We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iberostar Quality can't be beat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Iberostar Quality can't be beat!”
Reviewed 31 December 2010

This was our second stay at an Iberostar property (Iberostar Jamaica Beach Resort was first). The quality this hotel chain offers is excellent. Location - long sandy beach, lots of space for walks, excellent snorkeling right off the beach, lots of sun beds and shade for those who need it. Excellent food, buffets large and varied, quality, seafood - lobster, shrimp, scallops, muscles, calamari...the list goes on. Great drinks. Great entertainment staff, motivating but not pushy. 20 years olds in our group loved the disco and night time entertainment - they were not bored despite not having all their constant connections to electrical gadgets - internet was available and good speed for $. The kids actually enjoyed having down time, thought they might get bored, but they didn't want to come home - enjoyed the relaxing pace, sleep, food, fun and more fun... Hotel decorated nicely for the holidays. We were able to get adjoining rooms, one with 2 double beds and one with a king, in 8000 block of rooms, overlooking pool - very nice and centrally located. Maid was amazing, we no sooner put the "make up the room sign" on the door and she was in cleaning up - every day we got a new "towel animal" and room was spotless. We booked our flights/transfers/hotel separately this trip and all went according to plan - excellent service all the way.

Be prepared to enjoy a wonderful vacation. **we also lucked out with 7 days of pure sunshine - a little rain at night, but we were sleeping, so who cares!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank onajourneyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,341
    1,931
    658
    206
    106
See reviews for
2,435
2,790
159
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,281)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2010

Our first trip to D.R. was at this hotel based in trip advisor rating.
Great hotel close to airport on very clean beach. Best food ever. We had lobsters, steaks, tiger shrimps,sushi,etc. All very tastety and delicious. Dress code was in effect at night in restaurants. So bring pants and closed shoe for men.
Pool is huge. Lots of pool side chairs at beach and around pool.
Large rooms and very clean.

Booked the funny bike tour(atv) it was very good.
City tour to puerto plata and sosua was great too. Especially the beach at sosua.
Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kz2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2010

We stayed at the ICD from Dec. 2nd to Dec 9th and had a great vacation. We were repeat visitors so was hoping that it was the same great service as last time, & everything was. The food, staff, service still top notch. Grounds and beach well maintained, we ate in the buffet everyday, except one a' la carte meal which was the "seafood", were we had grilled salmon, a really good meal. Lunch was usually at the beach resturant, and breakfast was always good in the buffet, with Joseph & Yasbel providing excellent service, never forgetting any of your needs. Our room was spotless clean everyday, second floor balcony, facing the pool, with a King size bed, all requests granted. Our only complain was the constant sellers on the edge of the beach property, standing staring at you hoping for a sell, a bit much after awhile. We walked to the orange market, which is fine atleast there you can buy something or walk away, and not have someone staring at you, blocking your beautiful ocean view. Would return to the ICD anytime, mainly because of the great staff, and wonderful food, not one stomach problem while we were there.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Flamingo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2010

I’ve just arrived home from the Costa Dorada. The hotel is fantastic. We had a great time. The hotel is well maintained and our room over looked the pool which was very nice.

It was my 30th Birthday while we were there and the hotel staff went out of there way to look after us. I have a fruit platter, Flower arrangement and a bottle of champagne.

The food is beautiful; all cooking areas are well maintained. The water and ice can be drank. This makes the holiday so comfortable.

The staff are great and very funny, always happy to help.

There are activities around the pool in the day, you can be involved if you wish but also you can keep away from the action. The pool is spotless, the staff get i the pool and clean it day and night.

The shows are put on to a high standard, they can get a bit repetitive but no different than any other hotel I’ve stayed in. So overall good.

There are lots of drinks to chose from. They do offer Bailieys, Smirnoff etc.

Other reviews have mentioned about the locals causing trouble at the weekends. We didn’t encounter any problems as such but it was an overcast weekend so may have put some off. There was plenty of food and drink to go around.


Our rep was called Vicky and she is great, very helpful and always around to chat to.
We went on the Catamaran trip which was very good. The staff were again very funny and it was an enjoyable day.

I would highly recommend this hotel and I would love to have stayed longer.
A+++++++

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drapholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent,UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

Been to hotel before about 4 years ago and found that the hotel, food and staff were as good now as they were then. To summarise;

Hotel - good situation on beach and it has a nice pool. Personally I didn't use it, but ended up beside it after the sun cooled off about 4pm. Quite pleasant to spend another hour there with no wind at all. Rooms spacious and clean, though bathrooms looking just a little bit "tired" (cracked tiles, hairdryer hanging off wall a little bit). Was overall a minor point though

Food- Something for everyone. The main restaurant was superb as was the fish restaurant. The Brazilian was not very relaxing as constantly meat was being brought around to you and what you were given originally was cold if you waited. Mexican food was better in main restaurant than in the Mexican restaurant. It was enjoyable though.

Staff - Very friendly and helpful staff. Animation team and entertainment staff were second to none. They put in very long hours and involved people when they wanted to be involved.

Down side - the hotel apparently has a contract for allowing musicians play in the themed restaurants and is paid by the musicians for this privilege. After 2 weeks you use the themed restaurants 6 times. To get cajoled to stump up cash by having 2 guitars and a singer in your face as you are trying to enjoy a meal is too much. This is in addition to some of the restaurants also having piped music. Impossible to have a conversation!

Trips bought on the beach - again, I believe the hotel has an agreement with some vendors on the beach who sell trips. My experience of the trips was not good - no alarm call as promised in the morning (he forgot as he had a late night!), taxi had to change tyre en route to harbour (OK , can happen) and the propellor fell off boat when 7 miles out to sea and had to be towed back by the smallest boat imaginable! I did get my money back eventually, but I would advise to stay clear as the other trip I booked with them wasn't much better!

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottsHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeast PA
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2010

My husband and I made this trip to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. We were accompanied by 12 family members ranging in age from 2 to 85. This group minus the baby visited the Iberostar Maya Riviera a couple of years ago.

We had an idea what to expect thanks to the reports on TripAdvisor. Granted it is not a 5 star hotel....we did not pay for that level of accomodation. However, we did have a 5 star experience.

For the most part, the service was excellent. There was one gal at the reception desk who could use a little training in customer service, but the others more than made up for her.

The landscaping is lovely, and the facility itself is very nice. We did have a couple of rainy mornings, and it was great to be able to walk to the dining room and lobby under shelter.

The food was plentiful and good. We had all kinds of dietary needs including a child with a severe dairy allergy and another who needed a gluten-free diet as well as Granny who was having dental issues. The kitchen staff went out of their way to help us including making the baby plain rice for breakfast one day. Our waiter, Robert, always had a large table ready for us and knew our various desires for drinks.

Two of our little ones arrived in the Dominican Republic with respiratory problems and ear infections which needed medical treatment. I don't consider myself a medical expert but as a nurse, it was obvious that the doctor on duty at the resort was excellent. She saw the children several times including a middle of the night visit. She actually made phone calls to see if our insurance would pay for this expense. It did not, but when you have a baby screaming in pain, cost is not the main factor.

The hotel sent the sick children flowers and a special fruit tray. They also sent my husband and me wine for our anniversary.

The only complaint that I heard from our group was that one show, The Lion King, started at 9:30 PM which was well past the children's bedtime. There was also a concern that some of the other shows were a little too suggestive for our grown-up children's taste.

This was a wonderful, relaxing vacation. We love Iberostar.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HomerHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2010

Visited the ICD on 16th October for two weeks with my wife (3rd timer with myself), daughter (2nd timer) , my mum & dad and aunty and uncle (all 1st timers) and all seven of us enjoyed every minute.

Set off with Thomas Cook from Manchester airport and had a 3 hour delay which wasn't the best but there is nothing you can do about it and we weren't going to let it spoil our family holiday. Once on the plane the flight was great and even managed to pick up some time on the way to POP.On the bus to resort were again checked in and given our room keys, towel cards etc. I had e-mail the hotel two weeks before we left and asked if we could be in block 5 as it's nice and quiet, plus has a beach view which I thought would be nice for my mum and dad being their first time to the Dom Rep, upon looking at the room numbers allocated they had done exactly as I requested including the inter-joining rooms which I thought was a long shot. Off the bus and greeted with the usual cooling fruit punch cocktail whilst the bell boys did the rest.

Rooms
Not much had changed since last year apart from it looked as though most rooms had got flat screen tv's instead of the CRT's. The maids came daily usually between 10:30-12:00 and always did a decoration with the towels and left chocolates which was a nice touch (well my daughter thought so !!). Had a couple of problems during the stay, first was the AC which was really noisy, reported this on a couple of occasions (first time room number had been written incorrectly which I did see so no lies there from management) and it seemed to get quieter but still louder than the other rooms we had. Second thing happened two nights running which was a power cut in the room at 7:00pm (ish) just as getting ready to go out, good job we could go next door to my parents to use there fully lit room, the handyman turned up both times really quickly (5/10 mins) and was sorted. Fridge was filled up at least every other day which is all we could ask for

Grounds
Beautiful!! The groundsmen were always out tidying up and making sure the gardens were spotless. My parents love their gardening and couldn't believe just how nice they hotel grounds are

Pool
The pool is lovely and big with plenty room for everyone if you either want a quiet swim, float on your li-lo or want to have a bit of fun and splash about. The pool guys were out all time cleaning the edge of the pool and getting rid of any leaves, flowers etc floating in the pool. As many guests have said the pool could do with a bit of a refurbishment but would mean the pool being totally closed off to do this and with this being a 365 resor it would be hard to do that.

Entertainment
The 'Star Friends' were all brilliant from Spiderman (who my 4 year old took a shine to), Duracell, Coffee to all the dancers and band on a night time. My wife, dad, mum and me did the archery with Spiderman on more than a few occasions and got a few winners medals, but my wife to nearly caused us to be over our luggage allowance with all her shooting medals! The guys do try and get people involved but a polite no is all it takes for them to move on to try and get some other guests to take part. One thing if you do go to the ICD make sure you go and watch the Lion King show, the effort put in is superb

Food/Drinks
We ate at the buffet restaurant for 13 out of the 14 night mainly due to not trying to restrict Mia to a set menu, plus on Tuesday after arriving Isidro who is a super waiter was back and he looked after our party each night as he did on our previous visit. The menu in the buffet was varied and there was always something for everyone, well that was the case for us seven anyway. Every night in the buffet restaurant Jose (think he was the assistant manager) came and had a chat to see if we had enjoyed our day and also for a little peck on the cheek from Mia (thinking about it my 4 year old didn't half do some flirting!!) The other night we tried the Mexican again but it just didn't seem as friendly an environment as the buffet. During the day we ate at the restaurant near the pool and again plenty choice even for the picky eaters, again the staff were brilliant, Elizabeth and Reyna were proper stars always chatting to us whilst they got on with their job. The bar staff got to know your orders if you were regular in choice, Kelvin in the theatre bar always had a smile on his face and Elvis at the pool bar was still flinging the beers down the bar, which took some newbies by surprise!!

As repeat guests we were invited to the managers cocktail party and given the usual goody bag (hotel dvd, cigar and post cards) but also on this occasion they did a picture shoot of all the repeat guests and a copy of this was in our room the following day.

We booked the buggy trip at the hotel with the guy who has the stand in front of the shop and was a couple of $$$ cheaper than Thomas Cook, we actually went twice we enjoyed it that much, the faces on people around the pool when you came back caked in mud was a picture.

Plenty of things in the shop especially medical stuff like ear drops, eye drops etc and the usual English papers (at a premium), sweets/crisps and gifts

We would all go back again as the service we received again was A1, I know that there are plenty other hotels in the Dom Rep but it's hard to think you won't be disappointed if we went to another hotel in the area

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheekyRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Plata
1.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
164.6 mi away
Sunscape Bavaro Beach Punta Cana
0.1 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
1.2 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#6 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,473 reviews
163.5 mi away
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Costa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Costa Dorada

Property: Iberostar Costa Dorada
Address: Carretera Luperon km 2.5 | Marapica, Costa Dorada, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Costa Dorada 4*
Number of rooms: 516
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada hotel is located in front of the large golden sand beach of Costa Dorada, 10 minutes from the city of Puerto Plata in the Dominican Republic's north coast. This wonderful 5-star All Inclusive resort is a wonderful haven for aquatic sports lovers. Renovated in 2011, the IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada hotel has 498 Double Rooms and 18 spacious Junior Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Costa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Costa Dorado
Iberostar Puerto Plata
Iberostar Costa Dorada Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata
Iberostar Costa Dorada Puerto Plata
Iberostar Hotel Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada Hotel
Costa Dorado
Puerto Plata Iberostar
Iberostar Hotel Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing