We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Enjoyable Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Narangba, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Really Enjoyable Holiday”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We visited here from 11th of August for 2 weeks, 2 adults and 2 children. We had read all the terrible reviews and dreaded the worst. However we were pleasantly surprised, it was not to the standard of a previous Riu in Mexico but not too far off it. The food gave plenty of choice, and lets be fair its not easy to cater for that many people and please everyone, but we certainly had no complaints. The room was clean and tidy and lets face it you dont go an holiday to spend lots of time in your room, we had an air-con leak that was fixed within 2 hours of reporting it. Yes on weekends it did get crowded with locals, but these guys are family orientated and gave no problems, and again this is an International Hotel, American, English, Canadian, French, Italian, German, Dutch, Spainish, so a few local just added to the spice of this place. If the main pool did get overcrowded we went off the quiet pool that is for International guests only.

Would I go back ? well possibly, but very rarely go anywhere twice. I had a very enjoyable, relaxing holiday, I just wish I hadn't listened to the much to the bad reviews. If there are bad things then try and make the most of what you have, rather than spend your life moaning, (even about cracked tiles in a bathroom)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Swooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,965
    1,735
    945
    408
    268
See reviews for
1,372
2,220
92
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (780)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chipping Ongar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the merengue from 9/9/13 to 23/9/13. As soon as we arrived it wasn't ideal chaos as we got off the coach and then were handed an envelope. This contained our room key a safe key and towel cards along with some stickers to put on your suitcases. You only get one key which is annoying. Were weren't told where to go or how to find our room so we just walked until we found it and then after 30/40minutes our baggage turned up. We got changed and went for dinner and on the way there the hotel allow loads some sellers in that are overpriced and hassle you to "lookie lookie" wasn't a good impression. The food is bland and repetitive and made me and my partner very ill. If anything it got worse. The locals turn up at weekends and run riot walk off with your towels and you see the youngsters walking around with 6+ pairs of flip flops!! This got mentioned to the reps and they're reply was the locals think our possessions are part of the all inclusive! I can safely say I won't be recommend this resort or going back. Save your money don't go here!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank CaroleCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My husband I travelled here on 9th September 2013. Staff were excellent, bedrooms were clean with good aircon, although a little tired.
There was a lack on non smoking area's the only place where smoking was not permitted was in the main dining room, in the second dining area there was smoking allowed. There was no dress code in the restaurants which meant regular clients in swimwear (including Speedo's) leaning over food which was all self service. At weekend we were invaded by locals who came in on buses for the weekend, children with no idea how to behave at a self service buffet picking up food changing mind and replacing with parents who saw no need to supervise. Beach was stony not what we had expected in Caribbean.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My wife and I went to this hotel on 8th sept 13,had my concerns about this hotel due to guest having a sit in due to weekend guests to the hotel,contacted Thomson who said all was ok with this hotel now.
To start the entertainment team are fantastic,the reception staff look down on anybody who speaks English,the cleaning staff cannot be faulted,the food the same things day after day just moved about to make it look different and not a lot of choice,the alacarte restaurants are not that good only thing is it says there is two there is two but only on alternative nights.the rooms ample enough for what you need.
At the weekends frid to sun the local Dominican guests are allowed into the hotel all I can say its like a mass invasion of unruly kids a lot of them and adults without any sort of manners,during our stay the Thomson rep was inundated with complaint about this it was as if she knew it was going to happen she had a big bundle of complaint sheets at the ready on the Monday morning about the local guests stealing your items,using your towels to dry themselves,drinking and eating in the pool,there are too many things to write on a review.
It is an older hotel so don't expect too much but I would rather stay home than go to this hotel again but there are people who go back year after year they are also saying it has become worse this year,my advice is avoid this hotel it's your hard earned cash your wasting.

Room Tip: All the rooms in this hotel are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 992Chrisg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a two week stay at the merengue. September being low season for the DR we got a good deal and found the weather to be great if a a little humid at times, in the two weeks it only rained on three days for about an hour and a half and always in the late afternoon. The complex which is made up of three parts, the Merengue garden, the Merengue village and the Bachata. You have use of all areas except for evening meals which have to be eaten in your own part of the complex. The three pools are quite different the village pool being the quietest at this time of year due to the village accommodation being closed until November when the high season starts. To be honest we spent most days on the beautiful beach only retreating in the afternoon heat to the shady poolside areas at the village pool and the bar there which is also very quiet. The staff are very attentive and do not expect a tip every time you are served but appreciate one which we generally gave once an evening at the bar or each time the bar staff walked along the beach taking orders and serving us which I found out is not a task they have to do in their usual duties but rather a extra they offer in the hope of getting a little extra money to make up the low wages they earn. The cleaners are great and work hard to keep the resort spotless as do the gardeners who will fetch you a coconut fresh from the tree if you want. The restaurants are ok and there was plenty of choice each sitting however we did find some cuts of meat to be quite poor quality and generally tough or very fatty at times. But there was always something on offer to cover all tastes. We took two excursions which we booked through our tour operator. The safari which included visiting a typical village house and school was well worth it and a great day out. The other trip was the cable car and tour of the town which included shopping at a local supermarket which was similar to a trip to Aldi or Lidl and a chance to get cheap drink and gifts for taking home. The resort became busier over the weekends but only really affected the main garden and Bachata pools but was never too busy to find a sun lounger and to be honest it was nice to se the pool liven up with the local families showing us all how to enjoy ourselves. Again if you want peace and quiet then the Village pool is always quiet. On our second to last night the air conditioning in our room packed up and we called reception to report it, thinking it wouldn't be fixed before we leave due to the maintenance guys who are always cycling around the site repairing this and that being busy but it was fixed within five hours. The evening entertainment was a little too 1970's Butlins at times but I guess with an international crowd it is probably what works best to please everyone. The evenings which had the dance troop doing their Grease show and Africa night were very good.
The Animation team are hard working, fun and try to include everyone even if it's just a friendly chat to make you feel welcome. The drinks are of cheap brands but if you ask for a branded drink the do have then as we'll. however they do make them strong. All in all a very good holiday which I would recommend to anyone.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Fudger22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

If your travelling here for the first time you will enjoy it. Take things at your own pace and try not to rush everything. Lay back and soak up the sun. We stayed 9 sep to 23 sep average temp was 38 c with very little rain.

Flight out was fine and transfer was good.

Hotel reception was well run and booking in system worked easily, from arrival at the hotel to getting our luggage delivered to our room took 20 minutes.

To say this is a 4 star is overrating it, it might fit the criteria in the Dominican republic but compared to other areas in the Caribbean it is on par with a 3 star. The decor is basic but clean in most areas. The reception area and the main causeway passed the shops to the restaurant are the marbled zones other than that the rest of the complex are basic tiles and fading paint work.

Food was good and on the whole was well presented. If you like a full english breakfast then there is plenty to choose from. Omelette's with various fillings, fried/boiled or poached eggs bacon (crispy streaky bacon) sausage, tomatoes beans but to find them all means a walk round all the serving areas. These are positioned on the right and left sides as you enter. There were also two toast machines one on each side. In the evenings there was also a salad area in the central part of the restaurant. The a' la carte restaurant is part of the pool snack bar and is set up in two areas either the Italian or the steak bar same table cloths same style glasses but operate on alternative nights booked on a first come basis (with two sittings at 6-30 and 8-30) in the restaurant before 9 am.

Room was quite spacious for two of us but I think two king size beds pushed together is OTT. Bathroom was clean and well equipped. Fridge adequately stocked every other day. Four bottles on optic. We never used them.

Pool area was clean and had plenty of sun beds available. If you wanted a quieter time you could use the pool in the merengue village (old riu mambo) it had its own bar but no snacks and closed at 5pm. Because it is windy the pool did suffer from leaves and bits of branches falling in after it had been cleaned, which was several times a day.

The staff were exceptional and could'nt do enough to help you out. The cleaners and grounds staff kept the hotel complex very clean.

There was always a Thomson rep available even on flight days. They however do not do excursion bookings this is done by the Hotelbeds agent. Be advised they operate exclusively in US dollars make sure you take enough. Although they will accept Dominican Peso's or Sterling their exchange rate will leave you out of pocket.

And with excursions in mind we did the "Outback safari" trip in a truck visiting a school some plantations and also did some boogie boarding. Went "White water rafting" on the Yaque Del Norte river travelling 8 miles through the canyons and over the rapids. Only snag journey is 2.5 hrs each way. Did the "Freestyle Catamaran" bit of sailing, snorkelling and general drinking trip beware of the sun. Went to "Ocean World" just to be different swam with Sting rays and a nurse Shark, great day out plenty to see. Parrot show was very entertaining and Dolphin show using 4 dolphins was exceptional. We did the "City tour and Cable car" city part was spoilt by visits to Gem shop, tobacco shop and Brugal rum factory also a stop at a super market. Cable car was well worth the visit rising 2700 feet above Puerto Plata. The views were brilliant. Our final trip was the "Columbus VIP trip and Paradise Island" onboard a motorised twin hulled covered two decked craft. You get nonstop VIP service, full bar, 5 waiters and when you stop for a swim they have a floating bar. Exceptional lunch apart from steak you could have lobster or shrimps. After lunch it was back on board a swift visit to a mangrove swamp then a fast run out to Paradise island where we snorkeled over a reef. Well worth the cost.

Regarding the influx of locals at the weekends yes they can be noisy, if you visit Ocean world they behave the same. They are however not the only people that can cause havoc there was a boisterous group of lads celebrating a birthday that made more noise. Point to note as most of them are families they tend to eat earlier, you could book a' la carte or go later to eat on the weekends.

Like some other resorts I have stayed in around the world this one is isolated, you can't just go outside for a walk as there is'nt anywhere to go. Of interest if you walk down the beach past the wedding platform at the Bachata hotel you will find Bahia maimon where they are in the process of building a port for cruise liners in the future. My advice just sit back relax and enjoy yourself two weeks is'nt long.

Room Tip: Upper floor has less insects flying about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swift_to_move
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Overall a great hotel, superb location, great facilities, wonderful staff and fantastic food. The only thing that let the hotel as far as we were concerned was the room, it was too small for our family, it also needed a little updating, the air on did not work properly and the fan was not brilliant.

This aside, it was always clean and tidy, the bar and fridge were constantly restocked.

Our room was directly onto the beach and close to the main facilities, the pools were excellent, we chose mainly to use the ones down by the Merengue village, nice and quiet down there and the locals were not allowed down there at he weekend.

Overall the room did not detract from a superb holiday in a nice hotel with superb helpful friendly staff. The food was outstanding as well.

Room Tip: The rooms are not big enough for a family of four. We travelled as two adults and two children (8 &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Plata
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
#11 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,170 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
8.0 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.6 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
8.1 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,978 reviews
9.3 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Merengue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Merengue

Property: ClubHotel Riu Merengue
Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Merengue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 998
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ClubHotel Riu Merengue (All Inclusive 24h) is located in Puerto Plata in the Dominican Republic, and is surrounded by impressive views of the mountains and a lush, natural environment. This is the perfect setting for unforgettable holidays. The ClubHotel offers all facilities you could need for relaxing holidays away from the hustle and bustle of the city. You’ll find a fresh water swimming pool, a solarium terrace, a gym and the Renova Spa wellness centre with a range of different treatments and massages as well as a sauna. In the Dominican Republic you can find a wide range of international cuisine, but if you want to make the most of your time in this marvellous destination by sampling Dominican cuisine, delicious in both taste and colour, you can enjoy a wide variety of flavours and aromas, as Dominican dishes mainly consist of fruit and vegetables. In the buffet restaurant or themed restaurant you’ll find an endless range of dishes and recipes prepared by our chefs every day. The hotel shares its facilities with the hotel complexes of the ClubHotel Riu Bachata. You’ll enjoy access to the entertainment programme and activities thanks to the acclaimed All Inclusive system. Whether you’re travelling as a family, couple or with friends, you’ll find a wide variety of activities to keep you entertained all day long.. There are areas for enjoying tennis, table tennis, windsurfing, sailing, kayaking, bodyboarding, snorkelling, golf, volleyball, swimming and much more. Your children can also enjoy crafts, activities and dancing together with other kids in the RiuLand programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Merengue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Merengue Hotel
Club Hotel Riu Merengue
Clubhotel Riu Merengue Puerto Plata
Riu Merengue Dominican Republic
Riu Merengue Puerto Plata
Rui Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing