We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Costa Dorada
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Be Live Collection Marien(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$156
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Blue JackTar(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$303
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$237
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$131
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
ClubHotel Riu Merengue(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$113
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (7,767)
Filter reviews
7,767 results
Traveller rating
4,626
2,075
725
220
121
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,626
2,075
725
220
121
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar friendsthe lion kingpepsi colaorchid gardenlobby barpaellamain buffetbrazilian restaurantjustin bieberentertainment teamdominican republiclobstera la carte restaurantsemailed the hotelkids clubtwo weeksparadise island
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,840 - 4,845 of 7,767 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2009

I stayed at this hotel from 8th August until the 22nd August.
when we arrived we were greeted with a fruit cocktail slush, appreciated due to the heat. the check in was smooth, we were told one of our rooms wasnt ready but would be in about 20 minutes.
we went to our room and it was lovely, 9011. our second room was 9012 which was interconnecting. ours a double had a bed which a family of 6 could have slept in and our daughters was two singles. They were clean, tidy and big enough for our bed a table and chair, sofa, dressing table, drawers and a built in wardrobe. there was a fully stocked fridge, hairdryer, iron and ironing board and all the usual toiletries.
a towel swan with flowers was on the bed, this was replaced each day with elephants, snakes and numerous other animals.
The mercado buffet restaurant had a wide range of food, breakast had cereals, breads, cheese, fruit, salad, bacon, sausage, waffles, pancakes, etc. also the banana smoothie was delicious.
Lunch at both the mercado and pool bar was good, pizzas, pasta, chips, burgers, chicken, salad.
Dinner again at the mercado a full buffet, with a roast everyday, fish, soup, pizza etc again and also a dominican section. who knew bananas wrapped in bacon would be delicious?
There are 3 speciality restaurants. the pool one we didnt eat in as we are not keen on fish, but the menu did look nice. the mexican we ate at once, which to be honest was more than enough. Mexican food is a family favourite and we all were disappointed. we would have liked it more if it was a bit more spicy, it was a bit bland, but maybe that is what traditional mexican is like. the service was also the worst we received in the entire fortnight. the brazilian was amazing, 7 different meats are brought around each on a huge skewer, these are placed on your plate which already has on a jacket potato, corn on the cob and vegetables. One word of advice, do not have too much for a starter as you will need to be rolled out of the restaurant. The service both times we were there was excellent. men do have to smarten up for these 3 restaurants, either long trousers or long smart shorts need to be worn. my husband forgot and was turned away, very funny.
The pool is huge with sections for volleyball, basketball and water polo. There is the jacuzzi in the centre, which does feel cooler than the rest of the pool. There was a man cleaning the pool constantly when we were there. There was the usual reserving of the sunbeds but there were plenty, especially if like us you didnt mind where you sat.
the beach was lovely, yes there was seaweed, but guess what its the sea. the sand is blistering hot and the breeze fools you into thinking you arent getting burned. The kids loved the kayaking, you can use the catamarans but need to have an hours training before you do. this costs $40 each.
The entertainment, erm!!!, ok its not broadway or the west end but if you observe it with an attitude of im on holiday and i dont really care, its fine.
the stargang work their little socks off, from first thing in the morning to the entertainment at night, they even give themselves nicknames to try and make themselves sound more interesting, hollywood, mickey mouse and shakalaka to name a few.
we did two excursions, 1, the dunebuggies which was fantastic and mucky. then the first choice dominican night which was also good with a tour of puerta plata and a meal in a restaurant.
As this is there low season, they seemed to be updating the decor. there were painters in and landscape gardeners all over, but they didnt get in your way.
overall this is a great hotel and i would recommend this to anyone, whether you want an active holiday or a chill out holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gamelsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

I have been in many all inclusives, this one is not one of my favorites. The food was great, the beach beautiful, but the hotel itself needed to be updated (pool, grounds, rooms). I guess if you don't mind an older hotel structure, then it would be fine. However, I have to say that the entertainment at night was really poor and of bad taste.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank micito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Have just returned from Iberostar Costa Dorada, after a two week stay with family and family friends, the group included both young children and teenagers and was enjoyed by all.
Ichecked trip advisor before we left and though the majority of the reviews recommended the hotel there were a few that suggested it wasnt as good as they had hoped, however any worries I did have were unfounded and the resort really did live up to its 5* standard.
The hotel is right on the beach with plenty of sun loungers and shade, the hotel pool is reasonably sized and very nice, we just preferred the beach as there was more of a breeze which definatly helped as it was so hot!

I read a couple of reviews saying that the dress code was ignored, however I did not see this at all, men are required to wear long shorts and smart shoes in the evening to the main restraunt and long trousers and shirts to the speciality restaurants and everyone followed this.
The food is brilliant, there is plenty of choice and the buffet restraunt does themed sections every night, so plenty of variety. The speciality restraunts are also very good, we werent that bothered by the brazillian one but the mexican and seafood ones were good.
The service is also really good, all the waiters and waitresses are polite and very friendly constantly refilling your glasses and made us all feel very welcome during our stay.

The hotel entertainment team offer lots of activities during the day including pool games, volley ball, aerobics etc and encourage you to get involved but you are not forced to! In the evening there is a kids show before the main show, and the main shows are really good, would definalty recommend seeing the Lion King, the team work really hard there and although not all the shows are amazing a lot of effort goes into each one and they try to cater for everyone. They also have bands playing in the evening which is really nice when you are sitting outisde having drinks.
There is a kids club at the hotel and one of the children we were with went to that and made lots of friends, there were lots of activities for the children and they were involved in their own show before the main evening entertainment.

Whilts we were there we went on two trips; Mega Trucks and Paradise Island. Mega Trucks was a briliant day out, the horseridng made it and you dont need to be experienced to do it. Paradise island was also really good the only annoying thing about it is the hour and a half drive there, but the snorkelling and speed boat were brilliant and worth it!

I would recommend this to everyone, really enjoyed it the only thing I would say is LOCK YOUR SUITCASE, when unpacking our luggage on our return we have found that it has been tampered with and perfume and aftershave which we had bought on our way out in dutyfree is missing(we had to put this is our main luggage as NO liquids can be put in hand luggage on the way home), obviously this is nothing to do with hotel but the airport.

All in all we had a brilliant hoilday, we have been to a 5* resort in Cuba a couple of years ago and this is on the same level, the food and entertainment in Costa Dorada were better though.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LondonKeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

hi - just got back - myself - and my wife for 5 nights --- ill keep it short an sweet -- ibeostar PUERTA PLATA is an older resort but well kept with an older ambience - i have been to many all inclusive resorts - the food was excellant and varied nightly - the speciality restaurants were very good - DONT BELIEVE ALL THESE REVIEWS SAYINGS DRINKS WERE WATERED DOWN - most of the liquor are not top brands - i wanted to be particlar and i ordered the better brands - they had them - and they were the real stuff - yes if you order the pina coladas and milks shake drinks its hard to get a buzz - drink an real drink a - get buzzzed
the pool was fine - clean - well kept - the beach top rate- yes some seaweed - but its the ocean water otherwise was prestine - bring a fishing rod - i caught a 10lb snook on the beach - - staff treated us very well
i do suggest if you dont go with a family or have kids - you may want to select a couples resort - as there were a lot of kids - but if your a family the people i spoke to were very happy
no complanit on the rooms
entertaiment was typical for an island resort
TOO THE RESORT - GET A WET BAR IN THE POOL - this was my only complaint - they did not have one !

ALL IN ALL A GREAT VALUE FOR $140 A NIGHT FOR 2 PEOPLE
YES IF YOU WANT BETTER FOOD AN ENTERTAIMENT GO THE CLUB MEDS AND COUPLES - BUT PAY 5 TIMES MORE - FOR A $1600 VACATION FOR 5 NIGHTS with air - I HIGHLY RECCOMEND THIS RESORT
those who doe not like this place - are veryyy particular - they should pay the extra $4,500 ?!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wisetravelor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

My family and I booked this resort based on internet pictures and a travel agents recommendation. I read the reviews and thought, "You can't please everyone; enough people had a nice experience." OH BOY what a mistake. I have stayed in other all inclusives but this was the worst!

The hotel was clean and the staff could not do enough for you. We would tip modestly which helped and they were very appreciative. I was impressed with how hard the staff worked and would also smile and greet their guests.

We stayed on in an ocean front room which had only a partial view because it was blocked by the many palm trees, however it was clean, quiet and by far the nicest location in the resort.

The pictures of the pool looked lovely; Wrong!!! The pool was dirty even though we would see the staff cleaning it very eveing. Not only was it cloudy and dirty during the day but the concrete was broken in many places and paint was peeling. Management should really renovate the pool.

Drinks were watered down something aweful. The wine at dinner was just as bad. However the wine was better the meals at dinner. Buffet served the same food for lunch and dinner and there weren't any theme nights. The specialty restaurants were worse then the buuffet. Iberostar should be ashamed!! The food was the worse part of the vacation. my family and I went out to dinner 4 nights out of the week.. We ate in a great restauarant called Taste, a must if you are in Puerto Plata.

We went to Ocean World which was expensive but worth it! We also did a snorkeling trip which we spent almost 4 hours on a dirty bus and two more hours ont he boat communting to the reef. Once we were there we snorkeled for 45 minutes. NOT WORTH IT!!! Inquire about the snorkeling beore you book anything because I was not told that it would be so much traveling on a bus and so little time in the water.

The beach was okay a lot of seaweed and isnce it is on the Atlantic side you do not get the aqua blue water. I guess if you want to stay in DR look into Punt Cana on the carribean side. I hear the Club MEd there is really nice.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SunSeeker0707_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews