We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honest Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Honest Review”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed at this resort Feb 18 to 25th,2014. Check in was great fast and welcome drink.The room dated but very clean but beds in bad condition all need changing, for a 4.5 star hotel no iron or ironing board in rooms. The balconies are great with clothes rack to dry you swimsuit which was nice clock radio did not work and cover in some crusty white film. Beach area is nice hotel is on Atlantic side so water is rough.Staff very friendly (Junior,Paula,Martin,Diaz,Rebecca) really know how to make you feel welcome.Bars close at midnight so if you like to party late this resort is not the place, there is a disco after hours but it's small and drinks are $5.00 US each. Ok the food I am sure you will find something to eat but out of 6 dinners we only enjoyed 2. Breakfast same choices all 6 days. Lunch and Late night buffet same food fries, mysterty burger & hot dogs. They don't have enough staff in the restaurant so we got are own drink 90% of the time so no need to tip.As we all know the star rating is not the same at these resorts as in Canada or USA. This hotel is a 3 star definately not a 4.5 star we were very disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dyvonal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,967
    1,735
    945
    408
    268
See reviews for
1,372
2,221
92
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (780)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elma, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Stay was Feb. 18-25 I do not count myself as a fussy person, but, this hotel was mediocre at best. Had to ask for bottled water on several occasions. No washcloths in the rooms. Had to request them several times. Someone literally had to go to get them -- not on maid carts. Very difficult time communicating with most staff members. Great difficulty finding a clean table to sit at. Minimal service in dining facility. "Restaurant" was a section of the regular dining area. No swim up bars. Friends television started on fire in room -- thank God they were in the room at the time. Despite leaving a generous tip daily for the maids, rooms were not very clean - (i.e. smashed a bug on the mirror, that remained there the entire week!!). Food quality was sporadic. Sometimes we were happy with the selections, other times, it seemed like a "fly by the seat of your pants" operation. (i.e. they never cleaned the grill from the night before, and my omelet tasted like fish - totally gross). We are used to wait staff cleaning tables regularly and serving coffee, etc. at these resorts. It became frustrating by the end of the week to find a place to sit down that was clean. Pretty much had to get our own coffee in the morning. No hair dryers in the room. Beds were super hard - seemed like really cheap mattresses which were covered by a plastic mattress protector. The redeeming thing was that the grounds were kept pretty well and the sun and warmth were a much needed break from sub zero temps. Would definitely NOT recommend this place. The Bacchata portion of the grounds would be a much better choice.

Room Tip: Go to the Bacchata portion of the resort!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Went with my boyfriend to catch some rays before Christmas. Read all the reviews beforehand but didn't bother us. Once in resort there was a handful of locals but didn't cause any harm. I think it's really nice of the hotel to let locals come and appreciate what we get to enjoy as we live differently to us. Couldn't fault the food, lots of choice and the staff are a credit to the hotel. We had a lovely surprise of having dinner in a beach hut with our own waiter, candle lit and champagne for my boyfriends 30th birthday. That was the highlight of my trip as well as swimming with dolphins at the ocean park. Great value for money the park, at first we had our reservations thinking it's a long time to spend there but time flew from all the great shows etc. also I recommend a massage on the beach, bliss. As with most Riu entertainment it isn't amazing but the staff do their best with the facilities they have. They work very hard and would recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank J-Heart-Travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

So, in 2010 i went to Riu Merengue with my mum, dad and sister. I was 16 at the time and had never been to the carribean before. It was incredible. For a family that can't usually afford to splash out on nice things like a luxury holiday, it was by far the best holiday ever!

The food is amazing, they have different themed nights during the week. We stayed for 2 weeks so we experienced the repeats during our second week, but it wasn't an issue because the food is just so good. A lot of choice and there is something there for everybody.

The entertainment was really good, and the staff are so friendly. Everybody says hello, even when they are all hot and bothered from having to work in the ridiculous heat! They have a dedicated entertainment team during the day and during the evening, they make it their numbmer one priority to make sure that everyone is happy. They came to sit with us a few times which was really lovel, because you get to see that they are real people and not always joking around and trying to make people laugh.

Rooms are fairly standard and you have everything you need there. but who cares what the room is like? You're in the carribean, so you should you be on the beach and soaking up the rays!

The beach is lovely and VERY big. there are 3 sistering hotels in one complex and you can visit any of those hotels and their pools and restauratns as often as you like, they only request that you eat your evening meal in your hotel.

The pool is lovely. Not heated (but you don't need it to be as you find yourself desperate to jump in to cool down). In all honesty, if you don't like the heat, then don't go to the carribean.. it is VERY hot all year round.

We went in July 2010 and i went back with my boyfriend in November 2013. I would rather go back in November as it is not so busy, and there is no rush for a sun bed, no queue for food or drink, but there is still plenty going on to feel like it's the summer rush.

A trip to do for definite is Ocean World. It is amazing, although it is a small park, (i feel better about that because the less animals, the more attention each one gets) They do dolphin, sting ray and shark encounters! i did all three and paid extra for a royal swim with 2 dolphins. JUST ME AND THEM! i was magical and i would go back to this hotel and country again and again. Everyone is so care free and nothing is too much trouble.

If you are from the UK, you will love how happy everyone is out in the carribean. I think it is all to do with the constant sunshine!!

All in all, ignore all of the bad comments, if you get this holiday for a good price you should have nothing to complain about because at the end of the day.. its the company you go with and your holiday is what you make of it. I would go back again and again without thinking twice. I am going to Jamaica this year purely because i have always wanted to go.. but i will return to the dominican!

Happy holiday shopping!

Room Tip: any room is good because you won't spend much time in there. You will only be in your room to sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Sheridan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed from Feb. 18-25. Clean and well kept grounds and premises. All of the public washrooms were well kept throughout the day, each day. Language can be a barrier; they don't necessarily understand you and assume. We had a problem with our toilet in our room and they sent a plumber thinking it was our A/C unit. Nonetheless, the problem was solved. Food is prepared for many palates and hundreds of people so I agree it is sometimes just good and basic, but sometimes it is great like the turkey dinner we had one evening. It was tender, juicy and expertly seasoned. Another night there was lamb and the line ups were huge . There is always more than one entree to choose from. We followed the advice of other reviewers and brought our own pillow and used the room pillows to place under our backs to soften the hardness of the beds. There are no foam pads to make the beds less hard. When we requested a couple of pads they brought us two large towels instead. :) We also brought our own travel clock as we read that in some rooms they don't work.
We stayed in the Garden area and yes the décor is tired but the room itself, and the sheets, and towels were clean.
We tipped our wait staff a dollar or two each meal. They try very hard to be of service to you and we gave the bellhops two dollars to carry our bags. My goodness, they are trying to earn a living for their families and we should be understanding of that fact! We also left tips for the room cleaner each day. A couple of dollars goes a long way for them and we saw how hard they worked in the heat.
We were able to frequent the Riu Bachata for breakfast and lunch if we wanted to. Food was good there as well with a bit more variety. If you are looking for excitement and great evening entertainment you won't find it here but the beach is great, the pools well maintained and the wait staff waiting to please. Lots of loungers both at the pool area and the beach. No one bothered us on the beach and we could just read, sip a drink and soak in the sun. Great breezes on the beach because it was extremely still and hot by the pool even under the shaded areas. The Merengue beach area is superior to the Bachata beach. We met a thirties something couple staying at the Bachata who would come to our lobby in the evenings to relax and get away from the evening noise at their resort. More Canadians were at the Merengue when we were there.
We also had an opportunity to watch the final Olympic hockey games on the big screen.

There is no ironing board or iron in the room.

I would suggest you bring some travel packs of laundry detergent to rinse out your swimsuits. In a pinch, shampoo will do the same thing. Each patio or balcony area has a small hanging rack.

We agree it is not a 4.5 star rating but we got great value for our money and enjoyed ourselves. We came back last night refreshed and ready to go back to our routines.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank RoxyBchurchlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Beautiful resort, 3 hotels with access to all,very friendly staff, food always available if you know where to go, beautiful beaches,
The recreation guys do their best to keep everyone entertain, if you don't like loud music don't sit by the pool when they are doing their jobs, go to the beautiful, quiet beach where the sound of the ocean and the gentle wind is totally heavenly.
the bars are open until midnight, the one at the bachatta is open untill 7am (knock yourself out) a little tip goes a long way with the staffs
There's always room at the buffet, the food was really good depends on what you like to eat, and what country you compare
It to. Or you can make reservation at the restaurants.
We arrived at the resort at 300am check in was not untill 300pm but the friendly employee was very accommodating, gave us a temporary room which was most appreciated,
Very pleasant vacation! Will go back again,

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank annmariekh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

My trip just concluded and everything was very good.
It's my second time at this resort complex and I'll definitely come back.

The food was delightful and the resort was clean. The service staff in the restaurants were exceptional.

A bonus of this resort is that you can snorkel right at the resort.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Corey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Plata
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
#11 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,173 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
8.0 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.6 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
8.1 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,990 reviews
9.3 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Merengue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Merengue

Property: ClubHotel Riu Merengue
Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Merengue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 998
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ClubHotel Riu Merengue (All Inclusive 24h) is located in Puerto Plata in the Dominican Republic, and is surrounded by impressive views of the mountains and a lush, natural environment. This is the perfect setting for unforgettable holidays. The ClubHotel offers all facilities you could need for relaxing holidays away from the hustle and bustle of the city. You’ll find a fresh water swimming pool, a solarium terrace, a gym and the Renova Spa wellness centre with a range of different treatments and massages as well as a sauna. In the Dominican Republic you can find a wide range of international cuisine, but if you want to make the most of your time in this marvellous destination by sampling Dominican cuisine, delicious in both taste and colour, you can enjoy a wide variety of flavours and aromas, as Dominican dishes mainly consist of fruit and vegetables. In the buffet restaurant or themed restaurant you’ll find an endless range of dishes and recipes prepared by our chefs every day. The hotel shares its facilities with the hotel complexes of the ClubHotel Riu Bachata. You’ll enjoy access to the entertainment programme and activities thanks to the acclaimed All Inclusive system. Whether you’re travelling as a family, couple or with friends, you’ll find a wide variety of activities to keep you entertained all day long.. There are areas for enjoying tennis, table tennis, windsurfing, sailing, kayaking, bodyboarding, snorkelling, golf, volleyball, swimming and much more. Your children can also enjoy crafts, activities and dancing together with other kids in the RiuLand programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Merengue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Merengue Hotel
Club Hotel Riu Merengue
Clubhotel Riu Merengue Puerto Plata
Riu Merengue Dominican Republic
Riu Merengue Puerto Plata
Rui Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing