anyways? The cleaning ladies and supervisors were excellent, very appreciative and efficient, they work hard. I would definitely return to this resort, my only complaints were the a la cartes, and the reception staff. Other than that it was excellent, and thoroughly enjoyable. Hopefully these few things will improve when we return next year!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
3 Thank KaylaJeff2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the hotel Manager, Mr. Alberto Herrera, we want to thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay with us and for choosing IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada for your family vacations.
We are very happy to read you and your family enjoyed from a memorable holiday. We extend our apologies for all and any inconveniences related to the breakdown on the service on the restaurants and reception while you were on our premises. We welcome your feedback concerning our cuisine at the international restaurant; it has been shared with our Executive Chef for which he is thankful. In IBEROSTAR we aim to ensure our valuable costumers like you to “enjoy being a Star” as Logan did while you were on vacations.
We kindly invite you to give us a new visit in which we will show you our improvements; please do not hesitate to contact us before your arrival.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corner Brook, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Been a few years since i traveled there, but a vacation i will never forget. I'm not sure if it was because it was my first real vacation or it was as beautiful as i remember. The staff were so nice and so appreciative of all their tips and gifts we gave them. The resort was so clean and kept up, the food was really good, and the rooms were so nice. The night life and entertainment was some of the best i've saw in my travels. The only downside of the whole vacation was the beach wasn't the nicest i've ever seen, but the workers there tried so hard to keep the seaweed and debris off the beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nefie9600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear guest,
In the name of Mr. Alberto Herrera, Hotel Manager, we want to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada for your holiday and for taking time to write a review about your experience.
In IBEROSTAR we aim to ensure a memorable holiday to our beloved guests. In order to achieve our goal we are committed to upkeep our premises, to offer an exquisite gastronomy and to provide the best service to our beloved guests. We are very pleased to acknowledge that we could accomplish our goal with you during your visit, especially with the variety of our night life and entertainment.
We are looking forward to welcome you back, please do not hesitate to contact us to assist you for your next visit.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Room very nice clean and spacious, maid service excellent.
Food always fresh and well presented with a big selection in the main buffet restaurant.
Service in buffet varied a little, many table servers were excellent and attentive, but a few were less interested and appeared to be tip orientated.
Service at the bars was always prompt and courteous - really enjoyed 'Angel' singing when he was manning the beach bar and pool bar.

Evening shows every night very energetic and colourful.
Pool large and zoned well for games, children, swimming etc.
Regular daytime events in and around the pool and on the beach.
Live merengue band every couple of days at the beach and BBQ etc.

Sunbeds around the pool have pads but there aren't enough for all the sunbeds and several greedy and ignorant people will hog them and double them. The towel policy is not enforced so often there are plenty of empty sunbeds reserved for hours with towels. Pool sunbeds are slated plastic and reasonably comfortable.
Beach sunbeds are nylon fabric and do not fold flat so can be limiting and uncomfortable, made worse as you are not permitted to use the pads on the beach.
The pool area does get very busy, the beach is much more peaceful and spacious, but the wind has a habit of picking up in the afternoon and sand blasting you.
Be warned, topless sunbathing is only permitted on the beach.

Some reviewers are saying this is only a 3-4* hotel.
We agree that 5* is a high rating but compared to some other counties we have been to this hotel is worth every one of its 5 stars. Remember, you're not in Europe, North Africa or Dubai, but a neighbour to poverty stricken Haiti.

Ocean World is very near, about 15 mins on the minibus.
If you go for the main event to have the 1 hr 'Royal' swim with dolphins it will work out expensive by the time you've bought the photos and video etc, but as a birthday treat it was well worth it and a truly amazing experience and it's easy to spend the whole day there as there are several shows and plenty to see and do - top tip, don't sit at the front of the shark show!

Weather during our 14 nights, we had 1 day of heavy rain all day, and 2 days when storms brewed up early afternoon. there was also a little rain some nights but that's why there's so much green stuff covering the island!
Otherwise the sun was warm and the sea was a pleasant cool temperature. During the evenings it remains at a comfortable temperature so no need to wrap up but make sure you've got insect repellent on. We didn't get a single bite but some guests did. The hotel is fumigated inside and out every week to keep the critters at bay. There is a malaria risk so make sure you protect yourself.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and if you don't like the one they allocate then the reception staff are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AshandTerrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear guest,
We thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada for your holidays and for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Alberto Herrera; we would like to express how glad we are to acknowledge that the beauty of our clean grounds, the variety of our gastronomy and the excellent service provided from our friendly staff ensured you an enjoyable experience in an IBEROSTAR hotel. We have communicated Angel that her service made you feel as a “Star” as we aim in our hotel chain.
We are looking forward to welcome you once again; please do not hesitate to contact us before your next vacation.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The Iberostar is located on playa dorado about 10-15 Minutes from all the other hotels but is next door to a very noisy party hotel. The rooms are comfortable and clean,complete with balconies and mini fridges with drinks but it takes multiple phone calls to get what you need. We had a broken toilet for over a day and a fridge that never cooled. The food is well prepared and there is literally something for everyone. The vast majority of visitors smoke and the only place that is smoke-free are the restaurants. The pool and beach are both well laid out but you can easily be overcome by cigarette and cigar smoke. It would be amazing if the hotel made non smoking sections for those of us who would prefer not to vacation in other people's second hand smoke. The quality of the alcohol they serve is surprisingly low for an island
that makes great rum. The wifi costs additional money and is totally inadequate for today's modern devices. We could only get it to work in the lobby at off hours when people weren't jamming it. Lastly the business center also requires you buy computer time and doesn't have any printers not computers with flash so checking in and/or getting boarding passes for a family wasn't possible. We had a great time and used the hotel as a base for lots of excursions. It was an easy safe place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gypsygirl802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear guest,
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Alberto Herrera, we want to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada for your holidays and for taking time to write a review about your experience.
On the one hand, we appreciate your positive valuation about our varied gastronomy and beauty of our hotel premises. In IBEROSTAR we want our guests to “enjoy being a Star”.
On the other hand, we regret to acknowledge that our excellent service and exquisite international drinks did not make you feel as “a Star” as we aim in IBEROSTAR Hotels and Resorts in all of our more than one hundreds hotels worldwide. Our Management team extends our apologies for any and all inconveniences that you might have encountered. We have taken good notes from your feedback and forwarded to the corresponding departmental heads to evaluate their performance and deliver the level of service expected by our valuable costumers.
We remain at your entire disposition in case you decide to give us the opportunity to show you our improvements.
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We just returned from our wonderful wedding at the Iberostar Costa Dorada. Rossina and all the staff were so helpful in making our day a success. She was very helpful, even in getting us some pins to hem Steve's pants for the wedding!
The weather was amazing and the photographs turned out awesome.
Thanks also go out to DeeDee from the animation team who was a great friend during our stay!
Angela and Steve

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angcurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear guest,
In the name of Mr. Alberto Herrera, Hotel Manager, and the whole team, we thank you for taking the time to post a review about your experience at the IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada for choosing our hotel premises to celebrate your wedding. Once again congratulations for this special step in your lives and we wish you well.
It is an honored to read that our wedding coordinator, Rossina, as well as our excellent services and friendliness of our staff especially Dee Dee, meet all your expectations regarding your wedding celebration and the general stay for you and your husband as we aim in IBEROSTAR Hotels and Resorts.
We will be honored to welcome you back and remain at your entire disposition for any assistance before your next visit.
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The Iberostar Costa Dorada was what my wife and I expected...nice hotel, good service and decent food and entertainment. It's not a 5* hotel but its a solid 3-4*. Relaxing atmosphere and good service is the main theme of this hotel. It was just what we wanted for a short getaway stay of 5 days.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
2 Thank Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear guest,
On behalf of Mr. Alberto Herrera, hotel Manager, we thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada once again as your holiday’s destination and for posting a review about your recent experience among us.
We are very pleased to acknowledge that our hotel met your expectations and ensured you another memorable holiday as we aim in IBEROSTAR. We appreciate your positive valuation about the excellent service of our staff.
We are waiting for your next visit and remain at your entire disposition for any assistance prior your arrival,
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Plata
1.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
164.6 mi away
Sunscape Bavaro Beach Punta Cana
0.1 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
1.2 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,474 reviews
163.5 mi away
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Costa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Costa Dorada

Property: Iberostar Costa Dorada
Address: Carretera Luperon km 2.5 | Marapica, Costa Dorada, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Costa Dorada 4*
Number of rooms: 516
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada hotel is located in front of the large golden sand beach of Costa Dorada, 10 minutes from the city of Puerto Plata in the Dominican Republic's north coast. This wonderful 5-star All Inclusive resort is a wonderful haven for aquatic sports lovers. Renovated in 2011, the IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada hotel has 498 Double Rooms and 18 spacious Junior Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Costa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Costa Dorado
Iberostar Puerto Plata
Iberostar Costa Dorada Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata
Iberostar Costa Dorada Puerto Plata
Iberostar Hotel Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada Hotel
Costa Dorado
Puerto Plata Iberostar
Iberostar Hotel Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing