We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Hi was in riu merengue for 2 weeks 15 sept until 29th this is my 9th time here loved it as usual staff brilliant from start to finish. Met a great crowd from Newcastle. We all agreed hotel great. Enjoyed the food something for everybody at breakfast chefs making you fresh omelettes everyday. Was worried when read about locals invading hotel but no problems. The locals are on holiday too no more noisier than us. Some people expect far to much I think they are looking for an excuse to get discount of there next holiday Louise g

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,982
    1,744
    956
    412
    274
See reviews for
1,387
2,240
93
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (788)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I booked a 2 week holiday for myself, my partner, mum and dad, I can honestly say that it was not what I expected at all, was expecting pure bliss in Caribbean country but not nowhere near!!!

My opinion of the holiday is as follows, please bear in mind that this is only my opinion,

Alcohol is severely watered down and the beer is about only 1%, when questioning bar staff they become very offensive and rude, the only alcohol I would suggest would be 151 rum or brugahl extra and presidente beer.

Our room was full of red ants, in and on our beds also which bit us constantly, upon complaint was only issued with a can of bug spray, other than that rooms were fine.

Animation team was fantastic especially Chunky, Mini Me and Tequila, could not ask for better, also shows of the evening were very good.

Food got a little repetitive and is not covered and has flies and birds flying around dining room, all in all ok!!

Hotel had a couples of pedofiles, luckily for us we did not have any children, please be aware if you are taking children!! Upon other guests complaining as 1 had actually touched a child's upper chest and another had taken photos of the children nothing was done.

Hotel at weekends is overrun by very rude, inconsiderate, loud and bullish locals, they take peoples belongings without asking l, children wee and poop in the pool causing it to be shut for nearly a whole day, adults drink and pee in the pool, they get in the pool fully clothed, don't get me wrong not all of them are the same but about 80% were this way.

Thompson reps are crap, not helpful at all unless taking money for excursions!!

Best part of the holiday was the beach and the weather.

Best advice would be to avoid this hotel if possible.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAB-LFC-85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We returned from 2 weeks on 1st October and we were all very sad to leave. I have read some negative reviews on here and I have to disagree with a lot of them. We were a party of 10 family and friends, including 2 small children, and we all had an amazing time! On arrival there was no delays booking in at reception - we were greeted with a cocktail and all of the keys/towel cards etc. that were needed were already in an envelope with our names on for us to collect! How simple is that. We were shown to our rooms and then the bell boy brought our cases. We were all based together on ground floor rooms with our own entrance which was perfect for us. Optics in the rooms with full fridge of soft drinks was an absolute bonus and the drinks man drove around every day to see what needed topping up no problem. Never short of bottled water. The staff were very friendly and cleaners were always on the go everywhere. Everywhere you looked they were cleaning and the toilets had attendants at all times cleaning. The animation team were wonderful we miss you already all of you!!!! Every morning they would come and shake every persons hand around the pool with a great big smile. A little tip if you do get a dodgy tummy, as this happens very often when you travel abroad not just Dominican Republic. A couple from our party had the tummy grumbles and was recommended to get a 'Bomba' from the bar. It contains citrus, salt, martini, and something which I believe is called Fennet. It does taste disgusting but can promise you it sorts any tummy problems out!!! We didn't have to take anything else after that so any problems - have a Bomba or two! While we were there yes, the Locals did come to the hotel at the weekends and although there seemed to be a lot of them they were not a problem. They do have big families and there were a lot of children in the pool but they were playing with all of the other children and our young ones played with them quite happily all sharing their toys. The locals were very friendly and we certainly never experienced any reason to complain about the situation. Accident in the pool - yes it happened. We don't know which nationality left it too late to go to the loo, but yes the pool was closed off one afternoon so that it could be cleaned. I have to say that we have experienced this on many holidays, including UK and children do leave it till the last minute when they are having fun. We felt it was unfortunate, but certainly would not blame the locals for this. It happens. What would have been a disgrace is if the pool attendants hadn't taken care of the matter but they did immediately. The pool was closed off so that it could be cleaned until the next morning. They dealt with the problem straight away so no complaints there. We did a number of trips and enjoyed them all. A party of us went horse riding at the Lorimar Ranch and what a brilliant morning. You don't have to be experienced to ride these horses they are gorgeous and so well trained. As soon as the trip was over my grandson wanted to do it again! You can easily book this trip directly on their website by contacting the lovely Joyce, an American lady who decided to stay in Dominican after visiting on holidays. visit the webpage www.lorilarranch.com and they will arrange for you to be picked up from the hotel by their truck. Don't forget bananas for the horses and sausages for the dogs!! The buggies were also a big hit and caused loads of laughter - old clothes required for this one you will get filthy but loads of fun! Not sure about you guys, but I do get dismayed when I hear 'it's not as good as Mexico/Cuba/anywhere else'. Cuba is beautiful of course, we loved it there too, but so is the Dominican Republic! This is not the first time we have visited this country, and it won't be the last not least because the people are so friendly and welcoming. Food was perfectly fine, plenty of choice and plenty of it. Even at weekends everything was organised to cater for the larger numbers. Excellent holiday with brilliant memories and we wouldn't hesitate to go back to this hotel. I honestly don't think any of the staff could have done anymore for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gumdrops S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narangba, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We visited here from 11th of August for 2 weeks, 2 adults and 2 children. We had read all the terrible reviews and dreaded the worst. However we were pleasantly surprised, it was not to the standard of a previous Riu in Mexico but not too far off it. The food gave plenty of choice, and lets be fair its not easy to cater for that many people and please everyone, but we certainly had no complaints. The room was clean and tidy and lets face it you dont go an holiday to spend lots of time in your room, we had an air-con leak that was fixed within 2 hours of reporting it. Yes on weekends it did get crowded with locals, but these guys are family orientated and gave no problems, and again this is an International Hotel, American, English, Canadian, French, Italian, German, Dutch, Spainish, so a few local just added to the spice of this place. If the main pool did get overcrowded we went off the quiet pool that is for International guests only.

Would I go back ? well possibly, but very rarely go anywhere twice. I had a very enjoyable, relaxing holiday, I just wish I hadn't listened to the much to the bad reviews. If there are bad things then try and make the most of what you have, rather than spend your life moaning, (even about cracked tiles in a bathroom)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Swooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Ongar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the merengue from 9/9/13 to 23/9/13. As soon as we arrived it wasn't ideal chaos as we got off the coach and then were handed an envelope. This contained our room key a safe key and towel cards along with some stickers to put on your suitcases. You only get one key which is annoying. Were weren't told where to go or how to find our room so we just walked until we found it and then after 30/40minutes our baggage turned up. We got changed and went for dinner and on the way there the hotel allow loads some sellers in that are overpriced and hassle you to "lookie lookie" wasn't a good impression. The food is bland and repetitive and made me and my partner very ill. If anything it got worse. The locals turn up at weekends and run riot walk off with your towels and you see the youngsters walking around with 6+ pairs of flip flops!! This got mentioned to the reps and they're reply was the locals think our possessions are part of the all inclusive! I can safely say I won't be recommend this resort or going back. Save your money don't go here!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank CaroleCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My husband I travelled here on 9th September 2013. Staff were excellent, bedrooms were clean with good aircon, although a little tired.
There was a lack on non smoking area's the only place where smoking was not permitted was in the main dining room, in the second dining area there was smoking allowed. There was no dress code in the restaurants which meant regular clients in swimwear (including Speedo's) leaning over food which was all self service. At weekend we were invaded by locals who came in on buses for the weekend, children with no idea how to behave at a self service buffet picking up food changing mind and replacing with parents who saw no need to supervise. Beach was stony not what we had expected in Caribbean.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My wife and I went to this hotel on 8th sept 13,had my concerns about this hotel due to guest having a sit in due to weekend guests to the hotel,contacted Thomson who said all was ok with this hotel now.
To start the entertainment team are fantastic,the reception staff look down on anybody who speaks English,the cleaning staff cannot be faulted,the food the same things day after day just moved about to make it look different and not a lot of choice,the alacarte restaurants are not that good only thing is it says there is two there is two but only on alternative nights.the rooms ample enough for what you need.
At the weekends frid to sun the local Dominican guests are allowed into the hotel all I can say its like a mass invasion of unruly kids a lot of them and adults without any sort of manners,during our stay the Thomson rep was inundated with complaint about this it was as if she knew it was going to happen she had a big bundle of complaint sheets at the ready on the Monday morning about the local guests stealing your items,using your towels to dry themselves,drinking and eating in the pool,there are too many things to write on a review.
It is an older hotel so don't expect too much but I would rather stay home than go to this hotel again but there are people who go back year after year they are also saying it has become worse this year,my advice is avoid this hotel it's your hard earned cash your wasting.

Room Tip: All the rooms in this hotel are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 992Chrisg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
9.1 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#4 of 40 in Puerto Plata
1,055 reviews
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
#11 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,290 reviews
8.0 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#8 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
9.3 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,476 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Merengue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Merengue

Property: ClubHotel Riu Merengue
Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Merengue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 998
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ClubHotel Riu Merengue (All Inclusive 24h) is located in Puerto Plata in the Dominican Republic, and is surrounded by impressive views of the mountains and a lush, natural environment. This is the perfect setting for unforgettable holidays. The ClubHotel offers all facilities you could need for relaxing holidays away from the hustle and bustle of the city. You’ll find a fresh water swimming pool, a solarium terrace, a gym and the Renova Spa wellness centre with a range of different treatments and massages as well as a sauna. In the Dominican Republic you can find a wide range of international cuisine, but if you want to make the most of your time in this marvellous destination by sampling Dominican cuisine, delicious in both taste and colour, you can enjoy a wide variety of flavours and aromas, as Dominican dishes mainly consist of fruit and vegetables. In the buffet restaurant or themed restaurant you’ll find an endless range of dishes and recipes prepared by our chefs every day. The hotel shares its facilities with the hotel complexes of the ClubHotel Riu Bachata. You’ll enjoy access to the entertainment programme and activities thanks to the acclaimed All Inclusive system. Whether you’re travelling as a family, couple or with friends, you’ll find a wide variety of activities to keep you entertained all day long.. There are areas for enjoying tennis, table tennis, windsurfing, sailing, kayaking, bodyboarding, snorkelling, golf, volleyball, swimming and much more. Your children can also enjoy crafts, activities and dancing together with other kids in the RiuLand programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Merengue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Merengue Hotel
Club Hotel Riu Merengue
Clubhotel Riu Merengue Puerto Plata
Riu Merengue Dominican Republic
Riu Merengue Puerto Plata
Rui Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing