We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Excellent holiday"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iberostar Costa Dorada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“"Excellent holiday"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2006

We just got back from this hotel and can honestly say we had a fantastic time. We stayed at an iberostar hotel in Mexico a couple of years ago and loved it, so we knew we were going to like the hotel, and we weren't disappointed. The hotel itself is amazing, with great bars and restaurants and a really cool pool area with plenty of space for everyone without being crowded. The staff are all really friendly and always try to get you involved, and they're always happy even though they seem to work 24 hours a day! We heard some bad things about the beach before we went, but we loved it- it's huge and sandy, and the water is surprisingly warm, especially if you fancy a late night swim! Our room was huge with a super king size bed and it was right on the beach- great for watching the thunderstorms we had on the first couple of nights.
There's loads of choice of food- whether you just want a slice of pizza or a proper local meal, and it's especially good for seafood lovers. You can also get food almost 24 hours a day which comes in handy to soak up the rum after a night in the club, Route 66. The entertainment at nights was pretty good, especially when you get involved. A big thanks to our girlfriends for the night, Gina & Stephanie- we hope we did you proud. And to Lucy and Alan for cheering louder than anyone in the hotel! And although the club doesn't necessarily always play the music you want, it's a good laugh and dark enough so you can make a fool of yourself on the dancefloor without anyone recognising you in the morning!
All in all we had a fantastic stay- we met some fantastic people who really made it extra special- you know who you are! And together with these guys and a beautiful hotel in a fantastic location, this turned out to be a holiday we will never forget and would recommend to anyone who wants to go somewhere, chill out and have a great time.
If you do go, we would recommend stay away from MyTravel flights as they were a total nightmare but hey- you can't have everything!
See you all again soon,
JP & Paul (Manchester)

  • Liked — It's always fun no matter what you're doing or when
  • Disliked — Unflushable toilets and bad AMerican TV stations (not their fault really!)
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't overdo the 151 rum- the more you drink the more you hallucinate- try it though!
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
21 Thank JP&Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,976
    1,821
    613
    192
    99
See reviews for
2,172
2,632
146
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2006

Stayed here last year, never been all inclusive before so unsure what to expect, what a brilliant surprise! We absolutly loved every single second of it. Honestly, best holiday we have ever had and have had a lot. Would highly reccomend this hotel and resort. We have booked to go back for 3 weeks in May 07. think the best things were the staff, nothing too much trouble, bar, serve all the international brands not local fire water and food was brill. We have been on a multitude of holidays from Europe, Far East, etc etc, but this is the one for us.

  • Liked — Everything you could possibly want on tap
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Take your own hairdryer
  • Stayed May 2005, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank neiceysboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2006

My husband and I spent two fantastic weeks at this hotel from Oct 13th 2006.
You can only sum up this place in one word 'paradise'.
This word sums up blue skies, white sands and clear blue seas and this place has all that.

The staff are wonderful and if you have a problem will deal with it immediately until you are completely satisfied.
The food is just beyond belief so much choice and plenty of it !!

The hotel is spotlessly clean and beautifully maintained by all the hardworking staff. They have to be commended for all the long hours they work and yet they will always have time to smile!!

The whole complex is a mini resort in itself and it can be quite easy to forget where you are so please do make the effort to get out and about. Go and visit the local people take a safari trip around and see the poverty for yourself. Ask to visit a local school and please take pencils, notebooks and colouring books as they just have very little. Just to see children so happy to have their own pencil is just unbelievable and very humbling as ours have so much.
Get reception to book you a taxi to take you on a sightseeing trip so much cheaper than the tour companies!!
We also took a taxi to the cable car and went up the mountain wonderful scenery and well worth the 30 dollar taxi ride (split between 4 it is very little) and ... that is the return fare the driver waits the couple of hours for you !! The cable car ride costs 8 dollars each.
One piece of advice if you intend to use credit cards whilst away realise they add on a 16 per cent tax so it is advisable to take as much currency as you can. Dollars are preferable in most places.
Do remember to tip your maid daily (we put a dollar note in her name card ) and you will get excellent service with mini bar topped up well too!!

Also remember the beach cleaners and groundsmen they do so appreciate it if you sneak a soft drink out of your mini bar to them as they work in the hot sunshine !!
Dont hesitate to go to this hotel it is well worth that little extra cost as it is certainly five star and more but do get out of the complex and see something of this lovely island

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
19 Thank catchwatercarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2006

Just returned from the best holiday we have ever had!! The Iberostar Costa Dorada was far beyond our expectations - I had read all the reviews previous to going but I was still surprised by how great everything was. From arriving to an ice cold drink and getting the bell boys taking the luggage to our rooms to the fabulous pool, bars and total ambience!

We also met some really nice people, especially from Liverpool, I'm the one who never made it to the Brazilian!! Hello!!!

The entertainment team work tirelessly and are always around but not forcing you to take par if you really don't want to - they need 20,000 people!!!

The shows we saw were very professional - my little girls's highlight was taking part in the fashion show!!

I know some people are a bit picky with the food - I usually always have a tummy upset of some kind - but I had no sickness whatsoever!! The food was delicious - plenty of choice - lobster, smoked salmon, caviar, sushi - loads of different types of fish - fantastic!! The BLT's at breakfast were delicious - my 2 little girls had sausage, mash and beans for breakfast - they thought they were in heaven!!

We were part of a group of 45, for my brother-in-laws wedding - what a day!! The whole thing was really fabulous!!

We preferred the pool snack bar at lunchtime - as we usually had our beach wear on - but still the food was fab!!

The drinks and the waiter service was very good - just be careful on who is tipping the waiter - one of our waiters was tipped about £15 on one round - because we were such a large party!!

The only "bad points" ( there were no real bad points - but if I had to find one or two) were the air conditioning in the restaurant - it was roasting - and it would have been nice to have another bar away from the entertainment - i.e the beach bar opening a little later - an not closing at 5ish!!

The rooms were spacious and extremely clean - minibar stocked regularly!

All in all, we had a brilliant time!

We hope you do too!!!

  • Liked — Clean and spacious rooms
  • Disliked — Some rooms overlooking the gardens were a bit dark
  • Tips/Secrets — Take your own hairdryer - but don't take beach towels!
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank nierci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2006

We have just returned from this holiday yesterday, and all have a very bad case of the holiday blues! Myself and my sister visited this exact hotel five years ago and can only say it keeps on improving. The location is fantastic, as is the food, entertainment, customer service, staff, rooms, pool, beach, bars and of course the route 66 night club!!! We were in a young group and would highly recommend it to the same groups of people who dont exactly fancy ibiza! Also, our parents visited five years ago and would also recommend it to 'older couples' as this hotel has something for everyone. We would also like to say we met many fabulous people on this holiday including staff, locals and other holiday makers. A big shout out to JP, Paul, russel and all the wedding party, nikki, pete, team spirit, helen and her husband and glynis and her husband! Finally, were glad to say we are returning back to the island next May and are counting the days!!! Anyone out there continplating this hotel in this location "DO IT" you will NOT regret it. xxx

  • Liked — the hotel set-up
  • Disliked — low electricity supply (although this is no fault of the hotels) just dont take your GHD's!
  • Tips/Secrets — Take fantastic evening wear (if thats the kind of thing you like) as there is always an occasion to get glam.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
15 Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2006

We read the reviews posted on this web site of all the hotels on the island, clearly this was the best so took the plunge! All Inclusive is always a gamble and yes the Dominican Republic is described as a council house island compared with other islands but it's a fraction of the price so we went with the attitude that you get what you pay for....................
We flew with Thomas Cook and upgraded to premium cabin, what a win I recommend it Thomas Cook were fantastic from the flight to the Rep at the resort.....Faultless.......
The hotel was far better than we imagined, yes it is described as being five stars but we paid under two thousand pounds for the whole holiday including an upgrade and hotel before we departed, my personnel view is "cheap as chips".
Some people have ridiculed the pool, yes there are odd twigs and leaves floating around but the staff work tirelessly on the pool, beach and surrounding gardens in soaring heat to keep them looking there best.
The food was fantastic, we were warned that we would at some point come down with stomach problems, I'm glad to say nothing of the sort happened so we gorged ourselves every meal time including one night on Lobster!!
We also have to mention Scooby and the entertainment Staff, the shows are not the west end but again I bring you back to the price, thier enthusiasm to make sure you are entertained and having a good time is second to none, the rest of the staff were lovely and nothing was to much trouble and we forged some great friendships.
Like any resort the shops far too expensive and the disco certainly won't be your local night club!
Our advice is take the resort as you find it, join in where you can be flexible and we guarantee you will have an absolute ball, and like us will not want to leave!
Any questions please email us acmn705@hotmail.co.uk

Tonia & Alan

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — TV Channels
  • Tips/Secrets — Go with an open mind.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
15 Thank Finalleap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2006

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful holiday at this top class hotel and I feel compelled to pass on our experience to anyone who may be considering booking this hotel.
The rooms are fairly standard for the Carribean with 2 good sized beds with firm matresses, and the added bonus of a mini-bar which is re-stocked daily. There is also comprehensive complimentary kit in the bathroom.
The restuarants are of a good standard, and where as with previous holidays when the only decent meals to be had were in the al a carte, of which there are 3 at this site, the main buffet was great. A wide selection to suit all tastes, including veggies. A few nights the was even caviar on offer, ( absolutely disgusting, but it is an indication of the standard) After midnight one of the al a carte restuarants converts to a snack-bar where hot-dogs, burgers etc. are available until 7 in the morning when the main buffet opens for breakfast. So you can eat 24 hours a day if you so wish.
There are 3 bars, the biggest and only one available in the evenings is the reception bar. This has has plenty of seating and is kept spotless by the staff who work tirelessly whilst remaining cheerful and helpful.
The entertainment and activities staff never ceased to amaze with their boundless energy and quality of the nightly shows.
The pool and beach are kept clean with the beach being raked every morning to remove the seaweed that had accumulated over-night, and there are ample beds to accomodate everyone. There are signs everywhere stating that reserving beds is not permitted, but sadly this is not enforced stringently enough because there will always be the "towel brigade" who think that by sticking a towel over 2 beds entitles them to deprive others who get up early enough and should be able to get a bed, but can't, whilst they lie in until mid-day.
The only major criticism is the lack of a swim up bar. This is a must. Wet baters have to go into the poolside restaurant to get a drink, causing a hazard with wet, slippy floor tiles.
This was our 6th holiday to the Carribean and was marginally the best, being pushed close by the hotel Tuxpan in Varadero, Cuba.
To sum up, we had a terrific time and would not hesitate to go back. Have fun!

  • Liked — The staff, the location, the service.
  • Disliked — Too many VERY loud Yanks
  • Stayed October 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
17 Thank longsands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
1.3 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#6 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
1.2 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#3 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,314 reviews
1.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
8.1 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#13 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Costa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Costa Dorada

Property: Iberostar Costa Dorada
Address: Carretera Luperon km 2.5 | Marapica, Costa Dorada, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Costa Dorada 4*
Number of rooms: 516
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada hotel is located in front of the large golden sand beach of Costa Dorada, 10 minutes from the city of Puerto Plata in the Dominican Republic's north coast. This wonderful 5-star All Inclusive resort is a wonderful haven for aquatic sports lovers. Renovated in 2011, the IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada hotel has 498 Double Rooms and 18 spacious Junior Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Iberostar Costa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Costa Dorado
Iberostar Puerto Plata
Iberostar Costa Dorada Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata
Iberostar Costa Dorada Puerto Plata
Iberostar Hotel Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada Hotel
Costa Dorado
Puerto Plata Iberostar
Iberostar Hotel Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing