We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had a great time on our vacation we highly recommend it to other people. The food was great the people were great the location was fine. The staff was very friendly and helpful there was a lot of them and that made our vacation worthwhile

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
Thank marekowca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear guest,
First at all, we thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada for your holidays and for taking time to write a positive review about your stay among us.
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Alberto Herrera, we would like to express our satisfaction to read that you had a great time on vacation at our premises that make you feel to recommend us to your friends and relatives. In IBEROSTAR we want to ensure a memorable holiday to our beloved guests.
We are waiting for your next visit and please do not hesitate to contact us prior your arrival.
With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,708 - 2,714 of 7,393 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

my granddaughter was married here on April 25 and everything was perfect - set up in gazebo, flowers, cake, service, etc. Could not have asked for more. The whole affair was so professional and so well done. Music was great and the dinner after in the Brazilian dining room was wonderful - we were a relatively small group of about 17 but were treated like royalty.
Those of us who stayed at this hotel thought the hotel itself, the grounds, staff, food, etc were all great and we had no complaints at all.

Room Tip: we were in bldg. 8, ground floor, pool facing and it was great - close to everything and we did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear guest,
First at all, we would like to thank you for taking time to post a review about your stay among us to attend your granddaughter´s wedding.
In the name of Mr. Alberto Herrera, Hotel Manager, we would like to express you how satisfied we are to read that you and your family enjoyed from a great vacation. In IBEROSTAR we aim to ensure memorable experiences to our valuable costumers. We appreciate your positive valuation about the beauty of our premises, our varied gastronomy and the excellent service of our friendly staff.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again. Please do not hesitate to contact us before your next visit.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

recently returned from our trip to Iberostar and have to say we had an amazing time. On arrival our room view wasnt great but they immediately changed this for a 2nd floor room overlooking the pool. The hotel was immaculately kept and there was always someone doing something to keep it that was. Whether it be the cleaners, the gardners the repair men they all worked morning and night to keep the place looking perfect.

The food was right up my street. A big selection of fish and meat every night. The Dominican night is great with lobster and roast pig. Breakfast is great and the chef made my bespoke omelette every morning as i got in line. All food was very good, the restaurants were a nice treat as well. Where they all carte? no...but they were very very nice and food was always good. Champagne on tap to.

The entertainment team are great. Popeye should be on the TV presenting Domincans got talent lol. All were very good but a big shout out to Hula Hula and Chocolate they both went the extra mile and made our stay even better. Games of a day re good although i couldnt get the hang of the archery but a few medals still came back to the UK. Along with the title of Mr Iberostar haha =0s For a canadian to say ''the best Celine Dion'' is a compliment.

Would definitely return and highly recommend. great time!!!


Only complaint would be the demand for money outside the complex. The staff internally are great and never expect it but you still tip. As soon as you leave its constant ''make you feel guilty'' for a tip. We spent $700 on trips and on every single one you got the guilt trip of if you would like to tip our service on the bus feel free, if you want to tip the service on the boat thats separate so do that at the end. Kind of ruined some of it. I dont mind tipping but id rather throw it to the kids in the street than tip a guy for driving a bus, cooking the BBQ, talking on the mic etc... although we did throw a few dollars at a sad looking kid only for him to pull out a big wod of dollars and put it in ha-ha good lad for trying.

So tip the hotel staff but dont be ''guilted'' in to tipping everyone just for breathing.

Room Tip: Get a pool view, take mosquito spray and also buy ''OFF'' on your first day and use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JohnEyersx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear guest,
In the name of the hotel Manager, Mr. Alberto Herrera, we thank you for writing about your experience at our premises and for choosing IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada for your holidays.
Thank you very much for highlighted out the excellent service provided by our friendly staff and the wide options for daily and our exquisite gastronomy. In IBEROSTAR we want our beloved guests to “enjoy being a Star” as Popeye, Hulu, Hulu and Chocolate made you feel with their service and for which we have congratulated them.
We will be happy to welcome you back, please feel free to contact us before your arrival.
With kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This is a really nice all-inclusive resort with very good amenities. It consists of nine interconnected three-stories high blocks/buildings (please note there are no elevators in case you require one). Pool-facing rooms are noisier than those facing the forest (if want a quite room, you don't want to face the pool or the other resort - you want to face the forest), but the noise from the pool dies down around 6 p.m. The resort has one main restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and another one that serves food/snacks throughout the day. There are three more restaurants open for dinner, but they all require reservations (seven day stay guarantees three reservations). Personally, we liked the International and the Mexican restaurants more than the Brazilian as we thought it was a rather poorly executed imitation of the rodizio we are used to and the meat was severely overcooked. Overall service was very good!

The only thing we would like to see change are the rooms that are in dire need of a major update. However, we heard that the resort began to renovate the rooms. I guess we just did not get lucky with our room. Other than that, it is a really nice resort and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philonous_XXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear guest,
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Pedro Morales, we thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada as your all-inclusive experience and for posting a review about your experience with us.
We are very pleased to acknowledge that your holidays among us were memorable due to the beauty of our hotel premises, the variety of our gastronomy and the excellent service provided by our friendly staff. In IBEROSTAR we aim to ensure our guests to “enjoy being a Star” during vacations.
We will be happy to welcome you back; please do not hesitate to contact us to help you enjoy your next stay with us.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed May-2-14 for 7 nights. Check in fast and friendly. We were in block 7 top floor poolside. Great location, close to beach and lobby. The resort is not huge so any building is not a far walk to lobby or beach.
The room was a little dated, not a big deal, cleaned very good by the housekeeping staff, and the bed was comfortable. Shower had hot water at all times!! Water presser not strong though.
The grounds are very well kept. They are always being cleaning and groomed. The washrooms on the resort are well stocked and kept very clean.
The food was very good! We had the buffet most times which has a lot of choices. For dinner the Mexican al a cart was delicious!! We ate there twice. The drinks were also very good.
The shows at night were good! Dances on Latin night were especially good thou the dancers were very good at all shows. The entire entertainment crew are good and very hard working.
Vacationers need to know that on the Dominican weekends, Sat-Mon the hotel has the locals come in for their relaxation as well. It can get very busy at the resort as a result. N/P for us.
We enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate coming back here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are close to everything. Pool side more noisy than garden side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karen2967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review about your stay at the IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada Hotel, and for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
In the name of Mr. Alberto Herrera, Hotel Manager, we want to express how glad we are to know that you had a memorable holiday due to the friendliness of our staff members, the beautiful premises, and our exquisite gastronomy. In IBEROSTAR we want our beloved guests to “enjoy being a star” during holidays.
We welcome your suggestions. Your lines have been delivered to the corresponding departmental heads to deliver the level of service expected by our valuable costumers.
We kindly invite you to give us a new visit; please do not hesitate to contact us before your arrival.
Yours Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

When we arrived we were a little concerned as it was so close to the highway.. plenty of security. once we entered the compound it was a beautiful site.everything tied into one.. a huge complex. once we figured out that all of the villas connected the commute was easy.Our Housekeeper Glady was amazing kind courteous but not of the pretentious kind truly honest..the Enterainment staff was insanely accommodating and genuinely kind..every night we all gathered for some fun.. the shows were OK don't expect broadway quality but enough to entertain and the guest were equally fun to be with..it just shows you people true colours when a couple of canadians lost their passports.. they gathered to help out. truly impressive. from the bartenders to the chefs as a person with food allergies I was accommodated better than some food establishments here in canada...no request was denied.. I did find that the more you tipped (even though it is an all inclusive I took plenty of one's with me.) the better service.. our tables for breakfast and dinner were always ready for us at each sitting whether a la carte or buffet.. the FOOD was incredible..from Beef tenderloin to seafood never a shortage and truly in abundance.. food was available 24/7 so if you went hungry it was your fault.. ..A special Shout out to Medina, Pinky Chocolata Wulu Hulu Jose Glady these people knew our names after the first day.. and to all the staff never a disgruntle employee... THANK YOU IBEROSTAR!!

Room Tip: the lower the number the closer to the beach... villas by the beach are close to the other resorts s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada for your vacations and for taking time to post a review about your experience among us.
In the name of Mr. Alberto Herrera, hotel Manager, we appreciate your positive valuation about our varied gastronomy, the excellent service provided by our staff members (especially by Gladys, Medina, Pinky, Chocolate, Hulu Hulu, Jose and Gladys) and the beauty of our hotel grounds. Those are part of our guiding principles in IBEROSTAR Hotel and Resorts to ensure memorable experiences to our “Stars” on vacation.
We are looking forward to welcome you back and celebrate together your first wedding anniversary. Please feel free to contact us before your arrival.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I just returned tonight from the Iberostar where my husband and I celebrated our 25th anniversary. I had last been to the resort in 2010 and found some things are lacking compared to that time. I am aware of the downturn in tourism in Puerto Plata and it is clear that it has affected the quality and upkeep of the resorts. First, the good things! I had emailed prior letting them know we were returning guests and that it was a special occasion for us and there was lovely towel art, a welcome gift and later on a bucket of champagne delivered to our room! A lovely treat. We were welcomed with a quick check in, efficient luggage delivery and drive to our room. I should have asked for a room not overlooking the pool as we like to sleep in, and it was very noisy starting at 9 am each day. The rooms are showing wear and tear but understandably the money is not there to renovate all at once. The main areas are beautiful, gorgeous reception area, lots of room to sit, good bar in lobby, beautiful courtyard, flamingos, lovely pool area. I could see a difference in level of staff as cups would be left around the pool for hours- I do wish guests would be more polite and take them to the provided receptacles. The pool is huge and never felt crowded. There is always somewhere to find shade while in the water. The white plastic chairs around the pool were easy to come by in the sun, not always easy to find in the shade. The mattresses softened them but my favourite chairs were the yellow ones nearer the beach under palapas. These could also be found on the beach. The swimming area is adequate, but after rain there is much debris in the water. We divided our time between the pool and the beach and enjoyed both. Back to the rooms, our king size bed was extremely comfortable, room was a good size and patio had a table and two comfortable chairs. Our room also had a sofa and chair. The mini bar was stocked every other day and I would leave a note requesting certain things with a tip and we always got what was requested. Maid service was very good. Towels very plush, facecloths (not always found in DR). Air conditioning was pretty good, one day seemed not to be working well. We did have an issue with plugs when we arrived...many things are wired directly into the outlets and there was not a plug for my husband's CPAP machine near the bed. It took some time and convincing to guest services that we must have an extension cord and finally received it...although the guest services person was less than friendly. Food was pretty good, not as good as years past, but my favourites were the roast chicken at the beach restaurant, chicken and fish at the buffet, fresh fruit, great breads. We went to two of the A La Carte restaurants, the International and the Brazilian. We really enjoyed the meats at the Brazilian. International was just OK. The animation team works very hard to get people involved and there are many activities going on....can't say I was a fan of the bikini contest...very sexualized and there were quite a few kids around watching. But that, too, is part of the culture as I have learned in my 20+ visits to this beautiful country. Some staff members were much more friendly than others, but in general helpful. For the money we spent for a week, it was more than worth it. I don't know how they can provide all they can for that little money. I have stayed at over 10 different resorts in the area and Iberostar is probably the best. It is my hope for the people of the city that tourism once again picks up in this area. Check out was a bit of a mess...I checked out an hour early to avoid the rush, but was told to come back 5 minutes before the bus came to get my ticket proving that we had paid up our account. Well at 10 minutes before the line was crazy, so there I was waiting for my ticket. Other people were still trying to get their tickets when the bus was arriving. Things don't always make sense. Oh yes, purchased the wifi for our ipad for the week $35 which I didn't mind. I could use it all around the pool, in my room and almost out to the beach. Also paid $2 for the safe and when I messed up my combination, had a very friendly technician come and help me out. TV stations were limited but, hey, you are on vacation! We did get to watch some of the NBA playoffs. Hot water was always available, only lost power for a flicker or two, and the only rain we had was the day we are leaving. If you are used to 5* in Mexico or Punta Cana you may be disappointed, but remember what you are paying and that Puerto Plata is a city with history, not a newly developed resort town. Take the time to go into town and meet see the real Dominican Republic. Be prepared to serve yourself drinks at the buffet when it is busy, sometimes tables are not set and you have to scrounge around for cutlery...that type of thing. These are the reasons I can`t give it a 5*.

Room Tip: Depending on your mobility, choose a block of rooms closer to buffet/reception, or closer to the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DRWANNABE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest,
We want to thank you for posting your comment on Tripadvisor about your experience at the IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada and for choosing our hotel for you holidays on 2010 and now.
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Alberto Herrera, we want to express our satisfaction to acknowledge that your general positive valuation about your experience four years ago and appreciate your lines referring our value for money. In IBEROSTAR we aim to ensure to our beloved guests a memorable stay. We apologize for any and all inconveniences that you might have encountered and have taken good notes to evaluate our performance nowadays.
We kindly invite you to visit our premises and update your feedback; please do not hesitate to contact us before your arrival.
With kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.9 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#4 of 40 in Puerto Plata
1,130 reviews
1.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
1.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,927 reviews
1.2 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,553 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#7 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Costa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Costa Dorada

Address: Carretera Luperon km 2.5 | Marapica, Costa Dorada, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: £104 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Costa Dorada 4*
Number of rooms: 516
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada hotel is located in front of the large golden sand beach of Costa Dorada, 10 minutes from the city of Puerto Plata in the Dominican Republic's north coast. This wonderful 5-star All Inclusive resort is a wonderful haven for aquatic sports lovers. Renovated in 2011, the IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada hotel has The IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada hotel is located in front of the large golden sand beach of Costa Dorada, 10 minutes from the city of Puerto Plata in the Dominican Republic's north coast. This wonderful 5-star All Inclusive resort is a wonderful haven for aquatic sports lovers. Renovated in 2011, the IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada hotel has 516 rooms498 Double Rooms , 18 spacious Junior Suites ,4 handicap, 10 interconnecting, 27 superiors and 45 ocean view. The colonial-style complex and common areas are surrounded by huge tropical gardens. An attentive multilingual staff helps to make this a perfect vacation experience on the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Iberostar Costa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Costa Dorado
Iberostar Puerto Plata
Iberostar Costa Dorada Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata
Iberostar Costa Dorada Puerto Plata
Iberostar Hotel Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada Hotel
Costa Dorado
Puerto Plata Iberostar
Iberostar Hotel Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing