We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third visit, disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Booked to celebrate our 31st anniversary but have to say we were a bit disappointed. Having visited on 2 previous occasions and had great times we found that the overall quality has dropped, in particular quality of drinks was poor and the practice of allowing day visitors at the weekend changed the atmosphere from quiet and relaxed to chaotic and noisy. On the plus side the grounds, facilities and staff were excellent just as we remembered. Sad to say but we will not be returning

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com
3  Thank Martin Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear guest,
On behalf of the hotel Manager, Mr. Alberto Herrera, we thank you for choosing IBEROSTA Costa Dorada for your holidays, and for taking time to post a review about your experience among us on Tripadvisor.
We want to express you that we appreciate your positive valuation about the beauty of our hotel premises, our facilities and friendly staff. In IBEROSTAR one of our guiding principles is to upkeep our grounds.
We would like to clarify though that our rates and promotions does not discriminate our valuable costumers based on any particular nationality. Our official website is open to be consulted by any person with access to Internet as well as the multiples online travel agencies and websites offering promotions and last minutes offers during any period of the year which do not aim a particular discrimination based on nationality. We regret to read that you might have a different idea. We always advise our customers to evaluate the multiple options to profit from the best promotion.
In case you decide to visit our hotel once again, please do not hesitate to contact us in advanced for further assistance.
Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,578 - 2,584 of 7,345 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

just home after 2 weeks at this hotel .Could only be a 4 star at a stretch
Hotel fine Monday through Thursday lunchtime until hotel is thrown open to locals who seem to have been given a really cheap 2 night deal
The hotel becomes unbearable I will say no more there are plenty of reviews giving explanations
all i will say is book trips for weekend to get out of hotel ,and good luck getting a table / food on a weekend
Nice hotel but will never return

Room Tip: only place with a/c your own hotel room public toilets and night club
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank forster159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear guest,
We thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada for your vacation and for posting a review about your experience at our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We would like to express you how much we regret to read that, our excellent service could not meet your expectations nor ensured you a pleasant holiday as hundreds of satisfied clients do every day whilst visiting our hotel. In IBEROSTAR our excellent service is one of the keys of our success in our more than one hundred hotels worldwide. We regret to read that you left our premises with another idea in your mind. We would like to clarify that in IBEROSTAR Hotels and Resorts we work to ensure unforgettable experiences to our valuable costumers without any discrimination based on nationalities.
We kindly invite you to contact us before your next visit; it will be a pleasure to welcome you back.
With best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

After our 10th visit to this hotel I can honestly say I will be back!! Since our first visit in 2004 there has been a lot of chances, most of them for the better. A few of the original staff are still there but all of them new and old are the friendliest most helpful bunch of people you can hope to come across. The food is always exelant but we still manage to find something we haven't had before. The hotel and grounds are immaculate with everyone working hard to keep it that way. A big thank you to all the staff for looking after rob and I in May.Mary and Francisco in reception to Edwin ,William ,Jose ,filipe and eddy in the lobby bar Juan at the beach bar cesarean in the Buffett restaurant the handsome mario and rossina at guest services and everyone else who make our holiday so special every time we go.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank okygk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada and also for your loyalty when choosing our hotel for your vacations since 2004.
In IBEROSTAR our staff, our gastronomy and our grounds aims to guarantee memorable stay to our beloved “Stars”. We are very pleased and honored to acknowledge that we could accomplish our goal as you still have such as beautiful memories after 10 years. We have congratulated those that you have mentioned on your review for helping us to accomplish our goal during your visit.
We are looking forward to welcome you back; please do not forget to contact us before your arrival.
With regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We traveled with our 19 and 17 year old kids. We had a great time all around. Tekila and Deedee at animation were exceptional. Night shows were great also. Rooms are a little outdated with a few issues. Service and a la carte restaurant was also top quality.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com
4  Thank Richard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear guests,
We would like to thank you for having chosen IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada for your family vacation and for taking time to share your experience with us through Tripadvisor.
We would like to express how glad we are to read that you and your entire family enjoyed your vacations due to the friendliness of our Star Friends staff especially Tekila and Deedee, who worked to make you feel as “Stars” as we aim in IBEROSTAR Hotels and Resorts.
We are looking forward to welcome you back; please feel free to contact us before your return.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Don't go and expect luxury, five star resort. Rather expect two stars maybe three. Locals ruined this resort for me. It was getting very ghetto towards the end of this vacay I was glad we were leaving. Lack of service, food was just ok and the drinks were a joke. I think every bottle of liquor in the place was watered down.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com
7  Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear guest,
In the name of Mr. Alberto Herrera, Hotel Manager, we thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at the IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada and also for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
We want to express you how much we regret to read that our hotel premises, services and exquisite gastronomy could not meet your expectations in a positive way as we aim in IBEROSTAR Hotels and Resorts. We want our valuable costumers to “enjoy being a Star” without discrimination based on nationalities. We have shared your concerns with the corresponding departmental heads so we can double our effort to keep harmony between all our valuable guests.
We will be pleased to welcome you once again and remain at your entire disposition for any assistance prior your return.
With kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

First of all, let me say that we have stayed at approximately a dozen all inclusives all throughout the Caribbean. We think we have a pretty good feel for what is reasonable to expect.

FRONT DESK

Check in was smooth and effortless. Rooms are not ready until 3 PM which is very common. Just get your wristband and go get some lunch and beverages.

ROOMS

Room seemed very small at first but turned out Ok. We were in building # 1 which is very quiet and real close to the pool and beach. There was no bed for our 9 year old when we got there but it was fixed immediately. Air conditioning worked great and tons of hot water and good water pressure. Housekeeping did a wonderful job making up the room each day. Safes are free.

FOOD

The service in the main buffet is the BEST we have experienced anywhere. At a lot of all inclusives, the service is minimal at best. A special thank you to Joel and Frank who work both breakfast and dinner. For the most part, the food was good with the usual omelette and pasta stations a good fall back option when nothing else seems appealing. A decent variety !! The snack bar is convenient for lunch with burgers, pasta, and several other hot dishes. Ice cream machine is great but was out of service a lot. Rodizio restaurant very good for dinner and we ate there twice. Reservations were easy to obtain at the guest services desk. Mexican restaurant just OK and didn't try the seafood one.

BARS

The best service at the bars were in the lobby during the day. Female bartender there was very nice. Unfortunately I can't remember her name. Julian at the theatre bar was terrific and he made a point of being very accommodating to our 9 year old !! Thanks Julian. Service at the bar in the snack bar also very good. The swim up bar was the worst service ever. The attitude of all the guys that work there was cold at best. They quite often just leave and are constantly out of things. Very reluctant to make anything special. Tipping does not help at all.

POOL

The pool physically is a good size with volleyball nets, basketball hoops, etc. to play games. Entertainment staff work very hard to provide activities. " let's kill Madonna " with water balloons was hysterical !! Plenty of loungers available most of the time.
Unfortunately, WHATEVER MANAGER/MANAGERS RESPONSIBLE FOR THIS AREA NEED TO BE REASSIGNED. I've already mentioned the poor service at the bars but the problems go way beyond that. Housekeeping in this area is pathetic. Cups are very rarely picked up and guests constantly bring food out of the snack bar and sit on the edge of the pool eating. Plates are then just discarded and sit there for hours .Also, glassware is brought from the main bar to this area. Do you have any idea what a disaster it is if glass is broken and goes into the pool ? I agree that this is mostly a problem with the guests but there are posted policies that need to be enforced !!. We were told that the pool manger was in the hospital and that caused all the problems. Sorry, don't buy that explanation !! Pool became increasingly dirtier as the week progressed and was a total disaster after a busy weekend. Cups in the pool and who knows what else. This is the main activity center for most of the day so why no supervision ?? Quite often, plates were still sitting around the pool the next morning !

BEACH

Beach is kept nice and clean and plenty of chairs etc. Seaweed is a Mother Nature thing so don't complain about it being there !! Staff did a nice job of trying to stay on top of it. Vendors mostly good a taking no for an answer. They really only hang out near the water and don't come around the chairs much at all.

ENTERTAINMENT

Unbelievably hard working staff. They really try hard and the shows are mostly pretty entertaining. Lion King was well done and Michael Jackson always a hit. The little games before the big show can be fun so go participate !! Kids show at 8 was very cute and the kids loved rehearsing for it during the day either at the Kids club or theatre.

SHOPPING

Don't go to the Dominican Market that is a short walk up the beach. Sellers extremely aggressive and the prices are high. Some negotiating on prices works but generally not worth the walk. Actually really scared our 9 year old as they follow you everywhere. Downtown is the same. I know people need to try and make a living but the extreme aggressiveness works against them in my opinion. There are some shops next door at the Be Live Resort with better variety. By the way, the Casino and Disco there are closed.

LOCALS

This is a horrible situation as has been mentioned by many people. I have no problem with the Iberostar wanting the business but Wow !! I have never seen so many outwardly rude, loud, and obnoxious people. Kids screaming as loud as possible, people actually standing on the bar, food and drinks being dumped into the pool. I have been in many crowded facilities before but a sense of human decency and respect for others is completely absent here. TAKE YOUR EXCURSIONS ON SATURDAY AND SUNDAY. All rules and policies suspended on the weekends.

In closing, although we mostly enjoyed the resort, we would not return !!!

Room Tip: Buildings near the lobby can be loud with nightly shows if you retire early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mick1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada for you holidays and for taking the time to post your comments about your experience at our premises.
In the name of Mr. Alberto Herrera, our Hotel Manager, we would like to express our satisfaction to read you positive lines about our exquisite gastronomy and the friendliness and excellent service of our staff members in the different areas of the hotel, especially Joel, Frank and Julian. All those aspects are part of our guiding principles in IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts so we can achieve our goal: to ensure our valuable guests “enjoy being a Star”. We extend our apologies for all and any inconveniences related to the breakdown on our service on the pool area while you were on our premises. We would like to clarify though that it is not a true depiction of our standards. Likewise, we welcome your suggestions and have shared your feedback with the corresponding departmental heads in order to improve our services especially during the weekends.
We are looking forward to welcome you back and remain at your entire disposition for any assistance prior your return.
With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Nice hotel Monday to Thursday but very under staffed on a weekend when all the locals come and stay. We both had stomach upsets while there and so did many other guests after speaking to them. Pool areas were dirty and pool always had scum floating on the top. Entertainment staff were good. Food was just ok, not a great choice. We would not return

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear guest,
In the name of Mr. Alberto Herrera, hotel Manager, we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays and for posting a review about your experience at IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada.
We regret to know that your holidays were not pleasant enough as we aim in IBEROSTAR Hotels and Resorts. We have shared your suggestions and concerns with the corresponding departmental heads so we can evaluate our performance and improve our standards to the level expected by our valuable costumers.
We kindly invite you to give us a new opportunity to welcome you, and show you our improvements. Please contact us before your arrival to help you to enjoy your next visit.
With kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Plata
1.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
1.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
0.1 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,520 reviews
35.6 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
151.8 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Costa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Costa Dorada

Address: Carretera Luperon km 2.5 | Marapica, Costa Dorada, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: £105 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Costa Dorada 4*
Number of rooms: 516
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada hotel is located in front of the large golden sand beach of Costa Dorada, 10 minutes from the city of Puerto Plata in the Dominican Republic's north coast. This wonderful 5-star All Inclusive resort is a wonderful haven for aquatic sports lovers. Renovated in 2011, the IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada hotel has 498 Double Rooms and 18 spacious Junior Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iberostar Costa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Costa Dorado
Iberostar Puerto Plata
Iberostar Costa Dorada Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata
Iberostar Costa Dorada Puerto Plata
Iberostar Hotel Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada Hotel
Costa Dorado
Puerto Plata Iberostar
Iberostar Hotel Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing