We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Hi

We have just returned from the riu merengue and in my opinion it was by far the best all inclusive i have been on i very often struggle with food but not here i never went hungry and even on the occasion when i was not very hungry i had rolls and banana
I thought the drinks were apt and very enjoyable luv the slushies remember the dont have alcohol you need to ask for that to be put in as they come straight from the machine and the kids get them to it is no problem for the staff to give you what you want always found the bar staff very friendly,
The rooms are a bit musty but once you were in they seemed fine always kept clean by the maids
The check in was the best ever nice and simple no hanging around
you do need to pay 42 dollers for the safe and they have removed the optics from the rooms too (we bit disapointed with that )

The entertainment was good every second night there was a show and we never seen the same show twice over the 2 weeks
there is lots going on through out the day if you like to keep busy darts ,horseshoes, bowls,and pool games,beach games
The locals do come in at the weekend but i think its your luck as to wether they are roudy or not i didnt find them to be a problem but they are quite loud by nature not in anyway aggresive but i can only review what i have experianced

The hotel tries its best to keep it in order and dont give the locals any special treatment

overall i had a most enjoyable holiday spent most of my time at the meregue as it was quieter than the bachata and the mambo is closed but you could use the pool and the bar was open
Hope this is useful any questions

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank mishkaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,280 - 2,286 of 5,428 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2011

This was our 2nd time to the merengue after visiting 2 years ago.once again we had a great holiday but noticed a few changes.firstly you now have to pay for your safe but didn't mind cos usually have to pay everywhere else !! Secondly which also didn't bother us was the removal of optics from the rooms.we only spend a small amount of time in the room for a shower then out to the bar anyway and if you are a really big drinker go to the 24 hr bar at bachata !!! Lastly was the number of locals let in to the hotel over the weekends.as another review said they come in droves and take over pool/poolside.my advice is either to plan your trips over the weekends or use the beach !!! Personally I think the entertainment has improved as they now have professionals doing a lot more of the shows which was good (Michael Jackson show good) overall if you take no notice of the locals this is a great value for money holiday with decent food/drink,good day/evening entertainment,very clean and friendly staff !!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank smurfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

i don't think the hotel should let people book out on a weekend as the locals really do come in there droves and it is a bit like locusts at mealtimes which does seem to cloud your view of the holiday the rep said the locals are not rude its just there way well if being rude is there way then yes i totally agree with her they do take over the poolside admittedly but there is 2 other pools and a spacious beach i don't think it helped having the mambo shut down as i feel this would have taken up the slack a bit. on the whole though this is the second year we have been and we plan to go back there next year. the staff are lovely especially Lydia in the dining area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank widgetchessington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We were given a warm welcome every member of staff very friendly 24hours a day. Clean and tidy some of bedroom furniture broken but always clean and tidy. Due to the position of the hotel it is very much hotel based with only the beach to stroll along.
Food was on the whole great but the meals at weekends were just like the school playground. The hotel is open for locals to come to for very little money and there was hundreds over both weekends that took over all the pools and dinning room piling their plates with food then chucking most of it on the floor or away. It changed the atmosphere completely and most of your meal got cold by all the queing we had to do.
The pools were over crowded with no space between the beds. thank god for the mambo which is closed as we used their pool. Great staff nice hotel but spoilt by the weekends.
ocean world was ok but not much to do if your not doing a swim with the dolphins or seals, shows good and you must go in with the lovebirds, but dont try to take a photo as they get really angry as they will do the photos for you for 15 dollars.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank treeofwhittlesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We went on 21st June for 2 weeks.
Our suitcase got broke on the transfer from the airport to the hotel so it wasn't a great start.
Have to say though Thonny, the First Choice rep, was very helpful with this.
Before we flew I contacted the hotel to see if they could put us close to the beach, and they put us as close as we could possibly get without having to pay for a sea view( which we got anyway).
Check in was smooth but when we got to our room we weren't too impressed with it.
We found it was very dated and the drawers in the room were mostly broken.
But we walked out of our room and onto the beach and soon forgot about that!
The food was good quality, a little bit repetitive after the first week, but no more than other all inclusive hotels.
You can book into Steakhouse and the Italian restaurants once a week, which are ok but service is sometimes a bit slow.
The service in the main restaurant and at the bar are excellent, as are the cocktails and most drinks.
The animation team were excellent in the daytime, trying to get you involved in the activities if you wanted, but would have to say the evening entertainment was ok at best, bizarre at times, awful on a couple of nights.
We used Scuba Caribe Dive School for diving, they were professional and we had some good dives at local sites.
Would also recommend Ocean World, we did the Shark Encounter, which was great value for money, and I got a photo of myself feeding one of their Tigers for $15 which was amazing!!
All in all we had a great time at the Merengue, the service was great, the hotel bars, restaurants and grounds were fantastic.
The only let down was the room.
If we go back to the Dominican we'll be going to the South of the island to try and get a real taste of the Caribbean, which we didn't get from this resort.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tinmanjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

I feel quite sorry for the people that didn't enjoy their holiday at Riu Merengue, when you consider three quarters of the price is actually on the flight I really don't know what these people expect when they stay here? I found the food to be of an excellent standard with lots of effort to try and cater for different tastes. The hotel wasn't too busy so we always found the dining rooms pleasant even at weekends when the locals come to have a break. The room was a little tired but perfectly adequate for our stay, the air conditioning was always on and there was always plenty of hot water. The beach is lovely with plenty of shady spots with all the palms, the sea is uncomfortable under foot with the pebbles, beach shoes would be highly recommended. We found the complex spacious with plenty of options for the evening, even if you didnt want to watch the entertainment the bars dotted around are lovely just sit and relax in. The staff are warm, friendly and happy people and really add to the atmosphere, we were very impressed that they walked down the beach with trays of drinks to make sure the guests on the beach would not miss out by being that bit further from the bars. The trips out are definately worth a try even though they are pricey its worth it because you realise the benefit they bring by sponsering a school and local community. We took school pencils and pads and little bags of sweets for the children, they did not ask for anything but this is a polite and small way of giving back to the country as we were their guests.
All in all we found our stay here very relaxing, there was activity day and night should you want that, but we certainly didn't feel we got anything less from the holiday by not participating. Overall this holiday is value for money

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Amy2683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Coach transfer was amazing. We had the best rep ever from Thomson... His name was Thonny, look out for him he's very informative.
Check-in was simple enough. Great reception team, Delmis is amazing if you need anything just ask!
Bar Staff are amazing. Local drinks are provided like rum, vodka and gin etc... Ask for Brugal for the best rum, Smirnoff for the vodka and Gordons for the gin ;-) Bar staff come round during the day with all sorts of drinks, cocktails etc... non alcoholic too if the kids fancy a drink. Another bartender comes round with a bottle of rum and vodka if you fancy any extra alcohol! Look out for Glennys, best bartender there's ever been there! However all the bartenders were amazing as ever! Really friendlly and always up for a laugh.
Restaurant was brilliant. Breakfast was brilliant, loads of choice. Dinner you can have in the main restaurant or in La Restaurante Macumba, which has loads of food choice and is right by the pool. Evening meal has to be done in your own hotel. They have different themed nights like Mexican and Spanish. One night they even had sushi which they've not had before.
Rooms are good, cleaned everyday. It helps if you leave the maid a small tip. A couple of dollars will make sure your room is spotless throughout your stay!
Animacion team were the best there's been yet. Wide variety of activities for everyone. If you just want to relax they don't bother you. They are very energetic and do everything to make sure you holiday is the best! Everyone of them was incredibly friendly. Amazing! Look out for Pepsi, Bamboo, Chicken Legs, Madonna and Bon Bon. Also look out for Hulu Hulu, you'll hear him before you see him, he tweets like a bird!
You'll have a fantastic stay at Riu Merengue!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank SophieUepaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
9.1 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#4 of 40 in Puerto Plata
1,130 reviews
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
#10 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,420 reviews
8.0 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
9.3 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,556 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Merengue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Merengue

Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: £79 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Merengue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 998
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ClubHotel Riu Merengue (All Inclusive 24h) is located in Puerto Plata in the Dominican Republic, and is surrounded by impressive views of the mountains and a lush, natural environment. This is the perfect setting for unforgettable holidays. The ClubHotel offers all facilities you could need for relaxing holidays away from the hustle and bustle of the city. You’ll find a fresh water swimming pool, a solarium terrace, a gym and the Renova Spa wellness centre with a range of different treatments and massages as well as a sauna. In the Dominican Republic you can find a wide range of international cuisine, but if you want to make the most of your time in this marvellous destination by sampling Dominican cuisine, delicious in both taste and colour, you can enjoy a wide variety of flavours and aromas, as Dominican dishes mainly consist of fruit and vegetables. In the buffet restaurant or themed restaurant you’ll find an endless range of dishes and recipes prepared by our chefs every day. The hotel shares its facilities with the hotel complexes of the ClubHotel Riu Bachata. You’ll enjoy access to the entertainment programme and activities thanks to the acclaimed All Inclusive system. Whether you’re travelling as a family, couple or with friends, you’ll find a wide variety of activities to keep you entertained all day long.. There are areas for enjoying tennis, table tennis, windsurfing, sailing, kayaking, bodyboarding, snorkelling, golf, volleyball, swimming and much more. Your children can also enjoy crafts, activities and dancing together with other kids in the RiuLand programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Merengue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Merengue Hotel
Club Hotel Riu Merengue
Clubhotel Riu Merengue Puerto Plata
Riu Merengue Dominican Republic
Riu Merengue Puerto Plata
Rui Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing